fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
D.R

 

François Kraus: French people consider the religious nature of the Abaya to be undeniable”

9 September 2023 Interviews   142571  

One year on from the survey he conducted for our monthly Screen Watch (Observatory of teachers faced with the expression of religious beliefs in schools, October 2022), in which the issues surrounding the wearing of the Abaya and the Qamis in schools were probed for the first time, François Kraus, director of Ifop’s Politics / News division, conducted a large-scale survey (representative national sample of 2,145 people aged 18 and over) for our Charlie Hebdo colleagues, following the ban on these outfits in state schools.

In this interview, he discusses the main findings of this two-part study: a survey carried out on 30 and 31 August and documentary research on the religious nature of the Abaya and Qamis and the way in which these outfits are presented to French buyers by the retailers and brands that sell them.

Interview By Gérard Legraud

– What are the main findings of the study you carried out for Charlie Hebdo?

François Kraus: Looking at the results of this survey of a sample twice as large as usual (2,200 people), it is clear that the ban on Abayas and Qamis announced by Gabriel Attal is the subject of near-consensus: 81% of French people approve of this ban, which is even more support than we saw some twenty years ago for the law banning religious symbols (73% in April 2004).

This Ifop/Charlie Hebdo survey is in line with other studies carried out on smaller samples (e.g. 82% according to a CSA/Cnews poll on 29 August, 71% according to an Elabe/BFMTV survey on 29 and 30 August), and therefore has the merit of showing that French opinion is in line with the position of the teaching profession on the subject: An Ifop/Screen Watch survey carried out last year among 1,000 primary and secondary school teachers showed that 82% of them were opposed to the wearing of Abayas and Qamis in public schools.

And with the exception of Muslims – two-thirds of whom (66%) are opposed to this measure – there is majority support for it among all categories of the population, including young people (63%) and residents of working-class suburbs (71%), who might have been expected to be more divided on the subject.

The leaders of the Insoumis and EELV parties opposed the ban. What about their voters?

– The criticisms levelled at the Minister’s decision by a number of radical left-wing figures (e.g. Thomas Portes, Mathilde Panot, Manuel Bompard, Sandrine Rousseau, etc.) appear to be far from shared by their voters. For example, 79% of EELV supporters approve of the ban on abayas and qamis, a proportion similar to that found among Socialist and Communist supporters (73% to 81%). While such unanimity is not in itself surprising among EELV voters who are much more sensitive than the average to the various forms of injunctions (e.g. dress, body, etc.) weighing down on women, it does put into perspective the weight of the criticism levelled by some EELV MPs, notably Sandrine Rousseau and Sandra Regol, who denounced the decision as a form of control over women’s bodies.

But it is above all the disavowal of La France Insoumise’s position on the subject by a large proportion of its voters that is most important to highlight, given that this organisation is by far the most offensive on the issue: its coordinator, Manuel Bompard, having announced that he would propose to his parliamentary group that it take legal action before the Council of State to oppose the ban on the abaya in schools. However, a majority of LFI supporters support this ban (58%), particularly older supporters (74% of those aged 50 and over), those living in rural areas (70%) and those who say they are “convinced atheists” (60%). Conversely, Jean-Luc Mélenchon’s position on the subject seems to be more in line with the youngest, most highly educated and most religious supporters.

Some neo-feminists have also opposed the ban on the Abaya. Is this position shared by all people who call themselves feminists?

– Nor do the positions taken by feminist figures such as Sandrine Rousseau and Clémentine Autain seem very representative of those of French feminists in general and of activists in feminist associations in particular. While some people claim that the Minister’s decision goes against women’s rights, people who call themselves feminists are in fact very supportive of the ban (81%), although it should be noted that feminist women (78%) are slightly less supportive than feminist men (86%).

– The argument most often put forward by those opposed to banning the Abaya is to deny its religious nature. What do the French think?

– While the religious dimension of this long dress is the subject of public debate, this is not really the case for the French – 70% of them share the Minister’s view that Abayas and Qamis have a religious character – but also and above all in view of the way in which this garment is now sold to young people on online sales sites.

