fbpx
 
 

 

Wars, Famines, World Disorder: Will Coronavirus Change the Face of the World?



Christian Malard (*)

The pandemic that has hit the planet must make us realize that nothing will ever be the same again. There was a pre-coronavirus. There’s now going to be a geopolitical and geostrategic post-coronavirus. Today, several factors are cause for concern in Western chanceries: An American withdrawal from world affairs, especially in the Middle East, leaving the field open to Russia and Iran; China’s all-round offensive and divisions in Europe.

The French Foreign Affairs Minister, Jean-Yves Le Drian, is right in saying that “the pandemic only exacerbates the global world fractures and their amplification, which undermine the international order”. And as Serguei Lavrov, Russia’s Foreign Affairs Minister, likes to repeat: “the world order that emerged in 1945 is now obsolete”.

Undoubtedly, there is an acceleration of trends rather than true breaks. The lack of real global governance makes the pandemic the continuation, by other means, of the struggle between major powers. I share the view that the exacerbation of the Sino-American rivalry is the most worrying. I will come back to this!

Emmanuel Macron and Donald Trump are right to say that China has lied and concealed the seriousness of the pandemic. Disinformation has also become a major weapon in Iran, where the Ayatollahs’ regime, as that of Xi Jin-Ping, officially announced the coronavirus only 4 weeks after the start of its propagation, starting from the city of Qom, 120 km south of Tehran, where 700 Chinese theology students had stayed, making Qom the epicentre of the pandemic in the Middle East.

A pandemic is always a good excuse as Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, Supreme Guide of Iranian Revolution and the Revolutionary Guards are using it to ask for medical and financial aid in the name of the fight against coronavirus, whilst we pertinently know that this medical and financial aid is diverted to the benefit of the regime, its allies of Hezbollah and the pro-Iranian Iraqi Shiite Hashd Al-Chaabi militias. Qatar, its ally, has transferred 4 billion Dollars, Japan and the European Union, still as naive as ever, have each released 20 million Euros and the regime is demanding 5 billion Dollars from the IMF. The regime says it has no money, yet Ali Khamenei, according to our sources, has a personal fortune of 200 billion Dollars (140 billion placed in accounts in Dubai, Qatar, Turkey, and 60 billion in cash).

If he has no money, then how can be explained the fact that during his trip to Syria, in the week of April 19th to 25th, Mohammad Javad Zarif gave 100 million dollars to Hezbollah and 65 million to Bashar al-Assad.

As for the number of victims of the pandemic, the Iranian regime is lying to us. It announces 5,700 deaths, whereas our hospital sources inform us of a figure of over 30,000 fatalities. And, meanwhile, it is accelerating its nuclear programme.

In the same disinformation category, let’s examine the example of Russian President, Vladimir Putin, who, for a long time, told us that he mastered the fight against the coronavirus. We then very quickly realised that Moscow, the capital and its 13 million inhabitants, had been contaminated up to two-thirds, that the propagation of the virus had spread to all regions where makeshift hospitals were being set up. Vladimir Putin even had to airlift a hospital to the Arctic, on the border with Norway, where Russian soldiers were affected by the coronavirus.

This pandemic goes to show that the world and its leaders, whoever they may be, are all fragile and vulnerable, just like ordinary people. As did Xi Jin-Ping and Vladimir Putin, it does not prevent them from playing on the fragmentation of the European Union, hence the call from the French authorities for Europe “to find itself a destiny of leadership with a more asserted sovereignty rather than questioning on itself”.

The pandemic is very frustrating for Vladimir Putin and his ambitions. With a heavy heart, he had to postpone, to an undetermined date, the constitutional vote that would have kept him in power until 2036.

Let’s now return to the Sino-American rivalry which is being fuelled by this coronavirus crisis. It is leading to a rapid deterioration of relations between the two countries, the worst since they established diplomatic relations in 1979. The pandemic has blown up the beginnings of a normalization that took shape with the signing of a new economic treaty earlier this year.

