No, Mr. Erdogan, Tunisia is not a Beylik!



Martine Gozlan (*)

Beylik: that’s the word we don’t want to hear anymore in Tunis. Beylik, domain of the bey, vassal of the sultan. Beylik, province or Ottoman “regency”. A word that comes from the well of the centuries, a return of the historical repressed. It was furiously written in the country’s media after the unexpected visit to Tunis of Recep Tayyip Erdogan, who came to ask President Kais Saied to support a Turkish intervention in Libya in support of the ill-named “Government of National Accord” of Faiez Sarraj against General Khalifa Haftar. By opening Matmata airport to Turkish military aircraft. But yes, of course, it made sense: the tiny and strategic Tunisia could not but acquiesce to Ankara’s desires. In the spirit of the neo-Great Turk, it had to become again the vassal of the old days.

Beylik is the destiny Erdogan wants for the country of jasmine and revolution. Beylik, like the whole region. A few days later, on his return to his tyrannical peninsula, he chanted: “Libya is the heritage of the Ottoman Empire and we have our sons there… It is our duty to defend them! It’s our duty to defend them!” It seems as if we are still in the 16th century, when Istanbul divided the Maghreb into three Pachaliks: Algiers, Tunis and Tripoli. However, the Tunisians of yesteryear never stopped rushing to the stretchers. It is from the very heart of their dependence that was forged this rebellious spirit of independence which, over the centuries, managed to integrate the descendants of the Turkish Janissaries, the Berbers, the Arabs and the immigrants from Al Andalus, driven out by the Spanish Reconquista. “An original alloy that resembles all its components without identifying itself with just one of them” sums up the historian Habib Boularès in his enlightening “Histoire de la Tunisie” (Cérès editions). It is necessary to reread both the dark and the bright pages to grasp the centuries-old Tunisian resistance to all forms of domination.

The youth remembered this in those days of January 2011 when the hymn written by the poet Abu al Kacem Chebbi, a child of Tozeur, sprang from the peaceful Avenue Bourguiba to shake the vast Arab world: “When the people will, destiny will bow!”. At the beginning of the year, while celebrating the ninth anniversary of this unfinished revolution, one of its female figures, Lina Ben Mhenni, died at the age of 36. The very first blogger of the uprising against Ben Ali and his “Regency of Carthage”, Lina had posted photos of the riots that followed the immolation of Mohamed Bouazizi in Sidi Bouzid. It was through her messages that the late poet and philosopher Abdelwahab Meddeb learned of the dazzling springtime in Tunis. If I evoke these figures that disappeared too soon, by rereading the tender and powerful poems of Chebbi, both Musset and Hugo of the palm groves, who died in 1934 at the age of 25, it is because from generation to generation they tell of an identity that rebelled against the diktats of the sultans. It is this identity that Erdogan tramples on when he goes to Tunis, after having warned Kais Saied of his visit with a phone call that wakes him up with a start in the middle of the night. Why would he bother? He knows his empathy for political Islam. Between big and little Muslim Brothers, we refuse nothing to each other. Thousands of Syrian Islamists are boarding Turkish planes for Tripoli. Erdogan is not asking Tunisia, a country bordering Libya, to remain neutral, but rather to open certain airports to him and to turn a blind eye to the enthusiastic migration of young Tunisians eager to join the jihadist battlefield.

Whatever Kais Saied may have said to Erdogan, he was overwhelmed by the outpouring of opinion. Was he going to add fuel to the fire as the internal political crisis raged, as no coalition agreement could be reached in a fractured nation? So no one wants to hear about the country’s involvement in the Libyan chaos. Editorialists stress the economic dangers and the risk of internal destabilisation. On January 19, the Tunisian president, unlike his Algerian counterpart who wants to impose himself on the diplomatic scene, therefore does not attend the Berlin International Conference devoted to the hypothetical settlement of the Libyan crisis. To Emmanuel Macron who called him in the evening to tell him his “understanding”, Kais Saied replied: “My country is the most affected by the situation in Libya…”.
The sultan’s wishes are not orders. Tunisia is not “Beylik”.

*Journalist and essayist, editor in chief at weekly magazine Marianne, specialist in Islamism and Middle-East affairs..

Non, M. Erdogan, la Tunisie n’est pas un Beylik !



