François Hollande: Radicalization and political Islamism gangren France



Five years have passed since the terrorist attacks in Paris, on November 13, 2015. At the time when France commemorates the event and round tribute to the victims of these attacks, President François Hollande, who was in office during these tragic events, granted an exclusive interview to Global Watch Analysis.

The former President evokes the memory of the attacks, the pain of the victims and their families and his concern not to fall into the trap set by the terrorists: to divide the French and to pit them against each other.

Commenting on the recent polemics, which have inflamed certain Muslim countries, on the subject of the cartoons of Prophet Mohammed, François Hollande addresses the Muslim populations “who may have been struck by these cartoons”. While reassuring them that French secularism does not mean “the crushing of religions”, but their recognition as elements of freedom, he reminds them that “freedom is a rule in France” where law authorizes caricature and derision, but not hatred. And that no one in France has the right to attack people because of their religious affiliation.

Watch the video version of this interview

– France today commemorates the terrorist attacks of November 13, 2015. What memories do you keep, as President of the Republic in office at the time of these painful events?

Five years after the attacks on the Stade de France, the Bataclan, the terraces (of Parisian cafes), it is a memory that has remained engraved in my mind, because I was president and I measured the distress, the pain of many families who were struck. These families and victims were of all faiths, all religions, and of all skin colours, if I may say so. They came to be together on the terraces.

I was in front of a structural Islamist terrorism with ISIS. It was ISIS who was waging war on us. And we responded by intervening in the coalition in Syria and Iraq, and hitting this group hard, which was only partially eradicated.

What was important for me as President was to prevent the terrorists from dividing us and separating us from each other, but also to prevent reactions that would implicate Muslims who had nothing to do with these events.

But this was what the terrorists were trying to do: to make sure that we could attack Islam and Muslims, when we knew that it was a misuse of Islam, and Muslims are often the first victims of this misuse.

– As a former President, how do you react to the new controversies that are currently being raised in some Muslim countries by the cartoons of the Prophet Muhammad published by Charlie Hebdo?

I was very sad to see the lack of understanding in some countries about what have been called “the caricatures”. Caricatures are a freedom of expression that we have in France. It is not the State or politicians who decide on them. We have to ensure that these cartoons cannot touch people, but just make sure that there could be some form of derision which has always existed in France.

So, I want to say to the countries and populations that may have been offended by these caricatures: Be aware that freedom is a rule in France, but we don’t have to approve or disapprove of these caricatures. We are responsible for this country, and as such we must enforce French law, which authorises caricatures, but it doesn’t allow hatred.

We don’t have the right in France to attack people for their religious affiliation. Secularism is not the crushing of religions, but on the contrary their recognition as an element of freedom.

We have this freedom, and I will never let people think that France should give up its freedoms, nor will I let people think that Muslims do not have the right to practise their religion as they see fit in France, and again with freedom.

The controversies over these cartoons have brought to light a discourse inciting hatred and violence which is no longer only the work of radical jihadist groups, but also of movements – such as the Muslim Brotherhood – claiming to be of “political Islamism”, long considered “moderates”. How to deal with this hate speech which gangrenes France?

What gangrene France is radicalisation and Islamism. It is the use of a religion to carry out attacks or aggressions against the very spirit of the Republic or even against representatives of the Republic: teachers, officials, policemen and even religious figures.

It is unbearable to think that one can use a religion against the French Republic or another religion. Political Islamism, the one that encourages and ultimately justifies these terrorist acts, must also be fought.This is why in France we are leading, and I have contributed to this, an action against radicalisation and against the hijacking by social networks of a certain number of beliefs for aggressive purposes.

But let’s never confuse Islamism with Islam and Muslims with terrorists. We must always assert a freedom that is the same for everyone, regardless of religion. And that terrorists are first terrorists, before they are men or women fanaticised by a god they have hijacked.

François Hollande : La radicalisation et l’islamisme politique gangrènent la France



Cinq années se sont écoulées, depuis les attentats terroristes qui ont endeuillé Paris, le 13 novembre 2015. Au moment où la France commémore l’évènement et rend hommage aux victimes de ces attaques, le Président François Hollande, qui était en exercice lors de ces événements tragiques, a accordé une interview exclusive à Global Watch Analysis.

L’ancien Président évoque le souvenir des attentats, la douleur des victimes et de leurs familles et son souci de ne pas tomber dans le piège tendu par les terroristes : diviser les Français et les monter les uns contre les autres.

