fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

No, French Muslims do not support Hamas!

18 December 2023 News   216081  

In the tense context of the resurgence of anti-Semitic and (to a lesser extent) anti-Muslim acts, since the attacks of October 7, 2023, our Magazine Screen Watch commissioned the IFOP to carry out an exclusive survey among French Muslims about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and its possible repercussions in France. This survey, the detailed results of which we are publishing here, provides three main lessons: two good news and one bad news.

The first positive point is the very weak support of French Muslims for Hamas. Only 19% express sympathy for the Islamist movement. A very reassuring figure, given the attachment of French Muslims to the Palestinian cause which is illustrated in this poll by 59% of sympathy for the Palestinian Authority (compared to only 10% among all French people).

This weak support for Hamas contrasts with the extreme tensions which have emerged, notably following the banning of the first pro-Gaza demonstrations in France. Especially since sympathy for the Palestinian Islamist movement is moderated by the degree of religiosity and the age of the respondents: only 14% among non-practicing French Muslims, compared to 28% among very regular practitioners; 24% among 15-24 year olds, compared to only 17% among those aged 35 and over.

An unprecedented sympathy of French Muslims for Israel, especially among… the most religious!

Even more surprising, 9% of French Muslims express sympathy for Israel. This empathy for the Jewish state is an unusual fact (Even among all French people, sympathy for Israel does not exceed 28%). This is explained by the emotion provoked, including among French Muslims, by the atrocities of the October 7 attacks.

Another unusual indicator, French Muslims who say they are ”very religious” express more sympathy for Israel (14%) than ”non-practicing” (9%) or ”occasional practicing” (5%). A phenomenon which may be surprising, but which has already been noted in several Muslim countries where the people with the most intense religiosity (provided they are not followers of jihadism) are those who say they are most shocked by the horrors of October 7: they were stunned that fighters who claim to be Muslims could carry out rapes, murders of children, kidnappings of old people and mutilations of corpses, thus flouting the very strict “code of war ” decreed by Sharia law which specifically prohibits attacking women, children and the elderly or mutilating corpses.

Faced with the atrocities of Hamas, the majority of these Muslims with very intense religiosity have taken refuge in denial: for them, such horrors cannot be the work of Islamist fighters. They thus fuelled conspiracy theories according to which the atrocities of October 7 were “inventions of Israeli propaganda”. Others (more in the minority) were more lucid: while condemning these abuses, naturally expressed empathy for the Israeli victims. They are 14% in France.

No one wants the conflict to be imported into France

Second good news, and not the least, among the lessons of this survey: the possible repercussions of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict arouse fear among the overwhelming majority of French Muslims (76%), as among all French people (82 %). Proof that no one wants to see the Middle Eastern conflict transposed into France. These figures are, therefore, the exact opposite of certain very popular theses, notably from the far right, according to which France is on the verge of communitarian implosion.

However, if French Muslims agree with all their fellow citizens on the need to protect themselves from the possible repercussions in France of the conflict in the Middle East, the positions of each party detach themselves from this point of consensus and diametrically oppose on other aspects of the Israeli-Palestinian question:

– 62% of French Muslims consider the term “ethnic cleansing” appropriate to designate the operations of the Israeli army and settlers in the West Bank, while on the contrary 62% of all French people find this term inappropriate;

– 67% of French Muslims consider the treatment of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict by the French media favourable to Israel (only 22% consider it objective), while 50% of all French people find this media treatment rather objective (38% criticize it for being pro-Israeli);

– As for the position of the French government in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, 58% of French Muslims think that it leans more towards Israel (only 13% find it neutral), while 31% of all French people believe that their government’s position is neutral (20% find it pro-Israeli). Another point of divergence, on this subject, the opinions of French Muslims are more decided: only 12% say that they do not know, while 43% of all French people cannot form an idea, without doubt due to the errors of the Macron’s ‘‘at the same time’’ doctrine which makes French positions on the conflict contradictory and difficult to understand.

45% describe the attacks of October 7 as actions of resistance!

The most problematic aspect, among the indicators of divergence between French Muslims and all of their fellow citizens, concerns the character of the October 7 attacks. This is the dark point of this Syrvey: paradoxically, while they only support Hamas in a very small minority, 45% of French Muslims consider the attacks of October 7 as “resistance actions against colonization” (only 10 % of all French people share this opinion). The figures are even more distressing among younger people, the most religious and supporters of the far left (50% of 15-24 year olds, as many among regular religious practitioners and Jean-Luc Mélanchon voters).

The fact remains, however, that a majority of French Muslims (55%) condemn the attacks of October 7: 36% qualify them as “war crimes” and 29% consider them as “acts of terrorists”.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Non, les Français musulmans ne soutiennent pas le Hamas !

18 décembre 2023 News   215969  

Dans le contexte tendu de la recrudescence des actes antisémites et (dans une moindre mesure) antimusulmans depuis les attaques du 7 octobre 2023, Écran de Veille a commandé à l’IFOP un sondage exclusif auprès des Français musulmans à propos du conflit israélo-palestinien et ses éventuelles répercussions en France. Cette enquête, dont nous publions ici les résultats détaillés, apportent trois enseignements principaux : deux bonnes nouvelles et une mauvaise.

Le premier point positif est le très faible soutien des Français musulmans au Hamas. Seuls 19 % expriment de la sympathie pour le mouvement islamiste. Un chiffre bien rassurant, compte tenu de l’attachement des Français musulmans à la cause palestinienne qui s’illustre dans ce sondage par 59 % de sympathie pour l’Autorité palestinienne (contre 10 % seulement chez l’ensemble des Français).

