Testimonies from Holocaust survivors



Highlights of the heartbreaking book of our colleague Jean-Marie Montali ‘We are the voices of the dead, the last deportees testify’, which has just been published by Le Cherche Midi. 75 years after the liberation of the camps, these testimonies from survivors, which resound like voices from beyond the grave, describe the unspeakable and name with singular sobriety the absolute horror of the Holocaust.

By Jean-Marie Montali*

In my job I have seen and heard, like many other journalists, a lot of crap. Many of us have seen more dead people than we would have liked to see: Destroyed, shot, hanged, burned… There are many ways to kill people. And all these ways of killing and dying, it makes piles of corpses of all colours, religions and ages, men and women, all over the world, and piles of survivors howling rivers of tears.

As far as I’m concerned, I don’t remember the faces of these dead people, or anything else about them. They were dead, that’s all. I didn’t cry for them. I forgot them, that’ s all. I could invent myself soul tremors, moral concussions and sadness to avoid looking like a bully. I’ll come and wring all this out at your feet with the eyes of a beaten dog, just to look like a sensitive guy and all. And I could tell you that all these deaths haunt me. But no, no, no. I forgot them. No one, you understand, wants to live with the dead.

I forgot that kid from Los Angeles, shot in the head with a bullet that wasn’t even meant for him. Those overdose deaths in Johannesburg. This woman beaten to death by her bastard fiancé. This Bosnian father, mad with grief after the death of his two sons at Brčko. He killed himself.

I forgot these bodies in Somalia, rotting where they had fallen, by the tens and hundreds, in dust and indifference. Those in Kabul, those in Sarajevo, those in Mogadishu. The others, in Colombia, Mexico, the Philippines and Elsewhere.

I forgot the body of that old man on whom I stumbled in the semi-darkness of a Baidoa morgue, before spreading myself over other bodies thrown there, on the floor, because we didn’t know where to put them. There were so many of them. So much. I threw up on the bodies. An employee hosed down. I went out. Outside, other bodies were piled up against the walls, one on top of the other, and it went up, up, up, death in bricks, I had never seen that before.

I forgot the little fruit delivery boy from the Panjshir Valley. He jumped on a mine. His name was Haroun. I mean, I think his name was Haroun. I forgot about that other father in Pakistan, an Afghan refugee who spent all his nights lying on his children’s graves so that scavengers would not come and dig them up and eat them. He would put three tulips on the grave, one for each of his children.

I forgot about that little girl killed by cancer at the Institut Curie. Her mother caressed her hair very gently and we, the photographer and I, blubbered like calves.

I forgot them all. Buried deep in my memory, with a lid on it so it doesn’t overflow.

Anyway, I’m saying all this so that you understand that, in the long run, you learn to measure your sensitivity.

And then I’ve been in Israel for 10 days. I am preparing a book – and perhaps a film – on Holocaust survivors. For 10 days, from morning to evening, I have been meeting several of them for hours on end, one-on-one. These fragile little old ladies, these little old men who can more or less stand up and waver seriously on their bases, were born in Ukraine, Poland, Lithuania, Romania, Hungary, Germany, France and elsewhere. The degree of enthusiasm put into the killing had, in a way, local peculiarities: people did not kill in the same way in Romania as in Poland or Latvia. It also depended on the degree of anti-Semitism and collaboration of the countries concerned.

Today, these few survivors are afraid that these things will be forgotten. That they may be reproducing. They want to tell, to testify. Otherwise, who will remember those who were exterminated when they are no longer there? So they talk and talk and talk again. Sometimes they hesitate a little. Not that they stumble over their memories, but they hesitate in the choice of words: which ones to choose to describe a horror that humanity had never known before? Which ones to choose to be credible? Because they live with that too: the fear of not being believed. Who could believe the incredible? And which ones to choose to make the inaudible audible without shocking the interlocutors? How to talk about the unspeakable, how to make the Shoah understood?

