fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Secret Qatari-Turkish alliance to support the Muslim Brotherhood in Europe

12 January 2022 Investigations   62897  

A confidential report by a European intelligence agency October 2021 mentions a secret alliance between Qatar and Turkey, sealed during a “coordination meeting” dedicated to strengthening collaboration between the two countries on “support for the Muslim Brotherhood in Europe”.
We reproduce here large excerpts from this edifying report:

INTRODUCTION

Turkey and Qatar started to actively support the European Muslim Brotherhood at the same time: in the second half of the 2000s, after the AKP took full control of the Turkish political scene, holding the presidency and the prime ministerial posts. Around the same time, Qatar, through Qatar Charity, started funding Muslim Brotherhood groups in Europe as well.

Turkey has aligned itself with pro-Hamas/pro-Gaza Islamist groups in Europe and Qatar has started to support the construction of mosques and smaller projects such as sponsoring Islamist summer camps.

[…]

In Europe, Turkey and Qatar operated in different ways. Turkey worked through its embassies or its Directorate of Religious Affairs (Diyanet) and well-organised mosque structures such as DITIB and Milli Görüs in a more political way. By supporting the pro-Gaza/pro-Hamas movement, Turkey has tried to make inroads into Muslim communities of other origins in Europe. Many Muslims can be activated when the Palestinian cause is raised.

Thus, by joining the well-organised pro-Gaza machine of Hamas and the Muslim Brotherhood, Turkey gained the respect and support of the Muslim Brotherhood in Europe. At the same time, at a higher level, Turkey has started to host and facilitate the bi-annual and annual meetings of the European Muslim Brotherhood. These coordination conferences have been held, since 2010, almost exclusively in Istanbul. Muslim Brotherhood groups such as the Federation of Islamic Organisations in Europe (FIOE), renamed the Council of European Muslims (CEM), and the European Council for Fatwa and Research (ECFR) prefer to meet in Istanbul, which is considered a friendly environment and a safe place.

[…]

QATAR CHARITY UK

In 2012 Qatar Charity UK (QCUK) was set up to fund Muslim Brotherhood operations. It was launched in 2014, but it wasn’t until 2015 that the Qataris understood how and who they would fund. During 2014, QCUK considered applications for funding from centres in the US, Canada, UK, Sweden, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Ukraine, Switzerland and Spain. A total of £38 million was sent by Qatar Charity in Doha to QCUK from 2014 to 2020.

[…]

QATAR KEEPS A LOW PROFILE IN EUROPE

There is a lot of coordination going on between Turkey and Qatar as well, regarding collaboration with the European Muslim Brotherhood. Although Qatar is a serious funder of the Muslim Brotherhood and Turkey an important facilitator and supporter, more insight is needed. Since 2017, QCUK has not received any significant funding. New projects have not been undertaken.

As Qatar scaled back its operations through the Qatar Charity UK (QCUK) office in the run-up to the 2022 FIFA World Cup, there had to be a coordination meeting between Turkey and Qatar regarding support for the Muslim Brotherhood in Europe. Qatar Charity UK was founded in 2012 and quickly came under scrutiny by investigators into the spread of Islamism in Europe.

QCUK was very active in funding the Muslim Brotherhood movement in Europe and with Qatari money the Muslim Brotherhood in many countries was able to establish itself and build schools and mosques (multi-purpose Islamic centres). QCUK has funded the construction of Islamic centres and schools in many countries, including the UK, France, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands and Sweden. After much scrutiny, QCUK’s management has changed several times and its name has been changed to Nectar Trust. At present, the Nectar Trust does not appear to be taking on any new projects and only funds long and medium term projects that were agreed upon years ago.

