The Middle East and the post-Covid 19 challenges



Fabienne Durand (*)

The consequences of the coronavirus pandemic differ from one region of the world to another. They are most keenly felt in conflict areas where public healthcare systems have collapsed or are severely compromised. The greatest risk is that existing tensions and conflicts, such as those in the Middle East, might be heightened. The stability of this region, that stretches from the Persian Gulf to the Maghreb, is essential for economic and security balance in the world.

COVID-19 has not affected all areas in the region in the same way, so it is understandable that one should wonder about the impact of this public health crisis which has not been managed in the same way by all the States that have been affected by it. First of all, what will the most likely consequences be on the political and social levels as well as on the sustainability of the countries in the region? Secondly, which States in the Arab world or which world powers: the USA, Russia or China stand to gain from this unprecedented crisis?

First of all, one notes that COVID-19 has triggered all the usual reactions in the Middle East although the region, and more specifically the Gulf countries, have already had a brush with a similar virus when, in 2012, they experienced an outbreak of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus, MERS-CoV: denial, at least initially, politicisation of the crisis which was used as a window of opportunity to attack opponents, tightening of social controls and ultimately, the proliferation of conspiracy theories.

We can see how religious radicals are exploiting the public health crisis: some believe that the virus was transmitted by Shiite communities, while others claim that it is an “imperialist” virus. Moreover, the lack of transparency and the unreliability of the statistics pertaining to the number of people affected, are typical of an authoritarian culture. Authoritarian regimes resort to this well-tried practice of telling lies because they believe that their success will not be measured on the basis of their ability to contain the pandemic but rather by how well they manage to hide the human cost of the virus.

From an economic perspective, the consequences of this public health crisis will not be the same in all the States. Certain countries, like the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Qatar and Saudi Arabia will fare better. First of all, because these countries possess considerable financial reserves and secondly, because they have hardly accumulated any debt. This is particularly true of Saudi Arabia, whose debt does not exceed 25% of its GDP. Its debt capacity is huge, even at a time when a barrel of oil is fetching $25. Saudi Arabia can easily raise 100 -150 billion dollars on the markets, which would help the kingdom to weather the public health crisis, while pushing oil prices down, for some time, without upsetting its internal equilibrium.

Conversely, Iran will be even weaker in the wake of the crisis. The fact that it turned to the IMF for help for the first time in 60 years, is a clear indication of this. Teheran’s decision to come out of lockdown very early; a decision prompted by economic considerations, is further proof of this. To Iran, it is vital that China rapidly boosts its slacking demand for Iranian oil and also that China keeps buying oil from Iran, while circumventing US sanctions.

Several other States in the region find themselves in a delicate economic situation, which the public health crisis will only serve to aggravate. This is certainly true of Lebanon, which, well before the crisis began, had announced that it would suspend repayment of its public debt; of Jordan, where public debt is at 97% of GDP; of Algeria where 97% of the economy depends heavily on revenue from oil sales, of Tunisia and Egypt whose public debt exceeds 80% of GDP, and where 50% of the population is employed in the informal economy, given that the unemployment rate is over 20% and that the tourism industry, which represents 10% of GDP, has been heavily impacted and this year tourism is virtually non-existent.

The deterioration of the socio-economic situation will have repercussions on internal political tensions. Needless to say, it is in countries that are ravaged by conflict such as Iraq, Libya, Yemen and worst of all Syria, where the consequences will be most devastating, deepening the existing chaos. In light of this and due to the mutual assistance required in the fight against the virus, the United Arab Emirates have stepped up their rapprochement with Damascus. With an eye to providing humanitarian assistance, other countries might also accept a certain normalisation of relations with the Syrian regime.
On the geopolitical level, the seriousness of this unprecedented public health crisis, which is affecting regional actors as well as large powers further afield, should bring about a general easing of tensions and conflict and therefore, less violence. Some, however, be it non-State actors such as Daesh or State actors like Iran, might also regard this as a window of opportunity permitting them to wriggle out of the deadlock they currently find themselves in.
With regard to the “big international game” being played out between world powers (namely the United States, Russia and China) in the Middle East, it is probable that the United States will now accelerate its withdrawal and Russia will consolidate the influence it has thus far acquired, notably in Syria. On the other hand, the pandemic, which shrank China’s production and consequently led to a drop in Chinese demand for oil, has had a knock-on effect on the agreement between OPEC countries, led by Saudi Arabia and those countries referred to as ‘non-OPEC’ countries led by Russia. The meeting held on the 6th March in Vienna, whose main objective was to come up with an adequate response to the drop in oil prices, resulted in Russia withdrawing from the agreement reached in 2016. Therefore, the “OPEC+ group” set up in 2016 which controlled more than half of the world’s oil production is now at an impasse.

