fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
Marc Israel Sellem/AP/SIPA

 

Israel – Hamas: Towards a gas war?

15 November 2023 Confidentiel   275520  

The war in Gaza threatens to disrupt natural gas production in the eastern Mediterranean. This would be a huge blow to Israel and Egypt’s ambitions to become a hub for LNG supplies to Europe, at a time when the EU is looking for alternatives to Russian gas.

The Israeli-Egyptian gas ambitions began in November 2019, when the two countries agreed to boost the flow of Israeli gas to Egypt via the Eastern Mediterranean Pipeline, which links Ashkelon in Israel to El Arish in Egypt.

These ambitions were further strengthened in 2020, following the acquisition of Israeli company Noble Energy by Chevron Corporation, the second largest US oil company behind ExxonMobil. Chevron also acquired stakes in Israel’s Tamar and Leviathan gas fields and had plans to build two more pipelines to link them to the Egyptian port of El Arish.

However, 48 hours after the attacks on 7 October, the Israeli government ordered Chevron to suspend all activity on the Tamar marine field, located just 23 km off the coast of Ashkelon (a town regularly targeted by Hamas missiles), making it vulnerable to attack.

In addition, because of the war between Israel and Hamas, the Ashkelon-El Arish gas pipeline is right in the middle of the battlefield and could be targeted. This threat is all the more serious given that one of Hamas’s stated motives for attacking Israel is to undermine the rapprochement between Israel and moderate Arab countries. An attack on the Ashkelon-El Arish gas pipeline would be a serious warning to Egypt to end its increasingly close energy cooperation with Israel.

In addition to the direct economic repercussions of such an attack, other investments could suffer: since March 2023, BP and the Emirati company ADNOC have been negotiating the purchase of 50% of the Israeli company NewMed Energy, the main owner of the Leviathan gas field.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
Marc Israel Sellem/AP/SIPA

 

Israël – Hamas : vers une guerre du gaz ?

15 novembre 2023 Confidentiel   275378  

La guerre à Gaza risque de perturber la production de gaz naturel en Méditerranée orientale. Cela porterait un coup terrible aux ambitions d’Israël et de l’Égypte de devenir une plaque tournante pour l’approvisionnement de l’Europe en GNL, au moment où l’UE cherche des alternatives au gaz russe.

Les ambitions gazières israélo-égyptiennes ont vu le jour en novembre 2019, lorsque les deux pays se sont accordés à renforcer l’acheminement du gaz israélien vers l’Égypte, via le gazoduc de la Méditerranée orientale, qui relie Ashkelon, en Israël, à El Arish, en Égypte.

Ces ambitions se sont ensuite renforcées en 2020, suite à l’acquisition de la compagnie israélienne Noble Energy par Chevron Corporation, la deuxième plus grande compagnie pétrolière américaine derrière ExxonMobil. Chevron Corporation a aussi pris des participations dans les champs gaziers israéliens de Tamar et de Leviathan et avait pour projet de construire deux autres gazoducs pour les relier au port égyptien d’El Arish.

Or, 48 heures après les attaques du 7 octobre dernier, le gouvernement israélien a ordonné à Chevron Corporation de suspendre toute activité sur le gisement maritime de Tamar, situé à seulement 23 km au large d’Ashkelon (ville régulièrement ciblée par les missiles du Hamas), ce qui le rend vulnérable aux attaques.

Par ailleurs, du fait de la guerre entre Israël et le Hamas, le gazoduc Ashkelon-El Arish se trouve en plein milieu du champ de bataille et risque d’être ciblé. Cette menace est d’autant prise au sérieux que l’une des motivations affichées des attaques du Hamas contre Israël est de saper le rapprochement entre Israël et les pays arabes modérés. Une attaque visant le gazoduc Ashkelon-El Arish constituerait un sérieux avertissement à l’Égypte pour l’amener à mettre fin à sa coopération énergétique de plus en plus étroite avec Israël.

Outre les répercussions économiques directes d’une telle attaque, d’autres investissements pourraient en pâtir : depuis mars 2023, BP et la compagnie émiratie ADNOC négocient l’achat de 50 % de la compagnie israélienne NewMed Energy, le principal propriétaire du champ gazier de Leviathan.