fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
Jonathan Alpeyrie/SIPA

 

The terrible dilemma of Israeli Arabs

15 November 2023 Expertises   126179  

Malika Madi

Since 7 October and the bloody attack by Hamas on Israeli soil, little has been said about the situation of Israeli Arabs, also known as “Arab citizens of Israel”. According to the latest demographic data, they represent 21% of the Israeli population, descendants of the 160,000 Palestinians who remained (or were not expelled) in the territory granted to Israel in 1948. As for the right to nationality, it was not until the late 1960s that they gained access to it.
Today, although they enjoy the same rights as the Jewish population, including the right to vote, they are still victims of discrimination. Already fairly badly regarded, recent events have made Israeli Jews even more wary of them. The situation is particularly complex because most of them still share very strong links with the Palestinians of the West Bank and Gaza Strip. Friends or family members who chose to leave or were forced to do so during the exoduses of 1948 and 1967.

The Arabs who remained in the region after 1948 made this choice for many reasons, the most important of which is moral. They represent a lineage of several generations who were born and lived on these lands, and for many, leaving would have meant betraying their ancestors. Aware of the difficulties, but also driven by a creative and positive energy in a new country where everything had to be built. From the end of the 1940s and for several decades, they were joined by a Jewish population building new homes on the outskirts of the historic districts. Modern housing, mostly occupied by new arrivals, where the mix did not really live up to the true diversity that could have been a model for the rest of the world.

Rather than true cohabitation, it is a question of shared living in its simplest form. The population of some towns is more than 50% Arab. East Jerusalem and the Golan Heights are on the list, even though the international community does not recognise them as belonging to Israel. Another eloquent example is the communitarianism in the city of Acre. The most recent version of the city is made up of around 25% Arabs, whereas the historic city is 95% Arab. Haifa is another major city, with 10% Arabs in the mixed neighbourhoods, compared with around 70% in the lower town built before 1948.

Most of this conglomerate was built along the “Green Line”, on the border between Israel and the West Bank. It is also in this famous “Triangle” (Israeli Arab towns and villages close to the Green Line, in the eastern plain of the Sharon region) that Tayibe is located, a settlement made up exclusively of Israeli Arabs. Nazareth is also known as the largest Arab town in the country.

The shock of 7 October 2023

Until now, people have managed to live side by side despite a few outbursts and incivilities, but the new conflict in Gaza, which has already claimed thousands of lives, threatens to erode the social fabric. This cohabitation, already fragile since the creation of Israel, is seriously undermined. A difficulty of balance which, as the specialists of the Hebrew State affirm, comes from the complexity to define: “What is a Jewish State today?

Israeli Arabs are citizens in their own right and have Israeli passports, but they cannot join the army, which remains closed to them. Concentrated in the south and north of the country, they are victims of an infrastructure deficit that considerably weakens their social status: statistically, they are poorer than the Jewish population.

Tensions were already being felt before the start of the conflict. Druze, Circassians (Muslims from the Caucasus), Bedouins, Christian Arabs and Muslims, now citizens of Israel, now find themselves at the heart of a war in which they cannot take part. It is the biggest conflict they have experienced in the last 50 years.

Demonstrations in support of the people of Gaza took place last summer, followed by clashes with the police and mass arrests of Israeli Arabs. The new generation, most of whom support the Palestinians, define themselves as “Palestinians of Israel” and refuse to be called “Israeli Arabs”. Nevertheless, the most serious studies reveal that the overwhelming majority of Palestinians have no desire to live in Palestine, even with recognised borders and a recognised state!

While the gap between the Jewish and Arab populations is widening today, the rift dates back to the early 2000s, when Israeli Arabs carried out suicide attacks in Jerusalem and Tel Aviv. Since then, mistrust between the two populations has continued to grow. It has reached a climax since the attacks of 7 October.

Some of Israel’s most radical politicians, particularly on the far right, have played on the fear of the attacks, claiming that Israeli Arabs are traitors and should be distrusted or even driven out of the country. The breeding ground for radicalisation on both sides is invigorated by each new conflict, bringing with it its share of hatred and abjection.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
Jonathan Alpeyrie/SIPA

 

Le terrible dilemme des Arabes israéliens

15 novembre 2023 Expertises   126223  

Malika Madi

Depuis le 7 octobre dernier et l’attaque sanglante perpétrée par le Hamas sur le sol israélien, on évoque peu la situation des Arabes israéliens, appelés également ‘‘Arabes citoyens d’Israël’’. Selon les dernières données démographiques, ils représenteraient pourtant 21 % de la population israélienne, descendants des 160.000 Palestiniens restés (ou qui n’ont pas été chassés) dans le territoire accordé à Israël en 1948. Pour ce qui est du droit à la nationalité, ce n’est qu’à la fin des années 1960 qu’ils y auront accès.
Aujourd’hui, bien qu’ils bénéficient des mêmes droits que la population juive, y compris celui de voter, ils restent cependant victimes de discriminations. Déjà passablement mal considérés, les derniers événements poussent davantage encore les Juifs d’Israël à s’en méfier. La situation est particulièrement complexe puisqu’ils partagent, pour la plupart, encore des liens très forts avec les Palestiniens de Cisjordanie et de la bande de Gaza. Amis ou membres de la famille qui ont choisi de partir ou qui y ont été contraints, lors des exodes de 1948 et 1967.

