Street Art vs. Coronavirus



Ultimate libertarian and subversive mode of artistic expression, the street art experienced a spectacular proliferation during the Covid-19 pandemic. At a time when museums, theatres, concert halls and cinemas were forced to close, and when the world of art and culture was suffering the full force of the horrors of confinement, street art managed to sneak out, literally and figuratively!

From Sao Paolo to Amsterdam, from Melbourne to Copenhagen, passing through Mumbai, Tehran, Rome, Barcelona and Paris, the works that accompany, illustrate and extend the articles in this special issue of Screen Watch testify to the strength and liveliness of this innovative art that consists in turning the street into an arena and an escape route, in order to reappropriate public space and thus escape censorship in all its forms. An emancipation that not only gives it unequalled modernity and inventiveness, but also an extreme freedom to defy the forbidden and to free oneself from any established order.

This rebellious spirit has led dozens of street artists, famous or anonymous, to defy the pandemic and go beyond the barriers of confinement, to make art a hymn to life by bringing to the four corners of the world’s streets, emptied – or almost emptied – of any manifestation of social life, works that transcend the pain of this distressing (in)human experience.

This is how this living – and therefore ephemeral – art that is street art, rose as a standard bearer of the sorrows, fears, hopes and despairs of humanity, during these dark weeks of global confinement, which saw more than 4 billion human beings forced to live in hiding.

The result is an anthology of artistic achievements that are as diverse as they are surprising. First, there are works that salute the courage of doctors and health care personnel. Starting with these Front Line Heroes from the MelbourneMuralscollective (Melbourne, Australia):

this Masked Heart from OneMizer (Paris, France):

this Superwoman Nurse from FakeNDSM (Amsterdam, Netherlands):

or this Natersim – Don’t Be Afraid, in Persian from Xamoosh (Tehran, Iran):

Then there are works with political connotations. Like this ode to innocence and tolerance by Kobra (Sao Paolo, Brazil):

this Circulate, there’s nothing to see by Lush Aux (Melbourne, Australia):

and this CoronaTrump by Welinoo (Copenhagen, Denmark):

And then, humanistic frescoes that defy the virus and the barriers/prejudices it imposes. Such as this Love in the Time of Corona by Eme Freethinker (Berlin, Germany):

this Leave us alone, which parodies Kill Bill by Harry Grab (Rome, Italy):

these Lovers by Pøbel (Bryne, Norway):

this ball at the foot of humanity by RebelBear (Glasgow, Scotland):

And, most striking of all, this viral wrecking ball by Hula (Miami, USA):

Street Art vs. Coronavirus



Mode d’expression artistique libertaire et subversif, par excellence, le street art a connu une prolifération spectaculaire durant la pandémie du Covid-19. Au moment où les musées, les théâtres, les salles de spectacles et de cinéma étaient obligés à fermer, et alors que le monde de l’art et de la culture subissait de plein fouet les affres du confinement, le street art a réussi l’exploit de faire le mur, au sens propre comme au figuré !

De Sao Paolo à Amsterdam, de Melbourne à Copenhague, en passant par Mumbai, Téhéran, Rome, Barcelone et Paris, les œuvres qui accompagnent, illustrent et prolongent les articles de ce numéro spécial de l’Ecran de Veille témoignent de la force et de la vivacité de cet art novateur qui consiste à faire de la rue une arène et un échappatoire, pour se réapproprier l’espace public et se soustraire, ainsi, à la censure sous toutes ces formes. Une émancipation qui lui confère non seulement une modernité et une inventivité inégalées, mais aussi une extrême liberté pour braver les interdits et s’affranchir de tout ordre établi.

Cet esprit rebelle a poussé des dizaines de street-artistes, célèbres ou anonymes, à défier la pandémie et outrepasser les barrières du confinement, pour faire de l’art un hymne à la vie en faisant fleurir, aux quatre coins des rues du monde, vidées – ou presque – de toute manifestation de vie sociale, des œuvres qui transcendent la douleur de cette éprouvante expérience (in)humaine.

C’est ainsi que cet art vivant – donc éphémère – qu’est le street art, s’est hissée en porte étendard des chagrins, des peurs, des espoirs et désespoirs de l’humanité, durant ces sombres semaines de confinement mondial, qui ont vu plus de 4 milliards d’être humains obligés à vivre terrés.

Résultat, un florilège de réalisations artistiques tout aussi diverses que surprenantes. Il y a là, d’abord, des œuvres qui saluent le courage des médecins et des personnels de la santé. À commencer par ces Héros de la premières ligne du collectif MelbourneMurals (Melbourne, Australie):

ce cœur masqué de OneMiser (Paris, France):

cette infirmière superwoman de FakeNDSM (Amsterdam, Pays bas):

ce Natersim -N’ayez pas peur, en Persan, de Xamoosh (Téhéran, Iran):

Ensuite, il y a les œuvres à connotations politiques. Comme cette ode à l’innocence et à la tolérance de Kobra (Sao Paolo, Brésil):

ce Circulez, y a rien à voir de Lush Aux (Melbourne, Australie):

et ce CoronaTrump de Welinoo (Copenhague, Danemark):

Et puis, des fresques humanistes qui défient le virus et les barrières/préjugés qu’il impose. Tel cet Amour au temps du Corona d’Eme Freethinker (Berlin, Allemagne):

ce Leave us alone, qui parodie Kill Bill de Harry Grab (Rome, Italie):

ces Lovers de Pøbel (Bryne, Norvège):

ce boulet au pied de l’humanité de RebelBear (Glasgow, Ecosse):

Et, plus saisissante de toutes, cette boule de démolition virale de Hula (Miami, USA):