fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

The foot soldiers’ saga, the infamy of cowardly profiteers and other snitching vermine

24 June 2020 Expertises   9975  

Jean Marie Montali
Jean Marie Montali

When this is over, if ever it is, they will mark the long-awaited day with televised displays of emotion and solemnity. Ministers, in their dark blue suits, will congratulate themselves on having won the war.

They will adopt the appropriate tone, neither too soft nor excessively belligerent. We know the score. They will play with words, bend the truth ever so slightly, and make careful inflexions so as to make this ordeal look like a collective victory. Toilet paper roll and pasta grabbers will be so chuffed to be counted among the heroes.

The President said, “This is a war”, and of course, we would have won it. No-one will remember the profiteers, the cowards or those who rushed to stockpile pasta and rice. We will forget all about the stirrings of those rotten to the core parasites as well as those who called the emergency number, with a glint in their eye, to denounce their neighbours or snitch on some Chinese man. Or, worse still, those pathetic landlords, barricaded in their homes, with their stockpiles of preserves, pissing their pants while waiting for their tenant to move out because she’s a nurse. Or for her to drop dead. The thought of having a nurse staying in their 2-3 roomed apartment, while an infectious virus was on the loose, stirred up a flurry of dark thoughts and sickening ideas like a stink bug’s nest. We will forget that some people are just empty vessels. “Brigadier, my neighbour is a nurse, and when she gets back, unless she dies on the way that is, she’s going to give us the Clod-onavirus, don’t you think she should move out, you know, in the interest of public health? General, my neighbour goes shopping without his ausweis, and there’s a guy on the street, Chinese or something, eating pangolin pâté. Yes, yes, yes, he has it flown in from Shanghai. Officer, I don’t want to slander anyone, far from it, but you know… Chinese, for crying out loud!” There has been a 300% increase in anonymous reports to the police since the lockdown began…

But when it’s all over, politicians will deliver speeches in their deep, plummy, smooth and honeyed voices. They will refer to “our” hospitals, “our” carers. “our” doctors, and “our” dear nurses. Much like you would say our monuments, our great men, our war veterans, our sportsmen, our footballers, our army. Our ‘Poilus’, our beloved hairy ones. They will extol the hospital and the people. There will be no mention of the bravery of some or of the cowardice of others. They will lump everyone together to make the lockdown – spent munching peanuts on the couch while watching Netflix in our boxers – look like a black and white epic, just like other wars, the real ones.

The memory will evoke visions of dedication, of collegiality and mutual support. We will emerge from this war better and stronger: 66 million French men and women, 66 million Résistance fighters, facing the virus together as one, impervious, united and strong, standing behind those who fought on the frontline.

What about the nurses? What will they think? What will “our” nurses, “our” carers think? All “our” this and that, all the possessives, the adjectives and personal pronouns, will serve to depersonalise them. They will each be stripped of the days they spent on duty, of sleepless nights spent among the sick, of their exhaustion, their fear, of the hours they spent holding the hand of the dying so they would not have to die alone. Mother, sister, wife. Human, so very human. Who can imagine that? Do the politicians in their stiff, dark suits know what these people went through? What they really felt when the masks were not delivered? When they were making protective clothing for themselves out of garbage bags? When they read the communiqués issued by this or that Prefecture appealing for charitable donations to help equip them? In 1914 they collected gold to make ammunition; in 2020, we collected cotton sheets to make protective clothing for our nurses…In France!

