fbpx
 
 

 

French West Indies: Guadeloupe ill with organised crime and Islamism



Under the pretext of fighting against compulsory vaccination, gangs have been extorting money from businesses in Guadeloupe. You had to pay not to have your shop or supermarket burnt down. Suddenly, Paris discovered that the French departments of the West Indies are gangrenous with organised crime, and that this type of crime even has the best relations with local elected officials. And this is not the only evil from which these islands suffer. The proof: as soon as you arrive at Pointe-à-Pitre airport in Guadeloupe, posters warn of “violent radicalization” and “jihadist recruitment”.

By Ian Hamel, in Pointe-à-Pitre

In 2017, the novelist and academic Maryse Condé, author of “I, Tituba, Black Witch of Salem”, born in 1937 in Guadeloupe, threw a paving stone into the pond. She published a novel of almost four hundred pages entitled “The Wondrous and Tragic Life of Ivan and Ivana”. It is the story of twins, a boy and a girl, born in the French West Indies, who first went to Mali to find their father, before landing in the Paris region. Ivan, an eternal good-for-nothing who has converted to Islam, dies while massacring dozens of old people in a police retirement home. At the same time, he kills his sister, an excellent student and Catholic, who came to take care of these elderly people on a voluntary basis. The problem is that this fiction is based on a current event that has been ignored: the West Indian jihadists. “In 2016, there were about fifty reports of radicalisation in the West Indies and French Guiana; a dozen Guadeloupeans left to wage jihad in the Middle East,” recalled the newspaper Le Monde in its review of Maryse Condé’s novel (1).

It took Mickaël Harpon from Martinique, an administrative assistant in the intelligence department of the Paris police headquarters, to murder four police officers on 3 October 2019 for French public opinion to discover that West Indians were converting to Islam. And above all that some of them adhered to the ideology of ISIS and Al-Qaeda.

The phenomenon is far from recent. “While investigating in September 2001 the attempted attacks on the US embassy in Paris and the American consulate in Marseille, I discovered that among the Islamist militants, there were several West Indians, second-raters. But television did not want me to deal with the subject because it might give a bad image of the West Indies! And that would have scared off holidaymakers,” recalls journalist André Berthon, now retired in Martinique. Before Covid-19, the two overseas departments, Martinique and Guadeloupe, received around two million visitors each year. Tourism remains the main resource for these islands, which produce only bananas and pineapples.

“Before they go to jihad”.

The media were also discreet about this jihadist of Martinique origin who left to join ISIS in 2014 and died in a suicide attack in Mosul. In 2016, when a list of people subject to an alert in Guadeloupe was circulated in the department, the prefect finally acknowledged that some individuals were indeed on the “S” list and that his services “were fully mobilised for their possible follow-up”.

Like Maryse Condé, but in a different style, André Berthon also puts his foot in it by publishing in 2017 a detective novel entitled “Carême de sang aux Antilles” (2). It is about drugs, but also terrorism. In this novel, where fiction is often very close to reality, the author highlights the danger represented by the conversion to radical Islam in certain French prisons of young delinquents from Martinique and Guadeloupe. And who then return to their native islands.

A buried but very real danger. At Pointe-à-Pitre airport, large posters ask families and friends to act “before they leave”. They refer to “violent radicalization” and “jihadist recruitment”. Next to them, other posters call for Guadeloupe not to be at the mercy of weapons. On one of them, a little girl declares: “Daddy, what you are hiding scares me!” While the police have acknowledged, since the recent riots, the wars between local gangs fighting over the lucrative cocaine trade, none of the people we spoke to said that they had been able to prevent this. On the other hand, none of our interlocutors noticed the posters warning against jihadism posted at the airport!

In these overseas departments, there are beaches, coconut palms, fine sand, but radical Islam “we have never heard of it”. “Posters at the airport? I don’t know, it’s been a long time since I’ve been there,” we were told by France-Antilles. For the prefecture, this is just a bureaucratic reflex: they put up the same posters in all the departments… except that the posters show West Indian characters.

Malcolm X as a role model 

Yet Islam is not a recent phenomenon. It appeared in the French West Indies in the 1970s, accompanying a loss of confidence in Catholicism, conceived as a religion imposed by the colonists. In 1982, a conference of the Islamic Mission of the Caribbean and South America was held in Trinidad. At the same time, the World Islamic League became sufficiently interested in the region to send a Mauritanian imam trained in Medina to Martinique. In 2010, the Archives des Sciences Sociales des Religions published a study entitled “A Mosque in Martinique”. A few years later, the same archives looked at French and British converts of Caribbean descent to Islam in relation to the “black” question (3).

