fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
Amr Nabil/AP/SIPA

 

To put an end to the anti-Semitic rantings of Mahmoud Abbas

8 September 2023 Expertises   171480  

atmane tazaghart

If it is true that old age is a shipwreck, in the case of the Palestinian raïs Mahmoud Abbas (84 years old), it is more like a long and lamentable drowning that drags in its wake Palestine and its just cause. Physically worn out, isolated and politically challenged, Abbas has been multiplying blunders and aberrations for many years. Ultimate slippage, speaking on August 24 before the “revolutionary council” of his party, Fatah, he uttered extremely serious anti-Semitic remarks: “Hitler did not kill the Jews because Jews […] but only because of their social status as usurers,” he asserted.
The Palestinian raïs took up here a hazy theory that he had already developed during a “History lesson” delivered before the Palestinian National Council, in Ramallah, on April 30, 2018, according to which “the reason for the Holocaust is not the anti-Semitism of the Nazis, but the “social behavior” of the Jews”! But in his lucubrations of last August 24, he enriched this infamous theory with a new argument tinged with conspiracy: in a delirious attempt to prove that the ‘‘Nazis were not anti-Semites’’, he advanced the strange argument according to which ‘‘Ashkenazi Jews are not Semites”, because “they are the descendants of the Khazars [ancient Turkish people] who have nothing to do with Semitism”. Which, of course, has no historical basis!

Worse still, a year ago, while visiting Germany, on the eve of the fiftieth anniversary of the Munich Attack (an attack perpetrated by the Palestinian group Black September during the 1972 Olympic Games, which cost the lives of 12 people, including 11 Israeli athletes taken hostage and then executed by the Palestinian commando), Abbas was questioned at a press conference as to whether he “regretted” this carnage, which at the time had shocked the whole world. Nothing obliged the old raïs to make his mea culpa. He could have evaded the question, as politicians know so well how to do. But, no! He chose to overdo it, launching into strange elucidations, which he concluded with a formula that chilled everyone: “The massacres perpetrated by the Israelis against the Palestinian people are equivalent to 50 Holocausts”!

By indulging in such a sacrilege precisely from the German capital, Abbas provoked the “disgust” of Chancellor Olaf Scholtz and raised a worldwide media outcry, which found – and this is unprecedented – a resounding echo in the Arab and Palestinian press.

Thus, for the prominent Palestinian columnist, Ma’n al-Bayari, the issue raised by this “catastrophic response” should not be about the Holocaust, but about Abbas’ political ineptitude: “That the Palestinian president considers that the war crimes committed by Israel over the past 80 years can only appear sufficiently awful if they are considered 50 times more heinous than the Nazi holocaust inflicted on the Jews, is further proof that this guy is unfit to be the leader of a people who are campaigning against the horrors of the occupation. And that his behaviour, under the gaze of the whole world and the international media, is detrimental to the moral standing that the Palestinian people and their struggle deserve among the peoples who aspire to freedom”. He concluded: “This is a terrifying misery that must be publicly denounced by stating, loudly and clearly, that the Palestinian president is not only illegitimate [his mandate expired in 2009], but also unfit for this position because he plays a harmful role.

The most terrifying thing about this “misery” is that Mahmoud Abbad’s antisemitic outbursts are not only due to the wreckage of old age. Already at the age of 44, in a doctoral thesis defended at the Institute of Orientalist Studies in Moscow (1982), he considered that the number “advanced by historians” of 6 million Jewish victims of the Shoah was “exaggerated”! One also remembers a smoky theory he developed during a “history lesson” delivered to the Palestinian National Council in Ramallah on 30 April 2018, according to which “the reason for the Holocaust is not the anti-Semitism of the Nazis, but the ‘social behaviour’ of the Jews”!

Strange as it may seem, despite all these horrors, Mahmoud Abbas has managed to forge a reputation as a “moderate”, simply because he chaired the Palestinian delegations during the peace negotiations at the Madrid Conference in 1991 and the Oslo Accords in 1993. However, he was not chosen for such a mission because of his charisma (non-existent) or his political line (impossible to define), but for a simple bureaucratic reason: he was, at the time, the PLO’s delegate for international relations!

Abbas’ alleged “moderation” – which led the Israeli authorities to favour his rise, to the detriment of Arafat’s most legitimate heir within Fatah, Marwan Barghouti – was only an illusion. The proof is that, as soon as he came to power, he established a repressive and totalitarian system, which has nothing to envy to its counterparts among Arab despots and compared to which the authoritarian and angry Arafat would pass for a Palestinian Gandhi!

At the head of the Palestinian National Authority since 15 January 2005, Abbas clings to power, despite the fact that his mandate expired almost 14 years ago! On 9 January 2009, in the absence of new presidential elections, he was supposed to hand over his mandate to the chairman of the Palestinian Legislative Council (PLC), which ensures – according to the Palestinian constitution never respected by Abbas nor by his predecessor Yasser Arafat – the presidential interim until the election of a new raïs. However, the PLC has not met since 5 July 2007, due to the secession of Hamas which, having taken power in Gaza, no longer recognises the Ramallah Authority.

