fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Feminism VS. Obscurantism: Islamophobia, my eye!

9 June 2022 Expertises   1375  

Martine Gozlan

In the photo illustrating her latest book, Djemila Benhabib has a sparkling eye, the eye of challenge. In fact, it is in the title: “Islamophobia, my eye” (Kennes Editions). A lucid look at this political scam that forbids free criticism of Islam. The essayist has herself paid the price, being dragged before the courts in Quebec on several occasions for her courageous interventions against obscurantism. Djemila, who is named after a beautiful site in Algeria, dear to Albert Camus (“The Wind at Djemila”), grew up in this beautiful and bloody country until she was exiled to France in 1994 after being sentenced to death by the GIA, the armed Islamic groups. She was barely 22 years old. Since then, she has been fighting, leading her life “Against the Koran”, the title of the book that has earned her the most admiration and hatred.

Yesterday in Montreal, today in Belgium, Djemila Benhabib belongs to the vast circle of women from Islamic lands who dare to say no. It seems to me that I have always known them, whether they were born in Tehran, Algiers, Tunis, Karachi, Casablanca, Baghdad, Istanbul or Cairo. I am forgetting, of course, cities and profiles. It also seems to me that I have always been writing about them, writing about their writings. The list of their names would fill a new book and we could call it: “Golden list of women who said no”.

The first one I discovered, a long time ago, was called Nawal el-Saadawi. A great Egyptian feminist who died recently. She was the first to fight against female circumcision, which still affects hundreds of thousands of little girls on the banks of the Nile. And against the veil. The veil, the refusal of which still gets Iranian women imprisoned for daring to brandish it in public at the end of a stick to demonstrate their revolt.

It seems, say noisy followers of voluntary submission in France, that one can be free while wearing it. Pseudo-feminists weave this into the argument of an Islamo-compatible ideology that enjoins us to respect a rag that is supposed to embody sacred modesty. Faced with this misuse, Djemila Benhabib insists: “I refuse to lie about what I have experienced. I know that the advance of Islamic veils is the retreat of democracy and the negation of women. I know that political Islam is not a simple fundamentalist movement, but a totalitarian political movement whose aim is to swallow the world after swallowing democracy”.

Yet, as surprising as it may seem, the heirs of Nawal el-Saadawi, the companions of Djemila Benhabib, the admirers of Shirin Ebadi, the Iranian lawyer who won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2003, or of her colleague Nasrin Sotoudeh, Sakharov Prize in 2012, imprisoned by the ayatollahs for her defence of women and children, released and then reincarcerated, do not have the same right to media visibility as the women who are quick to jump on any available microphone.

Of course, some of them are invited, but there has been a general hesitation for two generations about their “representativeness”. This suspicious behaviour affects all secularists from elsewhere. Thus, the followers of the hijab – literally the curtain – have gradually imposed their wardrobe on certain electoral posters as well as on fashion catalogues. Just yesterday, an email from a reputable British brand suggested a spring “modesty look”, dotted with modest, trendy scarves. This prompted my immediate unsubscription.

Alas, all you have to do is go to Saint-Denis – where Djemila Benhabib, her father and their friends had brazenly founded an “Observatory of Secularism” – to disguise yourself as a perfect “404 bâchée”, as the Algerians used to call Islamist women. The grim truth is that we have made no progress whatsoever in the general perception of anti-feminist obscurantism. Rather than highlighting women of Muslim culture who chose a destiny free from collective diktat, we have privileged militants who sprinkle their reactionary, communitarian and bigoted discourse with lying invocations of freedom of expression.

The response came too late and hardened the positions until the last days of the presidential campaign. Djemila Benhabib rightly believes that the ban on the veil in the public space, advocated by Marine le Pen, would only reinforce the impact of Islamism on weak minds. From now on, the only possible policy will be to give a voice to those who dare to be free.

“Islamophobia, my eye”, by Djemila Benhabib, Kennes Editions, Loverval, Belgium, April 2022.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Féminisme VS. Obscurantisme : Islamophobie, mon œil !

9 juin 2022 Expertises   1376  

Martine Gozlan

Sur la photo qui illustre son dernier livre, Djemila Benhabib a l’œil étincelant, l’œil du défi. D’ailleurs, il est dans le titre : « Islamophobie, mon œil ! » (Éditions Kennes). Un regard lucide porté sur cette arnaque politique qui interdit de critiquer librement l’Islam. L’essayiste en a elle-même fait les frais, trainée devant les tribunaux au Québec à maintes reprises pour ses interventions courageuses contre l’obscurantisme. Djemila, qui porte le nom d’un site admirable en Algérie, cher à Albert Camus (« Le vent à Djemila ») a grandi dans ce beau pays ensanglanté jusqu’à son exil en France, en 1994, après une condamnation à mort des GIA, les groupes islamiques armés. Elle avait à peine 22 ans. Depuis, elle se bat, menant sa vie « À contre-Coran », titre de l’ouvrage qui lui a valu le plus d’admiration et de haine.

