Muslim Brotherhood, a European danger



atmane tazaghart (*)

For a long time, the Islamist branch of the Muslim Brotherhood benefited from kindness of the authorities and extensive legislation on political asylum in European countries.

A double aberration has long dominated in this respect. First of all, there is this striking semantic contradiction called “moderate Islamism”. Because, how can one be “moderate”, or even tolerant, while claiming a divine truth which is impervious to any criticism or examination of consciousness?

In the Arab-Muslim world, Islamists systematically disqualified their laical adversaries, designating them as “Satan’s disciples” (Hizb al-Chaïtan), and presented themselves the Caliphs (heirs) of Allah on Earth !

But in the West, we were blinded to calling “moderate” all those who – even reluctantly – were opposed to jihadist violence. This was, for half a century, the case with the Muslim Brotherhood. And this happened despite the fact that all the figures of global jihadism, from Abdellah Azzam and his disciple Osama Bin Laden until Aymen al-Zawahiri and his rival Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, experienced their first “feats of arms” within the Muslim Brotherhood.

To this voluntary blindness was added the victim’s posture adopted by the Muslim Brotherhood, describing themselves as supporters of a “political Islamism” persecuted by despotic regimes. And very quickly, western researchers, self-proclaimed “Islamologists”, for the mere fact to have learned some bits of Arabic in Cairo or Damascus, have invented the term calamitous “political Islam” in opposition to an “armed Islam”.

By amputating the term “political Islam” from its original –ism which was present
in brother-Muslim literature – deliberately, as for François Burgat and his friends from the “school of Aix”, or by ignorance and lack of precision for other “specialists of the specialty” Islamist – they contributed to the trivialization of it. Because, if it is “political”, this Islamism relieved of its cumbersome -ism, must be tolerated and integrated into the democratic game, both in the West and in the Arab-Muslim world!

It was necessary to wait for the terrifying and bloody attacks of Daech, which were dropped on Europe, from 2015, so that voices rise – finally – against this Islamist “ideological enemy” of which the Muslim Brotherhood is not only the spearhead, but also the mother-house.

Thanks to this awareness, delayed but beneficial, we begin to understand the nature of the danger facing Europe. Because, the enemy is not only the one who puts knives or weapons in the hands of young European people freshly re-Islamized. They are also and especially the so-called “moderates” that make these young people a breeding ground for jihadist violence, by inculcating them communitarianism, living-between-oneself and the hatred of the others.

* Editor-in-chief

Frères musulmans, un péril européen



atmane tazaghart (*)

Longtemps la branche islamiste des Frères musulmans a bénéficié de la bienveillance des autorités et des largesses des législations sur l’asile politique dans les pays européens.
Une double aberration a longtemps prévalu à ce propos. Il y a tout d’abord cette contradiction sémantique criante dite de l’« islamisme modéré ». Car, comment peut-on être « modéré », ni même tolèrent, tout en se revendiquant d’une vérité divine imperméable à toute critique ou examen de conscience ?

Dans le monde arabe-musulman, les islamistes disqualifiaient systématiquement leurs adversaires laïcs, en les désignant comme les « suppôts de Satan » (Hizb al-Chaïtan), et se présentaient eux-même comme les Califes (héritiers) d’Allah sur terre !
Mais, en Occident, on s’aveuglait à qualifier de « modérés » tous ceux qui -même du bout des lèvres – se disaient opposés à la violence djihadiste. Ce fut le cas, durant un demi siècle, des Frères musulmans. Et ce malgré le fait que toutes les figures du djihadisme mondial, d’Abdellah Azzam et son disciple Oussama Ben Laden à Aymen al-Zawahiri et son concurrent de circonstance Abou Bakr al-Baghdadi, ont connu leur premiers « faits d’armes » au sein des Frères musulmans !
A cet aveuglement volontaire, s’est additionné la posture victimaire adoptée par les Frères musulmans, en se présentant comme les partisans d’un « islamisme politique » persécutés par des Régimes despotiques. Et très vite, des chercheurs occidentaux, autoproclamés « islamologues », pour le seul fait d’avoir appris quelques bribes d’arabe au Caire ou à Damas, ont inventé le terme calamiteux d’« islam politique », en opposition à l’« islamisme armé ».
En amputant le terme « islam politique » de son isme figurant originalement dans la littérature frère-musulmane – délibérément, comme c’est le cas pour François Burgat et ses compères de l’« école d’Aix », ou par ignorance et manque de précision pour d’autres « spécialistes de la spécialité » islamiste – ils contribuèrent à le banaliser. Car, s’il est « politique », cet islamisme soulagé de son encombrant isme, doit être toléré et intégré dans le jeu démocratique, aussi bien en Occident que dans le monde arabo-musulman !
Il fallait attendre les terrifiantes attaques daechiennes, qui se sont abattues sur l’Europe, à partir de 2015, pour que des voix s’élèvent – enfin – contre cet « ennemi idéologique » islamiste, dont les Frères musulmans sont non seulement le fer-de-lance, mais aussi la maison-mère.
Grâce à cette prise de conscience, tardive mais salutaire, on commence à comprendre la nature du péril qui pèse sur l’Europe. Car, l’ennemi n’est pas seulement celui qui met des couteaux ou des armes entre les mains de jeunes européens fraîchement réislamisés. Ce sont aussi et surtout les prétendus modérés qui font de ces jeunes un terreau réceptif à la violence djihadiste, en leur inculquant le communautarisme, le vivre-entre-soi et la haine de l’autre.

* Rédacteur en chef