With the 2022 FIFA World Cup approaching, Qatar does not want to be subject to negative publicity related to the financing of Islamism in Europe. Qatari entrepreneurs in Europe are trying to keep the corruption related to the organisation of the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar as quiet as possible. Multiple private investigation firms, PR and communications companies and cyber security firms in Switzerland, France, the UK and the US are working around the clock and invading people’s privacy by hacking, watching and probably intimidating people who have evidence of Qatar’s wrongdoing.

In this context, it is understandable that Qatar is ready to hand over to Turkey. Turkey is eager to become the protector of Europe’s Muslims. The only problem is that most Muslims who are not Turkish denounce the Turkish umbrella. One of the few groups that have been taken under Turkey’s wings since 2008 is the Muslim Brotherhood.

IBRAHIM EL-ZAYAT: THE IDEAL INTERMEDIARY

German Ibrahim El-Zayat. El-Zayat is a former president of the Islamische Gemeinde Deutschland (IGD) and is involved in all things Muslim Brotherhood in Europe, including charity work at Islamic Relief Worldwide, a board member of the European Muslim Brotherhood, the Federation Of Islamic Organisations In Europe (FIOE) and a member of the financial monitoring organisation Europe Trust.

El-Zayat was the president of the Federation Of Muslim Youth And Student Organisations (FEMYSO) and the head of the World Assembly Of Muslim Youth (WAMY) in Europe. Both organisations shared the same building and had adjacent offices in Brussels. All the institutions mentioned in combination with El-Zayat are central organisations of the European Muslim Brotherhood.

Ibrahim El-Zayat is married to Sabiha Erbakan who is a niece of Necmettin Erbakan, the founder of the Islamische Gemeinschaft Milli Görüs (IGMG). Erbakan is considered the father of the Turkish Islamist movement in Europe and Turkey, and has had a lot of influence on the current president Erdogan. el-Zayat’s brother-in-law, Mehmet Sabri Erbakan, has long been a leader of the IGMG.

Mehmet Erbakan was also the director of the organisation that owns all the IGMG-owned mosques in Germany. This organisation, called Europäische Moscheen Bau-und Unterstützungs Gemeinschaft [European Mosque Building Association] (EMUG) had Ibrahim El-Zayat as its director. El-Zayat is also the director of the building organisation IGMG in the Netherlands.

El-Zayat has a rather discreet presence but is probably the most influential member of the Muslim Brotherhood in Europe. He tries to stay out of the limelight but attended the Turkish-Muslim Brotherhood meeting in January 2019 in el-Zayat’s home town of Cologne.

JANUARY 2019 MEETING IN COLOGNE: A TURKISH TAKEOVER?

 The January 2019 meeting in Cologne was the second meeting on the future of Muslims in Europe. It was organised by the Turkish Directorate of Religious Affairs (Diyanet) and the Turkish Islamic Union for Religious Affairs (DITIB), the largest umbrella organisation of mosques in Germany. The first meeting in 2014 focused on Muslims in the Balkan countries.

This meeting was attended by over 100 people from at least 17 countries. In contrast to the first meeting, the Muslim Brotherhood appears to have been the only non-Turkish representative of European Muslims at this meeting. Speakers were either Turkish or Muslim Brotherhood representatives.

The third meeting in Cologne consisted of five sessions in which two European Muslim Brotherhood scholars took the lead. The first session, entitled “The Future of Muslims in Europe”: Özcan Hidir (Turkish professor at the Universities of Rotterdam and Istanbul), Khaled Hanafi (Deputy Secretary General of the European Council for Fatwa and Research) and Jasser Auda (professor at Hamad bin Khalifa University in Doha, Qatar).

A second session chaired by a representative of the European Brotherhood was entitled “Negative effects on Muslims of separatist movements with religious connotations” and was led by Hussein Halawa, Secretary General of the European Council for Fatwa and Research. Most of the participants in the meeting represented Turkish organisations or representatives of the Muslim Brotherhood.

