fbpx
 
 

 

Exclusive Poll – Islam: a French (electoral) obsession



In the electoral campaign for the legislative elections, as in the presidential elections, controversial issues related to Islam (the veil, the burkini, the building of mosques, etc.) are hysterising the political debate. Worse still, like a tree that hides the forest, they overshadow the real issues relating to the fight against Islamism and communitarianism…

 

1- An overexposure that irritates and inflames the minds

Our survey shows that 57% of French people consider the visibility of Islam too important (against 8% who find it not important enough and 35% neither too nor not important enough). This political and media overexposure of Islam irritates French people of Islamic faith or culture and inflames the spirits of the general public. This is reflected in a clear bi-polar divide: 29% of French people think that in the current electoral campaign, politicians do not talk enough about Islam, while 27% consider, on the contrary, that they talk about it too much!

The irritation caused by this overexposure among French people of Muslim faith or culture is illustrated by a majority of 62% who consider that political figures talk too much about Islam. On the other hand, in the general opinion, two antagonistic tendencies can be observed. A majority of the categories of French people marked by conservatism and identity-based withdrawal consider that political figures do not talk enough about issues related to Islam (35% of Catholics are of this opinion, against 21% who find that Islam is talked about too much). On the other hand, among the categories of French people who define themselves as atheists or without religion, the trend is reversed: the majority consider that Islam is talked about too much (33%), against 21% who consider that it is not talked about enough.

2- Integration has broken down, but the Muslim presence is becoming commonplace!

When asked whether Muslims and people of Muslim origin are well integrated into French society, the answer is unequivocal: 59% of them are negative. Worse still, 30% of Muslims themselves share this unfavourable opinion concerning the integration of their co-religionists!

This negative view of the ability of French people of Muslim origin to integrate is counterbalanced by a “trivialization” of the presence of a Muslim community in France: 38% see it as a threat to the country’s identity, against 22% who think, on the contrary, that it is a factor of cultural enrichment. But the majority tendency is to trivialise this Muslim presence. Thus, 40% consider that it represents neither a threat nor a factor of enrichment.

This tendency towards indifference is to be taken as a sign of evolution on the way to accepting the Muslim presence. In three previous surveys (2010, 2012, 2015), in response to the same question, the perception of the presence of a Muslim community in France as a threat was the majority trend: this hostile view of the Muslim presence was shared by 42% of the French in December 2010 (Ifop survey for Le Monde); 43% in October 2012 (Ifop for Le Figaro); and 40% in January 2015 (Ifop for Atlantico).

3- Islamophobia, my eye!

This title, borrowed from Djemila Benhabib’s book (see page 32), is the best response to the Islamophobia trial, instrumentalised by Islamists, which aims to portray France as a country hostile to Islam and racist against Muslims.

To the question “Would you say that French society is sufficiently open and welcoming towards Muslims?”, 70% of French people answered in the affirmative. A stable trend, since 69% of French people were already of this opinion in October 2012 (Ifop poll for Le Figaro).

Moreover, to the question “in general, what do you think of the Muslim religion?”, only 44% express concern, whereas this feeling of concern reaches 73% when the French are questioned about Islamism (see our survey “Islam, Islamism, communitarianism: what do the French think about it” / Watch Screen n°20/21, March-April 2022). Proof, if any were needed, that the French do not confuse (any more?) Islam and Islamism and do not mix Islamists and all Muslims.

4- Islam in France: the questions that make people angry

Since the outbreak of the very first “headscarf affair”, in a secondary school in Creil, in September 1989, the issue of the Islamic headscarf has been the main bone of contention in French Islam. In the mid-1990s, the thorny issue of building mosques was added to this, particularly because of foreign funding and the control of Islamist movements (Muslim Brotherhood, Salafists, Tabligh, Turkish Milli Görüs, etc.) over so-called “radical” mosques, which are used to propagate Islamist discourse inciting hatred and violence.

Opposition to the building of mosques peaked at 38% in 1989, in the wake of the headscarf affair. It then dropped to 31% in 1994 and 22% in 2003. It then rose again in the context of the law banning religious symbols in schools, which gave rise to new cases of the veil (2003-2004). Opposition to the building of Mosques reached 39% in 2010, then 43% in 2012. Then, this rise has considerably increased since 2019, to reach 51% in 2022. And this is following the revelations of the book-investigation “Qatar Papers” by Christian Chesnot and Georges Malbrunot, on Qatari funding granted to radical mosques controlled by the Muslim Brotherhood.