They dream of the Shoah and wake up at night with the cries of others or with their own, with the faces of the disappeared. A mother, a father, a sister, a brother, a neighbour… They remember that. Of course they remember it. Everything: the raid, the screams, the fear, the dogs, the train, the selection, the shower, the shearing, the nudity, the cold, the hunger, the slave labour, the bodies crammed into the barracks, the cries of the kapos, the lice, the Mengele experiences… And death. Death, everywhere, all the time. The gallows. The shots. The gas. The smoke from the crematoria. Ashes, snow from hell. And then again, always, the face of a mother, father, sister or brother. The faces of thousands, millions of others exterminated in the camps. So yes, they remember and live every day and every hour with their memories and the ghosts of the innocent.

They remember the months spent in the ghettos, the yellow star, the humiliation, the months hidden in the forest, the hunting of Jews, the hunger, the hunger they talk about all the time and which still obsesses them today. They talk about the shootings on the edge of mass graves, all over Eastern Europe, at the bottom of a forest, on the banks of the Danube, on the banks of the Baltic Sea, above a ravine, in a park in the middle of a city…

They are still talking and talking. They talk and protect me. There are things they don’t dare to tell me, because they are worse than worse and they don’t want to shock me, seeing that I’m already in apnoea. And I would like to take them in my arms and I know that I will never forget these faces. And never in the more than thirty years I have been in this business have I been so moved.

RAPHAËL BAR-LEV

Raphaël Bar-Lev was born in 1930 in Budapest. He spoke in a soft voice, his eyes lost in the past as if he turned them back to find a way to his past. Here was his school, at 44 Weszleny street, and the little square where, as a kid, he sometimes hung out with the wrong crowd but also where, casually, they would flirt with the not all so prudent girls in the neighbourhood. Here was the Rombach synagogue, there was his house in the heart of the ghetto, and here was the Swiss House, a few streets away, where his family and other Jewish families had found shelter. It was there that the Hungarian Nazi militiamen of the Arrow Cross Party arrested them, 117 Jews in all, on the night of January 1, 1945. They were arrested, beaten up, their belongings stolen. Then, they were stripped bare and tied up two by two. Raphaël was tied up to a stranger, his parents together. 117 Jewish men, women and children were forced to walk to the banks of the Danube river, almost naked; and they were shot. Raphael managed to jump into the river before being shot. The river was frozen but the corpses from previous executions cushioned his fall. Half-naked, he crawled over the bodies to the sewers then fled. He was the only survivor among the 117 Jews shot that day. Rapahël Bar-Lev passed away last December.

ESTHER LIEBER

Esther Lieber was born in 1936 in Poland. On October 4, 1942, her father was shot in the head because he was Jewish. Then, her mother, two of her sisters and other cousins were shot dead by the SS in a forest where they had been hiding for months. Esther and another of her sisters – Rachel – survived by hiding for more than two years in the woods. Living in the woods, being chased by hunters of Jews and wary of men like animals. Three long years in the forest. Three years! 1,095 days. When she talked about that, it was like she was still there. “I was like stifled”, she said, before taking my hand: “and then there were all these far too violent things that I don’t want to tell you about.”

RITA KASIMOV

Rita kasimov was born in 1934 in Turmont (Poland). In early 1942, her family, together with a few thousand other Jews, were crowded into the Braslaw ghetto. Living conditions there were obviously almost unbearable. People died of typhus, pneumonia, exhaustion and starvation. Six families, including Rita’s, were sent out to the Gestapo to work in their military barracks. They were called “working Jews”. They did not murder them right away. They could still serve. A Catholic priest warned these families that they had to flee before being killed. Rita’s father believed him; the other families did not. And they were killed. Rita’s family fled. Vladski, a Catholic peasant, hid them in a hole under a barn. They spent 22 months there before fleeing. Almost two years in a hole that they called “Our Grave”, before fleeing to the Russian frontlines. The first thing Rita saw when she got closer were the tracks of the Russian tanks. She kissed them: her father, in their hole, kept saying that the Russians would save them, that they were like messiahs. And the little girl that she was really believed in miracles. Rita, her mother, father, brother and sister were the last Jews of Turmont.

