fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
UGO AMEZ/SIPA

 

SOS Hospital on the verge of a nervous breakdown

21 August 2023 Investigations   15316  

The heatwave episode that crosses France accentuates tensions in hospitals. But the heat wave is only an aggravating factor in a crisis which has continued to worsen, especially since the Covid-19 pandemic, and which is putting the hospital on the brink of agony: in Ile-de-France, 16% of the beds in the 38 AP-HP hospitals are closed due to lack of staff, i.e. twice as many as before the Covid! The overcrowding of the hospitals is symptomatic of the global crisis of the health system: because of medical desertification, for lack of attending physicians or specialists, many French people fall back on emergencies, which are saturated. From general practitioners to emergency physicians, including nurses in nursing homes and even to health executives, everyone is on the verge of a nervous breakdown.

By Cédric Gouverneur

Created in the 1960s to help road accident victims, emergency rooms have become a receptacle for all the shortcomings of the French health system: “We have crazy, alcoholic patients who are refused by psychiatric emergency rooms,” sighs Gwendal*, an ambulance driver at the University Hospital Centre (CHU) in Rennes. “So we take them to the emergency room where they stay until they are sober. Even if there is no more room, the emergency room is obliged to accept everyone”. A social worker in a university hospital in western France, Anne* says that “doctors are fed up, they are there to treat, not to manage social and administrative problems. With constant resources but increasing demand, it’s only logical that they should be overloaded”. Overwhelmed, emergency physicians spend hours on the phone looking for beds in other establishments (See the interview with Éric Guéret, director of the documentary “Premières Urgences”). “The internal context – understaffing – and the external context – an ageing population and increasing precariousness – are becoming more and more difficult, which is having an impact on the hospital,” explains Anne. “Because of understaffing, nurses are being called back during their holidays! More and more nurses are suffering from burnout. The psycho-social risks are palpable”. The increase in administrative tasks has also made the days more difficult, while working relationships are more strained: “We have to notify the slightest action on the computer,” says Gwendal. “The use of gloves, strips, etc. is time-consuming and pointless, says the ambulance driver, except to cover himself legally in case a patient is sued for negligence. In practice, it has become a way of getting back at colleagues, in the mode ‘oh look, he didn’t do that’!” Sébastien Rétif, vice-president of the ‘executives’ category of the Union of Public Health Managers (SMPS), explains that “there is nothing more complicated than managing a constrained environment, which has to operate 24/7 with an ever-decreasing number of staff. The manager is a bit like the unit’s fireman”. The Covid crisis had “at least enabled hospitals to break down the barriers between departments, to work hand in hand, in a more fluid way”. The lesson, he believes, has not been learned: “Rigidities are back, with silos”, deplores the executive, himself a former nurse.

Embolism of the care pathway

Anne is a social worker at the hospital. Her role is to “advise patients and their families in order to facilitate their discharge plans”, she explains. “Hospitalisation is expensive, so we can’t keep people longer than necessary. This implies taking care of them outside the hospital, handing them over to the medical-social sector and to the town’s medical services. We have to do more work to find solutions adapted to the doctor’s prescription and the patient’s needs. But he no longer has enough home care workers”. Another example: “The MDPH (departmental house for the disabled) is 12 to 14 months behind in processing requests! All this causes a bottleneck in the care process”.