Concerning the Islamic veil, its prohibition in public schools has always been supported by more than two thirds of the public opinion: the opposition to the wearing of the veil in school was 75% in 1989, it is 74% in 2022. With peaks of 90% in 2010 and 89% in 2012, due to the controversies over the full veil (Burqa) and the participation of veiled mothers in accompanying pupils on school trips.

However, while there is unanimity on banning the veil (like any other religious sign) in schools, in order to ensure respect for the principle of secularism, the banning of the veil in the street (and therefore in the public space) has long been a marginal demand supported only by the right-wing identitarians and the extreme right (31% in 1989; 34% in 1994; 32% in 2003). It has only become a majority opinion since 2010, following Sarkozy’s attempts to confuse immigration and national identity. Since then, it has been supported by 59% of French people in 2010, 63% in 2012 and 57% in 2022.

The constitutionality of the ban on the wearing of the veil in the street was revived by Marine Le Pen during the presidential debate on 20 April 2022, but there is no unanimity on this issue: such a ban cannot be motivated by the principle of secularism, which is not applicable to the public space. Instrumentalised for electoral purposes, it contributes, by a perverse effect, to adding water to the mills of Islamist machinations aiming to accuse France of Islamophobia.

fbpx
 
 

 

Sondage exclusif – Islam : une obsession (électorale) française



Dans la campagne électorale des législatives, comme lors de la présidentielle, les questions polémiques liées à l’islam (voile, burkini, édification de mosquées…) hystérisent le débat politique. Pis encore, tel un arbre qui cache la forêt, elles éclipsent les véritables problématiques relatives à la lutte contre l’islamisme et le communautarisme…

1- Une surexposition qui irrite et enflamme les esprits

Notre sondage montre que 57% des Français jugent la visibilité de l’islam trop importante (contre 8% qui ne la trouvent pas assez importante et 35% ni trop ni pas assez importante). Cette surexposition politique et médiatique de l’islam irrite les Français de confession ou de culture islamique et enflamme les esprits dans l’ensemble de l’opinion. Cela se traduit par un net clivage bipolaire : 29% des Français trouvent que dans la campagne électorale actuelle, les personnalités politiques ne parlent pas assez de l’islam, alors que 27% jugent, au contraire, qu’elles en parlent trop !

L’irritation que provoque cette surexposition chez les Français de confession ou de culture musulmane s’illustre par une majorité de 62% jugeant que les personnalités politiques parlent trop de l’islam. Par contre, dans l’ensemble de l’opinion, on observe deux tendances antagonistes. Une majorité des catégories de Français marquées par le conservatisme et le repli identitaire considère que les personnalités politiques n’évoquent pas assez les questions liées à l’islam (35% des catholiques sont de cet avis, contre 21% qui trouvent qu’on parle trop de l’islam). Par contre, chez les catégories de Français se définissant comme athées ou sans religion, la tendance s’inverse : la majorité juge qu’on parle trop d’islam (33%), contre 21% qui considèrent qu’on n’en parle pas assez.

2- L’intégration est en panne, mais la présence musulmane se banalise !

À la question de savoir si les musulmans et les personnes d’origine musulmane sont bien intégrés dans la société française, la réponse est sans équivoque : 59% d’avis négatifs. Pis encore, 30% des musulmans eux-mêmes partagent cet avis défavorable concernant l’intégration de leur coreligionnaires !

Ce regard négatif sur l’aptitude des Français d’origine musulmane à s’intégrer est contrebalancé par une ‘‘banalisation’’ de la présence d’une communauté musulmane en France : Certes, 38% y voient une menace pour l’identité du pays, contre 22% qui pensent, au contraire, qu’il s’agit d’un facteur d’enrichissement culturel. Mais, la tendance majoritaire est à la banalisation de cette présence musulmane. Ainsi, 40% considèrent qu’elle ne représente ni une menace ni un facteur d’enrichissement.

Cette tendance à l’indifférence est à prendre comme un signe évolutif sur le chemin de l’acceptation de la présence musulmane. Car, dans 3 précédents sondages (2010, 2012, 2015), en réponse à la même question, la perception de la présence d’une communauté musulmane en France comme une menace était la tendance majoritaire : cette vision hostile à la présence musulmane était partagée par 42% des Français en décembre 2010 (sondage Ifop pour Le Monde) ; 43% en octobre 2012 (Ifop pour Le Figaro) ; et 40% en janvier 2015 (Ifop pour Atlantico).

