fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Taiwan warned of the virus’s emergence in December, but the WHO subservient to China turned a deaf ear!

25 April 2020 News   75918  

While Taiwan has alerted the WHO to the emergence of the virus and the possibility of human-to-human transmission, several weeks before China, the UN specialized agency continues to boycott Taipei, at Beijing’s request.

By Ian Hamel

David Huang, Taiwan’s representative in Switzerland, launched a violent attack on the local press. “On December 31, Taiwan informed the WHO and the United States of potential human-to-human transmission of the Covid-19. We did not use that term, but we did mention a SARS-like pneumonia caused by an atypical SARS-like virus that required quarantine measures. This implies human-to-human transmission,” he says in the Lausanne daily Le Temps. However, it was not until January 22 that a committee of WHO experts traveling to Wuhan simply wrote that “sources suggest that human-to-human transmission is occurring in Wuhan,” and that “further analysis is needed to understand the extent of this transmission”. And it was not until March 11, 2020, that the World Health Organization finally spoke of a “pandemic”. An unacceptable delay that has undoubtedly caused the death of tens of thousands of people around the world.

While Taiwan appears to be one of the countries that is best managing the coronavirus crisis, with only 426 cases and six deaths in this country of twenty-three million people, the WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific is refusing all contact with this country and is not providing it with regional health information. The international organization even refuses to certify the vaccines produced by Taiwan. Of course, the WHO cannot be criticized for defending the One-China policy. Nevertheless, why refuse to use the expertise of this small territory, which has one of the best health systems on the planet? Especially since Taiwan used to have an observer status. Until Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, the current Director General of the WHO, abolished it upon his election in 2017. The first African elected to this post, this Ethiopian doctor is accused of being beholden to the Chinese. And not only by the American president. “The WHO, a Chinese puppet?”, recently headlined the Mediapart website.

In a vitriolic article entitled “A challenge for multilateralism: China’s instrumentalization of Africa and its consequences on WHO decisions”, Valérie Niquet, Senior Research Fellow at the french Foundation for Strategic Research (FRS), recalls that Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus was elected head of the WHO thanks to very active support from Beijing. But also that China is “the first source of foreign investment and the first trading partner of Ethiopia. Between 2005 and 2019, the cumulative amount of Chinese investment reached 8% of the total for the whole of sub-Saharan Africa. Ethiopia is the second largest recipient country in Africa. In addition, the regional headquarters of the Xinhua agency, one of the main organs of the Communist Party of China’s external propaganda apparatus, is located in Addis Ababa.

That’s not all. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, former minister of Health and then of Foreign Affairs of Ethiopia, who is now 55 years old, also has a bellyful of recognition for the Middle Kingdom. Indeed, he was a member of the Ethiopian revolutionary communist organization, the Tigray People’s Liberation Front, which was supported by China. Marxist-Leninist, this organization fought in the years 1970-1980 against the power of Addis Ababa, then supported by Moscow… From the 1990s, the Tigray People’s Liberation Front, which came to power, changed its name and abandoned all references to Marxism-Leninism. But the solidarity remains with the Chinese big brother. Nor had Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus forgotten another companion in the struggle formerly supported by China in Africa, the infamous Robert Mugabe, the former dictator of Zimbabwe. In October 2017, he had chosen him as a WHO Goodwill Ambassador to help fight non-transmissible diseases in Africa. But faced with an outcry, the new WHO Director General was forced to resign from this controversial appointment.

Taïwan a averti de l’émergence du virus dès décembre, mais l’OMS inféodée à la Chine a fait la sourde oreille !



Alors que Taïwan a alerté l’OMS de l’émergence du Covid-19 et de la possibilité d’une transmission entre humains, plusieurs semaines avant la Chine, l’institution spécialisée de l’ONU continue à boycotter Taipei, à la demande de Pékin.