The overcrowding of the emergency room is partly explained by the arrival of patients who should have consulted a general practitioner: “People without health insurance come to the emergency room,” sighs Anne. “Some have incomes just above the threshold and don’t have access to complementary health insurance”, formerly known as universal health coverage (CMU). Others can’t find a GP or an appointment with a specialist. Doctor Jean-Christophe Naugrette, president of the general practitioners’ union MG France, confided to us that his profession “cannot do more. A quarter of the patients seen in the practice are already ‘unscheduled’”, i.e. patients who wake up sick and ask for an appointment the same day. “The health system is like “a house of cards that is collapsing. We sounded the alarm a quarter of a century ago! Many doctors were trained in the 1970s”, he explains: “they are now reaching retirement, which is logical”. He also points out that, “out of 90,000 GPs, only 51,000 are ‘treating’ doctors, because it is no longer attractive enough. Income in general practice is on average 30-40% lower than in specialist medicine”. A doctor will therefore often choose to extend his or her studies in order to specialise, then settle in a shimmering area (the New Aquitaine region, PACA, etc.), leaving behind rural and poorly served areas: “The number of general practitioners is falling, but that of specialists is rising”, confirms the DREES (Directorate for Research, Studies, Evaluation and Statistics), in a study on medical density updated last September. Ten million French people live in an area where access to healthcare is below average, as the Association of Rural Mayors of France (AMRF) points out on its website. Spatial and social inequalities have dramatic consequences: the wealthiest can go to private clinics. But patients – often disadvantaged – are received in emergency rooms with serious symptoms, cancers diagnosed too late, because they have not been able to consult a specialist. The DREES deplores the fact that “long delays in appointments can lead to the abandonment of care”.

One director for two sites

Dr Naugrette also points out the GPs’ working hours: “From 8 to 20 hours, five days a week, plus Saturday morning. That’s 55 hours on average, plus on-call periods. Low pay and long working hours make for an unattractive cocktail” All the more so, he adds, because “the population is older, with more chronic illnesses and multiple pathologies: the GP accompanies the great ageing process, which implies more complex and longer consultations, but paid at the same rate (25 euros) as the treatment of a simple angina”. This demographic ageing has an impact on public EHPADs, which suffer from the same ills as emergency departments, general practitioners and home care: overload, understaffing and devaluation. Estelle* is a nurse in a public EHPAD in Brittany: “There is one director and one manager for two EHPADs that are tens of kilometres apart! Look for the error… There are two nurses for about sixty residents, plus two care assistants in the morning and one in the afternoon. The only manager, who is usually present in the other establishment, delegates her tasks to us”. During Covid, the management was teleworking and the nurses were on the front line: “Confining the residents, prohibiting visits. I felt like a soldier who had to obey orders. We never got any answers to our questions”.

Despite the post-Covid “Segure of health”, the decrease in resources continues in his EHPAD: “Since 2015, the equivalent of 70% of nursing time has been cut. Time is short, what matters to the management is that the residents eat and are clean. We no longer do enough ‘evaluative collection’”, an individual questioning of each resident in order to assess their needs. “We no longer have the time, so we assess about ten residents a year, out of sixty. And to conclude: “There is not enough interaction. Some staff become abusive without realising it. When you report an anomaly to the management, nothing happens. It is only when a family complains that there is a reaction.”

How can we relieve congestion – and save! – the health care system? Faced with the red line that would constitute, for liberal doctors, the questioning of their freedom of installation, MG France calls for “restoring the attractiveness of the profession: a revaluation of fees and fixed remuneration”: longer, the consultation of elderly patients suffering from multiple and chronic pathologies would be remunerated more than the general public. The monthly bonus of 183 euros granted by the “Segure of health” was not enough to slow down the haemorrhage of nurses leaving the public hospital, who were poached by private clinics, which paid much more! The 2,200 nurses recruited in 2022 by the Public Assistance – Paris Hospitals (AP-HP, 38 public hospitals in the Île-de-France region) do not compensate for the 2,800 departures. The director of the AP-HP, Nicolas Revel, announced in Le Parisien on 13 December his intention to recruit 2,700 nurses each year, with incentives to slow down the turnover (transport subsidies, reserved accommodation, meal vouchers, etc.). It is not certain that this will be enough, as no salary increase is planned… A sign of their malaise, nurses are hardly interested in changing to hospital management: “The IFCS (health executive training institutes) are not full”, explains Sébastien Rétif, of the SMPS. The Ségur’s salary increase “was only the catching up of increases that had not been paid for years”, says the trade unionist. In such a context, “leaving one’s profession – care worker, reeducator, medico-technician… – to become a manager is not attractive”.

