fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
D.R

 

Éric Guéret, director of ‘‘Premières Urgences’’: Is there a political will to destroy the French public hospital?

20 August 2023 Interviews   13581  

For six months, director Éric Guéret filmed the daily life of young medical interns in the emergency department of the Delafontaine hospital in Saint-Denis, a Paris suburb. The result is a touching and ambitious documentary, Premières Urgences (released in cinemas on 16 November). As patients pile up in the corridors, the five interns (Amin, Evan, Hélène, Lucie and Mélissa) do their best, with courage and self-sacrifice, despite a glaring lack of resources.

Interview By Cédric gouverneur

Why did you choose this hospital in particular?

The Delafontaine hospital is just what we were looking for: it is an establishment like most French people encounter when they go to the emergency room. It is not in the countryside, nor in a city centre, but in this peripheral France, confronted with medical desertification. The emergency room is confronted with all the social difficulties: impoverishment, isolation of the elderly, violence… Doctor Mathias Wargon, head of the emergency room at this hospital, is wont to say: “What no one wants to see, we take care of”. More prosaically, this hospital is not very far from my home: I film alone, which gives me flexibility and proximity. I leave in the morning with my camera and my backpack, I never know if I’m going to stay for two hours or spend the day or even the night there. I saw the medical team a week before the shoot: they chose me. The hospital environment is suffering, the people who work there have a lot to say: when you bring a sympathetic ear, you are well received. Five interns agreed to be filmed (the others are off camera). I filmed between November 2020 and May 2021. Post-production took time. But if I had shot my film more recently, believe me it would have been even worse. Because yes, the situation is getting worse and worse!

In your film, the viewer is totally immersed in the world of the emergency room, we know nothing about the life of the interns outside.

It’s a closed-door setting, a unity of time and place, with a very strong dramaturgy: we enter this veritable liner that is the hospital, a just-in-time machine that operates 24 hours a day, out of time. Sometimes you have to look outside to see if it’s day or night, if it’s autumn or spring… It’s stifling, but that’s how a hospital lives. In any case, we were in the middle of Covid at the time, so there was very little social life. However, some elements of the private life of these interns do come through.

The interns are courageous, motivated, but sometimes overwhelmed by the difficulties. One of them talks about his confusion when he has to tell a patient about a serious diagnosis.

I was surprised that the interns were so quick to find their feet and so effective in the field in performing medical acts: there is no doubt that we have excellent medical schools in France! On the other hand, empathic and social management is lacking: interns are expected to learn on the job how to announce a severe diagnosis, but in my opinion, it would be a good idea to add courses on approaching patients in distress.

An intern testifies to her desolation regarding the reception of battered women.

It is a pity that emergency rooms are not more involved in the fight against domestic violence: victims arrive at the emergency room and we have to know how to identify them (they often claim to have fallen down the stairs). Staff should be made aware of how to detect such violence and should be taught how to direct victims (at least a leaflet with the contact details of associations and the steps to take). The worst thing is that the Maison des Femmes de Saint-Denis is located right next to the hospital!

Many emergency patients are in psychiatric distress

This is what shocked me the most. We discover the bankruptcy of psychiatric care in France. Psychiatric patients are clogging up the emergency rooms and exhausting the teams. And this situation leads to abuse of patients! Dr. Wargon recognizes that in the emergency room, we do to crazy people what we no longer do to prisoners! Emergency physicians often have no choice but to “sedate” and strap a patient to a stretcher, sometimes for days, so that he or she is not a danger to himself or to others, while waiting for a place to open up in psychiatry. It’s a daily occurrence, it’s terrible. The shortage is immense. The vast majority of women on the street have psychiatric problems. In France, the non-dangerous crazy people are on the streets, the dangerous crazy people are in prison. The street is making up for the shortage of psychiatric care!

Due to the lack of places, doctors and interns spend hours on the phone!

