Where does the Jihadist violence come from?



Hamid Zanaz (*)

According to Islamic ideology, no way of life is valid or deserves to be experienced, other than the one defined by the Koran. And so, even if all problems were solved, fundamentalism would remain. The long-awaited, long-desired Islam of Light, this dreamed Islam, is an “impossible”. It only diverts young people away from universal values, attracting them more to Islam, then to fundamentalism, and eventually to terrorism. There’s no hope of change other than destroying this whole system. But Muslims in Europe are taking the opposite approach by exploiting the multicultural environment in order to demand that host countries adapt to their religious requirements.

 

Naipaul, Nobel Prize for literature in 2001, did not understand the “multicultural racketeering where immigrant’s descendant claims rights and protection without showing a minimum of empathy for his adopted country”. But what kind of empathy can we expect when the intolerable is tolerated? In his book in Arabic, entitled “On Earth’s Division According to Islamic Fiqh”, a member of the Dublin-based European Council on Fatwa and Research, Abdallah B., wrote, in the chapter devoted to jihad: “Make jihad against unbelievers via your word, your persons, your goods, and your hands”. Isn’t this a good integration advice for young people of Muslim origin in Europe?

All sincere Muslims, who do not practice concealment or Taqiya, advocate for application, even imposition, of Sharia law by force. They consider non-Muslims as lost people who must be brought back to the true religion: Islam!

Every Muslim, wherever he is, comes to politicians with such questions as: Allah has allowed me to take four women, why do you forbid it? Why don’t you apply Islamic Koranic criminal law, at least in territories where Muslims are concentrated?

Islam therefore carries within it the rejection of secularism. Indeed, the expression “political Islam” is a perfect pleonasm because in Islam, there is no separation between orthodoxy (what we must believe) and orthopraxis (what we must do). Law and faith are the two sides of a same coin. Yet, many “Muslim scientists” succumb to myths, their supposed critical minds seem to have no impact on their conception of the world: if facts are wrong about Sharia law or contradict Islamic “truths”, for them reality is wrong, not the Sharia law!

A good Muslim feels guilty for failing to establish the Islamic state, either by persuasion or by force. This ideal, this ultimate goal is based on his pride as a Muslim. He is proud of who he is, not of what he does. Instead of being what he’s going to become, he wants to be what he was. This blockage results in a dichotomous attitude and, if he accepts technical modernity, he rejects its metaphysics. He thus lives a development without progress because he remains stuck to the sacred: the forbidden, the halal, paradise, hell, the torments of the grave… In his case, purity and fear prevail over freedom process. But since he feels guilty for not advancing the cause of Islam, which is to spread Allah’s law throughout the world, he is in conflict with himself.

This intrinsic guilt eats away any Muslim who suffers from a blatant “lack of being” in a not yet completely Islamicised world, which makes him an unhappy conscience! Living in an open culture framework and in a secularized society, while at the same time immersing himself in an archaic and closed Islamic culture, he suffers from tragic instability. It is this ambiguous citizenship that makes him unassimilable.

Religious practice has nothing to do with whatever spirituality, it is the result of community pressure, a diversionary let off. Isolationist Islamic communitarianism is a “ready-not-to-think” hypermarket. That is why it is very difficult to meet a well-rounded Muslim believer today because he is crushed under the weight of a Leviathan: the Fiqh, the Muslim canon law, being his only GPS in life. Faith in Islam is not accompanied by any inner peace. A Muslim is a fighter who assails evil, meaning anything that is contrary to the spirit of his religion. It is at constant war with the non-Islamic world. His ultimate goal in life: to see Islam triumph, to impose its law everywhere, to govern all humanity! For him, Western legislation is blasphemy because it aims to replace the law of Allah, the Shariah. This is the logical result of his mental conditioning in his family from an early age.

Activist fundamentalism reaps the fruits of this ordinary Islamic socialization that provides it with beings prepared to blindly obey the precepts of Islam. It is said, when the student is ready, the teacher arrives and only has to show the way to paradise. Exploiting whatever Islamic families, mosques, Islamic colleges and grammar schools, Koranic satellite TVs and (so called) Islamic cultural centres have sown in the minds of young Muslims living in the Western world.

The rapid evolution of society further complicates the life of a Muslim obsessed with the “lawfulness” of everything. To be in line with his time without throwing away his cultural identity, his reflection is limited to finding answers to questions posed by novelty: does Islam prohibit this, tolerate that, disapprove or recommend this or that thing, this or that innovation, this or that fashion?… A colonized life, burdened by the myth of its supposed glorious past.