Hier à Montréal, aujourd’hui en Belgique, Djemila Benhabib appartient au vaste cercle des femmes originaires des terres d’Islam qui osent dire non. Il me semble les connaitre depuis toujours, qu’elles soient nées à Téhéran, Alger, Tunis, Karachi, Casablanca, Bagdad, Istanbul ou le Caire. J’oublie, bien sûr, des villes et des profils. Il me semble aussi, depuis toujours, écrire sur elles, écrire sur leurs écrits. La liste de leurs noms remplirait un nouveau livre et nous pourrions l’intituler : ‘‘Liste d’or des noms féminins qui ont dit non’’.

La première que j’ai découverte, il y a bien longtemps, s’appelait Nawal el-Saadawi. Une immense féministe égyptienne récemment disparue. La première à s’être battue contre l’excision qui frappe encore des centaines de milliers de petites filles sur les rives du Nil. Et contre le voile. Ce voile dont le refus vaut, aujourd’hui encore, la prison aux Iraniennes qui osent le brandir en public au bout d’un bâton pour manifester leur révolte.

Il parait, disent en France de bruyantes adeptes de la soumission volontaire, qu’on peut être libre en le portant. Des pseudo-féministes en tissent l’argument d’une idéologie islamo-compatible qui nous enjoint de respecter un chiffon censé incarner la pudeur sacrée. Face à ce détournement, Djemila Benhabib martèle : « Je refuse de mentir sur ce que j’ai vécu. Je sais que l’avancée des voiles islamiques, c’est le recul de la démocratie et la négation des femmes. Je sais que l’islam politique n’est pas un simple mouvement fondamentaliste, mais un mouvement politique totalitaire qui a pour visée d’engloutir le monde après avoir avalé la démocratie. »

Pourtant, aussi étonnant que cela puisse paraître, les héritières de Nawal el-Saadawi, les compagnes de Djemila Benhabib, les admiratrices de Shirin Ebadi, l’avocate iranienne, prix Nobel de la paix 2003, ou de sa consœur Nasrin Sotoudeh, prix Sakharov 2012, embastillée par les ayatollahs pour sa défense des femmes et des enfants, libérée puis réincarcérée, n’ont pas droit à la même visibilité médiatique que les enfoulardées promptes à se jeter sur tous les micros disponibles.

Certes, on en invite certaines, mais un flottement général se perpétue depuis deux générations autour de leur « représentativité ». Ce comportement suspicieux frappe tous les laïques venus d’ailleurs. C’est ainsi que les adeptes du hidjab – littéralement le rideau – ont peu à peu imposé leur vestiaire sur certaines affiches électorales comme sur les catalogues de mode. Un mail d’une honorable marque britannique m’a proposé hier encore un ‘‘modesty look’’ de printemps, parsemé de pudiques foulards tendance. Ce qui a provoqué mon désabonnement immédiat.

Hélas, il suffit d’aller à Saint-Denis – où Djemila Benhabib, son père et leurs amis avaient fondé crânement un « Observatoire de la laïcité » –  pour se déguiser en parfaite « 404 bâchée » comme les Algériens surnommaient naguère les femmes islamistes. La sinistre vérité est là : nous n’avons fait strictement aucun progrès dans la perception générale de l’obscurantisme anti-féminin. Plutôt que de mettre en avant les femmes de culture musulmane qui choisissaient un destin libéré du diktat collectif, on a privilégié des militants et des militantes qui saupoudraient leur discours réactionnaire, communautariste et bigot d’invocations menteuses à la liberté d’expression.

La riposte est venue trop tard et a durci les positions jusqu’aux derniers jours de la campagne présidentielle. Djemila Benhabib estime avec justesse que l’interdiction du voile dans l’espace public, préconisée par Marine le Pen, ne ferait que renforcer l’impact de l’islamisme sur les esprits faibles. Désormais, la seule politique possible sera de rendre largement la parole à celles qui osent la liberté.

‘‘Islamophobie, mon œil’’, par Djemila Benhabib, Éditions Kennes, Loverval, Belgique, avril 2022.