The Muslim Brotherhood’s viral antisemitism



Ian Hamel (*)

In early March, Tariq Ramadan demanded the dismissal of a court-appointed expert to analyse the control he could exercise over young women with whom he had violent sexual relations. The preacher’s defence for the dismissal of Dr Daniel Zagury refers to “manipulation”. In fact, the main reproach levelled at this doctor is that he is… Jewish!

In the meantime, a supporter of Tariq Ramadan goes so far as to claim on social networks that “all judges, lawyers and experts who are Jewish or bi-national Israeli must be dismissed on grounds of legitimate suspicion”.

Since his multiple indictments for rape, the grandson of Hassan al-Banna, the founder of the Muslim Brotherhood, has made little attempt to hide his antisemitism. Admittedly, in the past, Tariq Ramadan sometimes went off the rails, as when he published in October 2003 a “Critique of the (New) Communalist Intellectuals”, attacking Alexandre Adler, Bernard Kouchner, André Glucksman. Or when he paid homage to Roger Garaudy, author of the book The Founding Myths of Modern Israel, denying the genocide committed by the Nazis against the Jews. For Ramadan, Garaudy remained the “philosopher of reference in the understanding of the Western world”.

The historian Dominique Avon notes that in his works, Tariq Ramadan never refers to a Jewish author! Nevertheless, unlike the “humorist” Dieudonné and the extreme right-wing ideologist Alain Soral, the preacher has so far refrained from using antisemitism as a business opportunity.

This hatred of Jews does not exactly date back to the creation of the Muslim Brotherhood on the banks of the Suez Canal in 1928. It only really manifested itself at the time of the Arab revolt in Palestine from 1936 to 1939 against British domination and the massive arrival of Jews in Palestine. In 1935, Hassan al-Banna made the first contacts with the Grand Mufti of Jerusalem, Amin al-Husseini. The latter was in contact with the Abwehr, the German military intelligence service.

The book The Swastika and the Crescent tells that the political leaders of this region are fascinated “by the totalitarian methods of the fascist movements in Europe”, whether it be the Italian fascist model or the German model (1). The Grand Mufti settled in Germany in 1941 and remained there until 1945. A photograph immortalises him forever, showing him in lively conversation with Adolf Hitler. Millions of copies of this photograph were distributed throughout the world, and it is on the cover of the book Jihad and Jew-hatred by the German essayist and political scientist Matthias Küntzel (2).

From this interview, Amin al-Husseini said: “The precise condition of our collaboration with Germany was complete freedom to eliminate every last Jew from Palestine and the Arab world. I asked Hitler for his explicit agreement to allow us to solve the Jewish problem in a way that would be beneficial to our racial and national aspirations and in accordance with the scientific methods that Germany has invented to deal with its Jews. The answer I received was: ‘The Jews are yours’.”

In his university thesis, The Roots of the Muslim Revival, Tariq Ramadan devotes only two lines to the links between his grandfather and Amine al-Husseini: “Hassan al-Banna will prepare and organise his political exile in Egypt in 1946” (3). In fact, the Grand Mufti in turn contaminated Hassan al-Banna. The latter no longer hides his admiration for Nazism. Inspired by the Hitler Youth, he created in 1940 “Young Muslims”, nicknamed the “Khaki Shirts”. These Khaki Shirts paraded in the evening in the streets of Cairo with torches, “singing Islamic slogans expressing the strength and superiority of their movement (…) These young militants of the Brotherhood were moreover responsible for attacks against Jewish shops and properties” (4). The Khaki Shirts chanted “Egypt above all”, imitating “Deutschland, Deutschland über alles” (Germany must dominate the world), interpreted by the National Socialists. In Muslim Brotherhood: survey last totalitarian ideology, Michaël Prazan notes that the Brothers’ motto, “Action, obedience and silence”, reasons like an echo of the “Believe, obey and fight” of the Italian fascists (5).

According to the Qatari preacher of Egyptian origin, Yusuf al-Qaradawi, quoted in The Secret History of the Muslim Brotherhood, “the ideology of the German Reich is almost similar to the vision and political project of Hassan al-Banna for the Islamic ummah”. In the same way that the German Reich claimed to be the defender of the Aryan race, “Islam obliges every Muslim to consider himself the protector of anyone who respects the prescriptions of the Koran” (6).