SOPHIE LEIBOVITZ

Sophie Leibovitz is 93 years old. She was deported in 1941 from her native Romania to the Ukrainian ghettos with all her family. She survived for four years subjected to slavery conditions. Four years was a long time, long enough to see her father die of typhus, her mother drink from a puddle before she died of exhaustion, and her brother die under the blows of Ukrainian guards. She spent those four years without shoes, her feet wrapped in rags. In winter, the ground was so hard that the gravedigger shovels bounced back like balloons, as if the earth itself did not want those unfortunate Jews. To bury the dead, they first had to light fires to warm and soften the ground it and wait until spring to remove the bodies and place them in deeper graves.

MYRIAM HAREL

Myriam Harel was born on November 19, 1924, in Lodz (Poland). In February 1940, she was locked up in the ghetto with 200,000 other Jews. 45,000 would die of diseases, hunger, the cold and mistreatment. Her father was the first one to be killed. SS men made him dig his own grave before shooting him down. On August 8, 1944, Myriam was rounded up, put on a train and sent to Birkenau. She was 19 years old, 1.55 m tall and weighed 27 kg. They shaved off her hair. They made her to stay naked. They hit her, threw bloodstained rags over her so she would dress up. She spent three weeks in Birkenau before being sent off to Bergen-Belsen. She already knew everything: the way people were being sorted, the gas chambers, the crematory ovens. Weeks went by. A convoy of Dutch Jewish girls arrived to Birkenau. There was a little girl, slightly younger than Myriam. She sat alone, crying. Myriam chatted her up. They befriended each other, shared the little they had. Not much though. A few berries, a piece of bread, a bit of love, a lot of humanity. Myriam got on less well with Margot, Anne’s sister. Margot was more introvert and stricter. With Anne they would talk about Victor Hugo and Dostoyevsky. And then, one day, Anne was no longer there. She died of typhus … Years later, Myriam saw a photo of her friend on the cover of a book. It was Anne Frank’s Diary. One last thing: 70 (seventy) people from Myriam’s extended family were killed during the Holocaust.

LASZLO LAZAR

Here is number 52719. It is written on his Buchenwald “Häftling-Personal-Karte”: 52c 719. This is the name those ‘beasts’ gave him. 52719. At the top, in the middle of the card, there is the mention “Jude”, written on the stamp pad. He is Jew n° 52,719. I think it is pronounced Zweiundfünfzig Tausend Siebenhundert Neunzehn. On this inmate personal card, there is also his height: 161 cm. The shape of his face: oval. The colour of his eyes: grey. The colour of his hair: brown. The shape of his mouth (full), his nose (straight) and the condition of his teeth (good). No particular sign is mentioned and the weight is not indicated, but it is specified that the detainee speaks Yiddish and Hungarian. In the identity photo stapled to the document, you can see the well-drawn face of a teenage boy, his forehead high and his head shaved. He was careful to look at the lens and not to give any expression to his face, but the eyes are sad, perhaps fearful. The neck emerges from the striped pyjama jacket he wore from Auschwitz and the collar of which can be seen. This convict outfit was the only thing that belonged to him. If he died, it would be given to a newcomer. All there was to do was to change the number on the jacket. Before becoming number 52719 he was called Laszlo Lazar, son of Jenö and Rosalia (called Rosie), grandson of Mor and Sari, brother of Aharon. From Oradea to Auschwitz Birkenau, the trip lasted three days. On June 3, the convoy landed on the famous “ramp”. Men had to be separated from women. Families were split up with butts and whips. Dogs were barking, officers were howling, people were falling, children and mothers were crying and men were cracking. There were dozens and hundreds of testimonials about people killed on that ramp and babies with having their heads smashed against the wagons. However, Laszlo had not seen anything like that. He saw, a little further on the opposite platform, an orchestra playing music … Welcome to hell.