As for regional balances, Turkey could benefit from the crisis in Northern Syria, even if Iran succeeds in maintaining its positions despite its weakness. Israel does not stand to gain any influence either. All the more so because, just like its rival, Iran, the Jewish State is experiencing significant internal political discord.
Conversely, the weakened position of the United States and Russia in the region could work in China’s favour. China is already very active in the Gulf and Iraq as well as in Egypt and the Maghreb. Isolated as it is, Iran depends increasingly on China; and its weakness only serves to increase its dependency on Beijing. Furthermore, China could also step in to provide financing to key States such as Egypt, that play a pivotal role in safeguarding regional balances. All the more so because Egypt could represent an important milestone for China in its “Road and Belt Initiative” (the New Silk Road), in the Red Sea and the Mediterranean. China’s strategy to rope in Egypt might strike the right chord with Saudi Arabia and other Gulf States.

Chinese interests, however, have limits and it is hardly likely that Beijing will get involved in a crisis situation such as that unfolding in Iraq or Syria as the United States and Russia had done. It would not pay China to do that. It will, however, need to strike a balance between its interests in Saudi Arabia and those in Iran.
In conclusion, the COVID-19 crisis should not cause major upheaval in the Arab, Persian and Turkish world even though admittedly, this is a trying time both for the region and for the rest of the world. Right now, the mood is conciliatory and open to mutual assistance as none of the influential powers in the region would stand to gain anything by encouraging social upheaval and unleashing a wave of political fallout beyond their control, as was the case in 2011.

* Political scientist & consultant in communication on sustainable development and global warming.

Le Moyen-Orient face aux défis post-Covid 19



Fabienne Durand (*)

Les conséquences de la pandémie du coronavirus différent d’une région à une autre de la planète. Elle s’accentuent notamment dans les zones de conflits où les systèmes de santé ne fonctionnent plus ou sont défaillants. Le risque principal est de voir s’exacerber des tensions et conflits existants, notamment au Moyen-Orient. Ainsi la stabilité de cette région qui s’étend du Golfe arabo-persique au Maghreb est essentielle pour l’équilibre économique et sécuritaire du monde.

Le Covid-19 a touché la région de façon inégale et il est légitime de s’interroger sur l’impact de cette crise sanitaire, qui a été inégalement gérée par les États concernés. Tout d’abord, quelles seront les conséquences probables sur les plans politique, social et en matière de durabilité pour les Etats de la région ? Ensuite, quels Etats risquent de tirer profit de cette crise inédite, à l’échelle du monde arabe ou parmi les puissances mondiales, comme les États-Unis, la Russie ou la Chine ?

On observe, tout d’abord, que le Covid-19 a déclenché au Moyen-Orient les mêmes réflexes caractéristiques, bien que la région et notamment les pays du Golfe ont déjà connu cette famille de virus, ayant été affectée en 2012 par le coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire, MERS-Cov : le déni de la réalité, au moins dans un premier temps, la politisation de la crise, exploitée telle une fenêtre d’opportunité contre les opposants, un renforcement du contrôle social, enfin la prolifération de rumeurs complotistes.
On observe une instrumentalisation de la crise sanitaire par les religieux radicaux : le virus serait transmis par les communautés chiites, pour les uns, tandis pour les autres, il s’agirait d’un virus « impérialiste ». Par ailleurs, le manque de transparence et de fiabilité concernant les chiffres des personnes affectées est propre à la culture autoritaire. Cette pratique classique du mensonge d’Etat par les régimes autoritaires tient au fait que, selon eux, le succès ne se mesurera pas par la capacité à juguler la pandémie mais par la dissimulation la plus efficace possible du coût humain du virus.

Sur le plan économique, les conséquences de cette crise sanitaire ne seront pas les même dans tous les États. Certains pays, comme les Emirats arabes unis, le Koweit, le Qatar ou l’Arabie saoudite s’en sortiront mieux. D’abord parce que les réserves financières de ces pays sont très importantes, ensuite parce qu’ils sont peu endettés. S’agissant en particulier de l’Arabie saoudite, sa dette ne dépasse pas 25 % de son PIB. Sa capacité d’endettement est immense, même avec un baril à 25 dollars. L’Arabie peut sans difficulté lever 100 à 150 milliards de dollars sur les marchés, de quoi lui permettre de passer la crise sanitaire, de jouer le pétrole à la baisse, pendant un certain temps, sans toutefois mettre en danger ses équilibres internes.

A l’inverse, l’Iran, abordera la sortie de crise dans des conditions de faiblesse accrue. Le fait qu’il ait cru devoir faire appel au FMI, pour la première fois depuis 60 ans, est en soi un indicateur de taille. De même, la décision prise par Téhéran, pour des raisons économiques, de procéder à une levée très tôt du confinement. Il est vital pour l’Iran que la relance de la demande chinoise de pétrole ne se fasse pas trop attendre et que la Chine poursuivre sa politique d’achat du pétrole iranien, en contournant les sanctions américaines.