That being said, was Donald Trump right to call the pandemic a “Chinese virus”?  Even if the American president has, of course, objective and legitimate reasons to blame Xi Jin-Ping for hiding the seriousness of the epidemic, it must be added that Donald Trump rightly sees China’s rise to economic and military power, with the hidden will to supplant the United States.

As some experts say: “There is no doubt whatsoever that we are entering a dangerous period. Tensions created by the pandemic could lead to a profound transformation of international relations as they usually occur after a major conflict”.

Today, Europeans rightly consider China as a strategic rival. That is why, slowly but surely, time has come for the European Union and its often divided 27 members to wake up to China. Emmanuel Macron, whose spearhead of his foreign policy is the revival of Europe, pleading for a political, economic and military Europe, is coming out of his naivety by criticising China’s attempts to divide weakened countries of the Union, such as Greece and Italy.

I would like to end this overview with the Middle East and Africa, where the pandemic is becoming a nightmare, especially in refugee camps. In Syria, there are 4 million refugees stacked in camps on the Syrian-Turkish border, which surpass Gaza in terms of overcrowding. Since 2011 and the beginning of civil war, 11 million Syrians have been displaced within Syria itself or to Iraq, Jordan, Turkey, Egypt and Lebanon. According to experts from international humanitarian organizations, consequences would be devastating.

In Iraq, which is living between a permanent political crisis and a health crisis, there are 1.5 million new displaced persons, as a result of the renewed fighting with the Islamic state rising from its ashes.

In Yemen, there are 3.4 million displaced refugees living in makeshift camps or in overcrowded neighbourhoods of Sana’a and Aden. And 10 million people are suffering from famine there.

In Africa, the assumption of a catastrophic scenario cannot be ruled out. It may find itself facing three crises at the same time: health, economic and food. The worst affected countries in Africa are South Africa, Nigeria and Angola.

Sub-Saharan Africa is in recession. This is the first time in 25 years and the risk of a food crisis has reached levels not seen since the end of World War II. The economic recession will lead to even harsher living conditions, impoverishment of people, malnutrition and ultimately death that makes little distinction between young and old. One-third of the continent is already below poverty level. An additional 500 million people will fall into poverty unless there is an urgent support plan, or even a Marshall Plan.

The situation is most critical in the Sahel. In countries such as Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger, hundreds of people die every week. The coronavirus even strikes members of “Operation Barkhane”, which gathers 5,100 French soldiers, amongst whom several cases have been detected.

Daech fighters have terrorized one million displaced refugees. French troops should not withdraw, as they did in Iraq, because of the spread of the coronavirus. That would seal the rebirth and the spread of another scourge, that of Daech. The world doesn’t need this!

 

* Expert in international politics and diplomatic consultant.

Guerres, famines, désordre mondial : Le coronavirus changera-t-il la face du monde ?



Christian Malard (*)

La pandémie qui s’est abattue sur la planète doit nous faire réaliser que rien ne sera plus comme avant. Il y a eu l’avant coronavirus. Il y aura l’après coronavirus géopolitique et géostratégique. Aujourd’hui, plusieurs facteurs ont de quoi inquiéter les chancelleries occidentales : Le retrait Américain des affaires du monde et du Moyen Orient, en particulier, laissant le champ libre à la Russie et à l’Iran ; L’offensive tous azimuts de la Chine et les divisions de l’Europe.

Le Ministre Français des Affaires Étrangères, Jean-Yves Le Drian, a raison de dire que « la pandémie ne fait qu’exacerber les fractures mondiales et leur amplification qui minent l’ordre international. » Et comme aime à le répéter Serguei Lavrov, le Ministre Russe des Affaires Étrangères : « l’ordre mondial issu de 1945 est caduc. »

Sans doute y a-t-il une accélération des tendances plutôt que de véritables ruptures. L’absence d’une réelle gouvernance mondiale fait de la pandémie la continuation, par d’autres moyens, de la lutte entre les grandes puissances. Je partage la thèse selon laquelle l’exacerbation de la rivalité sino-américaine est la plus préoccupante. J’y reviendrai !