However, the accounting logic argues for an increase in public sector salaries: “Better remuneration for home care assistants would cost the State much less than prolonging the hospitalisation of patients because of the lack of home care”, says Anne. “However, concludes the social worker, France has the skills, the will and the multidisciplinary teams. The public hospital, she reminds us, works well with the other health actors. We know how to do this well. With additional resources, we could do better. We feel helpless”. Estelle points out that, in her double-EHPAD with only one director, “two nurses are going to leave and the management can’t find anyone to replace them. No one.

* The first names of witnesses have been changed to preserve their anonymity.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
UGO AMEZ/SIPA

 

SOS Hôpital au bord de la crise de nerfs !

21 août 2023 Investigations   15315  

L’épisode caniculaire qui traverse la France accentue les tensions dans les établissements hospitaliers. Mais la vague de chaleur n’est qu’un facteur aggravant d’une crise qui n’a cessé de s’envenimer, notamment depuis la pandémie du Covid-19, et qui met l’hôpital au bord de l’agonie : en Ile-de-France, 16 % des lits des 38 hôpitaux de l’AP-HP sont fermés par manque de personnel, c’est-à-dire deux fois plus qu’avant le Covid ! L’engorgement des CHU est symptomatique de la crise globale du système de santé : à cause de la désertification médicale, faute de médecins traitants ou de spécialistes, beaucoup de Français se rabattent sur les urgences, qui saturent. Des généralistes aux urgentistes, en passant par les infirmières des EHPAD et même jusqu’aux cadres de santé, tout le monde est au bord de la crise de nerfs.

Par Cédric Gouverneur

Créées dans les années soixante pour secourir les accidentés de la route, les urgences se sont transformées en réceptacle de toutes les carences du système de santé français : « On a des patients fous et alcoolisés qui sont refusés par les urgences psychiatriques », soupire Gwendal*, ambulancier au Centre hospitalier universitaire (CHU) de Rennes. « Alors on les emmène aux urgences où ils restent jusqu’à leur dégrisement. Même s’il n’y a plus de place, les urgences sont tenues d’accepter tout le monde ». Assistante sociale dans un CHU de l’Ouest de la France, Anne* témoigne que « les médecins en ont marre, ils sont là pour soigner, pas pour gérer des problèmes sociaux et administratifs. Avec des moyens constants mais une demande qui augmente, logiquement ça sature ». Débordés, les urgentistes passent des heures au téléphone à la recherche de lits au sein d’autres établissements (Lire l’interview d’Éric Guéret, réalisateur du documentaire Premières Urgences). « Les contextes interne – sous-effectif – et externe – vieillissement de la population et précarisation – s’avèrent de plus en plus dégradés, ce qui impacte l’hôpital, détaille Anne. Àcause du sous-effectif, les infirmières se voient rappelées pendant leurs congés ! De plus en plus de soignants sont en burn out. Les risques psycho-sociaux sont palpables ». Le surcroît de tâches administratives a aussi rendu les journées plus pénibles, tandis que les relations de travail sont plus tendues : « On doit notifier le moindre acte sur l’ordi, détaille Gwendal. L’usage de gants, de bandes etc… Cela prend du temps et ça n’a aucun intérêt, estime l’ambulancier, sauf pour se couvrir juridiquement au cas où un patient ferait un procès pour négligence. En pratique, c’est devenu un moyen de se venger entre collègues, sur le mode ‘oh regardez, il n’a pas fait ça’ ! » Le malaise ambiant touche aussi le management : Sébastien Rétif, vice-président de la catégorie ‘cadres’ du Syndicat des manageurs publics de santé (SMPS), explique qu’« il n’y a rien de plus compliqué que le management d’un environnement contraint, amené à fonctionner 24/7 avec un personnel toujours plus réduit. Le cadre est un peu le pompier de l’unité ». La crise du Covid avait « au moins permis aux hôpitaux de faire sauter les verrous entre les services, de travailler main dans la main, de façon plus fluide ». La leçon, estime-t-il, n’a pas été tirée : « Les rigidités sont de retour, avec un cloisonnement en silos », déplore le cadre, lui-même ancien infirmier.

