fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
Virginia Mayo/AP/SIPA

 

What is the controversy over clandestine prayer rooms at the Free University of Brussels all about?

1 September 2023 Expertises   6329  

Nadia Geerts

For several years – some witnesses say more than 15 years – Muslim students have been praying every day in part of the library of the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB). A practice that has become so commonplace that they have even stored a few boxes of equipment there: prayer mats, veils, laminated texts of invocations to recite. And the statue that decorates the room is permanently covered with a sheet. But ever since the facts came to light in the press, thanks to the anonymous testimony of a member of staff, the question has come up again and again: “So what’s the problem?” So, I’m going to try and answer it.

Forget for a moment that we’re talking about prayers, religion and Islam. Imagine… that a group of table tennis players decided to get together every day to play a game. That for a few weeks they had the tedious experience of carrying a table tennis table around campus, morning and night. That, fed up, they end up asking the academic authorities if they can’t leave their table in a corridor at all times, neatly folded and stored along the wall. And when they are refused, they decide to go ahead anyway, leaving their folded table in the corridor at all times, along with a box containing balls, pallets, a spare net, a few sports T-shirts, etc.

Of course, the scenario can be varied ad infinitum: imagine film buffs storing their projector and film reels; members of a wine club stocking up on a few bottles of wine, cups and spittoons; oil painting enthusiasts depositing their aprons, palettes, brushes, canvases and paint pots; or BDSM enthusiasts putting their whips and various utensils in a university corridor!

Let’s be serious: would anyone dare to claim, in this case, that it shouldn’t bother anyone, since after all these practices are perfectly legal? Wouldn’t the unanimous reaction be to point out that there are rooms dedicated to sport, others to cinema and other activities, and even places adapted to the practice of sexual games? As far as the latter is concerned, there is even a precedent: in 2021, an activity during which students mimed naked sex games provoked an immediate reaction from the academic authorities, who immediately suspended the activities of this student circle!

But strangely enough, as soon as we start talking about religion in general and Islam in particular, things change: suddenly, to be upset that students are praying in a corridor is to be intolerant, secular, Islamophobic, extreme right-wing and so on.

Why such a difference in treatment? Obviously, freedom of worship is guaranteed by law and even by the Constitution. But does that mean that the followers of a religion have the right to worship anywhere? Obviously not. There are also places dedicated to worship and, as the French language is full of expressions, we even call them “places of worship”!

In the past, the academic authorities have refused to authorise a “place of worship”, i.e., a prayer room, within the ULB. I repeat slowly: they said “no”. And what did the students do? They went ahead and set up their place of worship anyway! There’s a name for that, in fact there are several: “disobedience”, “breaking the rules”, something that normally merits a call to order and, in the event of a repeat offence, sanctions.

Not to mention the fact that crates permanently lying around in a corridor must have aroused the curiosity of security, these days. And it seems odd, to say the least, that no-one has ever simply seized this “abandoned” equipment: is it just lying around? Don’t know who it belongs to? Then bin it!

But clearly, this logic does not prevail on the contrary: the question that remains in many minds is “So what?” Are we to conclude from this that, in these minds, the (Islamic) religion now enjoys a kind of safe-conduct which means that the rule does not apply to it, that the mere mention of a “religious obligation” must open the door to all kinds of derogations, because the opposite would be disrespectful, intolerant and phobic?

Contrary to this general trend, I dare to claim that there are perfectly objective factors which mean that, far from being more “tolerant” of religious practice in general and these prayers in particular, than of sporting practice or any other social activity, it would be perfectly legitimate to be less so.

First of all, ULB is not just any university. Heir to an anticlerical tradition, it claims to promote free examination, in other words the rejection of dogma, the exercise of rationality and the rejection of all arguments of authority. But what is praying five times a day, at set times, if not obeying religious dogma? The university obviously cannot prohibit this, but it can remind students that there are places dedicated to this practice, the famous “places of worship”, which are obviously not the buildings of a free-examinist university!

Secondly, there are certain aspects to this religious practice that should shock anyone committed to progress, freedom, equality and reason. Apart from the fact that men and women do not pray together, the laminated invocations to be borrowed include the following: “There is no divinity apart from Allah, worshipping Him purely in spite of the disbelievers”. We are therefore dealing with a double separatism, sexual and based on convictions, the second even being tinged with clear hostility towards disbelievers, accused of wanting to prevent the practice of “pure worship”.