MOSHE KRAVITZ

Moshe Kravitz was born in 1931 in Lithuania. In July 1941, he was locked up in a ghetto with more than 30,000 other Jews. In July 1944, no more than 8,000 were still alive when they were loaded onto cattle wagons. He was first deported to Landsberg, near Dachau, with his parents and three of his uncles, then to Auschwitz and Birkenau. He was tattooed with the number 2841 b. The Red Army approached, Death March to Buchenwald. When the camp was liberated, the Americans found him on a pile of bodies but he was still alive even if his “soul was kind of dead”. His father and mother and two of his uncles, one of whom was a hero of the First World War, died in Auschwitz.

HIA KASPI

Hia Kaspi was born in 1933 in Iasi (Romania). In Romania, Jews got used to the fact that they were disliked, sometimes more, sometimes less but no one could imagine what would happen next. Imagine, for example, the pogrom of June 27, 1941, which was one of the bloodiest in the history of the Jewish people, even though they did experience a lot: more than 13,000 dead including men, women and children. Then, a few days later, men were rounded up, including Nahman, Hia’s father, and two of his brothers: Yossef (16) and Shimon (19). Yossef was the first to die, shot by an SS while walking towards the station. A few more were shot before crowding the survivors onto cattle wagons, 100 per wagon. They were shuttled without water, air, food for days in a row. First standing up, then literally sitting on corpses. They were drinking their sweat and urine for days; that is when Shimon passed away. He died of exhaustion. His body, and those of others, were thrown out on the edge of the railroad tracks to leave a little more space for the survivors…

* We are the voices of the dead, the last deportees testify, Le Cherche Midi, Paris, October 2020.

Témoignages de survivants de la Shoah



Les bonnes feuilles du livre poignant de notre confrère Jean-Marie Montali « Nous sommes les voix des morts, les derniers déportés témoignent », qui vient de paraître au Cherche Midi. 75 ans après la libération des camps, ces témoignages de rescapés, qui résonnent comme des voix d’outre-tombe, décrivent l’indicible et nomment avec une sobriété toute singulière l’horreur absolue de la Shoah.

Par Jean-Marie Montali*

Dans mon métier j’ai vu et entendu, comme beaucoup d’autres journalistes, pas mal de saloperies. Plusieurs d’entre nous ont vu des morts, plus qu’ils auraient aimé en voir : Pulvérisés, fusillés, pendus, brûlés… Il y a beaucoup de façons de tuer ses semblables. Et toutes ces façons de tuer et de mourir, ça fait des tas de cadavres de toutes les couleurs, de toutes les religions et de tous les âges, hommes et femmes, un peu partout dans le monde, et des tas de survivants qui chialent des fleuves de larmes.

En ce qui me concerne, je ne me souviens plus du visage de ces morts, ni de quoi que ce soit d’autre les concernant. Ils étaient morts, c’est tout. Je ne les ai pas pleurés. Je les ai oubliés, point. Je pourrais m’inventer des ébranlements d’âme, des commotions morales et des tristesses pour ne pas avoir l’air d’une brute. Je viendrais essorer tout ça à vos pieds avec des yeux de chiens battus, histoire de passer pour un type sensible et tout. Et je pourrais vous raconter que tous ces morts me hantent. Mais non. Je les ai oubliés. Personne, vous comprenez, n’a envie de vivre avec les morts.

J’ai oublié ce gamin de Los Angeles, tué d’un balle dans la tête qui ne lui était même pas destinée. Ces morts d’overdose à Johannesburg. Cette femme battue à mort par son salopard de fiancé. Ce père bosniaque fou de chagrin après la mort de ses deux fils à Brčko. Il s’est suicidé.

J’ai oublié ces corps, en Somalie, à pourrir là où ils étaient tombés, par dizaines et par centaines, dans la poussière et l’indifférence. Ceux de Kaboul, ceux de Sarajevo, ceux de Mogadiscio. Les autres, en Colombie, au Mexique, aux Philippines et Ailleurs.

