fbpx
 
 

 

Tunisia, new colony of Qatar?



Martine Gozlan (*)

Tunisia’s misfortune makes Qatar’s colonial happiness. Indeed, it is against the backdrop of a country decimated by the coronavirus – the death rate is the highest in Africa – that a bill has been passed allowing the “Qatar Fund For Development” to manage the financial interests between Tunisia and Qatar. A real treaty that will allow Doha to intervene directly in the Tunisian economy, with considerable advantages for the backers of Islamism.

This project was massively supported by the Ennahdha party, its allies in the Al-Karama coalition made up of extremist preachers and their lawyers, as well as by a government under the orders of Rached Ghannouchi, leader of the Islamist party and president of the Parliament. The session took place in unprecedented circumstances that earned Tunisia a UN condemnation for “violence against women politicians”. Under the Bardo dome, the supposed, or rather fantasised, temple of Arab democracy, two MPs punched and kicked Abir Moussi, 46, president of the Free Destourian Party. This pasionaria, regularly threatened with death, is the most popular leader of the opposition. She demands the departure of the Islamists from Parliament and never lets go of the microphone to affirm her refusal of the laws and behaviours they are trying to impose.

Abir Moussi therefore opposed the vote on the pro-Qatar law. It was then that Seifeddine Makhlouf, leader of Karama, and Sahbi Smara, a supporter of the movement, pounced on her, a few hours apart, without fearing the cameras filming the debates. This shows the feeling of impunity enjoyed by the Islamists. These scenes shed a sinister light on the reality of a country that was the star of the much-maligned Arab Spring. A triple battle is taking place: against women, against institutions and against the country’s independence.

And all the while, death strikes as governmental indigence in the health crisis has reduced beautiful Tunisia to a shadow of its former self. The health system has collapsed. A head doctor at the hospital in Mateur, in the north-west, collapsed crying: his patients were dying for lack of oxygen. Only the SOS of the spokeswoman of the Ministry of Health could start saving lives. Vaccines and oxygen were sent from all over the world. President Kaïs Saied, in conflict with Rached Ghannouchi, no longer trusts anyone: he has requisitioned the army to ensure the logistics of distributing donations to his country, which has been reduced to the status of a “beggar State”, according to the Tunisian press.

Of course, among all the international shipments – France, in particular, provided a million doses of vaccine – is a field hospital donated by Doha, which owed it to its new satellite. Despite the violence, Abir Moussi, in Parliament, stood up to her enemies until midnight, but the law on the “Qatar Development Fund” was passed at dawn on 1 July.

However, this may be a victory in disguise. For anger is rumbling in Tunisian opinion. The major trauma is that of a country abandoned by those in charge and dependent on international charity. This sensation, painful in the nation of Habib Bourguiba, once so admired, triggers other electroshocks. Thus, combining negligence with cynicism, Ennahdha, through the voice of one of its leaders, Abdelkrim Harouni, claimed billions of dinars in compensation from the government for “the victims of Ben Ali’s dictatorship”, identified as its supporters. It is an operation to win back his electorate, scalded by the inability of the party in power to manage the pandemic. As a result, the rage has flared up. A Facebook group entitled “No to the shameful allowances” has gathered almost five hundred thousand signatures. The comments on all the sites reflect the disgust of Tunisians. “They are beating their heads against the ground and saying Dinar Akbar”, among other gracious comments. Faced with this revolt, the author of the call for billions retracted his statement and the Islamist party incriminates “a rumour from the Kasbah [the government]”. But a new scandal is emerging. Rached Ghannouchi is protecting a former prosecutor of the republic, Bechir Akremi. The latter would have concealed evidence in the case of the political assassinations of Chokri Belaid and Mohamed Brami, leftist opponents killed in 2013. Akremi is also suspected of having whitewashed numerous terrorist files. Coincidentally, the Defence Committee for the Memory of Belaid and Brami made the accusations public at a press conference on the same day that violence was unleashed in parliament. But the Superior Council of the Magistracy, in a remarkable move of independence, decided to suspend Akremi from his current position as a judge and to bring him to justice.

There are still resisters in Tunisia!

* Journalist and essayist, editor in chief at weekly magazine Marianne, specialist in Islamism and Middle-East affairs.

fbpx
 
 

 

Tunisie, nouvelle colonie du Qatar ?



Martine Gozlan (*)

Le malheur tunisien fait le bonheur colonial du Qatar. C’est en effet sur la toile de fond d’un pays décimé par le Coronavirus -le taux de décès y est le plus élevé d’Afrique- qu’a été voté un projet de loi permettant au « Qatar Fund for development » de gérer les intérêts financiers entre la Tunisie et le Qatar. Un véritable traité qui autorisera Doha à intervenir directement dans l’économie tunisienne, avec des avantages considérables pour les bailleurs de fonds de l’islamisme.

