The financier of the ‘brain’ of 9/11 is still active



Can you openly finance the ‘brain’ of the most spectacular and lethal terrorist attack in History, one that shook the foundations of the first world power and caused nearly 3,000 victims, and manage to avoid any prosecution or indictment?Even worse, can you be on the blacklists of the UN and the US Treasury and continue surreptitiously accessing your supposedly frozen assets to take out the tidy sum of 120 million dollars per year, i.e. $10,000 per month? 

The answer is yes, provided you are a Qatari citizen protected by the most influential figures in this extremely rich gas-producing Emirate!

The recent revelations by the Wall Street Journal on the shortcomings of the UN sanctions against the financers of terrorism have lifted the lid off the bizarre story of Khalifa al-Subaiy, an eminent figure in the Central Bank of Qatar and generous benefactor… of al-Qaida!

When the preparations for the 9/11 attacks entered their active phase in spring 2000, al-Subaiy was at the head of the fight against money laundering and financial crime in the Central Bank of Qatar (see the column by Roland Jacquard, page 10). An ideal cover to carry out, with complete impunity, his secret activities as a financial backer of the highest echelons of al-Qaida, among them the ‘brain’ of the 9/11 attacks, Khalid Sheikh Mohamed. 

We had to wait seven years to see the name of this ‘terror sponsor’ written down on the blacklists of the UN and the US Treasury. His bank accounts were theoretically frozen at the time. However, we now discover that the Qatari authorities intervened before the Security Council to obtain exemptions that would allow him to withdraw no less than $120,000 per year from his ‘frozen assets’ without anyone expressing the slightest concern for more than a decade! 

Even more serious, US diplomatic telegrams revealed by WikiLeaks indicate that as well as these exemptions that allowed him to access a part of his frozen assets, al-Subaiy also has an active bank account, something that should be forbidden to anyone wanted for funding terrorism. These telegrams also provide proof that the US authorities knew about the largesse he benefited from and have not done anything, or hardly anything, to put a stop to it.

We had to wait until March 2008, following a sentence in absentia condemning al-Subaiy in Bahrain for activities supporting terrorism after 9/11, for the US Administration to finally exert pressure on Doha forcing them to undertake proceedings against him. As a result, he was imprisoned, but senior figures from the Qatari power soon intervened to obtain his release. They did such a good job that he was freed less than six months later, and the sub-Secretary of the US Treasury, David Cohen, made a feeble protest, lamenting that “the authorities in Doha adopt lax jurisdictions in the fight against the funding of terrorism”. 

Bolstered by this impunity, guaranteed to him by his closeness to certain key members of the princely family of Qatar such as the former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Hamad Bin Jassim al-Thani, al-Subaiy did not take long to return to his activities as a ‘terror sposor’ by raising funds -once again- for networks linked to al-Qaida and ISIS. He does not even conceal these activities, and even goes as far as disseminating videos on social media in which he exhorts his countrymen to make donations to the Jihadist cause.  

5 Dates:

11 September 2001: The attacks on the Twin Towers of the Word Trade Center in New York, causing 2,977 deaths.
1 March 2003: The ‘brain’ behind 9/11, Khalid Sheikh Mohamed, is arrested in Rawalpindi (Pakistan).
March 2008: The Qatari authorities imprison Khalifa al-Subaiy, and then release him six months later.
10 October 2008: The UN Security Council puts al-Subaiy on the blacklist of financers of terrorism.
20 June 2019: The Wall Street Journal reveals that al-Subaiy gets around the freezing of his assets and continues to finance terrorism.

Le financier du « cerveau » du 11 septembre sévit toujours !



Peut-on financer ouvertement le « cerveau » de l’attentat terroriste le plus spectaculaire et le plus meurtrier de l’Histoire, qui a ébranlé la première puissance mondiale, faisant près de 3000 victimes, et échapper à toute poursuite ou inculpation ?Pis encore, peut-on être inscrit sur les listes noires de l’ONU et du Trésor américain et continuer, durant dix ans, à accéder, en douce, à ses avoirs censés être gelés, pour y retirer la coquette somme de 120 milles dollars par an, soit 10.000 $ par mois ? 

