fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
Daniel Cole/AP/SIPA

 

“The zone of interest” by Jonathan Glazer: The “banality of evil” transposed to Auschwitz!

28 May 2023 News   18425  

Many films dedicated to Nazi horror and the Holocaust have been welcomed, celebrated and rewarded by the Cannes Film Festival. There was, in particular, the tragicomic ‘‘Life is Beautiful’’ by Roberto Benigni (Grand Prix – 1997), the moving and masterful ‘‘The Pianist’’ by Roman Polanski (Palme d’Or – 2002 ), the dark and poignant ‘‘White Ribbon’’ by Michael Haneke (Palme d’Or – 2009) and the atypical and dazzling ‘‘The son of Saul’’ by Laszlo Nemes (Grand Prix – 2015).

By Atmane Tazaghart and Nicolas Chene

These major and necessary movies have all faced the same and thorny problem: how to evoke Holocaust without showing its unbearable horror? And of all the approaches adopted or considered, that of ‘‘The Zone of Interest’’ by Jonathan Glazer – which has just won the Grand Prix at the 76thCannes Film Festival – is by far the most trying: the British filmmaker has the singular and confusing choice to film Auschwitz from the adjacent house of Nazi commander Rudolf Höss, who ran the terrible camp from May 1940 to December 1943, and again from May to September 1944.

From the pretty house – where this Nazi criminal led a most peaceful family life, tenderly caring for his children and tending with extreme care the roses in his garden – all you can see of the terrifying death camp are a few chimneys of gas chambers. And we hear of the horror that unfolds there only vague nocturnal cries that we guess to be those of fugitives being shot down or drowning in the river.

 


Watch our exclusive video


 

The horror stops at the doorstep of the commandant’s house, as do the blood-covered military boots that diners leave there for a servant to clean with a garden hose. The commander’s family liked it so much that when he received a transfer order in December 1943, his wife asked to stay there: ‘‘We have everything we’ve always dreamed of here’’! And when he was asked to return there, in May 1944 – his successor no longer able to keep up with the macabre rhythms since the deportation of the Jews from Bulgaria (12,000 deportees per day) – he rushed to the telephone to announce the ‘‘good news’’ to his wife!

In the end, the film shows of the horror of Auschwitz only a few shots of the current museum: walls of personal effects of deportees (clothes, shoes, prostheses of all kinds) put under glass, which the cleaning staff of the museum apply to clean thoroughly. It has, however, managed the feat of pointing the finger – as no cinematographic work has ever been able to do – at what is most terrifying in Nazi horror: the ‘‘banality of evil’’ personified by these ‘‘monsters with human faces’’ capable of committing the worst crimes that man can commit, then go home quietly, after hours of ‘‘work’’, to tenderly take care of their children and the roses of their gardens!

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
Daniel Cole/AP/SIPA

 

‘‘The zone of interest’’ de Jonathan Glazer : La ‘‘banalité du mal’’ transposée à Auschwitz !

28 mai 2023 News   18290  

Nombreux sont les films consacrés à l’horreur nazie et la Shoah que le Festival de Cannes a accueillis, célébrés et récompensés. Il y a notamment eu le tragi-comique ‘‘La vie est Belle’’ de Roberto Benigni (Grand Prix – 1997), l’émouvant et magistral ‘‘Le pianiste’’ de Roman Polanski (Palme d’Or – 2002), le sombre et poignant ‘‘Ruban Blanc’’ de Michael Haneke (Palme d’Or – 2009) et l’atypique et éblouissant ‘‘Le fils de Saul’’ de Laszlo Nemes (Grand Prix – 2015).

Par Atmane Tazaghart et Nicolas Chene

Ces œuvres majeures et nécessaires ont toutes fait face à la même et épineuse problématique : comment évoquer la Shoah sans en montrer l’insoutenable horreur ? Et de toutes les approches adoptées ou envisagées, celle de ‘‘The Zone of Interest’’ de Jonathan Glazer – qui a décroché le Grand Prix de ce 76ème Festival de Cannes – est, de loin, la plus éprouvante : le cinéaste britannique a fait le choix à la fois singulier et déroutant de filmer Auschwitz depuis la maison adjacente du commandant nazi Rudolf Höss, qui dirigea le terrible camp de mai 1940 à décembre 1943, puis à nouveau de mai à septembre 1944.

Depuis cette maison coquette – où ce criminel nazi menait une vie familiale des plus paisibles, s’occupant tendrement de ses enfants et entretenant soigneusement son jardin – on n’aperçoit du terrifiant camp de la mort que quelques cheminées de chambres à gaz. Et on n’entend de l’horreur qui s’y déroule que de vagues cris nocturnes qu’on devine être ceux de fugitifs qu’on abat à la mitrailleuse ou qu’on noie dans le fleuve.


Voir notre vidéo exclusive


L’horreur s’arrête au pas de la porte de la maison du commandant, tout comme les bottes militaires couvertes de sang que les convives y déposent, pour qu’un domestique les nettoie au tuyau d’arrosage. La famille du commandant s’y plaît tellement, que lorsqu’il reçoit un ordre de mutation, en décembre 1943, son épouse demande à y rester :  « On a tout ce dont on a toujours rêvé ici » ! Et lorsqu’on lui demande d’y retourner, en mai 1944 – son successeur n’arrivant plus à tenir les macabres cadences, depuis la déportation des Juifs de Bulgarie (12.000 déportés par jour) – il se précipite vers le téléphone pour annoncer la ‘‘bonne nouvelle’’ à sa femme !

Au final, le film ne montre de l’horreur d’Auschwitz que quelques plans du musée actuel : murs d’effets personnels de déportés (habits, chaussures, prothèses en tous genres) mis sous verre, que les agents de ménage du musée s’appliquent à nettoyer soigneusement. Cependant, il a réussi l’exploit de pointer du doigt – comme jamais une œuvre cinématographique n’a pu le faire – ce que l’horreur nazie a de plus terrifiant : la ‘‘banalité du mal’’ personnifiée par ces ‘‘monstres à visage humain’’, capables d’accomplir les pires des crimes qu’un Homme puisse commettre, puis rentrer tranquillement à la maison, après les heures de ‘‘travail’’, pour s’occuper tendrement de leurs enfants et des roses de leurs jardins !