Which takers for the mosques from which Saudi Arabia seeks to separate in the West?



Under the leadership of the new head of the World Islamic League, Mohammed Bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa, a close to the crown prince, Mohammed Bin Salman, Saudi Arabia announced in January that it would separate from the mosques it control in the West and which have long served to spread the Wahhabi ideology. But five months later, Riyadh did not find takers. And this Saudi disengagement raises fears of a takeover of these mosques by even more radical actors. The mosques in question are coveted by some disreputable states, such as Erdogan’s Turkey, and by non-state groups, such as the Muslim Brotherhood or the Salafist movements.

By Ian Hamel, in Geneva

Last January 19, the Saudi Arabian Mohammed Bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa, passing by on the shores of Lake Geneva, declared in Le Matin dimanche, a Sunday newspaper published in Lausanne, that the Muslim World League (MWL), the religious arm of the kingdom, was disengaging from the Geneva’s Grand Mosque. And that the same arrangements will be made in the West. Saudi Arabia will no longer finance and manage places of worship. “Everywhere, there will be a local board of directors, set up in coordination with the national authorities. Notably for security reasons,” says the former Saudi Minister of Justice, who is close to Crown Prince Mohammed Bin Salman.

The choice of Geneva is not innocent. This is where Said Ramadan, son-in-law of Hassan al-Banna, the founder of the Muslim Brotherhood, settled in 1958 with the blessing of Saudi Arabia. In 1961 he opened the Islamic Centre of Geneva (CIG), in the Eaux-Vives district. The following year, Said Ramadan, spokesman of the Brotherhood in Europe, participated in the creation of the Muslim World League (Rabitat al-Alam el-Islami) in Mecca in 1962. But in the 1970s, for obscure reasons, the rupture was effective between the Muslim World League and Said Ramadan. Not only did the Saudis cut him completely off, but they also created a competing place of worship, at Petit-Saconnex, in the neighborhood of the international organizations and the European headquarters of the UN. A large white marble mosque, inaugurated with pomp and circumstance in 1978 by King Khaled Bin Abdelaziz, in the presence of the President of the Confederation. A prestigious building, endowed with significant financial resources, which has never ceased to marginalize the Islamic Centre of Geneva, now run by Hani Ramadan, one of Said Ramadan’s sons.

Mohammed Bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa, elected in 2016 as Secretary General of the MWL, has also headed the Islamic Cultural Foundation of Geneva, which manages the Grand Mosque. A year later, during his meeting with Pope Francis, the former Saudi Minister of Justice announced that “the true message of Islam in the world is a message of peace, love and respect, and notably the respect, by Muslims, of the laws and institutions of the countries and territories where they live”. In Geneva, he immediately cleaned up the mess, dismissing the director of the Grand Mosque, two imams and the head of security, who were on the “S” list in France. “It is time to entrust the Geneva Mosque to a representative Swiss board of directors, with an elected president,” says the secretary general of the Muslim World League. He mentions a consultation of local Muslims “with the help of the Swiss authorities”, adding that for security reasons “we must ensure that the mosques are placed in safe hands, obviously. Then we will not intervene anymore”.

The announcement of this abrupt disengagement sounded like a bomb. But the enthusiasm soon faded away. Especially with the coronavirus outbreak and the lockdown. How could the Muslims take charge of the often prestigious places of worship from one day to the next? Geneva’s Grand Mosque employs 17 people. It is not only a place of prayer. It has a library, a school, a sports hall, a morgue.

And how can we prevent other countries or radical movements from trying to take control of all these mosques? Hasni Abidi, Director of the Centre for Studies and Research on the Arab and Mediterranean World, was quick to react, confident in the Swiss press: “Several states have views on the mosque and are following its development, such as Morocco, Turkey and Bosnia. If the withdrawal of the MWL was like offering a gift to another state, it would be a poisoned gift”.

Funding problems are not unique to Geneva, they occur in the same way in other mosques in Europe, in Brussels, Copenhagen, Madrid, Mantes-la-Jolie, Sarajevo. As for France, a secular country, it simply does not have the power to intervene in the constitution of a board of directors that could take over from the Muslim World League in the mosques that the League had controlled until then.

Since the announcement made on January, Mohammed Bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa himself admitted that he has not found any takers. But he would not go back on his decision: Saudi Arabia still intends to disengage. The question is how.

Quels repreneurs pour les mosquées dont l’Arabie saoudite cherche à se séparer en Occident ?



Sous l’impulsion du nouveau patron de Ligue islamique mondiale, Mohammed Bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa, un proche du prince héritier, Mohammed Bin Salman, l’Arabie saoudite a annoncé, en janvier, qu’elle allait se séparer des mosquées qu’elle contrôle en Occident et qui ont longtemps servi à la propagation de l’idéologie wahhabite. Mais cinq mois plus tard, Riyad n’a pas trouvé de repreneurs. Et ce désengagement saoudien fait craindre une prise de contrôle de ces mosquées par des acteurs plus radicaux encore. Les mosquées en questions sont convoitées par certains États peu recommandables, comme la Turquie d’Erdogan, et par des groupes non étatiques, comme les Frères musulmans ou les mouvements salafistes.