De nombreux autres États de la région sont dans une situation économique critique, qui va être aggravée par la crise sanitaire. C’est la cas du Liban, qui avait déjà annoncé avant la crise qu’il suspendait le remboursement de sa dette publique ; de la Jordanie, où la dette publique représente 97% du PIB ; de l’Algérie dont l’économie est dépendante de la rente pétrolière à plus de 97% ; de la Tunisie et de l’Égypte, dont la dette publique est supérieure à 80 % du PIB, tandis que plus de 50 % de leurs populations travaillent dans l’économie informelle, en raison d’un chômage supérieur à 20 %, alors que la manne du tourisme est affectée, puisque le tourisme, qui représente 10 % du PIB, est quasiment inexistant cette année.

Par ailleurs, l’aggravation de la situation économique et sociale aura des conséquences sur les tensions politiques internes. Il est évident que c’est dans les pays en conflit – comme l’Irak, la Libye, le Yémen et surtout la Syrie – que les conséquences seront les plus déplorables, aggravant le chaos existant. Ainsi, en raison de la nécessaire entraide dans la lutte contre le virus, les Emirats arabes unis ont accentué leur rapprochement avec Damas. D’autres pays, pour pouvoir apporter une aide humanitaire, pourraient, à leur tour, accepter une certaine normalisation avec le régime syrien.

Sur le plan géopolitique, la gravité de cette crise sanitaire inédite, touchant aussi bien les acteurs régionaux que les grandes puissances extérieures, devrait entrainer une baisse générale des tensions et conflits et donc moins de violence. Mais, certains acteurs pourraient y voir aussi une fenêtre d’opportunité – qu’il s’agisse de d’acteurs non étatiques, comme Daech, ou d’États, comme l’Iran – pour sortir de l’impasse dans laquelle ils se trouvent actuellement.

S’agissant, du « grand jeu international » entre les puissances mondiale (Etats-unis, Russie et Chine) au Moyen Orient, il est probable que le désengagement américain s’accélère. La Russie devrait consolider ses acquis en matière d’influence, en Syrie notamment. En revanche, la pandémie, qui a entrainé une chute de la production en Chine et donc une chute de la demande chinoise en matière de pétrole, a affecté l’accord qui unissait les pays de l’OPEP, conduits par l’Arabie Saoudite, et les pays dits « non OPEP », conduits par la Russie. La réunion de Vienne, qui portait sur la recherche de solutions à apporter à la baisse des prix du pétrole, le 6 mars dernier, a débouché sur la rupture de la Russie, qui a décidé de mettre fin à l’accord mis en place en 2016. Ainsi le groupe « OPEP + » constitué en 2016, qui contrôlait plus de la moitié de la production mondiale de pétrole est donc aujourd’hui dans l’impasse.

Sur le plan des équilibres régionaux, la Turquie pourrait tirer profit de la crise, au nord de la Syrie. Même si l’Iran peut maintenir ses positions, en dépit de son affaiblissement. Israël ne gagnera pas en matière d’influence non plus. D’autant plus que, comme son rival iranien, l’Etat hébreu connait de grandes difficultés sur le plan politique interne.

En revanche, l’affaiblissement des Etats-Unis et de la Russie dans la région pourrait profiter à la Chine, déjà très active dans le Golfe et en Irak, comme en Égypte et au Magreb. L’Iran, du fait de son isolement dépend de plus en plus de la Chine. Son affaiblissement ne fait qu’accroitre sa dépendance vis-à-vis de Pékin. Par ailleurs, la Chine peut aussi assurer les besoins de financements de certains Etats-clefs pour les équilibres régionaux, comme l’Egypte. D’autant plus que pour la Chine, l’Egypte peut représenter un jalon important pour son projet « Road and Belt Initiative » (nouvelle route de la soie), en Mer Rouge et en Méditerranée. La stratégie de pénétration chinoise en Egypte peut trouver une synergie avec l’Arabie saoudite et d’autres Etats du Golfe.

Toutefois les intérêts chinois ont des limites, et il est peu probable que Pékin s’engage dans des situations de crise, comme en Irak ou en Syrie, comme l’ont fait les Etats-Unis ou la Russie. Elle n’y a aucun intérêt. Elle devra, cependant, trouver un arbitrage entre ses intérêts en Arabie saoudite et ceux qu’elle a en Iran.
In fine, la crise du Covid-19 ne devrait pas entrainer de bouleversements majeurs dans le monde arabe, perse et turc, même si la période est tourmentée dans la région comme ailleurs. La tendance générale est plutôt à l’apaisement et à l’entraide, car aucune des forces régionales influentes n’a intérêt à favoriser des explosions sociales, avec des conséquences politiques non maîtrisées, comme en 2011.

* Politologie et consultante, spécialiste des questions environnementales