Ce faible soutien au Hamas contraste avec les tensions extrêmes qui ont vu le jour, notamment à la suite de l’interdiction des premières manifestations pro-Gaza en France. D’autant plus que la sympathie pour le mouvement islamiste palestinien est modérée par le degré de religiosité et l’âge des sondés : 14 % seulement chez les Français musulmans non pratiquants, contre 28 % chez les pratiquants très réguliers ; 24 % chez les 15-24 ans, contre 17 % seulement chez les 35 ans et plus.

Une sympathie inédite pour Israël, surtout chez… les plus religieux !

Plus étonnant encore, 9 % des Français musulmans expriment de la sympathie pour Israël. Cette empathie pour l’État hébreu est un fait inhabituel (même chez l’ensemble des Français, la sympathie pour Israël ne dépasse pas 28 % !). Cela s’explique par l’émotion provoquée, y compris chez les Français musulmans, par les atrocités des attaques du 7 octobre.

Autre indicateur inhabituel, les Français musulmans qui se disent ‘‘très pratiquants’’ expriment davantage de sympathie pour Israël (14 %) que les ‘‘non pratiquants’’ (9 %) ou les ‘‘pratiquants occasionnels’’ (5 %). Un phénomène qui peut surprendre, mais qui a déjà été relevé dans plusieurs pays musulmans où les personnes à la religiosité la plus intense (pour peu qu’elles ne soient pas adeptes du djihadisme) sont celles qui se sont dites les plus choquées par les horreurs du 7-Octobre : elles ont été sidérées que des combattants qui se réclament de l’islam puissent perpétrer des viols, des assassinats d’enfants, des enlèvements de vieillards et des mutilations de cadavres, bafouant ainsi le très strict ‘‘code de la guerre’’ édicté par la Charia qui prohibe précisément de s’en prendre aux femmes, aux enfants et aux vieillards ou de mutiler les cadavres.

Face aux atrocités du Hamas, la majorité de ces Musulmans à la religiosité très intense se sont réfugiés dans le déni : pour eux, de telles horreurs ne sauraient être l’œuvre de combattants islamistes. Ils alimentèrent, ainsi, les théories du complot selon lesquelles les atrocités du 7-Octobre seraient des ‘‘inventions de la propagande israélienne’’. D’autres (plus minoritaires) ont été plus lucides : tout en condamnant ces exactions, ils expriment, tout naturellement, de l’empathie pour les victimes israéliennes. Ils sont 14 % en France.

Nul ne souhaite l’importation du conflit en France

Seconde bonne nouvelle, et non des moindres, parmi les enseignements de ce sondage : les répercussions éventuelles du conflit israélo-palestinien suscitent de la crainte chez l’écrasante majorité des Français musulmans (76 %), comme chez l’ensemble de Français (82 %). Preuve que nul ne souhaite voir le conflit moyen-oriental importé ou transposé dans l’Hexagone. Ces chiffres se situent, donc, à l’exact opposé de certaines thèses très en vogue, notamment à l’extrême droite, selon lesquelles la France serait au bord de l’implosion communautariste.

Cependant, si les Français musulmans s’accordent avec l’ensemble de leurs concitoyens sur la nécessité de se prémunir des éventuelles répercussions en France du conflit au Moyen-Orient, les positions des uns et autres se détachent de ce point de consensus et s’opposent diamétralement sur d’autres aspects de la question israélo-palestinienne :

– 62 % des Français musulmans jugent approprié le terme de ‘‘nettoyage ethnique’’ pour désigner les opérations de l’armée israélienne et des colons en Cisjordanie, alors qu’au contraire, 62 % de l’ensemble des Français trouvent ce terme inapproprié ;

– 67 % des Français musulmans considèrent le traitement du conflit israélo-palestinien par les médias français favorable à Israël (22 % seulement le jugent objectif), alors que 50 % de l’ensemble des Français trouvent ce traitement médiatique plutôt objectif (38 % lui reprochent d’être pro-israélien) ;

– Quant à la position du gouvernement français dans le conflit israélo-palestinien, 58 % des Français musulmans pensent qu’elle penche plutôt du côté d’Israël (13 % seulement la trouvent neutre), alors que 31 % de l’ensemble des Français estiment que la position de leur gouvernement est neutre (20 % la trouve pro-israélienne). Autre point de divergence, à ce sujet, les avis des Français musulmans sont plus tranchés : seuls 12 % disent qu’ils ne savent pas, alors que 43 % de l’ensemble des Français n’arrivent pas à se faire une idée, sans doute en raison des errements de l’en-même-temps macronien qui rend les prises de positions françaises sur le conflit contradictoires et difficiles à cerner.

45% des Français musulmans qualifient les attaques du 7 octobre d’actions de résistance !

L’aspect le plus problématique, parmi les indicateurs de divergence entre les Français musulmans et l’ensemble de leurs concitoyens, concerne le caractère des attaques du 7-Octobre. C’est le point noir de cette étude : paradoxalement, alors qu’ils ne soutiennent que très minoritairement le Hamas, 45 % des Français musulmans considèrent que les attaques du 7 octobre sont des ‘‘actions de résistance contre la colonisation’’ (seuls 10 % de l’ensemble des Français partagent cet avis). Les chiffres sont encore plus affligeants chez plus jeunes, les plus religieux et les partisans de l’extrême gauche (50 % des 15-24 ans, autant chez les pratiquants réguliers et les électeurs de Jean-Luc Mélenchon).

Cependant, il n’en demeure pas moins qu’une majorité de Français musulmans (55 %) condamnent les attaques du 7-Octobre : 36 % les qualifient de ‘‘crimes de guerre’’ et 29 % les considèrent comme des ‘‘actes terroristes’’.