Embolie du parcours de soins

Anne est assistante sociale à l’hôpital. Son rôle est de « conseiller les patients et leurs familles afin de faciliter leur projet de sortie », explique-t-elle. « L’hospitalisation coûte cher, on ne peut donc pas garder les gens plus longtemps que nécessaire. Ce qui implique une prise en charge à l’extérieur de l’hôpital, un passage de relais à la filière médico-sociale et à la médecine de ville. Nous devons effectuer davantage de démarches pour dénicher des solutions adaptées à la prescription du médecin et aux besoins du patient. Mais il n’a plus assez d’aides-soignantes à domicile ». Autre exemple : « La MDPH (maison départementale pour les personnes handicapées, nldr) accuse un retard de 12 à 14 mois dans le traitement des demandes ! Tout ça provoque une embolie du parcours de soins ».

L’engorgement des urgences s’explique en partie par l’arrivée de patients qui auraient dû consulter un généraliste : « Des gens sans mutuelle viennent aux urgences, soupire Anne. Certains ont des revenus juste au-dessus du seuil et n’ont pas accès à la complémentaire santé solidaire », ex-couverture maladie universelle (CMU). D’autres ne trouvent pas de médecins traitants, ou de rendez-vous avec un spécialiste. Le docteur Jean-Christophe Naugrette, président du syndicat de médecins généralistes MG France, nous confie que sa profession « ne peut pas faire plus. Un quart des patients reçus en cabinet n’est déjà ‘pas programmé’ », c’est-à-dire des patients qui se réveillent malades et sollicitent un rendez-vous le jour même. Le système de santé lui évoque « un château de cartes qui s’effondre. Nous avions donné l’alerte il y a déjà un quart de siècle ! Beaucoup de médecins ont été formés dans les années 70, explique-t-il : ils arrivent désormais à la retraite, c’est logique ». Il souligne aussi que, « sur 90 000 généralistes, seulement 51 000 sont ‘traitants’, car ce n’est plus assez attractif. Les revenus dans la médecine générale sont en moyenne inférieurs de 30 à 40 % à ceux de la médecine spécialisée ». Un carabin choisira donc souvent de prolonger ses études afin de se spécialiser, puis s’établira sur un territoire chatoyant (la région Nouvelle-Aquitaine, PACA…), délaissant les zones rurales et mal desservies : « Le nombre de généralistes baisse, mais celui des spécialistes augmente », confirme la DREES (Direction de la recherche, des études, de l’évaluation et des statistiques), dans une étude sur la densité médicale actualisée en septembre dernier. Dix millions de Français vivent dans une zone où l’accès aux soins est inférieur à la moyenne, rappelle sur son site l’Association des maires ruraux de France (AMRF). Les inégalités spatiales et sociales ont des conséquences dramatiques : les plus aisés peuvent se rendre dans les cliniques privées. Mais des patients – souvent défavorisés – sont reçus aux urgences avec des symptômes gravissimes, des cancers diagnostiqués trop tard, faute d’avoir pu consulter un spécialiste. La DREES déplore que « de longs délais de rendez-vous peuvent conduire à renoncer aux soins ».

Une seule directrice pour deux sites

Le docteur Naugrette pointe également les horaires des généralistes : « De 8 à 20 heures, cinq jours par semaine, plus le samedi matin. Soit 55 heures en moyenne, plus les périodes de garde. Faible rémunération plus amplitude horaire concoctent un cocktail anti-attractivité ». D’autant, ajoute-t-il, que « la population est plus âgée, avec davantage de maladies chroniques, des pathologies multiples : le généraliste accompagne le grand vieillissement, ce qui implique des consultations plus complexes et plus longues, mais payées au même tarif (25 euros) que le soin d’une simple angine ». Ce vieillissement démographique impacte les EHPAD publics, qui pâtissent des mêmes maux que les urgences, la médecine de ville et les soins à domicile : surcharge, sous-effectif et dévalorisation. Estelle* est infirmière dans un EHPAD public en Bretagne : « Il y a une directrice et une cadre pour deux Ehpad distants de dizaines de kilomètres ! Cherchez l’erreur… Nous sommes deux infirmières pour une soixantaine de résidents, plus deux aides-soignantes le matin et une l’après-midi. La seule cadre, présente le plus souvent sur l’autre établissement, nous délègue ses tâches ». Pendant le Covid, le management était en télétravail et les infirmières étaient sur le pont, au front : « Confiner les résidents, interdire les visites. J’ai eu l’impression d’être un soldat qui devait obéir aux ordres. On n’avait jamais de réponse à nos questions ». 

