fbpx
 
 

 

Asia Bibi and the Pakistani black hole



Martine Gozlan (*)

Asia has finally been able to flee Asia. Asia Bibi, a Christian Pakistani, left her native country after ten years of nightmare. Ten years on death row in the prison where she was thrown in 2009 for “blasphemy”. In Pakistan, “blasphemy” is a crime: it allows everyone to accuse their neighbour of insulting Islam and its prophet.

A knife, a rope, a torment hanging over the unfaithful heads. For Asia Bibi – whose tragic odyssey in the West would probably not be known without the energy of a journalist, Anne-Isabelle Tollet, who campaigned and wrote for her – it all began with a story about water. Water that will turn to blood for her enemies. On a sweltering day in 2009, Asia leans towards a nearby well and takes a sip of water. Neighbours approach screaming that this well is reserved for Muslims and that she, the Christian, defiles its purity. Let us remember that Pakistan means “the land of the pure” in Urdu language. Dangerous purity. Did its founder, the reform lawyer Ali Jinnah, imagine that this nation would be damaged by tribalism and Islamism? Jinnah was married to a Parsi Indo-Persian from the Zoroastrian community, the worshippers of fire. He promised: “Pakistan will not be a theocratic state governed by clerics entrusted with a divine mission”. The inspired speaker has been betrayed for a long time. During General Zia’s dictatorship between 1977 and 1988, political Islam hit the country. Tens of thousands of madrassas, Koranic schools, have been created, paving the way for a single education for children: obscurantism. This is when the legislation punishing with death this primitive concept called blasphemy was passed.
In a country where the pure persons are majority and dictate the law in people’s assemblies and in daily life, minorities considered impure are in great danger. Christians constitute 2% of the population. Their churches are regularly hit by attacks, as are the Shia mosques. I remember a Pakistani Christmas, a long time ago, when despite the children in bright costumes, prayers and gifts, a poorly disguised concern was floating in the air. Since the Benazir Bhutto’ assassination in December 2007, everything has gone from bad to worse. Jihadism has flared up, Islamist parties have held successive governments as complacent hostages by openly supporting the Afghan Taliban. The entire border province of Afghanistan is under Taliban rule, including the Swat Valley where attempts were made to kill the heroic schoolgirl Malala Yousafzai, survivor of the attack and 2014 Nobel Peace Prize winner. Pakistan is a disarticulated nation whose current Prime Minister Imran Khan, despite his pseudo-modernist protests, swore allegiance to the enemies of freedom, women and minorities in order to get elected in July 2018.
A former cocaine addicted playboy, he defended blasphemy legislation and showed up with a new, fully veiled wife.
Asia Bibi was thrown in jail on charges of hateful gossipers whose words had a right to life and death over the young Christian girl. Her round, smiling face has lost weight and aged. It took an international campaign for the Pakistani Supreme Court, where some consciences valiantly resist, to acquittal him on 31 October 2018, nine years after his imprisonment. But at the news, tens of thousands of fanatics across the country demonstrated by brandishing a sign with her portrait on it: “Hang her! ». Islamist organizations appealed, they lost and Asia Bibi was finally able to leave her dungeon. But she had to hide under good guard night and day to avoid being murdered. She was denied the right to leave Pakistani soil.
At the beginning of May, the prisoner finally flew to Canada. In September, her confidante and her support Anne-Isabelle Tollet will publish her story with Editions du Rocher. Today Asia has the right to breathe, to kiss her family and to pray according to her faith. But we must not forget that the country where she lived through hell is a great power. A nuclear power in the hands of the obscurantists. Its arsenal has tripled in ten years. We know nothing about the precautions surrounding this program, officially launched to compete with India, the hereditary enemy, also in possession of the Bomb and now governed by Narendra Modi, a Hindu extremist who is entering his second term. On the other hand, Pakistan, where half the population is still illiterate, can fall into anarchy from one day to the next. The West seems to care little about this black hole.

* Journalist and essayist, editor-in-chief at the weekly Marianne, specialist in Islamism and the Middle East.

Asia Bibi et le trou noir pakistanais



Martine Gozlan (*)

Asia a pu enfin fuir l’Asie. Asia Bibi, Pakistanaise chrétienne, a quitté son pays natal après dix ans de cauchemar. Dix ans dans le couloir de la mort de la prison où elle a été jetée en 2009 pour « blasphème ». Au Pakistan, le « blasphème » est un crime : il permet à tout un chacun d’accuser son voisin, sa voisine d’insulte à l’islam et à son prophète.