When this is over, if ever it is, we will have forgotten that this war was to the health sector, the equivalent of the Battle of Verdun; one where the role of the humble soldier was by far more significant than that of the General. The foot soldiers were at the ready in their respective positions: in hospital, behind the wheel of a heavy vehicle, manning the cash point at a supermarket, collecting garbage, in a police car, or wearing a fire fighter’s hat, wielding a broom, at home making protective masks and so much more. This army of anonymous people, invisible heroes, optimists in the face of desperation, so far removed from the Generals and self-satisfied strategists devising battle plans from on high. And the same incredibly fierce determination as at Fort de Vaux: that the virus would not prevail. What a lesson! These workers proved to us that it is indeed the little ones who are the backbone of society. More than that, they reminded us of a beautiful word: solidarity. Because the threat was a common one, thanks to them, we witnessed the return of something we had long stopped believing in: a collective consciousness. Just like bees in a hive, united to defend themselves and to build. I think it is beautiful that this resurgence of a collective consciousness should have started at the bottom rather than the top. It will serve as a solid foundation for what will come after.

That is why, when this is over, if it ever ends, when we find our place again as the man in the street or the man at work (the very fact of being alive and well is no small thing you know!), we must not forget our nurses, our doctors, our street sweepers, our refuse collectors, delivery men, truck drivers and all those who, in one way or another, found the courage to get involved, to be generous and to make themselves available. I hope we will not forget all the lowly ones who stayed the course and kept at it without ever giving up; often working without any protection, because these people went far beyond the call of duty. They kept our nation in good health while it tottered on its foundations. It is thanks to them that one day we will be able to begin our journey back to recovery. What a beautiful thought!

If we forget this, it would mean that we have learned nothing from this crisis.

 * Journalist and essayist, former executive director of Figaro Magazine.

L’épopée des sans-grades, l’infamie des lâches profiteurs et autres vermines délatrices



Jean Marie Montali (*)

Quand ça sera fini, si ça finit un jour, il y aura de beaux moments d’émotion solennelle et télévisée. Les ministres, dans leur bleu costume, se féliciteront d’avoir gagné la guerre. Ils auront le ton qui convient, ni trop attendri, ni trop martial. On connaît la chanson. Ils auront des ruses de langage, des transpositions subtiles, des inflexions mesurées qui feront de cette aventure une victoire collective. Ça donnera des érections aux pilleurs de PQ et de coquillettes d’appartenir au peuple héroïque.

« C’est la guerre », a dit le Président et bien sûr, on l’aura gagnée. On oubliera qu’il y a eut des profiteurs, des lâches, des pilleurs de pâtes et de riz, on oubliera le remuement des vermines, pourries de la tête et du coeur, celles qui ont composé le 17, en se repoissant la mèche à la salive, pour dénoncer les voisins ou un Chinois. Ou pire encore, ces petits propriétaires claquemurés chez eux, dans les conserves, à pisser dans leur froc en attendant que la locataire déménage parce qu’elle est infirmière. Ou qu’elle crève. Une infirmière dans leur 2-3 pièces, par temps de virus, ça leur a donné des idées noires, un grouillement de sales petites idées, comme des punaises. On oubliera qu’il y a des gens qui sont comme des éviers qu’on vide : il ne faudrait pas voir au fond. « Monsieur le brigadier, ma voisine est infirmière, et quand c’est qu’elle reviendra, si elle meurt pas en route, elle va nous refiler le connardo-virus, faudrait pas qu’elle déménage, question santé publique ? Mon général, mon voisin fait les courses sans ausweis, et dans la rue y’a un Chinois, ou quelque chose comme ça, qui mange du pâté de pangolin. Si, si, si, il le fait venir de Shanghaï ! Monsieur l’agent, je veux pas calomnier ni rien, on est pas là pour ça, mais quand même ! Un Chinois ! ». 300 % d’appels de dénonciations anonymes à la police en plus, dès le début du confinement…

Mais quand ça sera fini, les ministres parleront d’une voix épaisse et distinguée, onctueuse et gélatineuse. Ils diront : « notre » système hospitalier, « nos » soignants, « nos » médecins et « nos » chères infirmières. Un peu comme on dit nos monuments, nos grands hommes, nos anciens combattants, nos sportifs, nos footballeurs, notre armée. Nos Poilus, nos chers poilus.  On fera l’éloge de l’hôpital et du peuple. On oubliera le courage des uns, la lâcheté des autres. On mélangera tout, pour faire de notre confinement à bouffer des cacahouètes sur la canapé, en caleçon devant Netflix, une épopée en chromos comme les autres guerres, les vraies.

