fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
D.R

 

Disappearance of Jean-Pierre Marongiu, former French detainee in Qatar

14 June 2023 News   8231  

The former French detainee in Qatar, Jean-Pierre Marongiu, died on June 13 in Nancy. This engineer had set up a management training company in Qatar. In 2013, he was not only robbed by his Qatari “associate”, but sentenced to seven years in prison. Jean-Pierre Marongiu was not released until 2018. Since then, he has published several books on his imprisonment.

By Ian Hamel

Born in Tunisia and a graduate of the arts and crafts school in Aix-en-Provence, Jean-Pierre Marongiu travelled to many continents before settling in Qatar in 2006. Although he was the sole investor, under the Kafala system (a system of guardianship) he had to form a partnership with a Qatari who held 51% of the shares, to set up his company. For six years, Pro & Sys prospered. But in 2012, the Qatari partner asked him to sell his shares free of charge. When Jean-Pierre Marongiu, who estimated his assets at €4 million, resisted, his partner emptied the company’s accounts. The French entrepreneur was prosecuted in Qatar for writing bad cheques. He was sentenced to seven years’ imprisonment.

In 2008, Jean-Pierre Marongiu was elected chairman of the Union des Français à l’étranger  (Union of French people abroad ), but the French embassy in Doha not only failed to come to his rescue, but continued to tarnish his image. The author of this article witnessed this first-hand in 2017. It took numerous articles in the French press before the entrepreneur was finally pardoned by the Emir of Qatar in July 2018 and allowed to return to France. Jean-Pierre Marongiu had returned to his job as an engineer. Until a few weeks ago, he was working in Gabon, before illness caught up with him.

He was also a lecturer and writer, and had published several works about his imprisonment for Nouveaux Auteurs editions, including “Qaptif ! Un Français, otage du Qatar”, “InQarcéré”, “Aussi noire que soit ma nuit, je reviendrai vers toi”.

Complaint against the former Qatar prosecutor

Jean-Pierre Marongiu filed a complaint on 6 December 2021 with the office of the senior examining magistrate at the Paris Court of First Instance. He accused Ali Bin Fetais Al-Marri, then Attorney General of Qatar, of having refused “to allow him to be defended and refused to investigate those responsible for the deficit in the company’s bank accounts”. The engineer remained in detention for almost 5 years, “without ever having been brought before any judicial body and without knowing how long he would remain locked up”.

   On the other hand, the French consular authorities considered that Jean-Pierre Marongiu “was being held ‘legally’ and in perfectly suitable conditions, and that they were therefore unable to take any action”.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
D.R

 

Disparition de Jean-Pierre Marongiu, ancien détenu français au Qatar

14 juin 2023 News   8063  

L’ex détenu français au Qatar, Jean-Pierre Marongiu, es décédé le 13 juin à Nancy. Cet ingénieur avait créé une société de formation au management au Qatar. En 2013, il est non seulement spolié par son “associé“ qatari, mais condamné à sept ans de prison. Jean-Pierre Marongiu ne sera libéré qu’en 2018. Depuis, il avait publié plusieurs ouvrages sur sa détention.

Par Ian Hamel

Né en Tunisie, diplômé des arts et métiers d’Aix-en-Provence, Jean-Pierre Marongiu va rouler sa bosse sur de nombreux continents avant de s’établir au Qatar en 2006. Même s’il est le seul investisseur, conformément à la Kafala (un système de mise sous tutelle) il doit s’associer à un Qatari qui détient 51 % des actions, pour créer son entreprise. Pendant six ans, la société Pro & Sys prospère. Mais en 2012, l’associé qatari lui demande de lui céder gratuitement ses parts. Comme Jean-Pierre Marongiu, qui estime ses avoirs à 4 millions d’euros, résiste, son partenaire vide les comptes de la société. L’entrepreneur français se voit poursuivi par la justice qatarie pour… chèques sans provisions. Il est condamné à sept ans d’emprisonnement.

Alors que Jean-Pierre Marongiu avait été élu en 2008 président de l’Union des Français à l’étranger, l’ambassade de France à Doha non seulement ne vient pas à sa rescousse, mais ne cesse de noircir son image. L’auteur de l’article a pu en être témoin en 2017. Il a fallu de nombreux articles dans la presse tricolore pour que l’entrepreneur soit finalement gracié par l’émir du Qatar en juillet 2018 et qu’il puisse revenir dans l’Hexagone. Jean-Pierre Marongiu avait repris son métier d’ingénieur. Il y a quelques semaines encore, il travaillait au Gabon, avant que la maladie ne le rattrape.

Par ailleurs conférencier et écrivain, il avait publié plusieurs ouvrages sur sa détention aux éditions Nouveaux Auteurs, « Qaptif ! Un Français, otage du Qatar », « InQarcéré », « Aussi noire que soit ma nuit, je reviendrai vers toi ».

Plainte contre l’ancien procureur du Qatar

Jean-Pierre Marongiu avait déposé une plainte le 6 décembre 2021 auprès du cabinet du doyen des juges d’instruction, près du Tribunal judiciaire de Paris. Il accusait Ali Bin Fetais Al-Marri, alors procureur général du Qatar, d’avoir refusé « qu’il soit défendu et refusait d’investiguer afin de rechercher les responsables de la situation déficitaire des comptes bancaires de la société ». L’ingénieur est resté détenu près de 5 années, « sans n’avoir jamais été présenté à une quelconque instance judiciaire et sans savoir combien de temps il allait resté enfermé ».

En revanche, les autorités consulaires françaises considéraient que Jean-Pierre Marongiu, « était détenu “légalement“ et dans des conditions parfaitement convenables, que par conséquent, elles ne pouvaient pas agir ».