J’ai oublié le cadavre de ce vieillard sur lequel j’ai trébuché dans la pénombre d’une morgue de Baidoa, avant de m’étaler sur d’autres cadavres jetés là, sur le carreau, parce qu’on ne savait pas où les mettre. Il y en avait tellement. Tellement. J’ai vomi sur les corps. Un employé a passé le jet. Je suis sorti. Dehors, on entassait d’autres corps contre les murs, les uns sur les autres, et ça montait, montait, la mort en briques, je n’avais encore jamais vu ça.

J’ai oublié le petit livreur de fruits de la vallée du Panshir. Il a sauté sur une mine. Il s’appelait Haroun. Enfin, je crois qu’il s’appelait Haroun. J’ai oublié cet autre père, au Pakistan, un réfugié afghan qui passait toutes ses nuits allongé sur la tombe de ses enfants pour ne pas que des charognards viennent les déterrer et les bouffer. Il mettait trois tulipes sur la tombe, une pour chacun de ses enfants.

J’ai oublié cette petite fille tuée par le cancer à l’Institut Curie. Sa mère lui caressait les cheveux tout doucement et nous, le photographe et moi, on pleurait comme des veaux.

Je les ai oubliés, tous. Enfouis bien comme il faut, tout au fond de ma mémoire, avec un couvercle là-dessus pour ne pas que ça déborde.

Enfin bref, je dis tout ça pour que vous compreniez que, à la longue, on apprend à doser sa sensibilité.

Et puis voilà que je suis en Israël depuis 10 jours. Je prépare un livre – et peut-être un film – sur les rescapés de la Shoah. Depuis 10 jours, du matin jusqu’au soir, j’en rencontre plusieurs, des heures durant, en tête à tête. Ces petites vieilles toutes fragiles, ces petits vieux qui tiennent plus au moins debout et qui vacillent sérieusement sur leurs bases, sont nés en Ukraine, en Pologne, en Lituanie, en Roumanie, en Hongrie, en Allemagne, en France et ailleurs. Le degré d’enthousiasme mis dans la tuerie avait, en quelque sorte, des particularités locales : on ne tuait pas de la même façon en Roumanie qu’en Pologne ou qu’en Lettonie. Cela dépendait aussi du degré d’antisémitisme et de collaboration des pays concernés.

Aujourd’hui, ces quelques survivants ont peur que ces choses là tombent dans l’oubli. Qu’elles se reproduisent peut-être. Ils veulent raconter, témoigner. Sinon, qui se souviendra de ceux qui ont été exterminés quand ils ne seront plus là ? Alors, ils parlent et parlent encore. Parfois ils hésitent un peu. Non pas qu’ils trébuchent sur leur mémoire, mais ils hésitent dans le choix des mots : lesquels choisir pour décrire une horreur que l’humanité n’avait encore jamais connue ? Lesquels choisir pour être crédibles ? Parce qu’ils vivent avec ça aussi : la peur de ne pas être crus. Qui pourraient croire l’incroyable ? Et lesquels choisir pour rendre audible l’inaudible sans choquer les interlocuteurs ? Comment parler de l’indicible, comment faire comprendre la Shoah ?

La Shoah, ils en rêvent et se réveillent la nuit avec les cris des autres ou avec les leurs, avec les visages des disparus. Une mère, un père, une soeur, un frère, un voisin… Ils s’en souviennent. Bien sûr qu’ils s’en souviennent. De tout : la rafle, les cris, la peur, les chiens, le train, la sélection, la douche, la tonte, la nudité, le froid, la faim, le travail d’esclave, les corps entassés dans les baraquements, les cris des kapos, les poux, les expériences de Mengele… Et la mort. La mort, partout, tout le temps. La potence. Les tirs. Le gaz. La fumée des crématoires. Les cendres, neige de l’enfer. Et puis encore, toujours, le visage d’une mère, d’un père, d’une soeur ou d’un frère. Les visages des milliers, des millions d’autres exterminés dans les camps. Alors oui, ils s’en souviennent et vivent chaque jour et chaque heure avec leurs souvenirs et les fantômes des innocents.