However, Abbas extends his mandate ad vitam æternam, by appointing himself “President of the State of Palestine” with the approval of the PLO Central Council controlled by his party, Fatah. Contested in the Palestinian Territories, due to the widespread corruption of his administration and the multiplication of human rights violations; isolated and discredited on the international and Arab scene, due to his political blunders and statements (against the Arab League, the UN, the United States, China …), Abbas forms, since 2009, with the irremovable Benyamin Netanyahu, the Israeli Prime Minister, an “evil duo”. Together, despite the apparent diversity, they have been the gravediggers of the peace process initiated by Yitzhak Rabin and Yasser Arafat in 1993.

As a last attempt to restore the legitimacy of the Palestinian Authority, the High Constitutional Court of Palestine (HCCP) issued a courageous order in December 2018: noting that the PLC, the legislative power of the Authority, has been blocked since July 2007 and as its mandate expired on 25 January 2010, it ordered the organisation of general elections (legislative and presidential) within a maximum period of 6 months.

The old raïs pretended to comply. But as soon as a first poll, conducted by his own mukhabarate, indicated that the list led by Mohammed Dahlan, Arafat’s former Minister of Security, who has taken refuge in Abu Dhabi, could win, Abbas decided – as a seasoned despot – to cancel the elections outright!

Last November, an Algerian mediation managed, with “millions of petro-dinars”, to reconcile – theoretically – Fatah and Hamas. According to the “Algiers Agreements”, Palestinian general elections should be organised before the end of October 2023. No doubt, however, that the old Abbas will find a new ruse to cancel the elections and stay in power.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
Amr Nabil/AP/SIPA

 

Pour en finir avec les élucubrations antisémites de Mahmoud Abbas

8 septembre 2023 Expertises   171715  

atmane tazaghart

S’il est vrai que la vieillesse est un naufrage, dans le cas du raïs palestinien Mahmoud Abbas (85 ans), cela s’apparente davantage à une longue et lamentable noyade qui entraîne dans son sillage la Palestine toute entière et sa juste cause. Usé physiquement, isolé et contesté politiquement, Abbas multiplie les gaffes et aberrations, depuis de longues années. Ultime dérapage, s’exprimant le 24 août dernier devant le ‘‘conseil révolutionnaire’’ de son parti, le Fatah, il a proféré de gravissimes propos antisémites : « Hitler n’a pas tué les juifs parce que juifs […] mais uniquement à cause de leur statut social d’usuriers » a-t-il asséné.
Le raïs palestinien reprenait ici une théorie fumeuse qu’il avait déjà développée lors d’une ‘‘leçon d’Histoire’’ prononcée devant le Conseil national palestinien, à Ramallah, le 30 avril 2018, selon laquelle « la raison de l’holocauste n’est pas l’antisémitisme des Nazis, mais le ‘‘comportement social’’ des Juifs » ! Mais dans ses élucubrations du 24 aout dernier, il a enrichi cette théorie infamante d’un argument nouveau teinté de complotisme : dans une délirante tentative de prouver que les « nazis n’étaient pas antisémites », il avançait l’étrange argument selon lequel « les juifs ashkénazes ne sont pas sémites », car « ils sont les descendants des Khazars [peuple turc ancien] qui n’ont rien à voir avec le sémitisme ». Ce qui, bien entendu, n’a aucun fondement historique !

Pis encore, il y a un an, en visite en Allemagne, à la veille du cinquantenaire de l’attentat de Munich (attaque perpétrée par le groupuscule palestinien ‘‘Septembre noir’’, lors des Jeux Olympique de 1972, qui a coûté la vie à 12 personnes, dont 11 athlètes israéliens pris en otages puis exécutés par le commando palestinien), Abbas a été interrogé, lors d’une conférence de presse, pour savoir s’il ‘‘regrettait’’ ce carnage qui avait, à l’époque, choqué le monde entier. Rien n’obligeait le vieux raïs à faire son mea culpa. Il pouvait même éluder la question, comme les politiciens savent si bien le faire. Mais, non ! Il choisit la surenchère, se lançant dans d’étranges élucubrations, qu’il conclut par une formule qui a glacé tout le monde : « Les massacres perpétrés par les Israéliens contre le peuple palestinien équivalent à 50 holocaustes » !

En se laissant aller à un tel sacrilège précisément depuis la capitale allemande, Abbas a provoqué le « dégoût  » du chancelier Olaf Scholtz et soulevé un tollé médiatique mondial, qui a trouvé – et c’est un fait inédit – un retentissant écho dans la presse arabe et palestinienne.