Not much came out of the meeting, apart from an official final communiqué, so we don’t really know what coordination took place between the Muslim Brotherhood and Diyanet. The January 2019 meeting was accompanied by a final communiqué which was read by Ali Erbas, the head of DIYANET, who chaired the event. An interesting part of the final communique says: “Terrorist organisations such as FETÖ, IS (DAESCH), PKK, Boko Haram, al- Shabab as elements of confusion, discord and anarchy in the Islamic world abuse Islamic terms and human values.”

In this case, what is interesting is what is not said. The Turks and the Muslim Brotherhood did not mention al-Qaeda, Hayat Tahrir al-Sham and Ahrar al-Sham as terrorist organisations, but they did mention the Fetullah GÜLEN organisation, FETÖ. In Syria and Libya, Turkey and Qatar work with and support groups linked to al-Qaeda, and even al-Qaeda itself. Thus, mentioning these groups as terrorists that directly involve Turkey was simply left out.

[…]

EVALUATION

In Europe, the Qatar-Turkey alliance in favour of the Muslim Brotherhood looks more like a handover than an in-depth cooperation between the two groups. Qatar Charity’s operations in Europe have been well-funded but Nectar Trust’s income since 2017 has been almost zero. New projects are not being taken up and the Turkish Religious Affairs Directorate DIYANET seems to want to take over support for the Muslim Brotherhood in Western Europe.

There are probably two reasons for the Qatar Charity. The first is the 2022 FIFA World Cup and the second is the fact that less money is better in projects in Africa and Asia. Qatar Charity has compiled a list of projects for operations in Europe and has implemented them. In addition, in Europe, Qatari investments are under greater scrutiny and the Qatar brand is increasingly linked to corruption and scandals. Support for an Islamist current has no place there.

[…]

Turkey’s progress with the European Muslim Brotherhood may not be satisfactory, as many non-Turkish Islamists do not like the “Ottoman power game” and see Turkish Islamism as not identical to their brotherhood. It remains to be seen whether Turkey will be able to take over the MB [Muslim Brotherhood] movement in Europe. Although many young Muslim Brothers (converts) see Erdogan as a strong Islamist figure, they are less willing to accept Turkish religious bureaucrats as their religious superiors.

ANNEXE: HOW DID TURKEY BECOME AN INCUBATOR AND SUPPORTER OF ISLAMISM?

 In 2002, the Turkish General Staff organised a conference for all Turkish generals and admirals at the General Staff headquarters in Ankara. According to one participant in this conference, the only reason for the conference was to help Turkey enter the European Union. European politicians used the argument that Turkey was not a true democracy because the Turkish armed forces “were the guardians of the state” and had repeatedly intervened in Turkish politics through a coup d’état.

The Turkish generals listened carefully to Europe’s criticism and saw that there was a problem. They came up with a solution to the problem. At the end of the conference, they decided that Turkish democracy was sufficiently secular and robust that they could stand back. So the Turkish generals took the historic decision not to intervene in politics anymore. De facto, the armed forces handed over power to civilian politicians and the Supreme Court.

The decision of the Turkish generals did not make headlines in Europe and went unnoticed in Europe. It did not bring Turkey into the European Union. The Turkish generals did not see the rising tide of populism in Europe. One of the countries experiencing a rise in populism was the Netherlands, where Geert Wilders was gaining ground with his political party, the PVV, and where Pim Fortuyn, if he had not been murdered, would have become prime minister.

On 16 December 2004, the European Council declared that Turkey had sufficiently fulfilled the criteria to open accession negotiations from October 2005. This happened during the Dutch Presidency of the European Council. In December 2006, the first problems between the EU countries and Turkey arose when Turkey refused to apply the Additional Protocol to the Ankara Agreement to Cyprus. The European Council decided that eight chapters of the negotiations could not and would not be opened, thus ending the negotiations for Turkey’s accession to the European Union.