Ce projet était massivement soutenu par le parti Ennahdha, ses alliés de la coalition Al-Karama composée de prédicateurs extrémistes et de leurs avocats, ainsi que par un gouvernement aux ordres de Rached Ghannouchi, chef du parti islamiste et président du Parlement. La séance s’est déroulée dans des circonstances inouïes qui ont valu à la Tunisie une condamnation de l’ONU pour « violence faite aux femmes politiques ». Sous la coupole du Bardo, temple supposé, ou plutôt fantasmé, de la démocratie arabe, deux députés ont frappé en effet à coups de poing et à coup de pied Abir Moussi, 46 ans, présidente du Parti destourien libre. Cette pasionaria, régulièrement menacée de mort, est la plus populaire des leaders de l’opposition. Elle réclame le départ des islamistes du Parlement et ne lâche jamais le micro pour affirmer son refus des lois et des comportements qu’ils tentent d’imposer.

Abir Moussi s’opposait donc au vote de la loi pro-Qatar. C’est alors que Seifeddine Makhlouf, chef de Karama, et  Sahbi Smara, sympathisant du mouvement, se sont jetés sur elle, à quelques heures d’intervalle, sans redouter les caméras qui filmaient les débats. C’est dire le sentiment d’impunité dont jouissent les islamistes. Ces scènes jettent une lumière sinistre sur la réalité d’un pays qui fut la star des très mal-nommés printemps arabes. Il s’y déroule une triple bataille : contre les femmes, contre les institutions et contre l’indépendance du pays.

Et pendant ce temps-là, la mort frappe, tant l’indigence gouvernementale dans la crise sanitaire a réduit la belle Tunisie à l’ombre d’elle-même. Le système de santé s’est effondré. Un médecin-chef de l’hôpital de Mateur, au nord-ouest, s’est écroulé en pleurant : ses patients meurent, faute d’oxygène. Seul le SOS de la porte-parole du ministère de la Santé a pu commencé à sauver des vies. Du monde entier on a envoyé des vaccins et de l’oxygène. Le président Kaïs Saied, en conflit avec Rached Ghannouchi, ne fait plus confiance à qui que ce soit : il a réquisitionné l’armée pour assurer la logistique de la distribution des dons à son pays réduit, selon la presse tunisienne, au statut « d’Etat mendiant ».

Bien sûr, parmi tous les envois internationaux -la France, notamment, a fourni un million de doses de vaccins- il y a un hôpital de campagne offert par Doha qui devait bien cela à son nouveau satellite. Malgré la violence, Abir Moussi, au Parlement, a tenu tête à ses ennemis jusqu’à minuit, mais la loi sur le « Qatar Development Fund » a été votée à l’aube du 1er juillet.

Seulement, il s’agit peut-être d’une victoire en trompe l’oeil. Car la colère gronde dans l’opinion tunisienne. Le traumatisme majeur est celui d’un pays abandonné par ceux qui en ont la charge, et dépendant de la charité internationale. Cette sensation, douloureuse dans la nation de Habib Bourguiba naguère si admirée, déclenche d’autres électrochocs. Ainsi, alliant l’incurie au cynisme, Ennahdha, par la voix de l’un de ses leaders, Abdelkrim Harouni, a réclamé au gouvernement des milliards de dinars d’indemnités pour « les victimes de la dictature de Ben Ali », identifiés comme ses sympathisants. Il s’agit d’une opération de reconquête de son électorat, échaudé par l’incapacité du parti au pouvoir à gérer la pandémie. Du coup, la rage a déferlé. Un groupe Facebook intitulé « Non aux indemnités de la honte ! » a rassemblé près de cinq cents mille signatures. Les commentaires sur tous les sites traduisent le dégoût des Tunisiens. « Ils se frappent la tête contre le sol en disant Dinar Akbar ! » peut-on lire entre autres gracieusetés. Devant cette révolte l’auteur de l’appel aux milliards s’est rétracté et le parti islamiste incrimine « une rumeur montée de la Kasbah [le gouvernement] ». Mais un nouveau scandale se profile. Rached Ghannouchi protège un ancien procureur de la république, Bechir Akremi. Celui-ci aurait dissimulé des preuves dans le dossier des assassinats politiques de Chokri Belaid et Mohamed Brami, opposants de gauche tués en 2013. On soupçonne aussi Akremi d’avoir blanchi de nombreux dossiers de terroristes. Coïncidence : le comité de défense pour la mémoire de Belaid et Brami a rendu publiques les accusations lors d’une conférence de presse le jour même où se déchainait la violence au Parlement. Mais le Conseil supérieur de la magistrature, dans un remarquable mouvement d’indépendance, a décidé de suspendre Akremi de ses actuelles fonctions de juge et de le traduire devant la justice.

Il y a encore des résistants en Tunisie !

* Journaliste et essayiste, rédactrice en chef à l’hebdomadaire Marianne, spécialiste de l’islamisme et du Moyen-Orient.