fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
Hate Moussa/AP/SIPA

 

The impossibility of defeating Hamas without giving hope to the Palestinians

14 November 2023 Expertises   137137  

atmane tazaghart
atmane tazaghart

After all the hatred and barbarity that has been unleashed on Israel, and the bloody response of the Israel Defense Forces that has claimed several thousand civilian victims in Gaza, can we imagine any way out of the current conflict other than the destruction of Hamas? In other words, the total crushing of its military structures and the dismantling of the politico-religious diktat it has installed in Gaza.
As we wrote in these columns the day after the attacks on 7 October (Screen Watch, n° 38, October 2023), putting Hamas out of action is not only imperative for Israel’s security, but also for the honour of the just cause of the Palestinian people, so sullied by Hamas’s bloody crimes.

As a result, the military defeat of Hamas is now a prerequisite for any new hope of peace. But peace – whatever the belligerents on both sides may think – is the only way out of the infernal cycle of hatred and violence. And whatever the eternal “peptimists” [a contraction of “optimist” and “pessimist”, taken from Emile Habibi’s novel of the same name] may say, a lasting peace, based on a solution of two viable, sovereign and peaceful states, is (and will remain) the only horizon of hope for Palestinians and Israelis alike. And when the time comes, it will be the only real alternative to perpetual conflict and endless tension.

Yes, Hamas must be destroyed, annihilated militarily and deposed politically. But no number of tanks or bombardments will be able to overcome its deadly doctrine or the fanatical ideology that it claims as its own. Only a negotiated and equitable peace can offer both Palestinians and Israelis a genuine alternative of appeasement, cohabitation and – in the long term – cooperation and (why not) brotherhood. Such a peace will have the effect of marginalising the fanatics and warmongers on both sides by putting them on the sidelines of tomorrow’s Palestinian and Israeli societies.

It certainly takes courage to wage war. But it takes even more courage to make peace, which is far more serious and painful than being entrusted to sweet pacifist dreamers. It is an extremely complex struggle, not only against others, but also (and above all) against oneself. That’s why it’s those who are most involved in the military and militant struggle who later turn out to be the builders of peace. Provided they have the political stature and high spirit to set themselves up as Statesmen capable of building a future by perceiving, even in the darkest hours, the true interests of their nations, instead of stroking the vilest impulses in the “good sense of the crowd”, as do pseudo-politicians whose minds and eyes are permanently fixed on their partisan interests and their petty careers.

And although we are aware that the Israeli-Palestinian conflict is currently going through the darkest hours of its entire history, we must never despair of the emergence of an Israeli-Palestinian Mandela, who will be able to subjugate pain to bring out hope and replace hatred with fraternity.

In Arab culture, there is a magnificent proverb – and given the long and painful history of the Jewish people, I’m sure there are Hebrew equivalents -: ‘‘it is in the darkest nights that the brightest moons bloom’’!

For such hope to be possible, the international community must step up its efforts, pressure and initiatives, with Israel, the Palestinian leaders and the Arab countries, to offer the Palestinian people something other than the deadly choice between the plague of Hamas and the cholera of the faltering and corrupt Authority of the old Mahmoud Abbas.

Israel also needs to examine its conscience. Because, even if nothing can justify the horror of 7 October, it would be inevitable to ask the question: how did it come to this? And – above all – what can be done to ensure that it never happens again?

More than its adversaries or critics, Israel’s friends today have a moral duty to shake people’s consciences, by asserting, loud and clear, that we cannot rely forever on military supremacy alone. Military supremacy is (and unfortunately will remain for a long time to come) an imperative for Israel’s security and even its survival. However, being a friend of Israel also means knowing (and having to make it aware) that you cannot fight and annihilate the fanatics of the opposing camp, while putting the fanatics of your own camp in the most eminent positions of responsibility in the State. That fascists, ultra-belligerents and supremacists of all kinds must be ostracized from society or put on trial, not in ministerial cabinets. That those who maintained, in the aftermath of the barbarity of 7 October, that they were now allowed to be “cruel” not only to Hamas, but to all Gazans (on the pretext that they “did not rise up against the dictatorship of Hamas”) and all Palestinians (on the pretext that they “behave like animals that must be treated as such”), seem to be unaware that if we respond to barbarity with horror, we ourselves – without taking any notice – become contaminated by the “bestiality” that we accuse our enemy of!

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
Hate Moussa/AP/SIPA

 

De l’impossibilité de vaincre le Hamas sans redonner de l’espoir aux Palestiniens

14 novembre 2023 Expertises   137317  

atmane tazaghart

Après les torrents de haine et de barbarie qui se sont déversés sur Israël, et la riposte sanglante de Tsahal qui a fait plusieurs milliers de victimes civiles à Gaza, peut-on, doit-on, imaginer une quelconque issue au conflit actuel autre que la destruction du Hamas ? C’est-à-dire l’anéantissement total de ses structures militaires et le démantèlement du diktat politico-religieux qu’il a installé à Gaza.
Comme nous l’écrivions dans ces colonnes, dès le lendemain des attaques du 7 octobre dernier (Ecran de Veille, n° 38, Octobre 2023), la mise hors d’état de nuire du Hamas est impérieuse, non seulement pour la sécurité d’Israël, mais aussi pour l’honneur de la juste cause du peuple palestinien souillée par les crimes sanguinaires du Hamas.