Par Ian Hamel, à Genève

Le 19 janvier dernier, le Saoudien Mohammed Bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa, de passage sur les bords du lac Léman, déclare dans Le Matin dimanche, un journal dominical, édité à Lausanne, que la Ligue islamique mondiale (LIM), le bras religieux du royaume, se désengage de la grande mosquée de Genève. Et que les mêmes dispositions seront prises en Occident. L’Arabie saoudite n’assurera plus le financement et la gestion des lieux de culte. « Partout, il y aura un conseil d’administration local, mis en place en coordination avec les autorités nationales. Notamment pour des raisons de sécurité », affirme l’ancien ministre saoudien de la justice, proche du prince héritier Mohammed Bin Salman.

Le choix de Genève n’est pas innocent. C’est là que s’installe en 1958 Saïd Ramadan, le gendre d’Hassan al-Banna, le fondateur des Frères musulmans, avec la bénédiction de l’Arabie saoudite. Il y ouvre en 1961 le Centre islamique de Genève (CIG), dans le quartier des Eaux-Vives. L’année suivante, Saïd Ramadan, porte-parole de la Confrérie en Europe, participe à la création de la Ligue islamique mondiale (Rabitat al-Alam el-Islami) à La Mecque en 1962. Mais dans les années 70, pour des raisons obscures, la rupture est consommée entre la Ligue islamique mondiale et Saïd Ramadan. Non seulement les Saoudiens lui coupent les vivres, mais ils créent un lieu de culte concurrent, au Petit-Saconnex, dans le quartier des organisations internationales et du siège européen de l’ONU. Une grande mosquée en marbre blanc, inaugurée avec faste en 1978 par le roi Khaled Bin Abdelaziz, en présence du président de la Confédération. Un prestigieux édifice, doté d’importants moyens financiers, qui n’a cessé de marginaliser le Centre islamique de Genève, aujourd’hui dirigé par Hani Ramadan, l’un des fils de Saïd Ramadan.

Mohammad Bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa, élu en 2016 secrétaire général de la LIM, a également pris la tête de la Fondation culturelle islamique de Genève, qui gère la grande mosquée. Un an plus tard, lors de sa rencontre avec le pape François, l’ancien ministre saoudien de la Justice annonce que le « vrai message de l’islam dans le monde est un message de paix, d’amour et de respect, et notamment le respect, par les musulmans, des lois et des institutions des pays et des territoires où ils vivent ». A Genève, il fait aussitôt le ménage, limogeant le directeur de la grande mosquée et licenciant deux imams et le responsable de la sécurité, qui étaient fichés « S » en France. « Il est temps de confier la mosquée de Genève à un conseil d’administration suisse, représentatif, avec un président élu », annonce le secrétaire général de la Ligue islamique mondiale. Il évoque une consultation des musulmans locaux « avec l’aide des autorités helvétiques », ajoutant que pour des raisons de sécurité « il faut veiller à ce que les mosquées soient placées entre des mains sures, évidemment. Ensuite, nous n’interviendrons plus ».

L’annonce de ce désengagement brutal a fait l’effet d’une bombe. Mais le soufflé est très vite retombé. Surtout avec l’épidémie de coronavirus et le confinement. Comment les musulmans pourraient-ils du jour au lendemain prendre en charge financièrement des lieux de culte souvent prestigieux ? La grande mosquée de Genève salarie 17 personnes. Ce n’est pas seulement un lieu de prière. Elle possède une bibliothèque, une école, une salle de sport, une morgue.

Et comment empêcher que d’autres pays ou des courants radicaux tentent de prendre le contrôle de toutes ces mosquées ? Hasni Abidi, directeur du Centre d’études et de recherche sur le monde arabe et méditerranéen, a rapidement réagi, confiant dans la presse helvétique : « Plusieurs États ont des vues sur la mosquée, suivent son évolution, comme le Maroc, la Turquie, la Bosnie. Si le retrait de la LIM revenait à offrir un cadeau à un autre État, ce serait un cadeau empoisonné ».

Les problèmes de financement ne sont pas propres à Genève, ils se posent de manière identique dans les autres mosquées en Europe, à Bruxelles, à Copenhague, à Madrid, à Mantes-la-Jolie, à Sarajevo. Quant à la France, pays laïc, elle n’a tout simplement pas le pouvoir d’intervenir dans la constitution d’un conseil d’administration susceptible de prendre le relais de la Ligue islamique mondiale dans mes mosquée que la Ligue contrôlait jusque-là.

Depuis l’annonce faute en janvier, Mohammad Bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa a lui-même reconnu qu’il n’avait pas trouvé de repreneurs. Mais qu’il ne reviendrait pas sur sa décision : l’Arabie saoudite compte toujours se désengager. Encore faut-il savoir comment.