Martine Gozlan (*)

Beylik : c’est le mot qu’on ne veut plus entendre à Tunis. Beylik, domaine du bey, vassal du sultan. Beylik, province ou «  régence » ottomane. Un mot qui remonte du puits des siècles, un retour du refoulé historique. Il a été griffonné rageusement dans les médias du pays après la visite impromptue à Tunis de Recep Tayip Erdogan, venu demander au président Kais Saied de soutenir une intervention turque en Libye pour appuyer le mal nommé « Gouvernement d’accord national » de Faiez Sarraj contre le général Khalifa Haftar. En ouvrant l’aéroport de Matmata aux avions militaires turcs. Mais oui bien sûr, cela tombait sous le sens : la minuscule et stratégique Tunisie ne pouvait qu’acquiescer aux désirs d’Ankara. Dans l’esprit du néo-Grand Turc, elle se devait de redevenir la vassale des jours anciens.

Beylik, c’est le destin que veut Erdogan pour le pays du jasmin et de la révolution. Beylik, comme toute la région. Il le scandait quelques jours plus tard, de retour dans ses pénates tyranniques : «  La Libye n’est l’héritage que de l’empire ottoman et nous avons là-bas nos fils…C’est notre devoir de les défendre ! » A croire que l’on est toujours au XVIème siècle, quand Istanbul divisa le Maghreb en trois Pachaliks : Alger, Tunis et Tripoli. Cependant, les Tunisiens d’antan n’eurent de cesse de ruer dans les brancards. C’est du cœur même de leur dépendance que se forgea ce frondeur esprit d’indépendance qui parvint, au fil des siècles, à intégrer les descendants des Janissaires turcs, les Berbères, les Arabes et les immigrés d’Al Andalous, chassés par la Reconquista espagnole. « Un alliage original qui ressemble à toutes ses composantes sans s’identifier seulement à l’une d’entre elles » résume l’historien Habib Boularès dans son éclairante « Histoire de la Tunisie » (Cérès éditions). Il faut en relire les pages sombres comme les pages lumineuses pour saisir la séculaire résistance tunisienne à toute forme de domination.

La jeunesse s’en est souvenue en ces jours de janvier 2011 où l’hymne écrit par le poète Abou al Kacem Chebbi, enfant de Tozeur, s’élança de la paisible avenue Bourguiba pour ébranler le vaste monde arabe : « Quand le peuple voudra, le destin s’inclinera ! ». Et Alors qu’on célébrait, en début d’année, le neuvième anniversaire de cette révolution inachevée, l’une de ses figures féminines, Lina Ben Mhenni, s’est éteinte à l’âge de 36 ans. Toute première blogueuse de l’insurrection contre Ben Ali et sa « Régence de Carthage », Lina avait mis en ligne les photos des émeutes qui suivirent l’immolation de Mohamed Bouazizi à Sidi Bouzid. C’est à travers ses messages que le regretté poète et philosophe Abdelwahab Meddeb apprit le fulgurant envol du printemps de Tunis. Si j’évoque ces figures trop tôt disparues, en relisant les poèmes tendres et puissants de Chebbi, à la fois Musset et Hugo des palmeraies, mort en 1934 à 25 ans, c’est que de génération en génération, elles racontent une identité rebelle aux diktats des sultans. C’est elle que piétine Erdogan quand il se rend à Tunis, après avoir averti de sa visite Kais Saied par un coup de fil qui le réveille en sursaut au cœur de la nuit. Pourquoi se gênerait-il ? Il sait son empathie pour l’islam politique. Entre grand et petit frère musulman, on ne se refuse rien. Des milliers d’islamistes syriens embarquent dans des avions turcs pour Tripoli. Erdogan ne demande pas à la Tunisie, pays frontalier de la Libye, de rester neutre, mais bel et bien de lui ouvrir certains aéroports et de fermer les yeux sur la migration enthousiaste de jeunes Tunisiens avides de rejoindre le champ de bataille djihadiste.

Quoiqu’ait pu répondre Kais Saied à Erdogan, il a été débordé par le sursaut de l’opinion. Allait-il jeter de l’huile sur le feu alors que la crise politique interne fait rage, aucun accord de coalition ne pouvant être trouvé dans une nation fracturée ? Personne ne veut donc entendre parler d’une implication du pays dans le chaos libyen. Les éditorialistes soulignent les dangers économiques et le risque de déstabilisation interne. Le 19 janvier, le président tunisien, contrairement à son homologue algérien qui veut s’imposer sur la scène diplomatique,  ne se rend donc pas à la Conférence internationale de Berlin consacrée à l’hypothétique règlement de la crise libyenne. A Emmanuel Macron qui l’appelle dans la soirée pour lui dire sa « compréhension », Kais Saied répond : « Mon pays est le plus touché par la situation en Libye… ».
Les désirs du sultan ne sont pas des ordres. La Tunisie n’est pas « Beylik ».

* Journaliste et essayiste, rédactrice en chef à l’hebdomadaire Marianne, spécialiste de l’islamisme et du Moyen-Orient.