La défaite militaire du Hamas s’impose donc, désormais, comme un préalable à l’éclosion de toute nouvelle espérance de paix. Or, la paix – quoiqu’en pensent les belliqueux des deux camps – est la seule échappatoire au cycle infernal de la haine et de la violence. Et quoiqu’en disent les éternels ‘‘peptimistes’’ [contraction d’‘optimiste’ et de ‘pessimiste’, tirée du roman éponyme d’Émile Habibi], une paix durable, basée sur une solution à deux États viables, souverains et pacifiés, est (et restera) le seul horizon d’espérance pour les Palestiniens comme pour les Israéliens. Et le moment venu, ce sera l’unique et véritable alternative au conflit perpétuel et aux tensions sans fins.

Car, oui, il faut détruire le Hamas, l’anéantir militairement et le destituer politiquement. Mais, nuls tanks ni bombardements ne sauront venir à bout de sa doctrine mortifère ou de l’idéologie fanatisée dont il se réclame. Seule une paix négociée et équitable pourra offrir aux Palestiniens comme aux Israéliens une véritable alternative d’apaisement, de cohabitation et – à terme – de coopération et (pourquoi pas) de fraternité. Une telle paix aura pour effet de marginaliser les fanatiques et belliqueux des deux camps en les mettant au ban des sociétés palestinienne et israélienne de demain.

Il faut, certes, du courage pour faire la guerre. Mais il en faut encore davantage pour la paix, qui est bien plus sérieuse (et souvent si douloureuse) pour être confiée aux doux rêveurs pacifistes. C’est un combat extrêmement complexe, non seulement contre autrui, mais aussi (et surtout) contre soi-même. Raison pour laquelle ce sont les plus engagés dans le combat militaire et militant qui se révèlent, par la suite, en bâtisseurs de la paix. Pour peu qu’ils aient l’envergure politique et la hauteur d’esprit pour s’ériger en Hommes d’État capables de bâtir un avenir en percevant, même dans les heures les plus sombres, les véritables intérêts de leurs nations, au lieu de caresser les pulsions les plus viles dans le ‘‘bon sens des foules’’, comme le font les pseudos politiciens à l’esprit et au regard vissés en permanence sur leurs intérêts partisans et leurs petites carrières.

Et bien que nous soyons conscients que le conflit israélo-palestinien traverse, aujourd’hui, les heures les plus sombres de toute son Histoire, nous ne devons jamais désespérer de l’émergence d’un Mandela israélo-palestinien, qui saura subjuguer la douleur pour en faire émerger de l’espérance et substituer la fraternité à la haine.

Il y a, dans la culture arabe, un magnifique proverbe – et au regard de la longue et douloureuse Histoire du peuple juif, je suis sûr qu’il doit exister des équivalences hébraïques – : ‘‘c’est dans les nuits les plus sombres qu’éclosent les lunes les plus éclatantes’’ !

Pour qu’un tel espoir soit possible, la communauté internationale doit multiplier les efforts, les pressions et les initiatives, auprès d’Israël, des dirigeants palestiniens et des pays arabes, pour offrir au peuple palestinien autre chose que le choix mortifère entre la peste du Hamas et le choléra de l’Autorité chancelante et corrompue du vieux Mahmoud Abbas.

Il faut aussi qu’Israël s’attelle à un indispensable examen de conscience. Car, même si rien ne peut justifier les horreurs du 7 octobre dernier, deux questions s’imposent : comment en est-on arrivé là ? Et – surtout – que faire pour que cela ne se reproduise plus ?

Davantage que les adversaires ou les critiques d’Israël, ses amis ont aujourd’hui le devoir moral de secouer les consciences, en affirmant, haut et fort, que l’on ne peut pas miser éternellement sur la seule suprématie militaire. Cette dernière est (et restera, hélas, pour longtemps encore) un impératif à la sécurité, voire à la survie d’Israël. Cependant, être l’ami d’Israël, c’est aussi savoir (et devoir) lui faire prendre conscience que l’on ne peut pas combattre et anéantir les fanatiques du camp adverse, tout en portant les fanatiques de son propre camp aux postes de responsabilité les plus éminents de l’État. Que les fascistes, les ultras belliqueux et autres suprémacistes doivent être mis au ban de la société ou devant les tribunaux et non pas dans les cabinets ministériels. Que ceux qui ont soutenu, au lendemain de la barbarie du 7 octobre, qu’il leur était désormais permis d’être ‘‘cruels’’, non seulement avec le Hamas, mais envers tous les Gazaouis (au prétexte qu’ils ‘‘ne se sont pas soulevés contre le diktat du Hamas’’) ou encore contre tous les Palestiniens (au prétexte qu’ils ‘‘se comportent comme des animaux qu’il faut traiter comme tels’’), semblent ignorer que si l’on riposte à la barbarie par l’horreur, on se fait – sans prendre garde – contaminer soi-même par la ‘‘bestialité’’ que l’on reproche à son ennemi !