Testimonies from Holocaust survivors

Testimonies from Holocaust survivors

Highlights of the heartbreaking book of our colleague Jean-Marie Montali ‘We are the voices of the dead, the last deportees testify’, which has just been published by Le Cherche Midi. 75 years after the liberation of the camps, these testimonies from survivors, which resound like voices from beyond the grave, describe the unspeakable and name with singular sobriety the absolute horror of the Holocaust.

 

When Qatari textbooks approve of Hitler’s attitude towards the Jews!

When Qatari textbooks approve of Hitler’s attitude towards the Jews!

Qatari students learn that the Jews, by “manipulating economic markets and accumulating immense wealth”, ruined Germany after World War I. It was therefore logical that the Führer made them pay dearly for their infamous betrayal. Or how to be brought up in antisemitism from childhood to adolescence.

 

Pro-Sarraj militias attack Bernard-Henry Lévy’s convoy in Tarhouna, shouting “death to the Jews”!

Pro-Sarraj militias attack Bernard-Henry Lévy’s convoy in Tarhouna, shouting “death to the Jews”!

Back in Libya, nine years after the uprising that put an end to the dictatorship of Muammar Gaddafi, Bernard-Henry Lévy (BHL) raised a lively controversy within the pro-Sarraj clan, the leader of the ill-named “Government of National Accord”, which the author of « La barbarie à visage humain » nevertheless came to support, in particular through a report on mass graves attributed to the forces of Marshal Haftar in Tarhouna, a city taken over by the pro-Sarraj forces last June.

 

Orangutans, Bears and Jews

Orangutans, Bears and Jews

Some time ago, I stopped buying Nutella. Because of palm oil, deforestation and orangutans which are primates from the Hominidae family. No one ever told me “Strange, you’re not an orangutan, are you?”. I also worry about polar bears, which are marine mammals from the Ursidae family, which splash around on ice packs, and for whales, those marine mammals from the Cetacea infraorder, which are harpooned day and night by the Japanese and (I think) the Norwegians, and for elephants which are mammals from Proboscidean order… Yet, no one ever told me: “That’s odd, you’re neither a whale, nor a bear, nor an elephant, are you?”.

 

Why turn the SCREEN WATCH back on?

The world is going through a turbulent period. One of these grey areas of history which Antonio Gramsci described, with the foresight for which he is known, as those moments of twilight from which monsters emerge, when the old world is dying and the new world is slow to be born. And one of the appalling symptoms of this gestation is the perversion of humanist values, to the benefit of hate speech that resurfaces under a new guise which does not in any way change its abject nature: racism, anti-Semitism, xenophobia, ethnic and religious extremism.

Témoignages de survivants de la Shoah

Témoignages de survivants de la Shoah

Les bonnes feuilles du livre poignant de notre confrère Jean-Marie Montali « Nous sommes les voix des morts, les derniers déportés témoignent », qui vient de paraître au Cherche Midi. 75 ans après la libération des camps, ces témoignages de rescapés, qui résonnent comme des voix d’outre-tombe, décrivent l’indicible et nomment avec une sobriété toute singulière l’horreur absolue de la Shoah.

 

Quand les manuels scolaires du Qatar approuvent l’attitude d’Hitler vis-à-vis des juifs !

Quand les manuels scolaires du Qatar approuvent l’attitude d’Hitler vis-à-vis des juifs !

Les élèves qataris apprennent que les juifs, en « manipulant les marchés économiques et en accumulant d’immenses richesses » ont ruiné l’Allemagne après la Première Guerre mondiale. Il était donc logique que le Führer leur fasse payer cher leur infâme trahison. Ou comment biberonner, de l’enfance à l’adolescence, dans l’antisémitisme.

 

Des milices pro Sarraj attaquent le convoi de BHL à Tarhouna, sous les cris de « mort aux juifs » !

Des milices pro Sarraj attaquent le convoi de BHL à Tarhouna, sous les cris de « mort aux juifs » !

De retour en Libye, neuf ans après le soulèvement qui à mis fin à la dictature de Mouammar Kadhafi, Bernard-Henry Lévy a soulevé une vive polémique au sein même du clan pro-Sarraj, le chef du mal nommé « gouvernement d’union nationale », que l’auteur de « La barbarie à visage humain » est pourtant venu soutenir, notamment à travers un reportage sur des charniers imputés aux forces du maréchal Haftar à Tarhouna, ville reprise par le forces pro Sarraj, en juin dernier.

 

Les orangs-outans, les ours et les Juifs

Les orangs-outans, les ours et les Juifs

ll y a quelques temps, j’ai arrêté d’acheter du Nutella. A cause de l’huile de palme, de la déforestation et des orangs-outans, qui sont des primates de la famille des hominidés. Personne ne m’a dit « Tiens, c’est bizarre, t’es pourtant pas un orang-outan ». Je m’inquiète aussi pour les ours polaires, qui sont des mammifères de la famille des ursidés, qui clapotent sur la banquise, et pour les baleines, mammifères marins de l’ordre des cétacés, que les Japonais et les Norvégiens (je crois) harponnent jour et nuit, et pour les éléphants qui sont des mammifères proboscidiens… Personne ne m’a dit : « tiens, c’est bizarre, t’es pourtant pas une baleine. Ni un ours. Ni un éléphant ».

 

Pourquoi rallumer l’ECRAN DE VEILLE ?

Le monde traverse une période trouble. Une de ces zones grises de l’Histoire, qu’Antonio Gramsci avait décrites, avec la clairvoyance qu’on lui connaît, comme étant ces moments de clair-obscur d’où surgissent les monstres, lorsqu’un vieux monde se meurt et le nouveau tarde à naître. Et l’un des symptômes les plus épouvantables de cette gestation est le pervertissement des valeurs humanistes, au profit de discours haineux qui refont surface, sous des habits neufs qui n’enlèvent rien à leur nature abjecte : racisme, antisémitisme, xénophobie, extrémismes ethniques et religieux.