– Some CFCM officials have added fuel to the fire of those who deny the religious nature of the Abaya. What about those who sell and/or buy this type of outfit?

– While the CFCM’s vice-president, Abdallah Zekri, has said that the Abaya is “a form of fashion” that “has nothing to do (with religion)”, this opinion is in stark contrast to the way in which these outfits are presented in France today by those who sell them on the Internet, whether on generalist platforms (e.g. Amazon, Alibaba, etc.) or on the myriad of community websites specialising in “modest fashion”.

In order to put French people’s views on the religious nature of these outfits into perspective with the way in which the Abaya and Qamis are actually presented to their buyers in France, Ifop analysed all the Abaya and Qamis sales advertisements on the French-language pages of the Google search engine using the key words “Abaya”, “Qamis” or “Abaya for sale” / “cheap Qamis” between 30 August and 1 September 2023. This research, based on a sample of more than one hundred online ads (144), revealed that :

– 79% of the Abaya/Qamis sold on the Internet in France are either presented as explicitly religious (53%), or sold on sites selling only explicitly religious products (26%); By explicitly religious, Ifop means ads where the Abaya/Qamis are associated, for example, with terms such as “religious”, “Islamic”, “Muslim”, etc.

– 21% of the Abaya/Qamis sold on the Internet in France are not of an explicitly religious nature: Ifop considered that the notions of “modesty” or “modesty” presented by online sellers were not in themselves of an explicitly religious nature. However, if we consider that the notions of “modesty” or “modesty” are the result of a religious injunction, the proportion of Abaya/Qamis sold without religious references falls to 14%…

And if you want to find out more about how these outfits are marketed on the French market, all you have to do is visit the Alibaba website, where 1.2 million Abayas are sold in the “Islamic clothing” category. But it is above all on the myriad of “modest fashion” websites, most – but not all – of which emphasise the conformity of their outfits with the Muslim religion. The Neyssa Shop site explains very well how its “legal clothing” complies with “Islamic dress codes”, acknowledging in passing that the area women need to hide from the gaze of others is “much larger than that of men”. Finally, some adopt an ultra-conservative presentation of outfits that hides the hair and body of the models but also erases their faces afterwards by computer, making women invisible in a “scarlet handmaid” atmosphere that will shock not only feminists…

In the light of this initial survey of online ads for abayas and qamis, it seems unlikely that these outfits are not religious in nature for those who buy them. Otherwise, you have to wonder why the people selling them would bother to highlight the fact that these outfits meet religious requirements…

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
D.R

 

François Kraus : Les Français jugent indéniable le caractère religieux de l’Abaya

9 septembre 2023 Interviews   142693  

Un an après l’enquête qu’il a dirigée pour notre mensuel Ecran de Veille (Observatoire des enseignants face à l’expression du fait religieux à l’école, octobre 2022), dans laquelle les problématiques liées au port de l’Abaya et du Qamis à l’école ont été sondées pour la première fois, François Kraus, le directeur du pôle Politique / Actualités à l’Ifop, a mené une enquête d’envergure (échantillon national représentatif de 2 145 personnes âgées de 18 ans et plus), réalisée pour nos confrères de Charlie Hebdo, suite à l’interdiction de ces tenues à l’école publique.

Dans cet entretien, il revient sur les principaux enseignements de cette étude composée de deux volets : un sondage réalisé les 30 et 31 août derniers et une recherche documentaire sur le caractère religieux de l’Abaya et du Qamis et la manière dont ces tenues sont présentées aux acheteurs et acheteuses français par les marchands et les marques qui les commercialisent.

Propos recueillis par Gérard Legraud

– Quels sont les principaux enseignements de cette étude que vous avez réalisée pour Charlie Hebdo ?

François Kraus : Au regard des résultats de cette étude menée auprès d’un échantillon deux fois plus large qu’à l’accoutumée (2200 personnes), force est de constater que l’interdiction des Abayas et Qamis annoncée par le ministre de l’Éducation nationale Gabriel Attal fait l’objet d’un quasi-consensus : 81 % des Français approuvent cette interdiction, soit un soutien encore plus élevé que celui observé il y a une vingtaine d’années à propos de la loi interdisant les signes religieux (73 % en avril 2004).

