Iran – USA: Towards the clash?



Christian Malard (*)

Donald Trump’s decision to eliminate General Qasem Suleimani, N°2 of the Iranian Regime, undeniably transforms a conflict that was slowly simmering into a sudden powder keg. It is undoubtedly the most dangerous and risky decision taken by an American President since the 2nd Gulf War in March 2003.

Donald Trump had to re-establish a policy of deterrence and to demonstrate to the highest Iranian authorities that their attacks against targets in friendly countries (Saudi Arabia or the United Arab Emirates) would not go unpunished. For a President who wanted to withdraw his troops from the Middle East cauldron, it will now be difficult to escape from it, until the end of his first term in January 2021 or 2025, if re-elected.

Donald Trump engaged his country in a conflict which harbors many unknowns. It may not be a conventional war, as Iranians prefer to excel in an asymmetric conflict. The Ayatollahs’ regime will not go for a frontal clash with the United States but will do everything possible to provoke a significant number of American casualties in the Middle East, particularly in Iraq where, following a vote in parliament, the 5,200 soldiers stationed in the country will, in principle, have to reposition themselves. But there is no shortage of American targets around the world.

Nevertheless, for an American President who oscillates between his isolationist impulses and his desire to project an image of power to his enemies throughout the world, the revolt of a majority of Iraqis against Iraqi regime, subservient to Iran, may reinforce the desire to maintain an american military presence in the region, especially at a time of resurgence of the Islamic State.

Whether we agree or not, the elimination of Suleimani is an act of self-defence. Suleimani was responsible for the deaths of several hundred victims, whether American or other nationalities, in Iraq or elsewhere in the region, and was planning further attacks.

At the same time, Donald Trump finds himself confronted with the growing threat from Iran, which has just signed the death certificate of the July 2015 nuclear agreement. Suleimani’s death will indeed not prevent the Iranians from accelerating their quest for nuclear power, a year from now, according to experts.

This could prompt the United States and Israel to carry out cyber attacks on Iranian nuclear sites. So far, sanctions have been essentially economic and have crippled the country’s economy. The regime is on the brink of collapse in the face of a majority of Iranians who want its downfall, but it has not yet capitulated.

If Donald Trump realizes that this regime only understands the balance of power, by adding military pressure to economic sanctions, then 2020 will perhaps see the fall of Iran’s “Ayatollarchy” that has been in power for 40 years, for too long.

* International policy expert and diplomatic consultant.

Iran – USA : Vers un affrontement ?



Christian Malard (*)

La décision, prise par Donald Trump, d’éliminer le Général Quassem Souleimani, N°2 du Régime Iranien, transforme indéniablement un conflit qui mijotait lentement en une soudaine poudrière. C’est sans doute la décision la plus dangereuse et la plus risquée prise par un Président Américain depuis la 2ème Guerre du Golfe, en Mars 2003.

Donald Trump se devait de rétablir une politique de dissuasion et démontrer aux plus hautes autorités Iraniennes que leurs attaques perpétrées contre des cibles de pays amis, comme l’Arabie Saoudite ou les Émirats Arabes Unis, ne resteraient pas impunies.

Pour un Président qui voulait retirer ses troupes du chaudron moyen-oriental, il sera difficile à présent de s’en échapper, jusqu’à la fin de son premier mandat en Janvier 2021 ou jusqu’en 2025, s’il est réélu.

Donald Trump a engagé son pays dans un conflit qui recèle de nombreuses inconnues. Il ne s’agira peut-être pas d’une guerre conventionnelle, vu que les Iraniens préfèrent exceller dans le conflit asymétrique. Le régime des Ayatollahs n’ira pas au choc frontal avec les États-Unis mais fera tout pour provoquer un certain nombre de pertes américaines au Moyen Orient, en particulier en Irak où, suite à un vote du parlement, les 5.200 soldats stationnés dans le pays vont, en principe, se repositionner. Mais les cibles américaines à travers le monde ne manquent pas.

Reste que, pour un Président américain qui oscille entre ses impulsions isolationnistes et son désir de projeter une image de puissance à ses ennemis à travers le monde, la révolte d’une majorité d’Irakiens contre le régime irakien inféodé à l’Iran peut conforter le désir de maintenir une présence militaire américaine dans la région, surtout au moment où il y a une résurgence de l’État Islamique.

Qu’on soit d’accord ou pas, l’élimination de Souleimani est un acte d’auto-défense. Souleimani était responsable de la mort de plusieurs centaines de victimes, américaines ou d’autres natinalités, en Irak ou ailleurs dans la région, et projetait d’autres attentats.

Donald Trump se retrouve, dans le même temps, confronté à la menace grandissante de l’Iran qui vient de signer l’acte de décès de l’accord sur le nucléaire de Juillet 2015. La mort de Souleimani n’empêchera pas, en effet, les Iraniens d’accélérer leur quête du nucléaire, d’ici un an, selon les experts.

Voilà qui pourrait inciter les États-Unis et Israël à effectuer des cyberattaques sur les sites nucléaires Iraniens. Jusqu’à présent, les sanctions ont été essentiellement économiques et ont paralysé l’économie du pays. Le régime est au bord du gouffre face à une majorité d’Iraniens qui veut sa chute, mais il n’a pas encore capitulé.

Si Donald Trump prend conscience que ce régime ne comprend que le rapport de force, en ajoutant la pression militaire aux sanctions économiques, alors 2020 verra, peut-être la chute de « l’Ayatollarchie » Iranienne au pouvoir depuis 40 ans, 40 ans de trop…

* Expert en politique internationale et consultant diplomatique.