The failure of Europe and Turkey to reach an agreement has allowed Erdogan to strengthen his power and extend his influence in Turkey. Playing the card of nationalism and religion in Turkey, his AK Party took control of the Parliament, was able to form a government, took the seat of Prime Minister and the Presidency. A totally Islamist takeover.

The Turkish armed forces kept their word, but that did not help them to enter Europe.

fbpx
 
 

 

Une alliance secrète qataro-turque pour soutenir les Frères musulmans en Europe



Un rapport confidentiel établi par une agence européenne de renseignement, en octobre 2021, fait état d’une alliance secrète entre le Qatar et la Turquie, scellée lors d’une « réunion de coordination » dédiée au renfoncement de la collaboration entre les deux pays au sujet du « soutien aux Frères musulmans en Europe ».
Nous reproduisons ici de larges extraits de cet édifiant rapport :

INTRODUCTION

La Turquie et le Qatar ont commencé à soutenir activement les Frères musulmans européens à la même époque : dans la seconde moitié des années 2000, après que l’AKP ait pris le contrôle total de la scène politique turque, en ayant la présidence et les postes de premier ministre. À peu près à la même époque, le Qatar, par le biais de Qatar Charity, a commencé à financer des groupes de Frères musulmans en Europe également.

La Turquie s’est alignée sur les groupes islamistes pro-Hamas/pro-Gaza en Europe et le Qatar a commencé à soutenir la construction de mosquées et de plus petits projets comme le parrainage de camps d’été islamistes.

[…]

En Europe, la Turquie et le Qatar ont opéré de manière différente. La Turquie travaillait par le biais de ses ambassades ou de sa direction des affaires religieuses (Diyanet) et des structures de mosquées bien organisées comme DITIB et Milli Görüs de manière plus politique. En soutenant le mouvement pro-Gaza/pro-Hamas, la Turquie a essayé de faire des percées dans les communautés musulmanes d’autres origines en Europe. De nombreux musulmans peuvent être activés lorsque la cause palestinienne est évoquée.

Ainsi, en rejoignant la machine pro-Gaza bien organisée par le Hamas et les Frères musulmans, la Turquie a gagné le respect et le soutien des Frères musulmans en Europe. En même temps, à un niveau plus élevé, la Turquie a commencé à accueillir et à faciliter les réunions semestrielles et annuelles des Frères musulmans européens. Ces conférences de coordination se tiennent, depuis 2010, presque exclusivement à Istanbul. Les groupes de Frères musulmans tels que la Fédération des organisations islamiques en Europe (FIOE), rebaptisée Conseil des musulmans européens (CME), et le Conseil européen pour la fatwa et la recherche (ECFR) préfèrent se réunir à Istanbul, qui est considéré comme un environnement amical et un lieu sûr.

[…]

QATAR CHARITY UK

En 2012, Qatar Charity UK (QCUK) a été créé pour financer les opérations des Frères musulmans. Elle a été lancée en 2014, mais il a fallu attendre 2015 pour que les Qataris aient compris comment et qui ils allaient financer. Au cours de l’année 2014, QCUK a examiné les demandes de financement de centres situés aux États-Unis, au Canada, au Royaume-Uni, en Suède, en Belgique, en France, en Allemagne, en Italie, en Ukraine, en Suisse et en Espagne. Au total, 38 millions de livres sterling ont été envoyées par l’association Qatar Charity à Doha à QCUK de 2014 à 2020.

[…]

LE QATAR FAIT PROFIL BAS EN EUROPE

Il y a beaucoup de coordination en cours entre la Turquie et le Qatar également, au sujet de la collaboration avec les Frères musulmans européens. Bien que le Qatar soit un financeur sérieux des Frères Musulmans et la Turquie un facilitateur et un soutien important, plus de perspicacité est nécessaire. Depuis 2017, QCUK n’a pas reçu de fonds importants. De nouveaux projets n’ont pas été entrepris.

