fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

The jewish state and its islamic allies!

24 June 2021 Expertises   50681  

Martine Gozlan

You have to get used to it, Israel is not a country like the others. Normalcy, the ultimate goal of the Zionist project, is still out of reach, in the way the world looks at the Jewish state or in the way it looks at itself. Who would have imagined that Benyamin Netanyahu’s downfall would be brought about by the most disparate, original and unlikely coalition on the planet’s political scene?

Under the leadership of the new Prime Minister, Naftali Bennett, from the religious right and supporter of the annexation of the West Bank, personalities that everything seems to separate are working. A leftist heiress and LGBT passionary, Merav Michaeli, Minister of Transport, poses next to the star of the annexationist right, Ayelet Shaked, Minister of the Interior. The Minister of Regional Cooperation, Issawi Frej, an Israeli Arab member of Meretz, the far-left party that campaigns for the evacuation of settlements, fraternises with Avigdor Lieberman, Minister of Finance, leader of the “Israel Beitenou” (“Israel Our Home”) party, which was once famous for its anti-Arab diatribes. The list of ministers resembles Jacques Prévert’s inventory. Yair Lapid, Minister of Foreign Affairs, centrist and secular activist, seems to be the opposite of Naftali Bennett whom he will replace as Prime Minister in 2023 according to the rotation agreement.

But the most astonishing and symbolic is the ultimate alliance that allowed the coalition to exist and finally give Israel a government after four elections in two years. The alliance with Mansour Abbas, leader of the Islamist party Raam, the eighth guest of this political surprise party that is as halal as it is kosher.

Mansour Abbas, a 47-year-old dentist, comes from Maghar, in the north. A town with a Druze majority, but he is not. A fervent Muslim, this Islamist is more pure than hard. Raam is indeed the political arm of the southern branch of the Islamic party. He differs from the northern branch led by the very nervous Sheikh Raed Salah. The latter is serving a 28-month prison sentence for incitement to terrorism. He is the man behind the recurrent and deadly riots on the Esplanade of the Mosques (the Temple Mount for the Jews) in recent years.

Mansour Abbas is his antithesis. He is an adept at negotiation and intends to defend the interests of his community. He considers the systematic opposition of the United Arab List, which he joined for a time, to be counterproductive.

Israeli Arabs, who refer to themselves as “Palestinians of Israel”, represent 20% of the population. They are found in all sectors of society. Without Arab doctors, the massive vaccination campaign could never have worked. Arab and Jewish cardiologists work together at Hadassah Hospital in Jerusalem to treat children from the Palestinian territories and Gaza. The vice-president of the Hebrew University is an Israeli Arab. But the social divide is widening, in a country given over to the unbridled ultra-liberalism of Netanyahu’s reign. Gang violence is bloodying the community, which blames the Israeli police for not helping it enough.

As the conflict raged last May between Israel and Hamas, the spectre of civil war between Arabs and Jews loomed large. There were deaths and attacks on both sides. A much deeper trauma for Israelis than the other conflict. For it constitutes a vital threat to this country where the Children of Abraham generally work and live together, with the same passport adorned with a seven-branched candlestick.

It was therefore urgent to reconcile Jews and Arabs. Mansour Abbas, the day after the riots, went to the synagogue of Lod, burnt down, affirming that he would participate in its reconstruction. A gesture that cemented the agreement with Naftali Bennett.

The head of the Raam party, now in charge of Arab affairs in the Prime Minister’s Office, overcame two challenges in his first two weeks in office. First, the “march of the flags” organised in Jerusalem by the extreme right and which constitutes a considerable source of tension for the Palestinians. Then the extension of the law on family reunification which prohibits the granting of Israeli nationality to a Palestinian from the West Bank in case of marriage with a Palestinian woman from Israel. Mansour Abbas finally rallied after compromises with Ayelet Shaked, in the Interior Ministry. Nothing fits and yet everything fits.

The gamble of integrating an Arab party into the Israeli political process is a major step,” observes Pascale Zonszain, editor of the magazine Menora. “It can mark the beginning of a long-term conceptual change on the integration of the Israeli population.

In any case, it will now be more difficult to accuse the Jewish state of apartheid!

*  Journalist and essayist, editor in chief at weekly magazine Marianne, specialist in Islamism and Middle-East affairs.

fbpx
 
 

 

L’État juif et ses allies islamistes !



Martine Gozlan (*)

Il faut s’y faire, Israël n’est pas un pays comme les autres. La normalité, but ultime du projet sioniste, est toujours hors d’atteinte, dans le regard porté par le monde sur l’Etat juif ou dans celui qu’il porte sur lui-même. Qui aurait imaginé en effet que la chute de Benyamin Netanyahou serait provoquée par la coalition la plus disparate, la plus originale, la plus invraisemblable de toutes les scènes politiques de la planète ?

