fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Misery of Philosophy!

28 July 2020 Expertises   40024  

Hamid Zanaz

What might philosophers tell us as we live through a pandemic crisis that forces us to be confined to our homes and avoid our fellow human beings? Obviously, we will have to listen to the scientific, medical and technical word. Scientists are the only ones who can give us practical answers on how to respond to the attacks of this dangerous virus.

As far as philosophers are concerned, they give us many questions and few answers. Debates, polemics, which can provide not only useful information on this disastrous situation, but also reveal what is going on in the “head” of some contemporary thinkers. To see some of their hidden, not to say long repressed, tendencies manifest themselves. This global pandemic represents, for many of them, a cynical opportunity to try to prove the validity of their theses and predictions. An ideological boon.

True to himself, the American thinker and linguist Noam Chomsky, for example, finds here yet another opportunity to push his recurring attack on capitalism. This neo-liberal capitalism has failed to take the necessary proactive measures, despite the fact that the pandemic was expected (especially since the SARS epidemic in 2003). This savage capitalist system does not care about preventing a future catastrophe because it is not economically profitable, according to the old viscerally anti-liberal American thinker. He does not hesitate to say that capitalist logic treats disasters according to its commercial worldview. But without mentioning the slightest responsibility of China under the boots of the communist-liberal party!

Slavoj Žižek takes the same easy path, he sees in COVID-19 only the clear embodiment and irrefutable proof of the failure of “market globalization” and the absurdity of rising populism in the West. As if everything was ready in the mind of the Slovenian philosopher. Did he not publish a book on the pandemic at the beginning of the global health crisis under the title “Pandemic!: Covid-19 Shakes the World”?

He is once again serving us his new old magic solution: the restructuring of the communist regime as the only solution to the problem of the modern world. Slavoj Žižek’s speech on the ecological lessons we should learn from this pandemic disaster is reasonable, if not necessary. On the other hand, his words about our meaningless modern life remain far from reality, as there is no indication that capitalism alone is responsible for the loss of this supposed global sense of life. Moreover, has life ever had a meaning shared by all humans? “I continue to believe”, Albert Camus tells us, “that this world has no ultimate meaning. But I know that something in it has a meaning and that is a man, because he is the only creature to insist on having one.” Far from the supposed meaning that Žižek wants to give to our life, every man gives the meaning he wants to his life. Even though we have known since Schopenhauer that life is a “business that does not cover the costs”.

As for the Italian philosopher Giorgio Agamben, he found in COVID-19 and the severe lockdown imposed on Italian citizens the opportunity to recycle his theory set out in State of Exception, his book published in 2003. According to him, governments have begun to accustom people to living in exceptional conditions to the point where the exception has become the rule, a normal state. In an article entitled “The Coronavirus and the state of exception”, published in the Italian newspaper Il Manifesto, he openly criticized the security measures taken by governments. He wrote then, in black and white, that “it would seem that, since terrorism has been used up as a cause of emergency measures, the invention of an epidemic may offer the ideal pretext for extending (emergency measures) beyond all limits”! Alleged epidemic, COVID-19 is nothing more than a kind of flu, according to the Italian philosopher.

On March 17, 2020, he again performed his usual song: “People have been so accustomed to living in conditions of perennial crisis and emergency that they don’t seem to notice that their lives have been reduced to a purely biological condition”. Everything is planned by the authorities to keep people in fear and insecurity, to dominate them and let them wade in the “state of exception”, his theory. White angels fight the virus to improve reality, Giorgio Agamben works to bend reality to the demands of his theory.

Contrary to the majority of Plato’s heirs, the French philosopher André-Comte Sponville downplayed what we are experiencing. He, the great philosopher, took up a phrase that has become almost a popular saying: “Death is part of life”. As if we didn’t know it! In any case, Mr. Sponville reassures us that we are not all going to die from the COVID-19. And our philosopher goes so far as to ask a cynical question: why should I mourn the victims of the virus, whose average age is 81? If 95% of them are over 60? The philosopher is more concerned about the future of his children than about these dying old men’s health. Beware, he warns us, don’t make health the supreme value of your existence!

Pierre Zaoui, a researcher and philosopher, takes advantage of the occasion to settle his scores with the wicked transhumanists. He sees the COVID-19 pandemic as a blow to the arrogance of these optimistic extremists who revere science as a supreme belief. Contrary to what they claim, the philosopher Zaoui explains that man is not as strong as he thinks he is, that his life is vulnerable, and that technology or scientific progress cannot protect him from pain and death. And that the “man-god” so much hoped for by them is not for tomorrow. Fortunately, a person’s weakness or fragility is not only a lack or incompleteness, but also a sensitivity, a poetry, a capacity of humanity to possess incomparable tenderness.

