fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Why accusing Israel of genocide is a sham

19 February 2024 Expertises   341  

Martine Gozlan

“Words have meaning”: this reminder from the Quai d’Orsay on the announcement of the first conclusions of the International Court of Justice in The Hague in the case brought by South Africa against Israel, accused of genocide against the Palestinians in Gaza. Words have a meaning and, in this case, the word “genocide”, coined in the aftermath of the Holocaust by the jurist Raphaël Lemkin, a survivor of Nazi extermination, has been distorted by the accusing country, a friend of Iran, and by the judges in The Hague. Admittedly, the Court has not yet delivered a final opinion. But it ordered the Hebrew State “to prevent any act of genocide and to prevent and punish its incitement”. Hamas immediately applauded this news, trumpeting the need to “force the occupiers to implement the Court’s decisions”.

The “Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide” was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 9 December 1948, inspired by the murder of six million European Jews. So here we have a people made up largely of survivors and descendants of genocide survivors accused of committing the same crime against the Palestinians of Gaza. The enormity of the symbol has in no way discouraged a whole series of countries – the much-maligned Global South, in reality a conglomerate of rival dictatorships – from supporting Pretoria’s complaint.

Israel has not shied away from the issue, having signed the convention it is accused of betraying. Aharon Barak, the judge appointed to represent the Jewish State at the tribunal, is himself a survivor of the Kaunas ghetto in Lithuania. When he was 5 years old in 1944, he escaped the liquidation of the Jewish population by the Nazis and their collaborators by hiding in a sack at the bottom of a cart. If we add to this tragic childhood the background of the judge – a former president of the Supreme Court, Aharon Barak opposes Netanyahu to ensure that Israel remains a democracy with checks and balances guaranteeing the rights of all citizens, Jews and Arabs alike – the context and the protagonists of the trial in The Hague are a sinister theatre of the absurd.

South Africa did not bother with the facts. The indictment makes no mention of the massacres perpetrated by Hamas terrorists. To listen to the lawyers of the “rainbow nation”, it seems that Israel decided to attack Gaza because it wanted to. But however much the South African lawyers twist reality, they come up against the very definition of the concept in the name of which they are fighting, i.e. the “intentionality” of the crime. The concept of genocide, according to the text of the Convention, implies “the deliberate infliction on a group of persons of conditions of life calculated to bring about their physical destruction in whole or in part”.

On the one hand, this is exactly what happened to the Israelis who were massacred, tortured, mutilated, raped and kidnapped during the attack on 7 October 2023. The instructions given to the terrorists – who filmed their barbaric acts – to liquidate the population of the kibbutz and towns bordering Gaza (a pacifist population living on internationally recognised Israeli territory) were atrociously clear. Moreover, the Hamas charter provides for the elimination of the Jewish presence on the land which the organisation, in the name of Islam, claims as its own in place of Israel. As for the Hebrew State’s “intention” to put an end to the Palestinians, this is not supported by any concrete data. The offensive carried out the Israeli army, in response to the aggression of 7 October, began in the early hours with an information campaign aimed at Gazans, asking them to leave for the south to escape the bombardments.

The high number of victims – 23,000 according to Hamas, 9,000 of whom Israel considers to be terrorists – was explained by the organisation itself. “The tunnels are reserved for our fighters, and it is the UN that must protect civilians”, Hamas officials proclaimed. The diversion by the terrorists of the humanitarian and medical aid supplied by Israel – a curious policy for “genocidaires” – was filmed by the Gazans themselves. Witnesses managed to show the scenes that unfolded on the road to the south: Hamas checkpoints designed to prevent the population from fleeing the combat zones, and shootings of recalcitrants. Tucked away in his luxury hotel in Qatar, Ismaïl Haniyeh, the organisation’s leader, extolled “the blood of women, the elderly and children, which strengthens the enthusiasm of the resistance”.

To bolster its incoherent arguments, Pretoria is trying to rely on statements made by several extremists in the Israeli government. These allies of Benyamin Netanyahu in his coalition had spoken of the reoccupation of Gaza and the transfer of its inhabitants. The irresponsible Amihaï Eliyahu, Minister for Heritage, had ranted about a possible atomic bomb to be dropped on Gaza. He was immediately called to order by the Prime Minister, who would have done better to sack him. But these incendiaries have no right to speak in the war cabinet set up the day after 7 October. Netanyahu took care to disassociate himself from them, saying: “Israel has no intention of occupying Gaza or displacing its population”.

On the contrary, the genocidal aims of the 7 October massacres are attested to by the rigorous planning of the murders and the “defilement” – the rapes – to be inflicted on the Israelis according to the plans found on the terrorists and the testimony of those who were taken prisoner.

Unfortunately, the masquerade of the trial in The Hague only serves to feed Islamism, its propagandists and its executioners…

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Pourquoi accuser Israël de génocide est une imposture

19 février 2024 Expertises   342  

Martine Gozlan

« Les mots ont un sens » : ce rappel émane du Quai d’Orsay à l’annonce des premières conclusions de la Cour internationale de justice de La Haye dans le procès intenté par l’Afrique du Sud à Israël, accusé de génocide contre les Palestiniens à Gaza. Les mots ont un sens et, en l’occurrence, le mot ‘‘génocide’’, forgé au lendemain de la Shoah par le juriste Raphaël Lemkin, rescapé de l’extermination nazie, a été détourné de son sens par le pays accusateur, ami de l’Iran, comme par les juges de La Haye. La Cour, certes, n’a pas encore prononcé d’avis définitif. Mais elle ordonne à l’État hébreu « d’empêcher tout acte de génocide et de prévenir et punir son incitation ». Le Hamas a immédiatement applaudi cette nouvelle en claironnant qu’il fallait « forcer les occupants à exécuter les décisions de la Cour ».