Overwhelmed, doctors have to look for places in other facilities to accommodate their patients. They are constantly faced with this difficulty. The fact that staff spend their time on the phone looking for available beds is expensive! Add to this the administrative red tape, the computer that crashes, the printer that has been out of order for years, the toilets that have been broken for weeks…

One patient even arrives at the emergency room with a gunshot wound…

I saw several, but only one agreed to be filmed! This shows how important hospitals are in areas where there is nothing left… The public hospital remains the only open door to seek help. It is therefore vital that it is there, open and accessible. Many French people end up in emergency rooms because they have no doctor to treat them: some have symptoms resulting from undiagnosed and metastasized cancer! The emergency room takes care of patients from a town medicine that is no longer there. The department of Seine-Saint-Denis is on the way to becoming a medical desert, like many urban areas! Yes, medical deserts are not only found in rural areas! And the situation is going to get worse over the next few years for demographic reasons, as many doctors are retiring. And nobody wants to take their place.

How can we solve this equation of medical deserts?

Inequalities in access to health care in France are due to the fact that there are absolutely no constraints on the freedom of installation of private doctors: they settle where it is good to live, in city centres, in the mountains, on the coast… Imposing a place of installation would dissuade medical students from embarking on such long studies. And the liberal doctors’ unions are keeping a close eye on this. The MPs do not dare to tackle this.

In such a context, the interns seem all the more courageous

They are courageous, they have the vocation, but they often leave to work elsewhere… As the situation in public hospitals is constantly deteriorating, it is becoming more and more difficult to find staff who will stay. Departments are being closed due to lack of staff. The real difficulty for the hospital is to remain attractive for the nursing staff. The system was based on self-sacrifice, but goodwill is no longer enough. People are burnt out. The dikes were still holding before Covid, the carers fought to hold the boat during the pandemic, they were applauded. But then they perceived the “Segur of health” as a humiliation, with its 183 euro bonus. The lessons of Covid have not been learned. The recognition of the staff is not there: you are adored, you are indispensable… but you continue to be badly paid and beds are closed. Interns often leave the public hospital for the private sector or a doctor’s practice. Most emergency doctors are foreigners: Romanians, Africans, North Africans… Without foreign doctors to save them, the emergency services would collapse. France trains doctors, but does not give them the desire to practice.

Nurses and care assistants complain about their pay checks.

They are so poorly paid that, even in Seine-Saint-Denis, rents are too high for them: they have to put up with long journeys by public transport morning and evening… The salary of a nurse is a deterrent! Under Sarkozy, the famous “activity-based pricing” (T2A) has transformed the public hospital into a company. The logic is to make savings at any cost. The result is that the hospital no longer has the means to function properly and to keep those who work there. The solutions are well known: more resources and more attractive salaries. One wonders whether there is not a political will to destroy the public hospital, as a strategy of degradation.

Premières Urgences, a documentary by Éric Guéret, produced and distributed by Haut et Court, 96 minutes.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
D.R

 

Éric Guéret, réalisateur de ‘‘Premières Urgences’’ : Y a-t-il une volonté politique de détruire l’hôpital public français ?

20 août 2023 Interviews   13634  

Pendant six mois, le réalisateur Éric Guéret a filmé le quotidien de jeunes internes en médecine au service des urgences de l’hôpital Delafontaine, à Saint-Denis, en banlieue parisienne. Le résultat est un documentaire touchant et ambitieux, Premières Urgences (sorti en salles de cinéma le 16 novembre). Alors que les patients s’accumulent dans les couloirs, les cinq internes (Amin, Evan, Hélène, Lucie et Mélissa) font de leur mieux, avec courage et abnégation, malgré un criant manque de moyens.

Propos recueillis par Cédric Gouverneur

Pourquoi avoir choisi cet hôpital en particulier ?