This is why followers of Islam define themselves as “Muslims in Europe” rather than “European Muslims”. Doesn’t the “Islamic-World-being” carry war and “clash of civilizations”, as clouds carry rain? The pressure is beginning to bear fruit: did the Archbishop of Canterbury, spiritual head of the Church of England, not consider the implementation of Sharia law in Great Britain inevitable?

The task of Muslim intellectuals is immense. It is a question of undermining a false idea deeply rooted in the unconscious of a majority of Muslims. The idea that their unease would be due to abandonment of their founding norms and that a complete return to these forgotten Islamic norms alone would guarantee them a better future and an assured glory… Will Muslims one day detach themselves from the Marja’iyya Islamiya, the Islamic reference, or will they wade forever in a firstly isolationist, then warlike, “self-referencing”?

Should the intellectual help the masses out of voluntary servitude or comfort them in their dangerous convictions? Should he approach Islam from within, according to a religious approach in conformity with what it says about itself, or should it approach it from outside through social sciences, which, alone, enable to objectively see how the Koran was constituted, what are its sources, its influences, its rewritings…?

* Writer and essayist, latest book published “L’Europe face à l’invasion islamique” (Editions de Paris, 2019).

D’où vient la violence Djihadiste ?



Hamid Zanaz (*)

Selon l’idéologie islamique, aucun mode de vie n’est valable ou ne mérite d’être expérimenté, hormis celui défini par le Coran. Et donc même si tous les problèmes étaient résolus, l’intégrisme demeurerait. L’islam des Lumières tant attendu, tant désiré, cet islam rêvé est un « impossible ». Il ne fait que détourner les jeunes des valeurs universelles, les attirer davantage vers l’islam, puis vers le fondamentalisme, enfin le terrorisme. Aucun espoir de changement à moins d’abattre tout le système. Mais les musulmans d’Europe pratiquent une démarche inverse en exploitant le multi-culturalisme ambiant pour réclamer que les pays hôtes s’adaptent à leurs exigences religieuses.

Le prix Nobel de littérature Naipaul ne comprenait pas le « racket multiculturel où le descendant d’immigrant réclame droits et protection sans manifester un minimum d’empathie pour son pays d’adoption ». Mais quel genre d’empathie peut-on espérer quand on tolère l’intolérable ? Dans son livre en arabe intitulé De la division de la terre selon le fikh islamique, un membre du Conseil européen de la fatwa et de la recherche, situé à Dublin, Abdallah B., écrivait, dans le chapitre consacré au djihad : « Faites le djihad contre les mécréants par votre parole, vos personnes, vos biens, et vos mains. » Ne voilà-t-il pas un bon conseil d’intégration adressé aux jeunes d’origine musulmane en Europe !

Tous les musulmans sincères, qui ne pratiquent pas la dissimulation ou la taqiya, prônent l’application, voire l’imposition de la charia par la force. Ils considèrent les non musulmans comme des égarés qu’il faut ramener à la vraie religion : l’islam !
Chaque musulman, où qu’il se trouve, en vient un jour ou l’autre à poser des questions aux politiques telles que : Allah m’a autorisé à prendre quatre femmes, pourquoi me l’interdisez-vous ? Pourquoi n’appliquez-vous pas le droit pénal islamique coranique, au moins dans les territoires où se concentrent les musulmans ?

L’islam porte donc en son sein le refus de la laïcité. D’ailleurs l’expression « Islam politique » est un parfait pléonasme parce qu’en islam, il n’y a pas de séparation entre l’orthodoxie (ce qu’il faut croire) et l’orthopraxie (ce qu’il faut faire). La loi et la foi sont les deux faces d’une même pièce. Pourtant, de nombreux “scientifiques musulmans” succombent aux mythes, leur esprit supposé critique semblant sans aucune incidence sur leur conception du monde : si les faits donnent tort à la charia ou contredisent les ‘vérités’ islamiques, pour eux, c’est la réalité qui est fausse, pas la charia !

Un bon musulman se sent coupable de ne pas avoir réussi à instaurer l’État islamique, que ce soit par la persuasion ou par la force. Cet idéal, ce but ultime s’appuient sur sa fierté de musulman. Il est fier de ce qu’il est, non de ce qu’il fait. Au lieu d’être ce qu’il va devenir, il veut être ce qu’il a été. Il découle, de ce blocage, une attitude dichotomique et, s’il accepte la modernité technique, il rejette sa métaphysique. Et ainsi il vit un développement sans progrès car il reste collé au sacré : l’interdit, le hallal, le paradis, l’enfer, les supplices de la tombe… Chez lui, la pureté et la peur l’emportent sur le processus de liberté. Mais, comme il se sent coupable de ne pas faire avancer la cause de l’islam qui est de propager la loi d’Allah partout dans le monde, il est en conflit avec lui-même.