Le souvenir aura le goût du dévouement, de l’élévation collégiale et unanime. Nous sortirons grandis de cette guerre : 66 millions de Français, 66 millions de Résistants, soudés face à la maladie, unis, compacts et solides derrière ceux qui ont lutté en première ligne.

Et les infirmières, qu’en penseront-elle ? « Nos » infirmières ? « Notre » personnel soignant ? Tous ces « nos », tous ces compléments de noms, ces adjectifs et pronoms personnels, ça les dépersonnalisera. Elles seront individuellement dépouillées de leurs jours de garde, de leurs nuits de veille au milieu des malades, de leur fatigue, de leur peur, de ces heures à tenir la main d’un mourant pour ne pas qu’il meure seul. Maman, soeur, épouse. Humaine, tellement humaine. Peut-on imaginer ça ? Est-ce que les ministres, avec leur costume de maître d’hôtel, savent ce qu’elles ont réellement vécu ? Ce qu’elles ont vraiment ressenti lorsque les masques n’arrivaient pas ? Lorsqu’elles se taillaient des blouses de protection dans de sacs poubelles ? Lorsque elles lisaient les communiqués de telle ou telle Préfecture appelant à la charité publique pour les équiper : en 1914, on collectait de l’or pour fondre des munitions. En 2020, on collectait des draps en coton pour confectionner des blouses à nos infirmières ! En France !

Quand ça sera fini, si ça finit un jour, on aura oublié que cette guerre a été d’abord un Verdun sanitaire où le simple soldat a davantage compté que le général. Les sans-grades étaient recroquevillés sur leur position : à l’hôpital, derrière le volant d’un poids lourd, derrière une caisse de supermarché, une benne à ordure, dans une voiture de police, un casque de pompier sur la tête, un balai à la main, chez lui à confectionner des masques, que sais-je encore, toute cette armée d’anonymes, d’invisibles héroïques, optimistes en désespoir de cause, très loin des généraux et des stratèges gonflés de suffisance qui, dans les hautes sphères, échafaudaient des plans de bataille. Et cette même obstination merveilleusement farouche qu’au Fort de Vaux : le virus ne passera pas ! Quelle leçon ! Ces laborieux nous ont montré que la société est faite de petits. Mieux encore : ils nous ont réappris ce beau mot, solidarité. Parce que la menace était collective, voilà qu’il s’est formé grâce à eux ce qu’on croyait impossible depuis longtemps : une conscience collective. Une conscience d’abeilles dans la ruche, unies pour se défendre et bâtir. Je trouve ça beau que cette reconstruction d’une conscience collective vienne d’en bas, pas d’en haut. Ça fera de bonnes fondations pour l’Après.

C’est pour ça que, quand ça sera fini, si ça finit un jour, qu’on retrouvera sa place d’homme dans la rue, d’homme au travail (c’est quelque chose d’être un homme vivant qui marche, quand même !), il ne faudra pas oublier nos infirmières, nos médecins, nos balayeurs, nos éboueurs, nos livreurs, nos camionneurs, tous ceux qui ont eu, d’une façon ou d’une autre, le courage de s’engager vraiment et d’être généreux, disponibles. J’espère qu’on n’oubliera pas tous ces « humbles » qui sont resté à la tâche sans faillir, et souvent sans protection, parce que ceux-là, ils ont fait bien plus que leur boulot. Ils ont assuré le maintien en bonne santé de la nation lorsqu’elle vacillait sur ses bases. C’est grâce à eux qu’un jour nous serons en mesure d’entamer notre convalescence. Que j’aime cette idée !

Si on l’oublie, c’est qu’on aura rien compris à cette crise.

* Journaliste et essayiste, ancien directeur exécutif du Figaro Magazine.