Les Arabes, restés sur place après 1948, ont fait ce choix pour de multiples raisons, dont la plus importante est morale. Il s’agit d’une lignée de plusieurs générations qui naquirent et vécurent sur ces terres, et pour beaucoup, partir aurait signifié trahir leurs ancêtres. Conscients des difficultés, mais aussi animés par une énergie créative et positive dans un pays neuf où tout était à construire. Dès la fin des années 1940 et pendant plusieurs décennies, ils ont été rejoints par une population juive, bâtisseuse de nouveaux logements en périphérie des quartiers historiques. Des habitats modernes, occupés majoritairement par les nouveaux arrivés, où la mixité n’a pas réellement été à la hauteur d’une véritable diversité qui aurait pu être un modèle pour le reste du monde.

Plutôt qu’une véritable cohabitation, il s’agit d’une mitoyenneté dans son expression la plus simple. La population de certaines villes est arabe à plus de 50 %. Jérusalem-Est et le plateau du Golan, même si la Communauté internationale ne les reconnaît pas comme appartenant à Israël, font partie de la liste. Autre exemple éloquent, le communautarisme dans la ville d’Acre. Dans sa version récente, elle est constituée d’environ 25 % d’Arabes alors que la ville historique est arabe à 95 %. Autre ville d’envergure, Haïfa : 10 % d’Arabes dans les quartiers mixtes contre 70 % environ dans la ville basse bâtie avant 48.

Ce conglomérat s’est construit majoritairement aux abords de la ‘‘Ligne verte’’, à la frontière entre Israël et la Cisjordanie. C’est également dans ce fameux ‘‘Triangle’’ (villes et villages arabes israéliens proches de la Ligne verte, dans la plaine orientale de la région de Sharon) qu’est située Tayibe, une agglomération exclusivement composée d’Arabes israéliens. Nazareth est également connue pour être la plus grande ville arabe du pays.

Le choc du 7 octobre 2023

Si les populations parvenaient, jusque-là, à vivre côte-à-côte malgré quelques débordements et incivilités, le nouveau conflit qui s’annonce à Gaza, avec déjà des milliers de morts, menace de gangrener le tissu social. Cette cohabitation, déjà fragile depuis la création d’Israël, est sérieusement mise à mal. Une difficulté d’équilibre qui, comme l’affirment les spécialistes de l’État hébreu, vient de la complexité à définir : « Qu’est-ce qu’un État juif aujourd’hui ? ».

Les Arabes israéliens étant des citoyens à part entière, ils bénéficient d’un passeport israélien, mais qui ne peuvent intégrer l’armée qui leur reste interdite. Concentrés au sud ou au nord du pays, ils sont victimes d’un déficit d’infrastructures qui affaiblit considérablement leur statut social : ils sont statistiquement plus pauvres que la population juive.

Avant le début du conflit, des tensions se faisaient déjà sentir. Druzes, Tcherkesses (Circassiens, Musulmans originaires du Caucase), Bédouins, Arabes chrétiens et musulmans, aujourd’hui citoyens d’Israël, se retrouvent aujourd’hui au cœur d’une guerre à laquelle il leur est impossible de prendre part. C’est le conflit le plus important qu’ils aient connu depuis ces 50 dernières années.

Des manifestations de soutien au peuple de Gaza avaient eu lieu l’été dernier, des affrontements avec les forces de l’ordre et des arrestations massives d’Arabes israéliens avaient suivi. La nouvelle génération, majoritairement solidaire des Palestiniens, se définit comme des ‘‘Palestiniens d’Israël’’ et refuse d’être appelée ‘‘Arabes israéliens’’. Néanmoins, les études les plus sérieuses révèlent que dans son écrasante majorité elle n’est pas désireuse d’aller vivre en Palestine, même avec des frontières et un État reconnus !

Si aujourd’hui, le fossé entre les populations juive et arabe se creuse davantage, la faille remonte au début des années 2000, lorsque des Arabes israéliens avaient perpétré des attentats kamikazes à Jérusalem et Tel-Aviv. Depuis, la méfiance n’a cessé de croître entre les deux populations. Elle a atteint son paroxysme depuis les attaques du 7 octobre.

Certains hommes politiques israéliens, parmi les plus radicaux, notamment à l’extrême droite, ont joué sur la peur des attentats, pour claironner que les Arabes israéliens sont des traîtres et qu’il faut s’en méfier, voire les chasser du pays. Le terreau des radicalisations, de part et d’autre, se revigore à chaque nouveau conflit, apportant son lot de haine et d’abjection.