Cette culpabilité intrinsèque ronge tout musulman qui souffre d’un « manque-à-être » flagrant dans un monde, pas encore complètement islamisé, qui fait de lui une conscience malheureuse ! Vivant dans le cadre d’une culture ouverte et dans une société sécularisée, en même temps qu’il plonge dans une culture islamique archaïque et fermée, il souffre d’une instabilité tragique. C’est cette citoyenneté ambiguë qui le rend inassimilable.

La pratique religieuse n’a rien à voir avec une quelconque spiritualité, elle est le résultat de la pression communautaire, un défouloir dérivatif. Le communautarisme islamique isolationniste est un hypermarché du « prêt-à-ne pas penser ». C’est pourquoi, il est très difficile de rencontrer aujourd’hui un croyant musulman épanoui car il est écrasé sous le poids d’un Léviathan : le fikh, le droit canon musulman, son seul GPS dans la vie. La foi en islam ne s’accompagne d’aucune paix intérieure. Le musulman est un combattant qui pourfend le mal, c’est-à-dire tout ce qui est contraire à l’esprit de sa religion. Il est en guerre permanente contre le monde non islamique. Son but ultime dans la vie : voir l’islam triompher, imposer sa loi partout, gouverner l’humanité ! Pour lui, la législation occidentale est un blasphème car elle vise à se substituer à la loi d’Allah, la charia. C’est le résultat logique de son conditionnement mental dans sa famille dès son plus jeune âge.

L’intégrisme activiste récolte les fruits de cette socialisation islamique ordinaire qui lui fournit des êtres préparés à obéir aveuglement aux préceptes de l’islam. Quand l’élève est prêt, dit-on, le maître arrive et n’a qu’à montrer le chemin du paradis. Exploiter ce que familles, mosquées, collèges et lycées islamiques, TV satellitaires coraniques et centres cultuels (dits culturels) islamiques ont semé dans l’esprit du jeune musulman vivant en Occident.

La rapide évolution de la société complique davantage la vie du musulman obsédé par la « licéité » de toute chose. Pour être de son temps sans jeter aux orties son identité culturelle, sa réflexion se limite à trouver des réponses posées par la nouveauté : l’islam prohibe-t-il ceci, tolère-t-il cela, désapprouve-t-il ou recommande-t-il telle ou telle chose, telle ou telle innovation, telle ou telle mode ?… Une vie colonisée, alourdie par le mythe de son passé supposé glorieux.

C’est pourquoi les adeptes de l’islam se définissent comme « musulmans en Europe » plus que comme « musulmans européens ». L’être-au-monde-islamique ne porte-t-il pas la guerre et le « choc de civilisations » comme les nuages portent la pluie ? La pression commence à donner ses fruits : l’archevêque de Canterbury, chef spirituel de l’Église d’Angleterre, ne jugeait-il pas inévitable la mise en œuvre de la charia en Grande-Bretagne ?
La tâche des intellectuels musulmans est immense. Il s’agit de saper une fausse idée fortement ancrée dans l’inconscient de la majorité des musulmans. Idée selon laquelle leur malaise serait dû à l’abandon de leurs normes fondatrices et que, seul, le retour intégral à ces normes islamiques oubliées leur garantirait un avenir meilleur et une gloire assurée… Les musulmans se détacheront-ils un jour de la marja’iyya islamiya, la référence islamique, ou pataugeront-ils éternellement dans une « auto-référentialité » isolationniste d’abord, guerrière ensuite ?

L’intellectuel doit-il aider les masses à sortir de la servitude volontaire ou les conforter dans leurs convictions dangereuses ? Doit-il approcher l’islam de l’intérieur, selon une démarche religieuse conforme à ce qu’il dit de lui-même ou l’approcher de l’extérieur par le biais des sciences sociales qui, seules, permettent de voir objectivement comment le Coran a été constitué, quelles sont ses sources, ses influences, ses réécritures…?

 

*Ecrivain et essayiste, dernier ouvrage paru « L’Europe face à l’invasion islamique » (Editions de Paris, 2019) .