Yusuf al-Qaradawi, now 93 years old, is undoubtedly the best-known Muslim Brother in the world for having hosted the programme “Sharia and Life” on Al Jazeera for a long time. He is also the author of the most notable antisemitic blunders. On 30 January 2009, speaking on the Qatari channel, he proclaimed that “throughout history, Allah has imposed [on Jews] people who would punish them for their corruption. The last punishment was administered by Hitler […] It is a divine punishment. If Allah wills, the next time it will be at the hands of the believers”.

While Islam prohibits suicide, such as attacking women and children, Yusuf al-Qaradawi supports Hamas, justifying the use of suicide attacks in Israel. “The operations of Hamas are jihad and those who [carry them out and] are killed are considered martyrs,” he said in 2001, adding that Israeli society is a military society, “all men and women are soldiers. They are in their totality occupation troops (…) And if a child or an old man is killed in these operations, he is not targeted, but it is by mistake, and as a consequence of the absolute necessities of war, and absolute necessities lift the prohibitions”.

 

* Journalist and writer, specialist on the Muslim Brotherhood.

 

(1) Roger Faligot and Rémi Kauffer, Albin Michel, March 1990, p. 58.

(2) Matthias Küntzel, Jihad and Jew-hatred: Islamism, Nazism and the Roots of 9/11, éditions du Toucan, August 2015.

(3) Tariq Ramadan, Editions Tawhid, 2002, p. 206.

(4) Chérif Amir, The Secret History of the Muslim Brotherhood, ellipses, February 2015, p. 29.

(5) Michaël Prazan, Muslim Brotherhood: Investigating the Latest Totalitarian Ideology, Grasset, January 2014, p. 41.

(6) Chérif Amir, op. cit., p. 34.

fbpx
 
 

 

L’antisémitisme viral des Frères musulmans



Ian Hamel (*)

Au début du mois de mars, Tariq Ramadan a exigé le renvoi d’un expert désigné par la justice afin d’analyser l’emprise qu’il pouvait exercer sur des jeunes femmes avec lesquelles il entretenait des relations sexuelles violentes. Pour demander le départ du docteur Daniel Zagury, la défense du prédicateur évoque « une manipulation ». En fait, le principal reproche fait à ce médecin est d’être… juif !

Dans le même temps, un soutien de Tariq Ramadan va jusqu’à réclamer sur les réseaux sociaux que « tous les juges, avocats et experts qui sont juifs ou binationaux israéliens doivent être révoqués pour cause de suspicion légitime ».

Depuis ses multiples mises en examen pour viols, le petit-fils d’Hassan al-Banna, le fondateur des Frères musulmans, ne cherche plus guère à camoufler son antisémitisme. Certes, dans le passé, Tariq Ramadan dérapait parfois, comme lorsqu’il publiait en octobre 2003, une « Critique des (nouveaux) intellectuels communautaires », en s’en prenant à Alexandre Adler, Bernard Kouchner, André Glucksman. Ou lorsqu’il rendait hommage à Roger Garaudy, auteur du livre Les Mythes fondateurs de la politique israélienne, niant le génocide commis par les nazis contre les juifs. Pour Ramadan, Garaudy restait le « philosophe de référence dans la compréhension du monde occidental ».

L’historien Dominique Avon constate que dans ses ouvrages, Tariq Ramadan ne s’en réfère jamais une seule fois à un auteur juif ! Néanmoins, contrairement à l’« humoriste » Dieudonné et à l’idéologue d’extrême droite Alain Soral, le prédicateur se gardait jusqu’à présent d’utiliser l’antisémitisme comme fond de commerce.

Cette haine des juifs ne remonte pas exactement à la création de la Confrérie des Frères musulmans sur les bords du canal de Suez en 1928. Elle ne se manifeste véritablement qu’au moment de la grande révolte des Palestiniens de 1936 à 1939 contre la domination britannique et l’arrivée massive des juifs en Palestine. Dès 1935, Hassan al-Banna noue les premiers contacts avec le grand mufti de Jérusalem Amin al-Husseini. Celui-ci est en relation avec l’Abwehr, le service de renseignement de l’armée allemande.

Le livre Le croissant et la croix gammée raconte que les leaders politiques de cette région sont fascinés « à l’égard des méthodes totalitaires des mouvements fascistes d’Europe », qu’il s’agisse du modèle fasciste italien ou du modèle allemand (1). Le grand mufti va d’ailleurs s’établir en Allemagne en 1941, et y rester jusqu’en 1945. Un cliché l’immortalise à jamais, le montrant en conversation animée avec Adolf Hitler. Cliché diffusé à des millions d’exemplaires dans le monde entier, et qui fait la couverture de l’ouvrage Jihad et haine des juifs, de l’essayiste et politologue allemand Matthias Küntzel (2).