What philosopher Pierre Zaoui ignores is the goal of the transhumanists, which is merely an attempt to transcend human weakness and its constant exposure to viruses and diseases. Who could today reject the possibility of technological protection against COVID-19 or other viruses or diseases, in order to preserve poetry, sensitivity and tenderness?

Unfortunately, he has not been considered a philosopher by his peers for decades, otherwise Bernard-Henri Lévy would be a gold medalist in the Olympics of philosophical impatience. He is already analyzing the pandemic and settling its ontological fate in “Ce virus qui rend fou”, his new book. He already knows what this virus tells us about our society! Its relationship to evil, to tragedy, to death! Isn’t it pretentious to answer right now questions that require a lot of hindsight such as: Was it right to put the planet on hold? Is it right to hope that, from this coma into which we have plunged it, our world will come out regenerated? etc. It is true that the virus of modesty has never killed a pseudo-philosopher!

Sometimes, even as a philosopher, we miss opportunities to remain silent!

* Writer and essayist, latest book published “L’Europe face à l’invasion islamique” (Editions de Paris, 2019).

Misère de la philosophie!



Hamid Zanaz (*)

Que pourraient nous dire les philosophes alors que nous vivons une crise pandémique qui nous oblige à rester confinés chez nous et à éviter nos semblables? De toute évidence, nous devrons tendre l’oreille à la parole scientifique, médicale et technique. Les savants sont les seuls à pouvoir nous apporter des réponses pratiques sur la manière de répondre aux attaques de ce dangereux virus.

En ce qui concerne les philosophes, nous trouvons chez eux beaucoup de questions et peu de réponses. Des débats, des polémiques, qui peuvent fournir non seulement des informations utiles sur cette situation désastreuse, mais qui révèlent également ce qui se passe dans la « tête » de certains penseurs contemporains. Voir se manifester certaines de leurs tendances dissimulées, pour ne pas dire refoulées depuis longtemps. Cette pandémie mondiale représente, pour beaucoup d’entre eux, une opportunité cynique d’essayer de prouver la validité de leurs thèses et prédictions. Une aubaine idéologique.

Fidèle à ses habitudes, le penseur et linguiste Américain Noam Chomsky y trouve, par exemple, une énième occasion pour pousser son coup de gueule récurrent contre le capitalisme. Ce capitalisme néolibéral qui n’a pas pris les mesures proactives nécessaires, en dépit du fait que la pandémie était attendue (en particulier depuis l’épidémie de SARS en 2003). Ce système capitaliste sauvage ne se soucie guère d’empêcher une future catastrophe car cela n’est pas économiquement rentable, selon le vieux penseur Américain viscéralement anti-libéral. Il n’hésite pas à dire que la logique capitaliste traite les catastrophes selon sa vision commerciale du monde. Mais sans évoquer la moindre responsabilité de la Chine sous les bottes du parti communisto-libéral !

Slavoj Žižek emprunte le même chemin facile, il ne voit dans le Covid-19 que l’incarnation claire et la preuve irréfutable de l’échec de la « mondialisation marchande » et de l’absurdité du populisme montant en Occident. Comme si tout était prêt dans l’esprit du philosophe slovène. N’a-t-il pas publié un livre sur la pandémie au début de la crise sanitaire mondiale sous le titre « Pandémie, Covid-19 secoue le monde » ?

Il nous sert encore fois sa nouvelle vieille solution magique : la restructuration  du régime communiste comme seule solution au problème du monde moderne. Le discours de Slavoj Žižek sur les leçons écologiques que nous devrions tirer de cette catastrophe pandémique est raisonnable, voire nécessaire. En revanche, ses propos sur notre vie moderne qui serait dépourvue de sens restent loin de la réalité, car rien n’indique que le capitalisme est seul responsable de la perte de ce sens global supposé de la vie. D’ailleurs, la vie a-t-elle jamais eu un sens partagé par tous les humains ? « Je continue à croire, nous confie Albert Camus, que ce monde n’a pas de sens supérieur. Mais je sais que quelque chose en lui a du sens, et c’est l’homme, parce qu’il est le seul être à exiger d’en avoir. » Loin du supposé sens que veut donner Žižek à notre vie, tout homme donne le sens qu’il veut à sa vie. Même si nous savions déjà depuis Schopenhauer que la vie est une « affaire qui ne couvre pas ses frais ».