Clearly, it is not the ULB, nor secularists, free-examinists or miscreants who reject Muslims, but some of them who are developing, within the universities themselves, bigoted practices based on an excluding ideology, in which miscreants are the object of rejection, suspicion and contempt. The real problem, then, is that these students feel more “at home” than all those who claim to be part of the ULB’s historical heritage, who reject dogma and practise rational doubt and free criticism of all ideas.

Since the existence of this place of prayer was made public, many of them have expressed their unease, their indignation and their relief that someone has finally dared to break the silence. This shows not only that there are many people who are disturbed by this, but also that most of them knew about it but kept silent.

And this is perhaps the most serious aspect of the whole affair.

The ULB has now promised that it will take action to contain this phenomenon, which is said to have grown recently, and will make it clear to students at the start of the academic year that places of prayer are not permitted on campus.

As for the students, the revolt is growing, with no fewer than sixteen student organisations co-signing a press release “in support of stigmatised students” entitled “We deserve better than an Islamophobic controversy”. It is hard to find any argument in favour of the right to pray in corridors without permission, but it does say that it is important to protect students from “a reactionary attack” that “stigmatises” and “demonises” them on the basis of their faith.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
Virginia Mayo/AP/SIPA

 

De quoi la polémique sur les salles de prière clandestines à l’Université Libre de Bruxelles est-elle le nom ?

1 septembre 2023 Expertises   5391  

Nadia Geerts
Nadia Geerts

Depuis plusieurs années – certains témoins parlent de plus de 15 ans – des étudiants musulmans prient chaque jour dans une partie de la bibliothèque de l’Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB). Une pratique qui s’est tellement banalisée qu’ils y ont même entreposé quelques caisses de matériel : tapis de prière, voiles, textes d’invocations plastifiés à réciter. Et la statue qui décore la pièce est en permanence recouverte d’un drap. Mais depuis que les faits ont été révélés dans la presse grâce au témoignage anonyme d’un membre du personnel, cette question revient très souvent : « Et alors, où est le problème ? ». La mort dans l’âme, effarée qu’on puisse même la poser, je vais donc tenter d’y répondre.

Oubliez un instant qu’il s’agit de prières, de religion et d’islam. Imaginez… que des joueurs de ping-pong décident de se rassembler chaque jour pour faire une partie. Que pendant quelques semaines, ils fassent l’expérience fastidieuse de transporter une table de ping-pong sur le campus, matin et soir. Que lassés, ils finissent par demander aux autorités académiques s’ils ne peuvent pas laisser leur table dans un couloir en permanence, soigneusement pliée et rangée le long du mur. Qu’ils se heurtent à un refus et qu’ils décident malgré tout de passer outre, laissant désormais en permanence dans ce couloir leur table pliée, ainsi qu’une boîte contenant des balles, des palettes, un filet de rechange, quelques t-shirts sportifs…

On peut bien sûr varier le scénario à l’infini : imaginez des adeptes de cinéma entreposer leur projecteur et leurs bobines de film ; des membres d’un club d’œnologie stocker quelques bouteilles de vin, des gobelets et des crachoirs ; des amateurs de peinture à l’huile déposer leurs tabliers, palettes, pinceaux, toiles et pots de peinture ; ou encore des férus de BDSM mettre leurs fouets et ustensiles divers, toujours dans un couloir de l’université !

Soyons sérieux : quelqu’un oserait-il prétendre, dans ce cas, que ça ne devrait gêner personne, puisqu’après tout ces pratiques sont parfaitement légales ? La réaction unanime ne serait-elle pas de rappeler qu’il existe des salles dédiées au sport, d’autres au cinéma et autres activités et même des endroits adaptés à la pratique de jeux sexuels ? Concernant ce dernier cas, il y a même un précédent : en 2021, une activité au cours de laquelle des étudiants mimaient nus des jeux sexuels a suscité une réaction immédiate des autorités académiques, qui ont aussitôt suspendu les activités de ce cercle étudiant !

Mais curieusement, dès lors que l’on parle de religion en général et d’islam en particulier, les choses changent : soudain, s’émouvoir que des étudiants prient dans un couloir, c’est être intolérant, laïcard, islamophobe, d’extrême droite et j’en passe.

Pourquoi une telle différence de traitement ? Il est évident que la liberté de culte est garantie par la loi et même par la Constitution. Mais cela signifie-t-il que les fidèles d’une religion ont le droit de pratiquer leur culte n’importe où ? Évidemment non. Il existe aussi des endroits dédiés au culte et, comme la langue française regorge d’expressions, on les appelle même ‘‘lieux de culte’’ !