L’hôpital Delafontaine correspond à ce qu’on cherchait : c’est un établissement comme le rencontrent la plupart des Français lorsqu’ils vont aux urgences. Ce n’est ni à la campagne, ni dans un centre-ville, mais dans cette France périphérique, confrontée à la désertification médicale. Les urgences se prennent de front toutes les difficultés sociales : paupérisation, isolement des personnes âgées, violences… Le médecin Mathias Wargon, chef du service des urgences de cet hôpital, a coutume de dire : « Ce que personne ne veut voir, nous on s’en occupe ». Plus prosaïquement, cet hôpital n’est pas très loin de chez moi : je filme seul, ce qui me donne souplesse et proximité. Je pars le matin avec ma caméra et mon sac à dos, je ne sais jamais si je vais rester deux heures ou y passer la journée et même la nuit. J’ai vu l’équipe médicale une semaine avant le tournage : ce sont eux qui m’ont choisi. Le milieu hospitalier est en souffrance, les gens qui y travaillent ont beaucoup à dire : lorsqu’on apporte une écoute bienveillante, on y est bien reçu. Cinq internes ont accepté d’être filmés (les autres sont hors champ). J’ai tourné entre novembre 2020 et mai 2021. La post-production a pris du temps. Mais si j’avais tourné mon film plus récemment, croyez bien que cela aurait été encore pire. Car oui, la situation ne cesse d’empirer !

Dans votre film, le spectateur est totalement immergé dans l’univers des urgences, on ne sait rien de la vie des internes en dehors. 

C’est un huis clos, une unité de temps et de lieu, avec une dramaturgie très forte : on entre dans ce véritable paquebot qu’est l’hôpital, une machine en flux tendu qui fonctionne 24 heures sur 24, en dehors du temps. On est parfois obligé de mettre le nez dehors pour voir s’il fait jour ou nuit, si c’est l’automne ou déjà le printemps…  C’est étouffant, mais c’est ainsi que vit un hôpital. De toute façon, nous étions alors en plein Covid : il y avait donc très peu de vie sociale. Quelques éléments de la vie privée de ces internes transparaissent toutefois.

Les internes sont courageux, motivés, mais parfois dépassés par les difficultés. L’un d’eux parle de son désarroi pour annoncer un diagnostic grave à un patient.

J’ai été surpris que les internes prennent aussi vite leurs marques et s’avèrent aussi rapidement efficaces sur le terrain pour accomplir les actes médicaux : aucun doute, nous avons en France d’excellentes écoles de médecine ! Par contre, la prise en charge empathique et sociale est défaillante : on attend des internes qu’ils apprennent sur le tas à annoncer un diagnostic sévère, mais à mon avis, ce serait une bonne idée de rajouter des cours d’approche de patients en détresse.

Une interne témoigne de sa désolation quant à l’accueil des femmes battues.

Il est dommage que les urgences ne soient pas davantage impliquées dans la lutte contre les violences conjugales : les victimes arrivent aux urgences, il faut savoir les identifier (elles prétextent souvent une chute dans l’escalier). Il faudrait sensibiliser le personnel à la détection de ces violences et leur apprendre à orienter les victimes (au moins un prospectus avec les coordonnées des associations et les démarches à suivre). Le comble est que la Maison des Femmes de Saint-Denis est située juste à côté de l’hôpital !

Beaucoup de patients des urgences sont en détresse psychiatrique

C’est ce qui m’a le plus choqué. On découvre la faillite de la prise en charge psychiatrique en France. Les patients ‘‘psy’’ engorgent les urgences et épuisent les équipes. Et cette situation aboutit à de la maltraitance envers les patients ! Le docteur Wargon reconnaît qu’aux urgences, on fait subir aux fous ce qu’on ne fait plus endurer à des détenus ! Les urgentistes n’ont souvent pas d’autres choix que de ‘‘sédater’’ et sangler un patient sur un brancard, parfois pendant des jours, pour qu’il ne soit pas un danger pour lui-même ou pour les autres, en attendant qu’une place se libère en psychiatrie. C’est quotidien, c’est terrible. La pénurie est immense. La grande majorité des femmes à la rue ont des problèmes psychiatriques. En France, les fous non dangereux sont à la rue, les fous dangereux sont en prison. La rue en vient à pallier la pénurie d’accueil en psychiatrie !

En raison du manque de places, les médecins et les internes passent des heures au téléphone !