Ainsi, pour l’éminent éditorialiste palestinien, Ma’n al-Bayari, la problématique soulevée par cette « réponse catastrophique » ne devrait pas porter sur l’holocauste, mais sur l’inaptitude politique d’Abbas : « Que le président palestinien considère que les crimes de guerre commis par Israël depuis 80 ans ne peuvent apparaître suffisamment affreux que si on les considérait 50 fois plus odieux que l’holocauste nazi infligé aux Juifs, est une nouvelle preuve que ce type est inapte à être le leader d’un peuple qui milite contre les affres de l’occupation. Et que son comportement, sous le regard du monde entier et des médias internationaux, est nuisible à la position morale que mériteraient le peuple palestinien et son combat parmi les peuples qui aspirent à la liberté ». Et de conclure : « Ceci est une terrifiante misère qu’il faut dénoncer publiquement en affirmant, haut et fort, que le président palestinien n’est plus seulement illégitime [son mandat a expiré en 2009], mais aussi inapte à ce poste car il joue un rôle nuisible. »

Le plus terrifiant dans cette ‘‘misère’’ est que les dérapages antisémites de Mahmoud Abbad ne sont pas – seulement – dus au naufrage de la vieillesse. À 44 ans déjà, lors d’une thèse de doctorat soutenue à l’Institut des études orientalistes de Moscou (1982), il considérait que le nombre « avancé par des historiens » de 6 millions de victimes juives de la Shoah était « exagéré » !

Aussi étrange que cela puisse paraître, en dépit de toutes ces horreurs, Mahmoud Abbas est parvenu à se forger une réputation de ‘‘modéré’’, pour le simple fait d’avoir présidé les délégations palestiniennes pendant les négociations de paix, lors de la Conférence de Madrid en 1991 et des Accords d’Oslo en 1993. Or, il n’a pas été choisi pour une telle mission grâce à son charisme (inexistant) ou sa ligne politique (impossible à cerner), mais pour une simple raison bureaucratique : il était, à l’époque, le délégué aux relations internationales de l’OLP !

La prétendue ‘‘modération’’ d’Abbas – qui a poussé les autorités israéliennes à favoriser son ascension, au détriment de l’héritier le plus légitime d’Arafat au sein du Fatah, Marwan Barghouti – n’était qu’une illusion. La preuve en est que, dès son accession au pouvoir, il a instauré un système répressif et totalitaire, qui n’a rien à envier à ses homologues parmi les despotes arabes et comparé auquel même l’autoritaire et colérique Arafat passerait pour un Gandhi palestinien !                                 

À la tête de l’Autorité nationale palestinienne depuis le 15 janvier 2005, Abbas s’accroche au pouvoir, en dépit du fait que son mandat a expiré depuis bientôt 14 ans ! Le 9 janvier 2009, à défaut de nouvelles élections présidentielles, il devait remettre son mandat au Président du Conseil législatif palestinien (CLP), qui assure – selon la Constitution palestinienne jamais respectée par Abbas ni par son prédécesseur Yasser Arafat – l’intérim présidentiel jusqu’à l’élection d’un nouveau raïs. Or, le CLP ne s’est plus réuni depuis le 5 juillet 2007, en raison de la sécession du Hamas qui, ayant pris le pouvoir de fait à Gaza, ne reconnaît plus l’Autorité de Ramallah.

Qu’a cela ne tienne, Abbas prolonge lui-même son mandat ad vitam æternam, en s’autodésignant ‘‘Président de l’État de Palestine’’ avec l’approbation du Conseil central de l’OLP contrôlé par son Parti, le Fatah. Contesté dans les Territoires palestiniens, en raison de la corruption généralisée de son administration et la multiplication des violations des droits de l’Homme ;  isolé et discrédité sur la scène internationale et arabe, à cause de ses dérapages politiques et ses déclarations à l’emporte-pièce (contre La ligue arabe, l’ONU, les États-Unis, la Chine…), depuis 2009, Abbas forme, avec l’inamovible Benyamin Netanyahou, le Premier ministre israélien, un ‘‘duo maléfique’’. De concert, malgré leur diversité apparente, ils ont été les fossoyeurs du processus de paix initié par Yitzhak Rabin et Yasser Arafat en 1993.

Ultime tentative pour restaurer la légitimité de l’Autorité palestinienne, la Haute cour constitutionnelle de Palestine (HCCP) a rendu une courageuse ordonnance en décembre 2018 : constatant que le CLP, le pouvoir législatif de l’Autorité, est bloqué depuis juillet 2007 et comme en plus son mandat a expiré le 25 janvier 2010, elle ordonne l’organisation d’élections générales (législatives et présidentielles) dans un délai maximum de 6 mois.

Le vieux raïs a fait mine d’accepter. Mais, dès qu’un premier sondage, réalisé par ses propres moukhabarate, a indiqué que la liste menée par Mohammed Dahlan, l’ancien ministre de la Sécurité d’Arafat, réfugié à Abou Dhabi, pouvait l’emporter, Abbas a décidé – en despote aguerri – l’annulation pure et simple des élections !

En novembre dernier, une médiation algérienne est parvenue, à coups de ‘‘millions de pétro-dinars’’ à réconcilier – théoriquement – le Fatah et le Hamas. Selon les ‘‘Accords d’Alger’’, des élections générales palestiniennes devraient être organisées avant la fin octobre 2023. Nul doute cependant que le vieux Abbas trouvera une nouvelle ruse pour annuler le scrutin et se maintenir au pouvoir.