Emmanuel Macron et Donald Trump ont raison de déclarer que la Chine a menti et dissimulé la gravité de la pandémie. La désinformation est devenue reine aussi en Iran où le régime des Ayatollahs, comme celui de Xi Jin Ping, ne nous a annoncé officiellement le coronavirus que 4 semaines après le début de sa propagation, à partir de la ville de Qom, à 120 kms au sud de Téhéran où avaient séjourné 700 étudiants Chinois en théologie, faisant de Qom l’épicentre de la pandémie au Moyen Orient.

Une pandémie qui a bon dos car l’Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, le Guide Suprême de la Révolution iranienne et les Gardiens de la Révolution s’en servent pour demander de l’aide médicale et financière au nom de la lutte anti-coronavirus. alors que l’on sait, pertinemment, que cette aide médicale et financière est détournée au profit du Régime, de ses alliés du Hezbollah et des milices Chiites Irakiennes pro-Iraniennes du Hashd Al-Chaabi. Le Qatar, son allié, lui a transféré 4 Milliards de Dollars, le Japon et l’Union Européenne, toujours aussi naïve, ont débloqué 20 millions d’Euros chacun et le régime réclame 5 Milliards de Dollars au Fond Monétaire International. Le régime dit ne pas avoir d’argent et pourtant Ali Khamenei, selon nos sources, dispose d’une fortune personnelle de 200 Milliards de dollars (140 Milliards placés sur des comptes à Dubaï, au Qatar, en Turquie et 60 Milliards en cash.)

S’il n’a pas d’argent, alors comment expliquer que lors de son déplacement en Syrie, durant la semaine du 19 au 25 avril, Mohammad Djavad Zarif ait donné 100 Millions de dollars au Hezbollah et 65 Millions à Bachar el-Assad.

Quant au nombre des victimes de la pandémie, le régime iranien nous ment. Il annonce 5.700 morts alors que nos sources hospitalières nous donnent un chiffre dépassant les 30.000 morts. Et pendant ce temps, il accélère son programme nucléaire.

À mettre dans la même catégorie des désinformateurs, la Président Russe, Vladimir Poutine, qui nous a longtemps dit qu’il maitrisait la lutte contre le coronavirus et puis, très vite, on s’est aperçu que Moscou, la capitale et ses 13 Millions d’habitants, étaient aux 2/3 contaminés, que la propagation du virus avait gagné toutes les régions où l’on crée des hôpitaux de fortune. Vladimir Poutine a même dû faire aéroporter un hôpital dans l’Arctique, à la frontière avec la Norvège, où des soldats Russes étaient touchés par le Coronavirus.

Cette pandémie nous démontre que le monde et ses dirigeants, quels qu’ils soient, sont tous fragiles et vulnérables, comme le commun des mortels. Cela ne les empêche pas, comme Xi Jin Ping et Vladimir Poutine de jouer sur les fragmentations de l’Union Européenne, d’où l’appel des autorités Françaises à l’Europe « à se trouver un destin de leadership avec une souveraineté plus affirmée plutôt que de s’interroger sur elle-même. »

La pandémie frustre beaucoup Vladimir Poutine et ses ambitions. Il a dû, la mort dans l’âme, repousser, à une date non déterminée, la tenue du vote constitutionnel devant le maintenir du pouvoir jusqu’en 2036.

Revenons, à présent, à la rivalité Sino-Américaine qui est attisée par la crise du Coronavirus. Elle conduit à une rapide dégradation des relations entre les deux pays, la pire depuis qu’ils ont établi des relations diplomatiques, en 1979. La pandémie a fait exploser un début de normalisation qui s’était esquissé avec la signature, au début de l’année, d’un nouveau traité économique.