Alors que le Qatar réduisait ses opérations par le biais du bureau de Qatar Charity UK (QCUK) à l’approche de la Coupe du Monde de la FIFA 2022, il a dû y avoir une réunion de coordination entre la Turquie et le Qatar concernant le soutien aux Frères musulmans en Europe. Qatar Charity UK a été fondé en 2012 et a rapidement fait l’objet d’un examen minutieux de la part des enquêteurs sur la propagation de l’islamisme en Europe.

QCUK finançait très activement le courant des Frères musulmans en Europe et avec l’argent qatari, les Frères musulmans dans de multiples pays ont pu s’établir et construire des écoles et des mosquées (centres islamiques polyvalents). Le QCUK a financé la construction de centres islamiques et d’écoles islamiques dans de nombreux pays, notamment au Royaume-Uni, en France, en Italie, en Belgique, aux Pays-Bas et en Suède. Après un examen minutieux, la direction de QCUK a changé plusieurs fois et son nom a été changé en Nectar Trust. Actuellement, le Nectar Trust ne semble pas prendre en charge de nouveaux projets et ne finance que des projets à long et moyen terme qui ont été convenus il y a des années.

À l’approche de la Coupe du monde de la FIFA 2022, le Qatar ne souhaite pas faire l’objet d’une publicité négative liée au financement de l’islamisme en Europe. Les entrepreneurs qataris en Europe s’efforcent de garder le plus possible sous silence la corruption liée à l’organisation de la Coupe du monde de la FIFA au Qatar en 2022. De multiples sociétés d’enquête privées, des sociétés de relations publiques et de communication et des sociétés de cybersécurité en Suisse, en France, au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis travaillent 24 heures sur 24 et envahissent la vie privée des gens en les piratant, en les observant et probablement en intimidant les personnes qui ont des preuves des malversations du Qatar.

Dans ce contexte, il est donc compréhensible que le Qatar soit prêt à passer le relais à la Turquie. La Turquie est impatiente de devenir le protecteur des musulmans d’Europe. Le seul problème est que la plupart des musulmans qui ne sont pas turcs dénoncent le parapluie turc. L’un des rares groupes qui ont été pris sous les ailes de la Turquie depuis 2008 est celui des Frères musulmans.

IBRAHIM EL-ZAYAT : L’INTERMÉDIAIRE IDÉAL

L’Allemand Ibrahim El-Zayat. El-Zayat est un ancien président de l’islamische Gemeinde Deutschland (IGD) et est impliqué dans tout ce qui concerne les Frères musulmans en Europe, y compris le travail caritatif à Islamic Relief Worldwide, membre du conseil d’administration des Frères musulmans européens, de la Federation Of Islamic Organisations In Europe (FIOE) et membre de l’organisation de contrôle financier Europe Trust.

El-Zayat était le président de la Federation Of Muslim Youth And Student Organisations (FEMYSO) et le chef de l’assemblée Mondiale De La Jeunesse Musulmane (WAMY) en Europe. Les deux organisations partageaient le même bâtiment et avaient des bureaux adjacents à Bruxelles. Toutes les institutions mentionnées en combinaison avec El-Zayat sont des organisations centrales des Frères musulmans européens.

Ibrahim El-Zayat est marié à Sabiha Erbakan qui est une nièce de Necmettin Erbakan, le fondateur de l’Islamische Gemeinschaft Milli Görüs (IGMG). Erbakan est considéré comme le père du mouvement islamiste turc en Europe et en Turquie, et il a eu beaucoup d’influence sur le président actuel Erdogan. Le beau-frère d’el-Zayat, Mehmet Sabri Erbakan, a longtemps été un dirigeant de l’IGMG.

Mehmet Erbakan était également le directeur de l’organisation qui a en sa possession toutes les mosquées appartenant à l’IGMG en Allemagne. Cette organisation, appelée Europäische Moscheen Bau-und Unterstützungs Gemeinschaft [Association européenne de construction de mosquées] (EMUG) avait pour directeur Ibrahim El-Zayat. El-Zayat est également le directeur de l’organisation de construction IGMG aux Pays-Bas.