Allant dans le même sens que d’autres études menées sur de plus petits échantillons (ex : 82 % d’après un sondage CSA/Cnews du 29 août, 71 % selon une enquête Elabe/BFMTV des 29 et 30 août), cette enquête Ifop/Charlie Hebdo a donc le mérite de montrer combien l’opinion des Français est en phase avec la position du corps enseignant sur le sujet : une enquête Ifop/Ecran de Veille menée l’an dernier auprès de 1000 enseignants du primaire et du secondaire ayant montré que 82 % d’entre eux étaient opposés au port des Abayas et Qamis dans les établissements publics.

Et à l’exception des musulmans – qui sont contre cette mesure pour les deux tiers d’entre eux (66 %) -, on note qu’elle est soutenue majoritairement dans toutes les catégories de la population, y compris les jeunes (63 %) et les habitants des banlieues populaires (71 %) qu’on aurait pu croire plus partagés sur le sujet.

Les leaders des Insoumis et d’EELV se sont opposés à cette interdiction. Quid de leurs électeurs ? 

– Les critiques émises à l’encontre de la décision du Ministre par plusieurs personnalités de la gauche radicale (ex : Thomas Portes, Mathilde Panot, Manuel Bompard, Sandrine Rousseau…) semblent loin d’être partagées par leurs électeurs. Par exemple, 79 % des sympathisants EELV approuvent l’interdiction des abayas et des qamis, soit une proportion semblable à ce que l’on observe chez les sympathisants socialistes et communistes (73 % à 81 %). Si un tel unanimisme n’est pas en soit surprenant chez des électeurs écologistes qui sont beaucoup plus sensibles que la moyenne aux différentes formes d’injonctions (ex : vestimentaires, corporelles…) qui pèsent sur les femmes, il amène néanmoins à relativiser le poids des critiques de certaines députées EELV, notamment celles de Sandrine Rousseau et Sandra Regol qui ont dénoncé dans cette décision une forme de contrôle du corps des femmes.

Mais c’est surtout le désaveu de la position de La France Insoumise sur le sujet par une grande partie de ses électeurs qui est le plus important à souligner, dans la mesure où cette organisation est de loin la plus offensive en la matière : son coordinateur, Manuel Bompard, a en effet annoncé qu’il proposerait à son groupe parlementaire d’engager une action auprès du Conseil d’État pour contrer l’interdiction de l’abaya à l’école. Or, une majorité des sympathisants LFI soutient cette interdiction (58 %), en particulier les sympathisants âgés (74 % des 50 ans et plus), ruraux (70 %) ou s’affirmant comme des ‘‘athées convaincus’’ (60 %). À l’inverse, la position de Jean-Luc Mélenchon sur le sujet semble plus en phase avec les sympathisants Insoumis les plus jeunes, les plus diplômés et les plus religieux.

Certaines figures néo-féministes se sont aussi opposées à l’interdiction de l’Abaya. Cette position est-elle partagée par l’ensemble des personnes se disant féministes ?

– Les positions prises par des personnalités féministes comme Sandrine Rousseau ou Clémentine Autain ne semblent pas non plus très représentatives de celles des féministes françaises en général et des militant(es) engagé(e)s dans les associations féministes en particulier. En effet, si certaines voix affirment que la décision du Ministre irait à l’encontre des droits des femmes, les personnes se disant féministes soutiennent en réalité très fortement cette interdiction (81 %) même si, il faut le relever, les femmes féministes (78 %) y sont un peu moins favorables que les hommes féministes (86 %).

– L’argument le plus souvent avancé par ceux qui s’opposent à l’interdiction de l’Abaya consiste à nier son caractère religieux. Qu’en pensent les Français ?   