Un couteau, une corde, un supplice suspendus au dessus des têtes infidèles. Pour Asia Bibi – dont on ne connaitrait sans doute pas la tragique odyssée en Occident sans l’énergie d’une journaliste, Anne-Isabelle Tollet, qui a fait campagne et écrit pour elle – tout a commencé par une histoire d’eau. De l’eau qui se changera en sang pour ses ennemis. Par une journée étouffante de 2009, Asia se penche vers un puits proche et y prend une gorgée d’eau. Des voisines s’approchent en hurlant que ce puits est réservé aux musulmans et qu’elle, la chrétienne, en souille la pureté. Rappelons que le Pakistan, en langue ourdu, signifie « le pays des purs ». Pureté dangereuse. Son fondateur, l’avocat réformateur Ali Jinnah, aurait-il imaginé que cette nation s’abimerait dans le tribalisme et l’islamisme ? Jinnah était marié à une Indo-persane parsie, issue de la communauté des Zoroastriens, les adorateurs du feu. Il promettait : « Le Pakistan ne sera pas un Etat théocratique gouverné par des clercs investis d’une mission divine ». L’orateur inspiré a été trahi depuis bien longtemps. Pendant la dictature du général Zia, entre 1977 et 1988, l’islam politique s’est abattu sur le pays. Des dizaines de milliers de madrassas, d’écoles coraniques, ont vu le jour, ouvrant la voie à une seule éducation des enfants : l’obscurantisme. C’est alors qu’a été adoptée la législation punissant de mort ce concept primitif nommé blasphème.
Au pays où les purs sont majoritaires et dictent la loi, dans les assemblées du peuple comme dans la vie quotidienne, les minoritaires jugés impurs sont en grand danger. Les chrétiens constituent 2% de la population. Leurs églises sont régulièrement frappées par des attentats, comme les mosquées chiites d’ailleurs. Je me souviens d’un Noël pakistanais, il y a bien longtemps, où malgré les enfants en costumes éclatants, les prières et les cadeaux, flottait une inquiétude mal déguisée. Depuis l’assassinat de Bénazir Bhutto en décembre 2007, tout est allé de mal en pis. Le djihadisme a flambé, les partis islamistes ont tenu en otages complaisants les gouvernements successifs, en soutenant ouvertement les talibans afghans. Toute la province frontalière de l’Afghanistan est sous domination talibane, notamment la vallée de Swat, là où on tenta de tuer l’héroïque écolière Malala Yousafzaï, survivante de l’attentat et Nobel de la paix 2014. Le Pakistan est une nation désarticulée dont l’actuel Premier ministre Imran Khan, malgré ses protestations pseudo-modernistes, a fait allégeance aux ennemis de la liberté, des femmes et des minorités pour se faire élire en juillet 2018.
Ex play-boy cocaïnomane, il a défendu la législation sur le blasphème et s’est affiché avec une nouvelle épouse entièrement voilée.
Asia Bibi a été jetée au cachot sur accusation de commères haineuses dont les propos avaient droit de vie et de mort sur la jeune chrétienne. Son visage rond et souriant a maigri et vieilli. Il a fallu une campagne internationale pour que, neuf ans après son incarcération, le 31 octobre 2018, la Cour suprême pakistanaise où résistent vaillamment quelques consciences, prononce son acquittement. Mais à cette nouvelle, des dizaines de milliers de fanatiques ont manifesté dans tout le pays en brandissant un écriteau avec son portrait : « Pendez-la ! ». Les organisations islamistes ont fait appel, elles ont perdu et Asia Bibi a pu enfin quitter son cachot. Mais elle a du se terrer sous bonne garde nuit et jour pour ne pas être assassinée. Le droit de quitter le sol pakistanais lui était refusé.
Début mai, la prisonnière s’est enfin envolée vers le Canada. En septembre sa confidente et son soutien Anne-Isabelle Tollet publiera son récit aux éditions du Rocher. Aujourd’hui Asia a le droit de respirer, d’embrasser sa famille et de prier selon sa foi. Mais nous ne devons pas oublier que le pays où elle a vécu l’enfer est une grande puissance. Une puissance nucléaire aux mains des obscurantistes. Son arsenal a triplé en dix ans. On ignore tout des précautions qui entourent ce programme, officiellement lancé pour concurrencer l’Inde, l’ennemi héréditaire, également en possession de la Bombe et aujourd’hui gouvernée par Narendra Modi, extrémiste hindou qui aborde son second mandat. En face, le Pakistan, où la moitié de la population est toujours illettrée, peut sombrer d’un jour à l’autre dans l’anarchie. L’Occident ne semble guère se soucier de ce trou noir.

* Journaliste et essayiste, rédactrice en chef à l’hebdomadaire Marianne, spécialiste de l’islamisme et du Moyen-Orient.