Malgré le ‘‘Ségur de la Santé’’ post-Covid, la baisse des moyens se poursuit dans son EHPAD : « Depuis 2015, l’équivalent de 70 % de temps infirmier nous a été supprimé. Le temps est compté, ce qui importe à la direction est que les résidents mangent et soient propres. On ne fait plus assez de ‘‘collecte évaluative’’ », un questionnement individuel de chaque résident afin d’évaluer ses besoins. « On n’a plus le temps, donc on évalue une dizaine de résidents par an, sur soixante ». Et de conclure : « Il n’y a pas assez de relationnel. Des personnels deviennent maltraitants sans s’en rendre compte. Quand tu signales à la direction une anomalie, rien ne bouge. C’est seulement quand une famille se plaint qu’il y a une réaction ».    

Comment désengorger – et sauver ! – le système de soins ? Face à la ligne rouge que constituerait, pour les médecins libéraux, la remise en cause de leur liberté du lieu d’installation, MG France appelle à « restaurer l’attractivité du métier : une revalorisation des honoraires et des rémunérations forfaitaires » : plus longue, la consultation de patients âgés souffrant de pathologies multiples et chroniques serait rémunérée davantage que le tout-venant. La prime de 183 euros mensuelle octroyée par le ‘‘Ségur de la Santé’’ n’a pas suffi à ralentir l’hémorragie de départs des soignants de l’hôpital public, débauchés par les cliniques privées, qui rémunèrent largement plus ! Les 2 200 infirmières recrutées en 2022 par l’Assistance publique – Hôpitaux de Paris (AP-HP, 38 hôpitaux publics en Île-de-France) ne compensent pas les 2 800 départs. Le directeur de l’AP-HP, Nicolas Revel a annoncé dans Le Parisien le 13 décembre son intention de recruter 2 700 infirmières chaque année, avec des incitations pour freiner le turn-over (aides aux transports, logements réservés, tickets-restaurant…). Pas sûr que cela suffise, car aucune augmentation de salaire n’est prévue… Signe du mal-être, les soignants ne se montrent guère intéressés par une reconversion dans le management hospitalier : « Les IFCS (instituts de formation des cadres de santé) ne font pas le plein », nous précise Sébastien Rétif, du SMPS. La hausse de salaire du Ségur « n’a été que le rattrapage des augmentations qui n’avaient pas été versées depuis des années », estime le syndicaliste. Dans un tel contexte, « quitter sa profession – soignant, rééducateur, médico-technique… – pour devenir manager n’est pas attractif ».  

La logique comptable plaide pourtant pour une augmentation des salaires du public : « Mieux rémunérer les aides-soignantes à domicile coûterait à l’État bien moins cher que de prolonger l’hospitalisation des patients, faute de soins à domicile ! », s’agace Anne. « Pourtant, conclut l’assistante sociale, la France a les compétences, les volontés et des équipes pluridisciplinaires. L’hôpital public, rappelle-t-elle, s’articule bien avec les autres acteurs de la santé. On sait bien faire. Avec des moyens supplémentaires, on ferait mieux. On se sent démunis ». Estelle souligne que, dans son double-EHPAD à une seule directrice, « deux infirmières vont partir et la direction ne trouve personne pour les remplacer. Personne. »

* Les prénoms des témoins ont été modifiés pour préserver leur anonymat.