Interview with Christian Chesnot and Georges Malbrunot



After having previously written two books about the less brilliant aspects of Qatari politics, entitled “Qatar, The Secrets of The Safe” (Michel Lafon, 2013) and “Our Very Dear Emirs” (Michel Lafon, 2016), Christian Chesnot and Georges Malbrunot return with a hard-hitting book entitled “Qatar Papers”.

Interview by Atmane TAZAGHART & Nicolas CHENE

– What surprised you most about your survey on the QatarCharityGate?

– Christian Chesnot: What surprised and even astonished us was the extent of the funding granted by Qatar to the Muslim Brotherhood network. Tens of millions of euros throughout Europe, including 25 million in France. We drew a precise and very extensive mapping, which goes from Spain, Italy and up to Norway and Sweden. It passes through very improbable places, such as Jersey, Lugano or Luxembourg, and all this constitutes a very vast spider’s web, which enamels every European continent.
We are obviously asking ourselves questions: why? and for whose benefit? And we can see that Qatari funding goes almost exclusively to the Muslim Brotherhood, through associations and personalities who are subordinated to them throughout Europe. Unlike other countries that finance Islamic associations in Europe, Qatar has no human resources. It has a lot of money but very little human support. So he connected to the Muslim Brotherhood networks established in Europe since the 1950s. Our investigation shows that there is a real connection between the two. In addition, the Muslim Brotherhood is at the heart of Qatar’s political-religious DNA. Not only in Europe, but all over the world. With Sheikh Youssef al-Qaradawi as the figurehead.
As for the question of why, it is clear from the documents published in the book that Qatar is seeking to buy influence from Muslim communities in Europe, with the aim of re-Islamising these communities. In this respect, Qatar’s objectives are in line with the Muslim Brotherhood’s global strategy, as it has been since the first writings of its founder, Hassan al-Banna. This connection is at the heart of the investigation that we conducted in this book and the documentary film, which we made at the same time, and which will be broadcast at the beginning of the school year.

Unlike Qatar’s other areas of “investment”, such as sport, luxury trade or political lobbying, the goal sought through the financing of the Muslim Brotherhood is not only to seek visibility or influence, but also a political and ideological project clearly linked to Islamism?

– Georges Malbrunot: Indeed, behind the entryism operated by Qatar Charity, within the Muslim communities in Europe, there is not only a search for influence, but also a desire to influence the chessboard of European Islam where, until then, the main operators were Algeria, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, enemy of Qatar, but also Turkey, great ally of Qatar and the Muslim Brotherhood.
Behind all this, there is an objective which aims – as we see written in black and white in the Qatar Charity internal documents we publish – to strengthen the Islamic identity of Muslim minorities in Europe, to support the work of the Daâwa (preaching), to re-educate Muslim youth, to make them an Islamic elite able to take its part of influence in the societies where Muslim minorities in Europe live. And on all these objectives, as can be seen in the documents that the book reveals, there is a direct relationship between Qatar and the “political Islam” [Islamism] of the Muslim Brotherhood.
It is not only noted that more than 90% of Qatari funding goes to associations close to the Muslim Brotherhood movement. But there is also the desire to build Islamic centres always on the same model. That is, a prayer room for men, a prayer room for women, a shopping mall nearby, classrooms, a cultural space and sometimes a swimming pool or even a morgue!
This corresponds to the doctrine of “global Islam”, as Hassan al-Banna theorized, from his first writings, which consists in taking charge of the Muslim individual from birth to death! So, we are in a scheme that aims to transpose and export the “political Islam” of the Muslim Brotherhood to Muslim communities in Europe.

You say in your book that the financing granted by Qatar to the Muslim Brotherhood in Europe does not fall within the scope of terrorist financing. Yet you cite examples of connections between the Muslim Brotherhood and jihadist terrorism, such as the case of Hanan Abu al-Hanna in Mulhouse?

– Georges Malbrunot: Indeed, we are not in the financing of terrorism, strictly speaking, because the financing of Qatar Charity is not illegal, as long as the associations financed in Europe do not carry out attacks. However, there is sometimes – and we have noted this in the book – the porosity between the neo-Islamic ideology of the Muslim Brotherhood and jihadism. There is indeed the case of this woman in Mulhouse, Hanane Abu al-Hanna, who was the assistant director of the association responsible for the great mosque financed by Qatar Charity. She was killed in the RAID police assault on the prison where she introduced a knife that her radicalized companion used to stab two guards.
There are therefore, here and there, porosities between the Muslim Brotherhood movement and jihadist terrorism. Moreover, historically, this is not a new phenomenon. The current leaders of al-Qaida and Daesh, Ayman al-Zawahiri and Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, are both from the Muslim Brotherhood, and there are many other examples, the most illustrious of which is the Arab Mujahideen leader during the anti-Soviet war in Afghanistan, Abdellah Azzam.

Interview avec Christian Chesnot et Georges Malbrunot, auteurs du livre Qatar Papers



Après avoir consacré précédemment deux livres aux aspects les moins reluisants de la politique qatarie, intitulés « Qatar, les secrets du coffre fort » (Michel Lafon, 2013) et « Nos chers émirs » (Michel Lafon, 2016), Christian Chesnot et Georges Malbrunot reviennent avec un livre choc intitulé « Qatar Papers ».

Propos recueillis par Atmane TAZAGHART et Nicolas CHENE

Qu’est-ce qui vous a le plus surpris lors de votre enquête sur le QatarCharityGate ?