El-ZAYAT a une présence plutôt discrète mais il est probablement le membre des Frères musulmans le plus influent en Europe. Il essaie de rester hors des feux de la rampe mais a assisté à la réunion turco-frères musulmans en janvier 2019 à Cologne, la ville natale d’el-Zayat.

RÉUNION DE JANVIER 2019 À COLOGNE : UNE PRISE DE POUVOIR TURQUE ?

La réunion de janvier 2019 à Cologne était la deuxième réunion sur l’avenir des musulmans en Europe. Elle était organisée par la Direction turque des affaires religieuses (Diyanet) et l’Union turco-islamique pour les affaires religieuses (DITIB), la plus grande organisation faîtière de mosquées en Allemagne. La première réunion en 2014 avait pour thème les musulmans des pays des Balkans.

Cette réunion a été suivie par plus de 100 personnes provenant d’au moins 17 pays. Contrairement à la première réunion, les Frères musulmans semblent avoir été le seul représentant non turc des musulmans d’Europe à cette réunion. Les orateurs étaient turcs ou représentants des Frères musulmans.

La troisième réunion à Cologne a comporté cinq sessions dans lesquelles deux érudits européens des Frères musulmans ont pris la tête. La première session, intitulée « L’avenir des musulmans en Europe : Özcan Hidir (professeur turc aux universités de Rotterdam et d’Istanbul), Khaled Hanafi (secrétaire général adjoint du Conseil européen pour la fatwa et la recherche) et Jasser Auda (professeur à l’université Hamad bin Khalifa de Doha, au Qatar).

Une deuxième session présidée par un représentant de la Fraternité européenne était intitulée « Effets négatifs sur les musulmans des mouvements séparatistes à connotation religieuse » et était dirigée par Hussein Halawa, secrétaire général du Conseil européen pour la fatwa et la recherche. La plupart des participants à la réunion représentaient des organisations turques ou des représentants des Frères musulmans.

Pas grand-chose n’est sorti de la réunion, à part un communiqué final officiel, donc nous ne savons pas vraiment quelle coordination a eu lieu entre les Frères musulmans et Diyanet. La réunion de janvier 2019 s’est accompagnée d’un communiqué final qui a été lu par Ali Erbas, le chef de DIYANET, qui a présidé l’événement. Une partie intéressante du communiqué final dit : « Les organisations terroristes telles que FETÖ, IS (DAESCH), PKK, Boko Haram, al- Shabab en tant qu’éléments de confusion, de discorde et d’anarchie dans le monde islamique abusent des termes islamiques et des valeurs humaines. »

Dans ce cas, ce qui est intéressant, c’est ce qui n’est pas dit. Les Turcs et les Frères musulmans n’ont pas mentionné Al-Qaïda, Hayat Tahrir al-Cham et Ahrar al-Cham comme étant des organisations terroristes, mais ils ont mentionné l’organisation Fetullah GÜLEN, FETÖ. En Syrie et en Libye, la Turquie et le Qatar travaillent et soutiennent des groupes liés à Al-Qaïda, voire à Al-Qaïda lui-même. Ainsi, mentionner ces groupes comme terroristes qui impliquent directement la Turquie, a simplement été laissé de côté.

[…]

ÉVALUATION

En Europe, l’alliance Qatar-Turquie en faveur des Frères musulmans ressemble davantage à un passage de témoin qu’à une coopération approfondie entre les deux groupes. Les opérations de Qatar Charity en Europe ont été bien financées mais les revenus de Nectar Trust depuis 2017 ont été presque nuls. De nouveaux projets ne sont pas pris en charge et la direction turque des affaires religieuses DIYANET semble vouloir prendre en charge le soutien au courant des Frères musulmans en Europe occidentale.