Débordés, les médecins doivent chercher des places dans d’autres structures afin d’accueillir leurs patients. Ils sont confrontés en permanence à cette difficulté. Le fait que le personnel passe son temps au téléphone en quête de lits disponibles coûte cher ! Ajoutez à cela les lourdeurs administratives, l’informatique qui plante, l’imprimante en rade depuis des années, des WC cassés pendant des semaines…

Un patient arrive même aux urgences avec une blessure par balle…

J’en ai vu plusieurs, mais un seul a accepté d’être filmé ! Cela montre toute l’importance des hôpitaux dans des zones où il n’y a plus rien… L’hôpital public demeure la seule porte ouverte pour chercher du secours. Il est donc vital qu’il soit là, ouvert et accessible. Beaucoup de Français atterrissent aux urgences car ils n’ont pas de médecins traitants : certains ont des symptômes qui résultent d’un cancer non diagnostiqué et métastasé ! Les urgences prennent en charge les patients d’une médecine de ville qui n’est plus là. Le département de la Seine-Saint-Denis est en passe de devenir un désert médical, à l’instar de nombreuses zones urbaines ! Eh oui, les déserts médicaux ne se trouvent pas seulement en zones rurales ! Et la situation va s’aggraver ces prochaines années pour une raison démographique, car beaucoup de médecins partent en retraite. Et personne ne veut prendre leur place.

Comment résoudre cette équation des déserts médicaux ?

Les inégalités d’accès à la santé en France sont dues au fait que la liberté d’installation des médecins libéraux n’est absolument pas contrainte : ils s’installent là où il fait bon vivre, les centres-villes, la montagne, le littoral… Imposer un lieu d’installation dissuaderait les étudiants en médecine de se lancer dans des études aussi longues. Et les syndicats de médecins libéraux veillent au grain. Les députés n’osent pas s’y attaquer.

Dans un tel contexte, les internes semblent d’autant plus courageux

Ils sont courageux, ils ont la vocation, mais ils partent souvent travailler ailleurs… La situation de l’hôpital public étant en perpétuelle dégradation, il devient de plus en plus difficile de trouver des personnels qui y restent. Des services sont fermés par manque d’effectif. La vraie difficulté pour l’hôpital est de demeurer attractif pour le personnel soignant. Le système a reposé sur le don de soi, mais la bonne volonté ne suffit plus. Les gens sont en burn out. Les digues tenaient encore avant le Covid, les soignants se sont battus pour tenir la barque pendant la pandémie, on les a applaudis. Mais ils ont ensuite perçu le ‘‘Ségur de la santé’’ comme une humiliation, avec ses 183 euros de prime. Les leçons du Covid n’ont pas été tirées. La reconnaissance du personnel n’est pas là : on vous adore, vous êtes indispensables… mais on continue à mal vous payer et à fermer des lits. Les internes quittent souvent l’hôpital public pour le privé ou un cabinet médical. La plupart des médecins urgentistes sont étrangers : Roumains, Africains, Maghrébins… Sans les médecins étrangers pour les sauver, les urgences s’effondreraient. La France forme des médecins, mais ne leur donne pas envie d’exercer.

Infirmières et aides-soignantes se plaignent de leur fiche de paie.  

Elles sont si mal payées que, même en Seine-Saint-Denis, les loyers sont trop élevés pour elles : elles doivent se farcir de longs trajets en transports en commun matin et soir… Le salaire d’une infirmière est dissuasif ! Sous Sarkozy, la fameuse ‘‘tarification à l’activité’’ (T2A) a transformé l’hôpital public en entreprise. La logique est de réaliser des économies à n’importe quel prix. Le résultat est que l’hôpital n’a plus les moyens de fonctionner correctement et garder ceux qui y travaillent. Les solutions sont pourtant connues : davantage de moyens et des salaires plus attractifs. C’est à se demander s’il n’y a pas une volonté politique de détruire l’hôpital public, comme une stratégie de dégradation.

Premières Urgences, un documentaire d’Éric Guéret, produit et distribué par Haut et Court, 96 minutes.