La ‘‘Convention pour la prévention et la répression du crime de génocide’’ a été adoptée par l’Assemblée générale des Nations unies le 9 décembre 1948, inspirée par l’assassinat de six millions de Juifs européens. Voici donc le peuple issu en grande partie de survivants et de descendants de rescapés du génocide accusé de commettre le même crime contre les Palestiniens de Gaza. L’énormité du symbole n’a nullement découragé toute une série de pays – le très mal nommé Sud global, en réalité un conglomérat de dictatures rivales – d’appuyer la plainte de Prétoria.

Israël ne s’est pas dérobé car le pays a signé la convention qu’on l’accuse de trahir. Aharon Barak, le juge désigné pour représenter l’État juif au tribunal, est lui-même un survivant du ghetto de Kaunas en Lituanie. Âgé de 5 ans en I944, c’est caché dans un sac, au fond d’une charrette, qu’il a échappé à la liquidation de la population juive par les nazis et leurs collaborateurs. Si on ajoute à cette enfance tragique le parcours du juge – ancien président de la Cour suprême, Aharon Barak s’oppose à Netanyahou pour qu’Israël reste une démocratie dotée de contrepouvoirs garantissant les droits de tous les citoyens, juifs et arabes – le contexte et les protagonistes du procès de La Haye relèvent d’un sinistre théâtre de l’absurde.

L’Afrique du Sud ne s’est pas embarrassée des faits. L’acte d’accusation ne mentionne pas les massacres perpétrés par les terroristes du Hamas. À écouter les avocats de ‘‘la nation arc-en-ciel’’, il semble qu’Israël ait décidé d’attaquer Gaza car tel était son bon plaisir. Mais les avocats sud-africains ont beau tordre la réalité, ils butent sur la définition même du concept au nom duquel ils ferraillent, c’est-à-dire‘‘l’intentionnalité’’ du crime. La notion de génocide, selon le texte de la Convention, implique « la soumission intentionnelle du groupe à des conditions d’existence devant entrainer sa destruction physique totale et partielle ».

D’une part, c’est exactement ce qu’ont subi les Israéliens massacrés, torturés, mutilés, violés, kidnappés lors de l’attaque du 7 octobre 2023. Les directives données aux terroristes – qui ont filmé leurs actes barbares – afin de liquider la population des kibboutz et villes limitrophes de Gaza (une population pacifiste, vivant sur un territoire israélien reconnu internationalement) étaient d’une clarté atroce. D’autre part, la charte du Hamas prévoit l’élimination de la présence juive sur la terre dont l’organisation, au nom de l’islam, revendique l’intégralité en lieu et place d’Israël. Quant à ‘‘l’intention’’ de l’État hébreu d’en finir avec les Palestiniens, elle ne s’appuie sur aucune donnée concrète. L’offensive menée par Tsahal, l’armée israélienne, en riposte à l’agression du 7 octobre, s’est signalée dès les premières heures par une campagne d’information à destination des Gazaouis, leur demandant de partir vers le Sud, pour échapper aux bombardements.

Le nombre élevé de victimes – 23 000 selon le Hamas, dont 9000 seraient des terroristes selon Israël – a été expliqué par l’organisation elle-même. « Les tunnels sont réservés à nos combattants et c’est l’ONU qui doit protéger les civils » ont proclamé les responsables du Hamas. Le détournement par les terroristes de l’aide humanitaire et médicale fournie par Israël – une curieuse politique pour des ‘‘génocidaires’’ – a été filmé par les Gazaouis eux-mêmes. Des témoins ont réussi à laisser filtrer les scènes qui se déroulaient sur la route vers le Sud : check-points du Hamas destinés à empêcher la population de fuir les zones de combat, tirs sur les récalcitrants. Planqué dans son hôtel de luxe au Qatar, Ismaïl Haniyeh, le leader de l’organisation, a exalté « le sang des femmes, des vieillards et des enfants qui renforce l’enthousiasme de la résistance ».

Pour muscler une argumentation incohérente, Prétoria tente de s’appuyer sur les déclarations de plusieurs extrémistes du gouvernement israélien. Ces alliés de Benyamin Netanyahou dans sa coalition avaient évoqué la réoccupation de Gaza et le transfert de ses habitants. L’irresponsable Amihaï Eliyahu, ministre du Patrimoine, avait vociféré sur une éventuelle bombe atomique à lâcher sur Gaza. Il avait été immédiatement rappelé à l’ordre par le Premier ministre qui aurait mieux fait de le limoger. Mais ces incendiaires n’ont pas droit à la parole dans le cabinet de guerre constitué au lendemain du 7 octobre. Netanyahou a pris soin de s’en désolidariser en affirmant : « Israël n’a pas l’intention d’occuper Gaza ni de déplacer sa population ».

Au contraire, les visées génocidaires des massacreurs du 7 octobre sont attestées par la planification rigoureuse des meurtres et des ‘‘souillures’’ – les viols – à infliger aux Israéliens selon les plans retrouvés sur les terroristes et les témoignages de ceux qui ont été faits prisonniers.

La mascarade du procès de La Haye contribue n’a, hélas, pour effet que de nourrir l’islamisme, ses propagandistes et ses bourreaux…