– Si la dimension religieuse de cette longue robe fait l’objet d’un débat public, ce n’est pas vraiment le cas pour les Français : 70% d’entre eux partagent le point de vue du Ministre pour qui les Abayas et Qamis ont un caractère religieux. Ce qui fait débat, c’est aussi et surtout la manière dont ce vêtement est aujourd’hui vendu aux jeunes sur les sites de ventes en ligne.

– Certains responsables du CFCM ont apporté de l’eau au moulin de ceux qui nient le caractère religieux de l’Abaya. Qu’en est-il pour ceux qui vendent et/ou achètent ce type de tenues ?   

– En effet, si le vice-président du CFCM, Abdallah Zekri, a jugé que l’Abaya était « une forme de mode » qui « n’a rien à voir (avec la religion) », cet avis est en totale contradiction avec la manière dont ces tenues sont, aujourd’hui, présentées en France par ceux qui les vendent sur Internet, que ce soit sur des plateformes généralistes (ex : Amazon, Alibaba…) ou sur la myriade de sites marchands communautaires spécialisés dans la ‘‘modest fashion’’.

Afin de mettre en perspective le point de vue des Français(es) sur le caractère religieux de ces tenues avec la manière dont l’Abaya et le Qamis sont présentés réellement à leurs acheteur/ses en France, l’Ifop a analysé l’intégralité des annonces de ventes d’Abayas et de Qamis proposées par les pages du moteur de Google en langue française en suivant les mots clés ‘‘Abaya’’, ‘‘Qamis’’ ou ‘‘Abaya ventes’’ / ‘‘Qamis pas cher’’ entre le 30 août et le 1er septembre 2023. De cette recherche reposant sur un échantillon de 144 annonces en ligne, il ressort que :

– 79 % des Abayas/Qamis vendu(e)s en France sur Internet sont, soit présentés avec un caractère religieux explicite (53 %), soit vendus sur des sites ne proposant que des produits à caractère religieux explicite (26 %). Par caractère religieux explicite, l’Ifop entend des annonces où l’Abaya / le Qamis est associé(e) par exemple à des termes comme ‘‘religieux’’, ‘‘islamique’’, ‘‘musulman(e)’’…

– 21 % des Abayas/Qamis vendu(e)s en France sur Internet ne sont pas présentés avec un caractère religieux explicite : l’Ifop a considéré que les notions de ‘‘modestie’’ ou de ‘‘pudeur’’ présentées par les vendeurs en ligne n’ont pas en elles-mêmes un caractère religieux explicite. Toutefois, si on considère que les notions de ‘‘modestie’’ ou de ‘‘pudeur’’ sont le fruit d’une injonction d’origine religieuse, la proportion d’Abayas/Qamis vendu(e)s sans références religieuses tombe à 14 %…

Et si on veut pousser plus loin la recherche pour savoir comment sont marketées ces tenues sur le marché français, il suffit par exemple de se rendre sur le site Alibaba où 1,2 million d’Abayas sont vendues dans la catégorie ‘‘vêtements islamiques’’. Mais c’est surtout sur la myriade de sites marchands de ‘‘modest fashion’’ qui mettent pour la plupart – mais pas tous – en avant la conformité de leurs tenues avec la religion musulmane. Le site Neyssa Shop explique ainsi très bien en quoi ses « vêtements légiférés » correspondent aux « codes vestimentaires islamiques », reconnaissant au passage que, chez la femme, la zone à cacher du regard des autres est « bien plus vaste que celle des hommes ». Enfin, certains adoptent une présentation ultra-conservatrice des tenues qui masque les cheveux et le corps des mannequins mais gomme aussi leur visage à posteriori par informatique, invisibilisant les femmes dans une atmosphère à la ‘‘servante écarlate’’ qui ne choquera pas que les féministes…

Au regard de ce premier recensement des annonces de ventes en ligne des abayas et qamis, il apparaît donc improbable que ces tenues n’aient pas de caractère religieux pour ceux et celles qui les achètent. Sinon, il faut se demander pourquoi les personnes qui les vendent se donneraient la peine de mettre en avant le fait que ces tenues répondent à des prescriptions religieuses…