fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Islam, Islamism, communitarianism: what do the French people think?

2 April 2022 News   18690  

Issues related to Islam are at the heart of the presidential campaign. In addition to the growing fears caused by the terrorist threat, since the jihadist attacks of 2015, there has been a widespread awareness of the dangers that can arise from communal and separatist excesses.

1- The French people do not confuse Islam with Islamism

Contrary to the outrages of Éric Zemmour, who has constantly hammered home the point that Islam and Islamism cannot be distinguished, on the pretext that “Islam is Islamism at rest, Islamism is Islam in action”, our survey shows that the majority of French people do not make the amalgam: to the question “in general, what does the Muslim religion inspire in you?”, only 44% of French people evoke concern. On the other hand, when Islamism is described as “a dogmatic vision of Islam according to which religion should not be a personal practice limited to the spiritual aspect, but should regulate all aspects of community life”, 73% say they are worried about the Islamist phenomenon in France.
This absence of amalgam is all the more clear, as out of these 73% of French people worried about the rise of Islamism in their country, 28% declare themselves to be Muslim. Proof, if any were needed, that one can be a Muslim and be opposed to Islamism!
On the other hand, the answers concerning concern or not about the rise of Islamism vary considerably according to political position: only 55% of left-wing voters (whether extreme or moderate left-wing) say they are concerned, compared to 72% in the centre, 89% on the moderate right and 94% on the extreme right.

 

2- Islamism and communitarianism are now more frightening than the terrorist threat!

For a long time, the Islamist phenomenon was perceived exclusively through the binary prism of violence and non-violence. Those Islamists who claimed to be opposed to armed violence were considered moderates, or even allies in the fight against jihadist terrorism. However, since the attacks of 2015, and even more so since the horrifying beheading of Samuel Paty, an awareness has gradually emerged in French opinion of the dangers of communitarianism and separatism, which are the work of Islamists who claim to be non-violent, and which constitute a breeding ground for jihadist radicalisation.
When asked why Islamism should be fought in France, 76% answered that Islamism is “a source of violence and terrorism”. Another 76% said that Islamism is “a fanaticism that generates communitarianism and separatism”. Furthermore, 74% motivated their opposition to Islamism by the fact that it constitutes “a threat to freedoms and egalitarian principles” and 73% mentioned “an attack on secularism”. However, the attacks on freedoms, egalitarian principles and secularism are more linked to communitarianism and political Islam than to jihadist terrorism.

Another sign of this awareness of the ravages caused by Islamic communitarianism (see page 97) is that only 31% of French people see it as “a banal socio-cultural phenomenon”, while 75% see it as a “separatist way of life hostile to republican authority”; 75% see it as “a source of jihadist radicalism”; and 69% see it as “a breeding ground for trafficking and the parallel economy”.

3- The fight against Islamism as a decisive reason for voting?

The positions and proposals of the different candidates regarding the fight against Islamism will play a major role in the choice of 75% of the voters: 35% say that this issue will play a determining role in their choices during the presidential elections and 40% say that the fight against Islamism will play an “important but not determining” role in their electoral choices. Only 25% say that the issue will play a secondary role.
The proportion of French Muslims who say that the fight against Islamism plays an important role in determining their electoral choices is lower than the national average. However, it is sufficiently important to be noted and welcomed: 24% will determine the choice of the candidate for whom they will vote according to his or her commitment to the fight against Islamism. And 31% say that this question will have “an important but not determining role” in their choice.
Islamo-leftism, which contaminates a large part of the French left, causes a glaring paradox: the percentage of left-wing voters who will determine their electoral choices according to the positions taken by the candidates on the issue of the fight against Islamism is lower than among Muslims themselves! They are 23% among voters of the radical left and only 13% among those of the moderate left.
As for the proportion of right-wing voters who will determine their votes according to the fight against Islamism, they are 21% in the centre, 33% on the moderate right and 65% on the extreme right.


4- 85% of French people call on the future president to ban the Muslim Brotherhood
To fight against Islamism, 85% of French people support the proposal, put forward by several presidential candidates, aimed at “prohibiting Islamist organizations linked to the Muslim Brotherhood and all the movement linked to it”.
This ban is also mentioned in the context of the fight against Islamist communitarianism and separatism: 68% of voters call on the future President to “ban organizations linked to the Muslim Brotherhood, Salafism and the Tabligh movement”. In addition, 61% call for “dissolving cultural, sports or religious associations refusing to comply with secular and egalitarian values”, while 89% submit the proposal made during the presidential campaign to “cut subsidies to associations present a community, racialist, sexist or regional separatist vision”. And 12% respondents to “penalize exclusively community businesses”, while 28% consider that the fight against communitarianism and separatism should rather go through a “city policy promoting social diversity”.


5- What are the most supported proposals to fight against Islamism?

A majority of French people consider that, in the current presidential campaign, political figures talk too often about issues related to Islam. But, who are the most credible candidates? And which proposals meet with the most support concerning Islam, fight against Islamism and – more generally – the relationship between the State and religions in France?

fbpx
 
 

 

Islam, islamisme, communautarisme : Qu’en pensent les Français ?



Les question liées à l’islam sont au cœur de la campagne présidentielle. Aux craintes grandissantes suscitées par la menace terroriste, depuis les attaques djihadistes de 2015, s’est additionnée une large prise de conscience des dangers que peuvent constituer les dérives communautaires et séparatistes.