Ils se souviennent des mois passés dans les ghettos, de l’étoile jaune, de l’humiliation, des mois cachés dans la forêt, de la chasse aux Juifs, de la faim, cette faim dont ils parlent tout le temps et qui les obsède encore aujourd’hui. Ils parlent des fusillades sur le bord des fosses communes, partout en Europe de l’est, au fond d’une forêt, au bord du Danube, sur les bords de la Baltique, au dessus d’un ravin, dans un parc au milieu d’une ville…

Ils parlent et parlent encore. Ils parlent et me protègent. Il y a des choses qu’ils n’osent pas me dire, parce que pires que pire et qu’ils ne veulent pas me choquer, voyant bien que je suis déjà en apnée. Et moi je voudrais les prendre dans mes bras et je sais que ces visages là je ne les oublierai jamais. Et jamais, depuis plus de trente ans que je fais ce métier, je n’ai été aussi ému.

 Raphaël Bar-Lev

Raphaël Bar-Lev est né en 1930, à Budapest. Il parlait d’une voix douce, les yeux perdus dans le passé comme s’il les renvoyait en éclaireur pour retrouver les rues de son passé. Voilà son école, au 44 de la rue Weszleny, et puis la petite place où, gamin, il n’avait pas que de bonnes fréquentations et où, mine de rien, ils louchaient sur les filles pas toutes très sages qui trainaient dans le quartier. Voilà la synagogue Rombach, voila sa maison en plein centre du ghetto, voilà la Maison Suisse, à quelques rues de là, où sa famille et d’autres familles juives avaient trouvé refuge. C’est là que les miliciens nazis hongrois du partis des Croix fléchées les ont arrêtés dans la nuit du 1er janvier 1945 : 117 juifs en tout. Arrêtés, battus, volés. Puis déshabillés et ligotés deux par deux. Raphaël avec un inconnu, son père et sa mère ensemble. 117 Juifs, hommes, femmes et enfants, poussés vers les bords du Danube, presque nus. Et fusillés. Raphaël a réussi à se jeter dans le Danube avant d’être achevé. Le fleuve était gelé, mais les cadavres des fusillés précédents ont amorti sa chute. A moitié nu, il a rampé sur les corps jusqu’aux égouts et s’est enfui. Des 117 Juifs fusillés ce jour là, il est le seul survivant. Rapahël Bar-Lev est décédé au mois de décembre dernier.

Esther Lieber

Esther Lieber est née en 1936, en Pologne. D’abord ils ont tué son père d’une balle dans la tête, parce qu’il était Juif. C’était le 4 octobre 1942. Ensuite, ils ont tué sa mère, deux de ses soeurs et ses cousins, abattus par les SS, dans une forêts où ils se cachaient depuis des mois. Esther et une autre de ses soeurs -Rachel- ont survécu en se cachant encore plus de deux ans dans les bois. A vivre comme des bêtes, traquées comme des bêtes par les chasseurs de Juifs et, comme des bêtes, à se méfier des hommes.Trois ans dans la forêt. Trois ans ! 1095 jours. Quand elle en parle, elle est encore là-bas. « Comme étranglée » dit-elle, avant de me prendre la main : « et puis il y a toutes ces choses bien trop violentes que je ne veux pas vous raconter ».