Par Ian Hamel, à Genève

 David Huang, le représentant de Taïwan en Suisse, a lancé un violent coup de gueule dans la presse locale. « Le 31 décembre, Taïwan a informé l’OMS et les États-Unis d’une potentielle transmission du Covid-19 entre humains. Nous n’avons pas employé ce terme, mais nous avons mentionné une pneumonie atypique causée par un virus semblable au SRAS et nécessitant des mesures de quarantaine. Cela implique une transmission entre humains », déclare-t-il dans le quotidien Le Temps de Lausanne. Or, il faut attendre le 22 janvier pour qu’un comité d’experts de l’OMS en déplacement à Wuhan, se contente d’écrire que « les sources suggèrent qu’une transmission entre humains se produit à Wuhan », et que « des analyses plus approfondies sont nécessaires pour comprendre l’étendue de cette transmission ». Et ce n’est que le 11 mars 2020 que l’Organisation mondiale de la santé parle enfin de « pandémie ». Un retard inadmissible qui a sans doute provoqué la mort de dizaines de milliers de personnes dans le monde.

Alors que Taïwan apparaît comme l’un des pays qui gère au mieux la crise du coronavirus, avec seulement 426 cas et six morts dans ce pays de vingt-trois millions d’habitants, le bureau régional de l’OMS pour le Pacifique occidental refuse tout contact avec ce pays, et ne lui fournit pas d’informations sanitaires régionales. L’organisation internationale refuse même de certifier les vaccins produits par Taïwan. Certes, on ne peut pas reprocher à l’OMS de défendre le principe d’une seule Chine. Néanmoins, pourquoi se refuser à utiliser les compétences de ce petit territoire qui dispose d’un des meilleurs systèmes de santé sur la planète ? D’autant que Taïwan bénéficiait autrefois d’un statut d’observateur. Jusqu’à ce que Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, l’actuel directeur général de l’OMS, le supprime dès son élection en 2017. Premier africain élu à ce poste, ce médecin éthiopien est accusé d’être à la solde des Chinois. Et pas seulement par le président américain. « L’OMS, une marionnette chinoise ? », titrait récemment le site Mediapart.

Dans un article au vitriol, intitulé « Un défi pour le multilatéralisme : l’instrumentalisation de l’Afrique par la Chine et ses conséquences sur les décisions de l’OMS », Valérie Niquet, maître de recherche à la Fondation pour la Recherche Stratégique (FRS), rappelle que Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus a été élu à la tête de l’OMS grâce à un soutien très actif de Pékin. Mais aussi que la Chine est « la première source d’investissements étrangers et le premier partenaire commercial de l’Éthiopie. Entre 2005 et 2019, le montant cumulé des investissements chinois a atteint 8 % du total pour l’ensemble de l’Afrique sub-saharienne. L’Éthiopie se situe au deuxième rang des pays récipiendaires africains ». Par ailleurs, le siège régional de l’agence Xinhua, l’un des principaux organes de l’appareil de propagande extérieure du parti communiste chinois est installé à Addis-Abeba.

Ce n’est pas tout. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, ancien ministre de la Santé, puis des Affaires étrangères d’Éthiopie, aujourd’hui âgé de 55 ans, a aussi une reconnaissance du ventre pour l’Empire du Milieu. En effet, il était membre de l’organisation communiste révolutionnaire éthiopienne, le Front de libération du peuple du Tigray, qui était soutenu par la Chine. Marxiste-léniniste, cette organisation luttait dans les année 1970-1980 contre le pouvoir d’Addis-Abeba, alors appuyé par Moscou… Dès les années 90, le Front de libération du peuple du Tigray, arrivé au pouvoir, change de nom et abandonne toute référence au marxisme-léninisme. Mais la solidarité demeure vis-à-vis du grand frère chinois. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus n’avait pas non plus oublié un autre compagnon de lutte soutenu autrefois par la Chine en Afrique, le tristement célèbre Robert Mugabe, l’ancien dictateur du Zimbabwe. En octobre 2017, il l’avait choisi comme… ambassadeur de bonne volonté de l’OMS pour aider à lutter contre les maladies non transmissibles en Afrique. Mais confronté à une levée de boucliers, le nouveau directeur général de l’OMS avait été contraint de renoncer à cette nomination plus que controversée.