1- Les Français ne font pas l’amalgame entre islam et islamisme

Contrairement aux outrances d’Éric Zemmour, qui n’a eu de cesse de marteler, tout au long de la campagne présidentielle, qu’on ne peut pas distinguer l’islam de l’islamisme, au prétexte que « l’islam est un islamisme au repos, l’islamisme un islam en action », notre sondage montre que la majorité des Français ne fait pas d’amalgame : à la question ‘‘de manière générale, que vous inspire la religion musulmane ?’’, 44% seulement des Français évoquent de l’inquiétude. Par contre, en leur décrivant l’islamisme comme étant « une vision dogmatique de l’islam selon laquelle la religion ne doit pas être une pratique personnelle se limitant au volet spirituel, mais ayant vocation à réguler tous les aspects de la vie de la collectivité », 73% se disent inquiets par le phénomène islamiste en France.
Cette absence d’amalgame est d’autant plus claire, que sur ces 73% de Français inquiétés par la montée de l’islamisme dans leur pays, se trouvent 28% de Français se déclarant de religion musulmane. Preuve, s’il en faut, que l’on peut tout à fait être musulman et opposé à islamisme !
Par contre, les réponses concernant l’inquiétude ou pas par rapport à la montée de l’islamisme, varient considérablement en fonction du positionnement politique : 55% seulement des électeurs de gauche (qu’il s’agisse de la gauche extrême ou modérée) se disent inquiets, contre 72% au centre, 89% au sein de la droite modérée et 94% à l’extrême droite.

2- L’islamisme et le communautarisme font désormais davantage peur que la menace terroriste !
Longtemps, le phénomène islamiste a été exclusivement perçu sous le prisme binaire violence / non-violence. Ceux des islamistes se disant opposés la violence armée étaient considérés comme des modérés, voire des alliés dans la lutte contre le terrorisme djihadiste. Mais, depuis les attentats de 2015, et davantage encore depuis l’horrifiante décapitation de Samuel Paty, une prise de conscience a progressivement vu le jour dans l’opinion française quant aux dangers du communautarisme et du séparatisme, qui sont l’œuvre d’islamistes qui se disent non-violents, et qui constituent un terreau propice à la radicalisation djihadiste.
À la question de savoir pour quels motifs l’islamisme doit être combattu en France, 76% répondent que l’islamisme est « une source de violence et de terrorisme ». 76% également évoquent le motif que l’islamisme est « un fanatisme générateur de communautarisme et de séparatisme ». Par ailleurs, 74% motivent leur opposition à l’islamisme par le fait qu’il constitue « une menace pour les libertés et les principes égalitaires » et 73% évoquent « une atteinte à la laïcité ». Or, les atteintes aux libertés, aux principes égalitaires et à la laïcité sont davantage liées au communautarisme et à l’islam politique qu’au terrorisme djihadiste.

Autre signe de cette prise de conscience quant aux ravages provoqués par le communautarisme islamique, seuls 31% des Français le voient comme « un banal phénomène socio-culturel », tandis que 75% le considèrent comme un « mode de vie séparatiste hostile à l’autorité républicaine » ; 75% y voient « une dérive génératrice de radicalisme djihadiste » ; 69% le perçoivent comme « un terreau propice aux trafics et à l’économie parallèle ».



3- La lutte contre l’islamisme, motif décisif du vote ?
Les prises de positions et les propositions des différents candidats, en ce qui concerne la lutte contre l’islamisme, joueront un rôle prépondérant dans le choix de 75% des électeurs : 35% affirment que cette question aura un rôle déterminant dans leurs choix lors du scrutin présidentiel et 40% disent que la lutte contre l’islamisme aura un rôle « important mais pas déterminant »dans leurs choix électoraux. 25% seulement disent accorder à la question un rôle secondaire.
La proportion des Français de confession musulmane qui affirment accorder à la lutte contre l’islamisme un rôle important dans la détermination de leurs choix électoraux est plus basse que la moyenne nationale. Mais, elle est suffisamment importante pour être relevée et saluée : 24% détermineront le choix du candidat pour lequel ils vont voter en fonction de son engagement dans la lutte contre l’islamisme. Et 31% disent que cette question aura « un rôle important mais pas déterminant » dans leurs choix.
L’islamo-gauchisme, qui contamine une large partie de la gauche française, provoque chez elle un paradoxe criant : le pourcentage des électeurs de gauche qui détermineront leurs choix électoraux en fonction des prises de positions des candidats sur la question de la lutte contre l’islamisme est plus bas que chez les musulmans eux-mêmes ! Ils sont 23% chez les électeurs de la gauche radicale et 13% seulement chez ceux de la gauche modérée.
Quant à la proportion des électeurs de droite qui détermineront leurs votes en fonction de la lutte contre l’islamisme, ils sont 21% au centre, 33% au sein de la droite modérée et 65% à l’extrême droite.

4- Quelles sont les propositions les plus soutenues pour lutter contre l’islamisme ?

Une majorité de Français considère que, dans l’actuelle campagne présidentielle, les personnalités politiques parlent trop souvent des questions liées à l’islam. Mais, quels sont les candidats les plus crédibles ? Et quelles propositions rencontrent le plus d’adhésion concernant l’islam, la lutte contre l’islamisme et – plus généralement – le rapport entre l’Etat et les religions en France ?