Rita Kasimov 

Rita Kasimov est née en 1934 en Pologne, à Turmont. Au début de 1942, la famille kasimov a été entassée, avec quelques milliers d’autres Juifs, dans le ghetto de Braslaw. Les conditions de vie y sont évidemment à peine supportables. On y crève du typhus, de la pneumonie, d’épuisement et de faim. Mais six familles, dont celle de Rita, sont mises à la disposition de la Gestapo pour travailler dans les baraquements militaires. On appelait ça des « Juifs de labeur ». On ne ne les tuait pas tout de suite. Ils pouvaient encore servir. Un curé catholique a prévenu ces familles qu’elles devaient fuir avant d’être tuées. Le père de Rita l’a cru. Les autres familles ne l’ont pas cru. Les autres familles ont été tuées. La familles de Rita s’est sauvé. Un paysan catholique, Vladski, les a cachés dans un trou sous une étable. Ils y ont passé 22 mois, avant de se sauver. Presque deux ans dans un trou qu’ils appelaient « Notre Tombe », avant de s’enfuit vers les lignes Russes. La première chose que Rita a vu en arrivant près de ces lignes, ce sont les traces des chars russes. Elle les a embrassé : son père, dans leur trou, répétait que les Russes les sauveraient, qu’ils étaient comme des messies. Et elle, la petite fille a vraiment cru au miracle. Rita, sa mère, son père, son frère et sa soeur étaient les derniers Juifs de Turmont.

SOPHIE LEIBOVITZ

Sophie Leibovitz a  93 ans. Elle a été déportée en 1941 de sa Roumanie natale vers les ghettos ukrainiens avec toute sa famille. Elle a survécu pendant quatre ans en faisant un travail d’esclave. Quatre ans c’est long. Assez long pour voir son père mourir du typhus, voir sa mère boire dans une flaque d’eau avant de mourir d’épuisement, et de voir son frère mourir sous les coups des gardes ukrainiens. Elle a passé ces quatre années sans chaussures, les pieds enveloppés dans des chiffons. L’hiver, le sol était si dur que les pelles des fossoyeurs rebondissaient comme des ballons, comme si la terre elle même ne voulait pas des malheureux Juifs. Pour enterrer les morts, il fallait d’abord allumer des feux pour la réchauffer et l’attendrir. Puis attendre le printemps pour exhumer les corps et creuser une tombe plus profonde.

MYRIAM HAREL

Myriam Harel est née le 19 novembre 1924, à Lodz en Pologne. En février 40, elle est enfermée dans le ghetto avec 200.000 autres Juifs. 45.000 d’entre eux vont mourir. Typhus, maladies, famines, froid, mauvais traitement. Son père est le premier de la famille à être tué. Des SS lui ont fait creuser sa tombe avant de l’abattre. Le 8 août 44, Myriam est raflée, mise dans un train, débarquée à Birkenau. Elle a 19 ans, elle mesure, 1,55 m et pèse 27 kilos. On la tond. Elle est nue. On la frappe, on lui jette des haillons tâchés de sang pour qu’elle s’habille.Trois semaines à Birkenau avant de l’envoyer à Bergen-Belsen. Elle sait déjà tout : les sélections, les chambres à gaz, les fours. Les semaines passent. Un convoi de juives hollandaises arrivent à Birkenau. Il y a une petite fille, un peu plus jeune que Myriam, qui pleure, assise seule. Myriam lui parle. Elles sympathisent, partagent le peu qu’elles ont. C’est rien, mais tellement de choses pourtant. Quelques baies, un bout de pain, un peu d’amour, beaucoup d’humanité. Myriam s’entend moins bien avec Margot, la soeur d’Anne. Margot est plus fermée, plus sévère. Mais avec Anne elle peut parler de Victor Hugo et de Dostoïevski. Et puis un jour Anne n’était plus là. Elle est morte du typhus… Des années plus tard, Myriam a vu la photo de son amie sur la couverture d’un livre. C’était le Journal d’Anne Frank. Une dernière chose : 70 (soixante-dix) personnes de la famille de Myriam ont été tuées pendant la Shoah.