3-  Islamophobie, mon œil !

Ce titre, emprunté au livre de Djemila Benhabib, est la meilleure réponse au procès en islamophobie, instrumentalisé par les islamistes, qui vise à dépeindre la France comme un pays hostile à l’islam et raciste à l’encontre des musulmans.

À la question ‘‘diriez-vous que la société française est suffisamment ouverte et accueillante vis-à-vis des musulmans ?’’, 70% des Français répondent par l’affirmative. Une tendance stable, puisque 69% des Français étaient déjà de cet avis en octobre 2012 (sondage Ifop pour Le Figaro).

Par ailleurs, à la question ‘‘de manière générale, que vous inspire la religion musulmane ?’’, seuls 44% expriment de l’inquiétude, alors que ce sentiment atteint 73% quand les Français sont interrogés sur l’islamisme (voir notre sondage ‘‘Islam, islamisme, communautarisme : ce qu’en pensent les Français’’ / Ecran de Veille n°20/21, mars-avril 2022). Preuve, s’il en faut, que les Français ne confondent pas (plus ?) islam et islamisme et ne font pas l’amalgame entre les islamistes et l’ensemble des musulmans.

4- Islam de France : les questions qui fâchent

Depuis l’éclatement de la toute première ‘‘affaire du voile’’, dans un collège à Creil, en septembre 1989, la question du voile islamique constitue le sujet de discorde principal de l’islam de France. À cela s’est ajoutée, au milieu des années 1990, la question épineuse de l’édification des mosquées, en raison notamment des financements étrangers et de la mainmise des mouvements islamistes (Frères musulmans, salafistes, Tabligh, Milli Görüs turcs…) sur des mosquées dites ‘‘radicales’’, instrumentalisées pour propager des discours islamistes incitant à la haine et la violence.

L’opposition à l’édification de mosquées a connu un pic à 38% en 1989, dans le sillage de l’affaire du voile. Elle a ensuite connu une baisse à 31% en 1994 et 22% en 2003. Avant de repartir à la hausse, dans le contexte de la loi interdisant les signes religieux à l’école, qui a donné naissance à de nouvelles affaires du voile (2003-2004). L’opposition à l’édification de mosquées a alors atteint 39% en 2010, puis 43% en 2012. Puis, cette hausse s’est considérablement accentuée depuis 2019, pour atteindre 51% en 2022. Et ce suite aux révélations du livre-enquête ‘‘Qatar Papers’’ de Christian Chesnot et Georges Malbrunot, sur les financements qataris octroyés à des mosquées radicales contrôlées pas les Frères musulmans.

Concernant le voile islamique, son interdiction dans les écoles publiques a toujours été soutenue par plus des deux tiers de l’opinion : l’opposition au port du voile à l’école était de 75% en 1989, elle est de 74% en 2022. Avec, au passage des pics à 90% en 2010 et 89% en 2012, en raison des polémiques sur le voile intégral (Burqa) et la participation des mères voilées à l’accompagnement des élèves lors des sorties scolaires.

Or, s’il y a unanimité sur l’interdiction du port du voile (comme tout autre signe religieux) à l’école, pour faire respecter le principe de laïcité, son interdiction dans la rue (donc dans l’espace public) a longtemps été une revendication marginale qui n’est soutenue que par la droite identitaire et l’extrême droite (31% en 1989 ; 34% en 1994 ; 32% en 2003). Elle n’est devenue majoritaire dans l’opinion qu’à partir de 2010, suite aux crispations sarkozystes amalgamant immigration et identité nationale. Depuis, elle est soutenue par 59% des Français en 2010, 63% en 2012 et 57% en 2022.

Remise au goût du jour par Marine Le Pen, lors du débat présidentiel du 20 avril 2022, la constitutionnalité de l’interdiction du port du voile dans la rue ne fait pas l’unanimité : une telle interdiction ne saurait être motivée par le principe de laïcité non applicable à l’espace public. Instrumentalisée à des fins électoralistes, elle contribue, par un effet pervers, à apporter de l’eau aux moulins des machinations islamistes destinées à accuser la France d’islamophobie.