– Christian Chesnot : Ce qui nous a étonnés et même stupéfaits, c’est l’ampleur des financements octroyés par le Qatar aux réseaux des Frères musulmans. Plusieurs dizaines de millions d’euros dans toute l’Europe, dont 25 millions en France. Nous avons retracé une cartographie précise et très étendue, qui va de l’Espagne, de l’Italie et qui remonte jusqu’en Norvège et en Suède. Elle passe par des lieux très improbables, comme Jersey, Lugano ou Luxembourg. Et tout cela constitue une toile d’araignée très vaste, qui émaille tout le continent européen.
Evidemment, on se pose des questions : pourquoi ? et au profit de qui ? Et on constate que les financements qataris vont quasi exclusivement aux Frères musulmans, à travers des associations et des personnalités qui leur sont inféodées dans toute l’Europe. Contrairement à d’autres pays qui financent des associations islamiques en Europe, le Qatar n’a pas de ressources humaines. Il a beaucoup d’argent mais très peu de support humain. Alors, il s’est branché sur les réseaux des Frères musulmans établis en Europe depuis les années 1950. Notre enquête montre qu’il y a une véritable connexion entre les deux. En plus, les Frères musulmans sont au cœur de l’ADN politico-religieux du Qatar. Pas seulement en Europe, mais partout dans le monde. Avec, comme tête de gondole, le cheikh Youssef al-Qaradawi.
Quant à la question du pourquoi, on comprend à travers les documents publiés dans le livre, que le Qatar cherche à acheter de l’influence auprès des musulmans d’Europe, dans le but de ré islamiser ces communautés. En cela, les objectifs du Qatar rejoignent la stratégie mondiale des Frères musulmans, telle qu’on la retrouve dès les premiers écrits de leur fondateur, Hassan al-Banna. Cette connexion est au cœur de l’enquête que nous avons menée à travers ce livre et le film documentaire, que nous avons réalisé en même temps, et qui sera diffusé à la rentrée.

Contrairement aux autres domaines d’« investissement » du Qatar, comme le sport, le commerce de luxe ou le lobbying politique, le but recherché à travers le financement des Frères musulmans n’est pas seulement de la visibilité ou de l’influence, il y a aussi un projet politique et idéologique clairement lié à l’islamisme ?

– Georges Malbrunot : Effectivement, derrière l’entrisme opéré par Qatar Charity, au sein des communautés musulmanes en Europe, il n’y a pas seulement une recherche d’influence, mais aussi une volonté de peser sur l’échiquier de l’islam européen où jusque-là les principaux opérateurs étaient l’Algérie, le Maroc, l’Arabie Saoudite, ennemi du Qatar, mais aussi la Turquie, grand allié du Qatar et des Frères musulmans.
Il y a derrière tout cela un objectif qui vise – comme on le voit écrit noir sur blanc dans les documents internes de Qatar Charity que nous publions – à renforcer l’identité islamique des minorités musulmanes d’Europe, à soutenir le travail de la Daâwa (prédication), à rééduquer la jeunesse musulmane, pour en faire une élite islamique apte à prendre sa part d’influence dans les sociétés où vivent des minorités musulmanes en Europe. Et sur tous ces objectifs, on le voir dans les documents que le livre révèle, il y a une filiation directe entre le Qatar et « l’islam politique » [islamisme] des Frères musulmans.
On constate non seulement que plus de 90% des financements qataris vont à des associations proches de la mouvance Frères musulmans. Mais, il y a aussi cette volonté de construire des centres islamiques toujours sur un seul et même modèle. C’est-à-dire, une salle de prière pour les hommes, une salle de prière pour les femmes, un centre commercial à côté, des salles de classe, un espace culturel et parfois une piscine ou même une morgue !
Cela correspond à la doctrine de l’« islam global », tel que l’a théorisée Hassan al-Banna, dès ses premiers écrits, qui consiste à prendre en charge l’individu musulman de la naissance jusqu’à la mort ! Donc, on est dans un schéma qui vise à transposer et exporter l’« islam politique » des Frères musulmans à destination des communautés musulmanes d’Europe.

Vous dites dans votre livre que les financements octroyés par le Qatar aux Frères musulmans en Europe ne relèvent pas du financement du terrorisme. Pourtant, vous citez plusieurs exemples de connexions entre les Frères musulmans et le terrorisme djihadisme, comme le cas de Hanan Abou al-Hanna, à Mulhouse ?

– Georges Malbrunot : Effectivement on n’est pas dans le financement du terrorisme, à proprement dit. Car les financements de Qatar Charity n’ont rien d’illégal, dans la mesure où les associations financées en Europe ne commettent pas des attentats. Cela étant, il y a parfois – et nous l’avons relevé dans le livre – de la porosité entre l’idéologie néo-islamiste des Frères musulmans et le djihadisme. Il y a effectivement le cas de cette femme à Mulhouse, Hanane Abou al-Hanna, qui était l’assistante de direction de l’association responsable de la grande mosquée financée par Qatar Charity. Elle a été tuée dans l’assaut des policiers du RAID contre la prison où elle a introduit un couteau que son compagnon radicalisé a utilisé pour poignarder deux gardiens.
Il y a donc, ça et là, des porosités entre la mouvance des Frères musulmans et le terrorisme djihadiste. D’ailleurs, historiquement, cela n’est pas un phénomène nouveau. Les leaders actuels d’al-Qaida et de Daech, Ayman al-Zawahiri et Abou Bakr al-Baghdadi, sont tous les deux issus des Frères musulmans, Et il y a de nombreux autres exemples, dont le plus illustre est le chef de file des moudjahidines arabes, lors la guerre anti-soviétique en Afghanistan, Abdellah Azzam.