LASZLO LAZAR

Voici 52.719. C’est écrit sur sa « Häftling-Personal-Karte » de Buchenwald : 52.719. C’est le nom que les hommes-bêtes lui ont donné. 52.719. En haut, au milieu de la carte il y a la mention « Jude », inscrite au tampon encreur. Il est le Juif 52.719. Je crois que ça se prononce Zweiundfünfzig Tausend Siebenhundert Neunzehn. Sur cette carte personnelle de détenu, il y a aussi sa taille : 161 centimètres. La forme de son visage : ovale. La couleur de ses yeux : gris. Celle de ses cheveux : brun. La forme de sa bouche (pleine), de son nez (droit) et l’état de sa dentition (bon). Aucun signe particulier n’est mentionné et le poids n’est pas indiqué, mais il est précisé que le détenu parle le Yiddish et le Hongrois. Sur la photo d’identité agrafée au document, on voit le visage bien dessiné d’un adolescent, le front haut et le crâne rasé. Il fait attention à bien regarder l’objectif et à ne donner aucune expression à son visage, mais les yeux sont tristes, peut-être craintifs. Le cou sort d’une veste de pyjama rayé qu’il porte depuis Auschwitz et dont on aperçoit le col. Cette tenue de bagnard est la seule chose qui lui appartient. Provisoirement : s’il meurt, on la donnera à un nouvel arrivant. Il suffira de changer le numéro sur la veste. Avant, 52.719 s’appelait Laszlo Lazar, fils de Jenö et Rosalia (dite Rosie), petit-fils de Mor et Sari, frère de Aharon. Depuis Oradea jusqu’à Auschwitz Birkenau, le voyage a duré trois jours. Le 3 juin, le convoi débarque sur la fameuse « rampe ». On sépare les hommes des femmes. Les familles sont dénouées à coups de crosses et de fouets. Des chiens aboient, des kapos hurlent, des gens tombent, des enfants crient, des mères pleurent, des hommes craquent. Il existe des dizaines et des centaines de témoignages qui parlent de gens tués sur cette rampe, de bébés la tête fracassée sur les wagons. Mais Laszlo n’a rien vu de tel. Il a vu, un peu plus loin sur le quai d’en face, un orchestre jouer de la musique… Bienvenus en enfer.

MOSHE KRAVITZ 

Moshe Kravitz est né en 1931 en Lituanie. Enfermé à partir de juillet 41 dans un ghetto avec plus de 30.000 autres Juifs. En juillet 44, pas plus de 8000 sont encore en vie quand on les charge dans des wagons à bestiaux. Déporté d’abord à Landsberg, près de Dachau, avec ses deux parents et trois de ses oncles. Puis Auschwitz et Birkenau. Tatoué avec le numéro 2841b. A l’approche de l’Armée Rouge, la Marche de la Mort jusqu’à Buchenwald. A la libération du camp, les Américains l’ont trouvé sur un tas de corps. Mais lui vivait encore même si son « âme était comme morte ». Son père, sa mère, deux de ses oncles dont l’un était un héros de la Première Guerre Mondiale sont morts à Auschwitz.

HIA KASPI

Hia Kaspi est née en 1933 à Iasi, en Roumanie. En Roumanie, on s’était habitué à ce que les Juifs on ne les aime pas, tantôt plus, tantôt moins. Mais personne ne pouvait imaginer la suite. Imaginer par exemple, le pogrom du 27 juin 1941 qui a été l’un des plus sanglants de l’histoire du peuple juif qui avait déjà pourtant de l’expérience en la matière : plus de 13.000 morts, hommes, femmes et enfants. Puis quelques jours plus tard, la rafle des hommes, dont le père de Hia, Nahman, et deux de ses frères : Yossef (16 ans) et Shimon (19ans). Yossef est mort le premier, abattu par un SS pendant la marche vers la gare. Puis on en a encore fusillé quelques-un avant d’entasser les survivants dans des wagons à bestiaux. 100 par wagons. Des jours de voyage sans eau, sans air, sans nourriture. Debout d’abord, avant qu’on puisse s’assoir enfin sur les cadavres. Des jours à boire sa sueur et son urine. C’est là qu’est mort Shimon. Il est mort d’épuisement. On a jeté son cadavre avec quelques autres sur le bord de la voie ferrée. Ça laissait un peu plus de place aux survivants…

* Nous sommes les voix des morts, les derniers déportés témoignent, Le cherche midi, Octobre 2020.