Or, par le passé, les autorités académiques ont refusé d’autoriser un ‘‘lieu de culte’’, c’est-à-dire une salle de prière, au sein de l’ULB. Je répète lentement : elles ont dit ‘‘non’’. Et qu’ont fait les étudiants demandeurs ? Ils sont passés outre et ont installé quand même leur lieu de culte ! Cela porte un nom et même plusieurs : ‘‘désobéissance’’, ‘‘infraction à la règle’’, chose qui mérite normalement un rappel à l’ordre et, en cas de récidive, des sanctions.

Sans compter que des caisses qui traînent en permanence dans un couloir, ça a forcément dû éveiller la curiosité de la sécurité, par les temps qui courent. Et qu’il semble pour le moins curieux que personne n’ait jamais simplement saisi ce matériel ‘‘abandonné’’ : ça traîne ? On ne sait pas à qui ça appartient ? Alors poubelle !

Mais manifestement, cette logique-là ne prévaut pas, au contraire : la question qui demeure dans bien des esprits, c’est « Et alors ? ». Faut-il en conclure que dans ces esprits, la religion (islamique) bénéficie désormais d’une sorte de sauf-conduit qui fait que la règle ne vaut pas pour elle, que la simple évocation d’une ‘‘obligation religieuse’’ doit ouvrir la porte à toutes les dérogations, parce que le contraire serait irrespectueux, intolérant et phobique ?

À rebours de cette tendance lourde, j’ose prétendre qu’il y a des éléments tout à fait objectifs qui font que, loin d’être plus ‘‘tolérants’’ à la pratique religieuse en général et ces prières-là en particulier, qu’à la pratique sportive ou toute autre activité sociale, il serait parfaitement légitime de l’être moins.

Tout d’abord, l’ULB n’est pas n’importe quelle université. Héritière d’une tradition anticléricale, elle prétend promouvoir le libre examen, autrement dit le refus du dogme, l’exercice de la rationalité et le refus de tout argument d’autorité. Or, prier cinq fois par jour, à heures fixes, qu’est-ce, sinon obéir à un dogme religieux ? L’université ne peut évidemment pas l’interdire, mais elle peut en revanche parfaitement rappeler aux étudiants qu’il existe des endroits dédiés à cette pratique, ces fameux ‘‘lieux de culte’’, lesquels ne sont évidemment pas les bâtiments d’une université libre-exaministe !

Ensuite, cette pratique religieuse comporte certains aspects qui devraient faire bondir toute personne attachée au progrès, à la liberté, l’égalité et la raison. Outre que les hommes et les femmes ne prient pas ensemble, parmi les invocations plastifiées à emprunter figure celle-ci : « Il n’y a pas de divinité en dehors d’Allah, en Lui rendant un culte pur en dépit des mécréants ». On a donc affaire à un double séparatisme, sexuel et sur base des convictions, le second étant même teinté d’une hostilité claire envers les mécréants, accusés de vouloir empêcher la pratique du ‘‘culte pur’’.

À l’évidence, ce n’est pas l’ULB, ni les laïcs, les libre-exaministes ou les mécréants qui rejettent les Musulmans, mais certains d’entre eux qui développent, au sein même des universités, des pratiques bigotes relevant d’une idéologie excluante, où les mécréants sont l’objet de rejet, de suspicion et de mépris. Le vrai problème, dès lors, est que ces étudiants se sentent davantage ‘‘chez eux’’ que tous ceux qui se réclament de l’héritage historique de l’ULB, qui rejettent le dogme, pratiquent le doute rationnel et la libre critique de toutes les idées.

Depuis que l’existence de ce lieu de prière a été rendue publique, nombre d’entre eux témoignent de leur malaise, de leur indignation, de leur soulagement aussi que quelqu’un ait enfin osé rompre le silence. Ce qui démontre non seulement que que nombreux sont ceux que cela dérange, mais aussi qu’ils savaient, pour la plupart, mais se sont tus.

Et c’est peut-être le plus grave dans cette affaire.

L’ULB assure à présent qu’elle va agir pour contenir ce phénomène qui aurait pris de l’ampleur tout récemment et préciser aux étudiants dès la rentrée académique que les lieux de prières ne sont pas autorisés sur les campus.

Quant aux étudiants, la révolte gronde, puisque pas moins de seize organisations estudiantines ont co signé un communiqué ‘‘en soutien aux étudiant.es stigmatisé.es’’ intitulé « On mérite mieux qu’une polémique islamophobe ! ». On y chercherait en vain une quelconque argumentation en faveur du droit de prier dans les couloirs sans autorisation, mais on y apprend qu’il importe de protéger les étudiants d’« une attaque réactionnaire » qui les « stigmatise » et les « diabolise » sur la base de leur confession.