Il est fort probable que deux raisons soient en jeu concernant l’association Qatar Charity. La première est la Coupe du Monde de la FIFA 2022 et la seconde le fait que moins d’argent fait mieux dans les projets en Afrique et en Asie. Qatar Charity a dressé une liste de projets d’opérations en Europe et les a exécutés. En outre, en Europe, les investissements qataris sont davantage surveillés et la marque Qatar est de plus en plus liée à la corruption et aux scandales. Le soutien à un courant islamiste n’y a pas sa place.

[…]

Les progrès réalisés par la Turquie auprès des Frères musulmans européens pourraient ne pas être satisfaisants, car de nombreux islamistes non turcs n’aiment pas le « jeu de pouvoir ottoman » et considèrent que l’islamisme turc n’est pas identique à leur confrérie. Il faut voir si la Turquie sera capable de prendre le relais du courant MB [Frères musulmans] en Europe. Bien que de nombreux jeunes Frères musulmans (convertis) considèrent Erdogan comme une figure islamiste forte, ils sont moins disposés à accepter les bureaucrates religieux turcs comme leurs supérieurs religieux.

ANNEXE : COMMENT LA TURQUIE EST-ELLE DEVENUE UN INCUBATEUR ET UN SOUTIEN DE L’ISLAMISME ?

En 2002, l’état-major turc a organisé une conférence pour tous les généraux et amiraux turcs au siège de l’état-major à Ankara. Selon un participant à cette conférence, l’unique raison de cette conférence était d’aider la Turquie à entrer dans l’Union européenne. Les politiciens européens utilisaient l’argument selon lequel la Turquie n’était pas une véritable démocratie car les forces armées turques « étaient les gardiens de l’État » et étaient intervenues à plusieurs reprises dans la politique turque par un coup d’État.

Les généraux turcs ont écouté attentivement les critiques de l’Europe et ont vu qu’il y avait un problème. Ils sont venus avec une solution au problème. À la fin de la conférence, ils ont décidé que la démocratie turque était suffisamment séculaire et robuste pour qu’ils puissent prendre du recul. Les généraux turcs ont donc pris la décision historique de ne plus intervenir dans la politique. De facto, les forces armées ont cédé le pouvoir aux politiciens civils et à la Cour suprême.

La décision des généraux turcs n’a pas fait les gros titres en Europe et est passée inaperçue en Europe. Elle n’a pas fait entrer la Turquie dans l’Union européenne. Les généraux turcs n’avaient pas vu la marée croissante du populisme en Europe. L’un des pays connaissant une montée du populisme était les Pays-Bas, où Geert Wilders gagnait du terrain avec son parti politique, le PVV, et où Pim Fortuyn, s’il n’avait pas été assassiné, serait devenu premier ministre.

Le 16 décembre 2004, le Conseil européen a déclaré que la Turquie avait suffisamment rempli les critères pour ouvrir les négociations d’adhésion à partir d’octobre 2005. Cela s’est produit pendant la présidence néerlandaise du Conseil européen. En décembre 2006, les premiers problèmes entre les pays de l’UE et la Turquie sont apparus lorsque la Turquie a refusé d’appliquer à Chypre le protocole additionnel à l’accord d’Ankara. Le Conseil européen a décidé que huit chapitres des négociations ne pouvaient et ne voulaient pas être ouverts, mettant ainsi fin aux négociations en vue de l’adhésion de la Turquie à l’Union européenne.

L’impossibilité pour l’Europe et la Turquie de se mettre d’accord a permis à Erdogan de renforcer son pouvoir et d’étendre son influence en Turquie. Jouant la carte du nationalisme et de la religion en Turquie, son parti AK a pris le contrôle du Parlement, a pu former un gouvernement, a pris le siège de premier ministre et la présidence. Une prise de pouvoir totalement islamiste.

Les forces armées turques ont tenu parole, mais cela ne les a pas aidées à entrer en Europe.