Contagious emerging diseases: Read the original document by Professor Didier Raoult



World-renowned microbiologist and eminent specialist in emerging infectious diseases, Professor Didier Raoult, head of the university hospital Institute in infectious diseases in Marseille (IHU Méditerranée Infection), was commissioned by the French government in August 2002 to draw up a mission report on threats related to bioterrorism and emerging infectious diseases.

According to the terms of the mission letter that he received from the Ministry of Health, he was asked, in the post-9/11 context, to “establish, in close consultation with the Senior Defence Officials of the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Research, the state of play of all the public health measures and research actions included in the French and European mechanism for combating bioterrorism”, to “evaluate the public health measures currently in place to prevent and combat infectious threats” and, above all, to “put forward proposals to improve both epidemiological monitoring and the treatment by French and European laboratories of agents responsible for untreatable contagious diseases”.

The report of 374 pages that he submitted to the government on June 17, 2003, is an invaluable document. Seventeen years later, it has lost none of its relevance and remains highly topical. It provides unparalleled insight into the reasons that led – even in the most developed countries – to the many failures and shortcomings observed during the current COVID-19 pandemic.

Its recommendations would deserve special attention from all governments and international institutions around the world as part of the urgent and necessary reflection on how to deal with the future risks of pandemics linked to the emergence of new contagious diseases.

We reproduce here the facsimile of the general state of play set out in the introduction to this report and the entire section devoted to new contagious diseases:

 


Read the english translation of this document

Maladies contagieuses émergentes: Lire le document original du Professeur Didier Raoult



Sommité mondiale en matière de microbiologie et éminent spécialiste des maladies infectieuses émergeantes, le professeur Didier Raoult, qui dirige l’Institut hospitalo-universitaire en maladies infectieuses de Marseille (IHU Méditerranée Infection), a été chargé par le gouvernement français, en août 2002, d’établir un rapport de mission sur les menaces liées au bio-terrorisme et aux nouvelles maladie infectieuses.

Selon les termes de la lettre de mission qu’il a reçue du ministère de la santé, il lui était demandé alors, dans le contexte post-11 septembre 2001, d’« établir, en étroites concertation avec les Haut fonctionnaires de Défense du ministère chargé de la santé et du ministère chargé de la recherche, un état des lieux de l’ensemble des mesures de santé publique et des actions de recherche prévues dans le dispositif français et européen de lutte contre le bio-terrorisme », d’« évaluer les dispositifs de santé publique existant actuellement en matière de prévention de la lutte contre les menaces infectieuses » et surtout de « présenter des propositions pour améliorer tant la surveillance épidémiologique que la prise en charge par les laboratoires français et européens des agents responsables des maladies contagieuses non curables ».

Le rapport de 374 pages qu’il a remis au gouvernement, le 17 juin 2003, est un document d’une valeur inestimable. 17 ans plus tard, il n’a rien perdu de sa pertinence et demeure d’une actualité brulante. Il apporte un enseignement inégalé sur les raisons qui ont conduits – même dans les pays les plus développés – aux nombreux ratages et lacunes observés lors de la pandémie actuelle de Covid-19.

Les recommandations qu’il préconise mériteraient une attention toute particulière, de la part des institutions internationales et des gouvernements du monde entier, dans le cadre de l’indispensable réflexion qu’il faudra engager, de toute urgence, pour parer aux futurs risques de pandémies liées à l’émergence de nouvelles maladies contagieuses.

Nous reproduisons, ici, le facsimilé de l’état des lieux général établi dans l’introduction de ce rapport et l’intégralité de sa partie consacrée aux nouvelles maladies contagieuses :