Quant au philosophe Italien Giorgio Agamben, il a trouvé dans le Covid-19 et le confinement sévère imposé aux citoyens Italiens l’occasion de recycler sa théorie exposée dans L’État d’Exception, son livre paru en 2003. Selon lui, les gouvernements ont commencé à habituer les gens à vivre dans des conditions exceptionnelles au point où l’exception est devenue la règle, un état normal. Dans un article intitulé « Coronavirus et état d’exception », publié dans le journal italien Il Manifesto, il critiquait ouvertement les mesures sécuritaires prises par les gouvernements. Il écrivait alors, noir sur blanc, qu’il « semblerait que, le terrorisme étant épuisé comme cause de mesures d’exception, l’invention d’une épidémie puisse offrir le prétexte idéal pour étendre (les mesures d’exception) au-delà de toutes les limites » ! Supposée épidémie, le Covid-19 n’est rien d’autre qu’une sorte de grippe, selon le philosophe Italien.

Le 17 mars 2020, il reprend encore sa chanson habituelle : « Les gens ont été tellement habitués à vivre dans des conditions de crise et d’urgence pérennes qu’ils ne semblent pas remarquer que leur vie a été réduite à une condition purement biologique ». Tout est planifié par les autorités pour maintenir les populations dans la peur et dans l’insécurité, pour les dominer et les laisser patauger dans « l’état d’exception », sa théorie. Les anges blancs combattent le virus pour améliorer le réel, Giorgio Agamben travaille pour plier le réel aux exigences de sa théorie.

Contrairement à la majorité des héritiers de Platon, le philosophe Français André-Comte Sponville dédramatise ce que nous vivons. Il reprend à son compte, lui le grand philosophe, une phrase galvaudée, devenue presque un dicton populaire : « La mort fait partie de la vie ». Comme si on ne le savait pas ! En tout cas, monsieur Sponville nous rassure, nous n’allons pas tous mourir du Covid-19. Et notre philosophe va jusqu’à poser une question cynique : pourquoi devrais-je pleurer les victimes du virus, dont l’âge moyen est de 81 ans ? Si 95% d’entre eux ont plus de 60 ans? Le philosophe est davantage préoccupé par l’avenir de ses enfants que par la santé de ces vieillards mourants. Attention, nous avertit-il, ne faites pas de la santé la valeur suprême de votre existence !

Pierre Zaoui, chercheur et philosophe, en profite pour régler ses comptes avec les méchants transhumanistes. Il considère que la pandémie du Covid-19 est un coup porté à l’arrogance de ces extrémistes optimistes qui vénèrent la science telle une croyance suprême. Contrairement à ce qu’ils prétendent, le philosophe Zaoui explique que l’homme n’est pas aussi fort qu’il le pense, que sa vie est vulnérable, et que la technologie ou le progrès de la science ne peuvent pas le protéger de la douleur et de la mort. Et que « l’homme-dieu » tant espéré par eux n’est pas pour demain. Heureusement que la faiblesse ou la fragilité d’une personne n’est pas seulement un manque ou une incomplétude, mais aussi une sensibilité, une poésie, une capacité de l’humanité à posséder une tendresse incomparable.

Ce que le philosophe Pierre Zaoui ignore, c’est le but des transhumanistes, qui n’est qu’une tentative de transcender la faiblesse humaine et son exposition constante aux virus et aux maladies. Qui pourrait aujourd’hui rejeter une possibilité de se protéger technologiquement contre le Covid-19 ou autres virus ou maladies, pour préserver la poésie, la sensibilité et la tendresse ?

Malheureusement, il n’est plus considéré comme philosophe par ses pairs depuis des décennies, sinon Bernard-Henri Lévy serait médaille d’or dans les jeux olympiques de l’impatience philosophique. Il analyse déjà la pandémie et lui règle son sort ontologique dans « Ce virus qui rend fou », son nouveau livre. Il sait déjà ce que nous dit ce virus  de notre société ! Son rapport au mal, au tragique, à la mort ! N’est-il pas prétentieux de répondre dès maintenant à des questions qui nécessitent  beaucoup de recul telles que : A-t-on bien fait de mettre la planète à l’arrêt ? A-t-on raison d’espérer que, de ce coma où on l’a plongé, notre monde sorte régénéré ? etc. Il est vrai que le virus de la modestie n’a jamais tué un pseudo-philosophe !

Il nous arrive parfois, et ce même lorsqu’on est philosophe, de rater des occasions de nous taire !

* Ecrivain et essayiste, dernier ouvrage paru « L’Europe face à l’invasion islamique » (Editions de Paris, 2019) .