Sous la houlette du nouveau Premier ministre Naftali Bennett, issu de la droite religieuse, et partisan de l’annexion en Cisjordanie, travaillent en effet des personnalités que tout semble séparer. Une héritière de la gauche et pasionaria LGBT, Merav Michaeli, ministre des transports, pose à côté de la star de la droite annexionniste, Ayelet Shaked, ministre de l’Intérieur. Le ministre de la coopération régionale, Issawi Frej, un Arabe israélien membre du Meretz, le parti d’extrême-gauche qui milite pour  l’évacuation des colonies, fraternise avec Avigdor Lieberman, ministre des finances, leader du parti « Israël Beitenou » (Israel notre maison) qui s’illustra naguère par des diatribes antiarabes. La liste des ministres ressemble à l’inventaire de Jacques Prévert. Yair Lapid, ministre des affaires étrangères, centriste et militant laïque, semble aux antipodes de Naftali Bennett qu’il remplacera comme Premier ministre en 2023 selon l’accord de rotation.

Mais le plus étonnant et le plus symbolique, c’est l’ultime alliance qui a permis à la coalition d’exister et de donner enfin à Israël un gouvernement après quatre scrutins en deux ans. Celle tissée avec Mansour Abbas, chef du parti islamiste Raam,  huitième invité de cette surprise-partie politique aussi halal que cacher.

Mansour Abbas, un dentiste de 47 ans, vient de Maghar, au nord. Une ville majoritairement druze mais lui ne l’est pas. Musulman fervent, cet islamiste serait plus pur que dur. Raam est en effet le bras politique de la branche sud du parti islamique. Il se distingue de la branche nord dirigée par le très nerveux cheikh Raed Salah. Ce dernier purge une peine de 28 mois de prison pour incitation au terrorisme. On retrouve l’homme derrière les émeutes récurrentes et meurtrières sur l’Esplanade des Mosquées (le Mont du Temple pour les juifs) de ces dernières années.

Mansour Abbas est son antithèse. Adepte de la négociation, il entend défendre les intérêts de sa communauté et juge contreproductive l’attitude d’opposition systématique de la Liste arabe unie, à laquelle il s’était joint pendant un temps.

Les Arabes israéliens, qui se désignent comme les « Palestiniens d’Israël » représentent 20% de la population. On les retrouve dans tous les secteurs de la société. Sans les médecins arabes, jamais la campagne massive de vaccination n’aurait pu fonctionner. Des cardiologues arabes et juifs soignent ensemble à l’hôpital Hadassah, à Jérusalem, des enfants venus des territoires palestiniens et de Gaza. La vice-présidente de l’Université hébraïque est une arabe israélienne. Mais la fracture sociale s’accroit, dans un pays livré à l’ultralibéralisme débridé du règne de Netanyahou. La violence des gangs ensanglante la communauté qui reproche à la police israélienne de ne pas lui venir assez en aide.

Alors que le conflit faisait rage en mai dernier entre Israël et le Hamas, le spectre de la guerre civile entre arabes et juifs a plané. Il y eut des morts et des attaques de part et d’autre. Un traumatisme bien plus profond pour les Israéliens que l’autre conflit. Car il constitue une menace vitale pour ce pays où bon an, mal an, les enfants d’Abraham travaillent et vivent ensemble, munis du même passeport qu’orne un chandelier à sept branches.

Il fallait donc réconcilier d’urgence juifs et arabes. Mansour Abbas, au lendemain des émeutes, s’était rendu dans la synagogue de Lod, incendiée, en affirmant qu’il participerait à sa reconstruction. Un geste qui a cimenté l’accord avec Naftali Bennett.

Le chef du parti Raam, désormais en charge des affaires arabes au cabinet du Premier ministre, a surmonté deux épreuves dès les quinze premiers jours de son arrivée au pouvoir. Ce fut d’abord la « marche des drapeaux » organisée à Jérusalem par l’extrême-droite et qui constitue pour les Palestiniens une source de tension considérable. Ensuite la prolongation de la loi sur le regroupement familial qui interdit l’attribution de la nationalité israélienne à un Palestinien de Cisjordanie en cas de mariage avec une Palestinienne d’Israël. Mansour Abbas a fini par se rallier après des compromis avec Ayelet Shaked, à l’Intérieur. Rien ne colle et pourtant tout tient.

« Le pari d’intégrer un parti arabe dans le processus politique israélien est une étape majeure, observe Pascale Zonszain, qui dirige la rédaction de la revue Menora. Elle peut marquer le début d’un changement conceptuel à long terme sur l’intégration de la population israélienne. »

Il sera en tous cas plus difficile désormais d’accuser l’Etat hébreu d’apartheid !

* Journaliste et essayiste, rédactrice en chef à l’hebdomadaire Marianne, spécialiste de l’islamisme et du Moyen-Orient.