– La France commémore aujourd’hui les attentats terroristes du 13 novembre 2015. Quel souvenir gardez-vous, en tant Président de la république en exercice au moment des ces douloureux évènements ?

Cinq ans après les attentats du Stade de France, du Bataclan, des terrasses [des cafés parisiens], c’est un souvenir qui est resté gravé dans ma mémoire. Parce que j’étais Président et j’ai mesuré ce qu’étaient la détresse, la douleur de nombreuses familles qui ont été frappées. Ces familles et victimes étaient de toutes confessions, toutes religions et de toutes couleurs de peau, j’allais dire. Elles venaient pour être ensemble sur des terrasses.

J’ai été en face d’un terrorisme islamiste structurel avec Daesh. C’était Daesh qui nous faisait la guerre. Et nous y avons répondu en intervenant, dans la coalition en Syrie et en Irak, et en frappant durement ce groupe, qui a été seulement en partie éradiqué.

Ce qui comptait pour le Président que j’étais, c’était d’éviter que les terroristes nous divisent et nous séparent les uns des autres. Mais aussi qu’il y ait des réactions qui viennent mettre en cause des musulmans qui n’étaient pour rien dans ces événements.

Mais, c’est ce que cherchaient les terroristes : faire en sorte que nous puissions nous en prendre à l’islam et aux musulmans, alors que nous savions qu’il s’agissait d’un détournement de l’islam dont les musulmans sont souvent les premières victimes.

En tant qu’ancien Président, comment réagissez-vous aux nouvelles polémiques que soulèvent actuellement, dans certains pays musulmans, les caricatures du prophète Mahomet publiées par Charlie Hebdo ?

J’ai été très peiné de voir l’incompréhension, au sein de certains pays, à l’égard de ce qu’on a appelé « les caricatures ». Les caricatures constituent une liberté d’expression que nous avons en France. Ce n’est pas l’État ou les responsables politiques qui les décident.Nous avons à faire que ces caricatures ne puissent pas toucher des personnes, mais simplement faire en sorte qu’il puisse y avoir une forme de dérision, qui a toujours existé en France.

Je veux donc dire aux pays et populations qui ont pu être heurtés par ces caricatures : Sachez bien que la liberté est une règle en France, mais nous n’avons pas à approuver ni à désapprouver ces caricatures. Nous sommes les responsables de ce pays, et à ce titre, nous devons faire respecter la loi française, qui autorise les caricatures, mais elle n’autorise pas la haine.

On n’a pas le droit en France de s’en prendre à des gens, pour leur appartenance religieuse. La laïcité n’est pas l’écrasement des religions, mais au contraire leur reconnaissance, comme un élément de liberté.

Nous avons cette liberté et je ne laisserai jamais penser que la France doive renoncer à ses libertés, pas plus que je ne laisserai penser que les musulmans n’ont pas le droit d’exercer leur culte comme ils l’entendent en France, et là aussi avec liberté.

– Les polémiques au sujet des ces caricatures ont fait apparaître au grand jour un discours incitant à la haine et à la violence qui n’est plus seulement l’œuvre des groupes djihadistes radicaux, mais aussi de mouvements – comme les Frères musulmans – se revendiquant de l’« islamisme politique », longtemps considérés comme des « modérés ». Comment faire face à ce discours de la haine qui gangrène la France ?

– Ce qui gangrène la France, c’est la radicalisation et l’islamisme. C’est le fait d’utiliser une religion pour mener des attaques ou des agressions contre l’esprit-même de la République, voire contre des représentants de la République : des professeurs, des fonctionnaires, des policiers et même contre des religieux.

Il est insupportable de penser qu’on puisse utiliser une religion contre la République française ou contre une autre religion. L’islamisme politique, celui qui encourage et, finalement, qui permet de justifier ces actes terroristes, doit également être combattu.

C’est pour cela qu’en France, nous menons, et j’y ai contribué, une action contre la radicalisation et le détournement par les réseaux sociaux d’un certain nombre de croyances, pour des fins agressives.

Mais ne confondons jamais l’islamisme avec l’islam et les musulmans avec des terroristes. Nous devons toujours faire valoir une liberté qui soit la même pour tous, quelle que soit la religion. Et que les terroristes sont des terroristes, avant d’être des hommes ou des femmes fanatisés par un dieu qu’ils ont détourné.