Cela dit, Donald Trump a-t-il eu raison de qualifier la pandémie de « virus chinois » ? Même si le président américain a, bien sûr, des raisons objectives et légitimes de reprocher à Xi Jin Ping d’avoir caché la gravité de l’épidémie. Il faut ajouter à cela que Donald Trump voit, à juste titre, la montée en puissance de la Chine au niveau économique et militaire, avec la volonté cachée de supplanter les États-Unis.

Comme le disent certains experts : « Il ne fait aucun doute que l’on entre dans une période dangereuse. Les tensions suscitées par la pandémie risquent de déboucher sur une profonde transformation des relations internationales telles qu’elles se produisent d’habitude après un conflit majeur. »

Aujourd’hui, les Européens considèrent, à juste titre, la Chine comme un rival stratégique. Raison pour laquelle, il était temps que, lentement mais surement, l’Union Européenne et ses 27 membres, souvent divisés, se réveillent face à la Chine. Emmanuel Macron, qui a fait de la relance de l’Europe le fer de lance de sa politique étrangère, plaidant en faveur d’une Europe politique économique et militaire, sort de sa naïveté et critique les tentatives de divisions de la Chine vis-à-vis de pays  de l’Union fragilisés économiquement, comme la Grèce et l’Italie.

Je voudrais terminer ce tour d’horizon par le Moyen Orient et l’Afrique où la pandémie devient un cauchemar, surtout pour les camps de réfugiés. En Syrie, il y a 4 millions de réfugiés entassés dans des camps à la frontière turco-syrienne, qui dépassent Gaza en termes de surpopulation. Depuis 2011, début de la guerre civile, 11 millions de Syriens ont été déplacés en Syrie même ou vers l’Irak, la Jordanie, la Turquie, l’Égypte et le Liban. Selon les experts des organisations humanitaires internationales, les conséquences seraient dévastatrices.

En Irak, qui vit entre crise politique permanente et crise sanitaire, il y a 1,5 millions de nouveaux déplacés, suite à la recrudescence des combats avec l’État Islamique qui renaît de ses cendres.

Au Yémen, il y a 3,4 millions de réfugiés déplacés vivant dans des camps improvisés ou dans les quartiers surpeuplés de Sanaa et de Aden. Et 10 Millions de personnes y souffrent de la famine.

En Afrique, on ne peut exclure l’hypothèse d’un scénario catastrophe. Elle peut se retrouver, en même temps, face à trois crises : sanitaire, économique et alimentaire. Les pays de l’Afrique les plus touchés du Continent sont l’Afrique du Sud, le Nigéria et l’Angola.

L’Afrique subsaharienne est en récession. C’est une première depuis 25 ans et le risque de crise alimentaire atteint des niveaux jamais vus depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. La récession économique conduira à des conditions de vie encore plus dures, à l’appauvrissement des personnes, à la malnutrition et finalement à une mort qui ne fait guère de distinctions entre jeunes et vieux. Un tiers du continent est déjà sous le seuil de pauvreté. 500 Millions d’individus, en plus, vont basculer dans la pauvreté, s’il n’y a pas un plan de soutien, voire un plan Marshall, de toute urgence.

C’est au Sahel que la situation est la plus critique, dans des pays comme le Mali, le Burkina Faso et le Niger. Le chiffre des victimes se comptent par centaines, chaque semaine. Le coronavirus frappe même des membres de « L’opération Barkhane » qui regroupe 5.100 militaires français, parmi lesquels plusieurs cas ont été détectés.

Les combattants de Daech ont terrorisé un million de réfugiés déplacés. Il ne faudrait pas que les troupes Françaises se retirent, comme elles l’ont fait en Irak, à cause de la propagation du coronavirus. Ça serait sceller la renaissance et la propagation d’un autre fléau, celui de Daech. Le Monde n’a pas besoin de cela !

* Expert en politique internationale et consultant diplomatique.