De cet entretien, Amin al-Husseini retiendra : « la condition précise de notre collaboration avec l’Allemagne était l’entière liberté pour éliminer les juifs, jusqu’au dernier, de la Palestine et du monde arabe. J’ai demandé à Hitler son accord explicite pour nous autoriser à résoudre le problème juif d’une façon bénéfique à nos aspirations raciales et nationales et conforme aux méthodes scientifiques que l’Allemagne a inventées pour s’occuper de ses juifs. La réponse que je reçus fut : les juifs sont à vous ».

Dans sa thèse universitaire, Aux sources du renouveau musulman, Tariq Ramadan ne consacre que deux lignes aux liens entre son grand-père et Amine al-Husseini : « Hassan al-Banna préparera et organisera son exil politique en Égypte en 1946 » (3). En fait, le grand mufti a bien, à son tour, contaminé Hassan al-Banna. Ce dernier ne cache plus son admiration pour le nazisme. S’inspirant des jeunesses hitlériennes, il crée en 1940 « Les jeunes musulmans », surnommés les « Chemises kaki ». Ces Chemises kaki défilaient le soir dans les rues du Caire avec des flambeaux, « chantant des slogans islamiques exprimant la force et la supériorité de leur mouvement (…) Ces jeunes militants de la Confrérie étaient d’ailleurs responsables d’attaques contre les magasins et propriétés juifs » (4). Les chemises kaki scandaient « L’Égypte au-dessus de tout », imitant « Deutschland, Deutschland über alles » (l’Allemagne doit dominer le monde), interprété par les nationaux-socialistes. Dans Frères musulmans. Enquête sur la dernière idéologie totalitaire, Michaël Prazan constate que la devise des Frères, « Action, obéissance et silence », raisonne comme un écho du « Croire, obéir et combattre » des fascistes italiens (5).

Selon le prédicateur qatari, d’origine égyptienne, Youssef al-Qaradawi, cité dans L’Histoire secrète des Frères musulmans, « l’idéologie du Reich allemand est quasiment similaire à la vision et au projet politique d’Hassan al-Banna pour l’oumma islamique ». De la même façon que le Reich allemand se prétendait le défenseur de la race aryenne, « l’islam oblige chaque musulman à se considérer comme le protecteur de toute personne respectant les prescriptions du Coran » (6).

Pour avoir longtemps animé sur Al-Jazeera l’émission « La charia et la vie », Youssef al-Qaradawi, aujourd’hui âgé de 93 ans, est incontestablement le Frère musulman le plus connu dans le monde. Il est aussi l’auteur des dérapages antisémites les plus notables. Le 30 janvier 2009, intervenant sur la chaîne qatarie, il proclame que « tout au long de l’histoire, Allah a imposé [aux juifs] des personnes qui les puniraient de leur corruption. Le dernier châtiment a été administré par Hitler […] C’est un châtiment divin. Si Allah veut, la prochaine fois, ce sera par les mains des croyants ».

Alors que l’islam interdit le suicide, comme de s’en prendre aux femmes et aux enfants, Youssef Qaradawi apporte son soutien au Hamas, justifiant le recours aux attentats suicides en Israël. « Les opérations du Hamas sont du djihad et ceux qui [les accomplissent et] sont tués, sont considérés comme des martyrs », déclarait-il en 2001, ajoutant que la société israélienne est une société militaire, « tous les hommes et femmes sont soldats. Ils sont dans leur totalité des troupes d’occupation (…) Et si un enfant ou un vieux est tué dans ces opérations, il n’est pas visé, mais c’est par erreur, et en conséquence des nécessités absolues de la guerre, et les nécessités absolues lèvent les interdictions ».

 

* Journaliste et écrivain, spécialiste des Frères musulmans.

 

(1) Roger Faligot et Rémi Kauffer, Albin Michel, mars 1990, p. 58.

(2) Matthias Küntzel, Jihad et haine des juifs. Le lien troublant entre islamisme et nazisme à la racine du terrorisme international, éditions du Toucan, août 2015.

(3) Tariq Ramadan, Editions Tawhid, 2002, p. 206.

(4) Chérif Amir, Histoire secrète des Frères musulmans, ellipses, février 2015, p. 29.

(5) Michaël Prazan, Frères musulmans. Enquête sur la dernière idéologie totalitaire, Grasset, janvier 2014, p. 41.

(6) Chérif Amir, op. cit., p. 34.