fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Belgium: Imam Toujgani, the “moderate” who called to “burn the Jews”!

20 March 2022 News   892  

Imam Mohamed Toujgani is affiliated to the Council of Theologians of Belgium, a very opaque organisation, close to the Executive of Muslims of Belgium (EMB). The other Muslim organisations in Belgium accuse the members of this executive of being co-opted in a “nepotistic manner”. Its board is currently chaired by Imam Tahar Toujgani, Mohamed’s cousin, who is also head of the European Council of Moroccan Ulemas.

Mohamed Toujgani is also close to the League of Muslims of Belgium, the local branch of the Muslim Brotherhood (see photo above). The al-Khalil mosque, of which he was the imam, in Molenbeek, was created in 1985 by the Syrian branch of the Muslim Brotherhood.

Imam Toujgani claims to be the bearer of a discourse of tolerance and openness. However, two years before his ban in Belgium, he had already raised a lot of controversy following the revelation of a video (posted on YouTube in 2009) in which he called for “burning the Jews”.

Toujgani also claims to be a promoter of interfaith dialogue. However, some people wonder how and with what philosophical presuppositions he could promote dialogue with other religions, given that he is totally ignorant of Belgian cultural references?

The sociology of Belgian Islam is not comparable with that of France. A man like Toujgani on French soil would have no legitimacy or credibility with the public authorities. For he is the incarnation of the shortcomings of a traditionalist religious current, with many shortcomings, which has been established in Belgium for 40 years.

However, the question arises as to how people like Imam Toujgani, whose “dangerous associations” are now being discovered, according to Belgian state security, went from being undesirable to being solicited for mediation and official meetings, in the context of the promotion of an alleged discourse of moderation.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Belgique : Imam Toujgani, le ‘‘modéré’’ qui appelait à ‘‘brûler les Juifs’’ !

20 mars 2022 News   1141  

L’imam Mohamed Toujgani est affilié au Conseil des théologiens de Belgique, organisation très opaque, proche de l’Exécutif des Musulmans de Belgique (EMB). Les autres organisations musulmanes de Belgique reprochent aux membres de cet exécutif d’être cooptés « de manière népotique ». Son bureau est actuellement présidé par l’imam Tahar Toujgani, cousin de Mohamed, également à la tête du Conseil européen des oulémas marocains.

Mohamed Toujgani est aussi proche de la ligue des Musulmans de Belgique, filiale locale de la confrérie des Frères musulmans (voir photo ci-dessus). La mosquée al-Khalil, dont il était l’imam, à Molenbeek, a été créée, en 1985, par la branche syrienne des Frères musulman.

L’imam Toujgani prétend être porteur d’un discours de tolérance et d’ouverture. Cependant, deux ans avant son interdiction de séjour en Belgique, il avait déjà soulevé une vive polémique, suite à la révélations d’une vidéo (diffusée sur YouTube en 2009) dans laquelle il appelait à « bruler les Juifs ».

Toujgani se réclame aussi du dialogue inter confessionnel. Mais, d’aucuns se demandent comment et avec quels présupposés philosophiques il pouvait promouvoir le dialogue avec les autres religions, vu qu’il méconnaît totalement les références culturelles belges ?

La sociologie de l’Islam belge n’est pas comparable avec celle de la France. Un homme comme Toujgani sur le sol français n’aurait aucune légitimité ni aucune crédibilité auprès des instances publiques. Car, il est l’incarnation des travers d’un courant religieux traditionaliste, aux multiples lacunes, qui s’est installé en Belgique depuis 40 ans.

Se pose, cependant, la question : comment des gens comme l’imam Toujgani, dont on découvre aujourd’hui les ‘‘fréquentations dangereuses’’, selon la sécurité de l’État belge, sont passés du statut d’indésirables à celui de personnalités sollicitées pour des médiations et des rencontres officielles, dans le cadre de la promotion d’un prétendu discours de modération ?