 

La réponse est oui, à condition d’être un citoyen du Qatar, protégé par les personnalités les plus influentes de ce richissime émirat gazier !

Les récentes révélations du Wall Street Journal, au sujet des lacunes des sanctions onusiennes contre les financiers du terrorisme, ont levé le voile sur la rocambolesque histoire de Khalifa al-Subaiy, éminent cadre de la banque centrale du Qatar et généreux mécène… d’al-Qaida !

Lorsque les préparatifs des attaques du 11 septembre 2001 sont entrés en phase active, durant le printemps 2000, al-Subaiy était responsable de la lutte contre le blanchiment et la criminalité financière (lire la chronique de Roland Jacquard, page 10) au sein la banque centrale du Qatar. Une couverture idéale pour se prêter, en toute impunité, à ses activités secrètes de bailleur de fonds au profit des cadres les plus éminents d’al-Qaida, dont le « cerveau » du 11 septembre, Khalid Sheikh Mohamed. 

Il fallait attendre sept ans pour voir le nom de ce « mécène de la terreur » inscrit sur les listes noires de l’ONU et du Trésor américain. Ses comptes bancaires sont alors, théoriquement, gelés. Mais, on découvre aujourd’hui que les autorités qataries sont intervenues auprès du Conseil de sécurité pour obtenir des dérogations lui permettant de retirer de ses avoirs gelés pas moins de 120.000 $ par an, sans que personne ne s’en émeuve durant plus d’une décennie ! 

Plus grave, des télégrammes diplomatiques américains, révélés par WikiLeaks, rapportent qu’en plus de ces dérogations lui permettant d’accéder à une partie de ses avoirs gelés, al-Subaiy dispose toujours d’un compte bancaire actif, ce qui devrait être interdit à toute personne fichée pour financement du terrorisme. Télégrammes qui apportent, par ailleurs, la preuve que les autorités américaines étaient au courant des largesses dont il bénéficiait et n’ont rien fait, ou presque, pour les faire cesser.  

Il fallait attendre mars 2008, suite à une condamnation, par contumace, d’al-Subaiy au Bahreïn, pour des activités de soutien au terrorisme postérieures au 11 septembre, pour que l’Administration américaine exerce, enfin, des pressions sur Doha pour la contraindre à engager des poursuites à son encontre. Il est alors incarcéré. Mais, très vite, de hautes personnalités au sein de pouvoir Qatari interviennent pour le faire libérer. Tant et si bien qu’il recouvre la liberté moins de six plus tard. Et le sous secrétaire du Trésor américain, David Cohen, se contente de protester du bout des lèvres, déplorant que « les autorités de Doha adoptent des juridictions laxistes en matière de lutte contre le financement du terrorisme »  

Fort de cette impunité, que lui  a assuré sa proximité avec certaines grandes figures de la famille princière du Qatar, al-Subaiy n’a pas tardé à renouer avec ses activités de « mécène de la terreur », en levant, à nouveaux, des fonds pour des réseaux liés à al-Qaida et à Daech. Activités dont il ne se cache même pas, allant jusqu’à diffuser sur les réseaux sociaux des vidéos dans lesquelles il exhorte ses compatriotes à faire des dons pour la cause djihadiste.   

5 Dates :

11 septembre 2001 : les attaques contre les tours jumelles du Word Trade Center à New York font 2977 morts.
1 mars 2003 : le « cerveau » du 11 septembre, Khalid Sheikh Mohamed, est arrêté à Rawalpindi au Pakistan.
Mars 2008 : les autorités qataries emprisonnent Khalifa al-Subaiy, puis le relaxent six mois plus tard.
10 octobre 2008 : le conseil de sécurité de l’ONU inscrit al-Subaiy sur la liste noire des financiers du terrorisme.
20 juin 2019 : le Wall Street Journal révèle qu’al-Subaiy contourne le gel de ses avoirs et continue à financer le terrorisme.