While Christianity is the dominant religious reference in this part of the world, many West Indians, when they arrive in Europe in search of work, convert to Islam. Some of the converts are said to associate “adherence to Islam with the idea of resistance to white supremacy”, the survey points out. Especially for English-speaking Caribbeans (whose first conversions date back to the 1960s), Malcolm X remains the figure who inspired them. “Their minoritisation as blacks is part of the questions and problems they seek to resolve in the context of their adherence to Islam,” the study points out. It also recalls that Bilal, a former black slave, is a companion of the Prophet Mohammed who is highly honoured in the Muslim tradition.

But how can it be explained that France attaches very little importance to the development of radical Islam in the Caribbean? On the other hand, the phenomenon does not escape the Anglo-Saxons and the Spanish. In January 2017, the Spanish Institute of Strategic Studies revealed that not only are some Caribbean and American countries already hotbeds of Islamic terrorism. But that there are increasingly frequent connections between jihadists and cocaine traffickers (4).

1- Gladys Marivat, “Maryse Condé et le djihadisme antillais”, Le Monde, 6 July 2017.

2- André Berthon, “Carême de sang aux Antilles”, Caraïbéditions.

3- Agathe Larisse, “Affiliation volontaire à l’islam et assignation raciale”.

4- “El islam radical en Latinoamérica y el Caribe”, R. Evan Ellis.

fbpx
 
 

 

ANTILLES : La Guadeloupe malade du grand banditisme et de l’islamisme



Sous prétexte de lutter contre l’obligation vaccinale, des gangs ont racketté les commerces en Guadeloupe. Il fallait payer pour ne pas voir sa boutique ou son supermarché incendiés. Brutalement, Paris découvre que les départements français des Antilles sont gangrénés par le crime organisé, que celui-ci entretient même les meilleurs rapports avec des élus locaux. Et ce n’est pas le seul mal dont souffrent ces îles. Pour preuve : dès l’arrivée à l’aéroport de Pointe-à-Pitre, en Guadeloupe, des affiches mettent en garde contre la « radicalisation violente » et l’« enrôlement djihadiste ».

Par Ian Hamel, à Pointe-à-Pitre

En 2017, la romancière et universitaire Maryse Condé, auteur de « Moi, Tituba sorcière Noire de Salem », née en 1937 en Guadeloupe, jette un pavé dans la mare. Elle publie un roman de près de quatre cents pages intitulé « Le fabuleux et triste destin d’Ivan et Ivana ». C’est l’histoire de jumeaux, un garçon et une fille, nés aux Antilles françaises, partis d’abord au Mali retrouver leur père, avant d’atterrir en région parisienne. Ivan, éternel bon à rien, converti à l’islam, meurt en massacrant des dizaines de vieillards dans une maison de retraite… de la police ! Il tue par la même occasion sa sœur, excellente élève et catholique, qui venait bénévolement s’occuper de ces personnes âgées. Le problème est que cette fiction se saisit d’un fait d’actualité passé sous silence : les djihadistes antillais. « En 2016, on recensait une cinquantaine de signalements pour radicalisation aux Antilles et en Guyane ; une dizaine de Guadeloupéens sont partis faire le djihad au Moyen-Orient », rappelait le journal Le Monde dans sa critique du roman de Maryse Condé (1).

Il a fallu que le Martiniquais Mickaël Harpon, adjoint administratif à la direction du renseignement de la préfecture de police de Paris, assassine quatre policiers le 3 octobre 2019, pour que l’opinion publique française découvre que des Antillais se convertissaient à l’islam. Et surtout que certains d’entre eux adhéraient à l’idéologie de Daech et d’Al-Qaïda.

Le phénomène est loin d’être récent. « En enquêtant en septembre 2001 sur les tentatives d’attentats contre l’ambassade des États-Unis à Paris et le consulat américain à Marseille, j’ai découvert que parmi les militants islamistes, il y avait plusieurs Antillais, des seconds couteaux. Mais la télévision n’a pas voulu que je traite le sujet car cela risquait de donner une mauvaise image des Antilles ! Et faire fuir les vacanciers », se souvient le journaliste André Berthon, aujourd’hui à la retraite en Martinique. Avant la Covid-19, les deux départements d’outre-mer, Martinique et Guadeloupe, accueillaient chaque année autour de deux millions de visiteurs. Le tourisme reste la principale ressource de ces îles qui ne produisent que des bananes et des ananas.

‘‘Avant qu’ils ne partent au djihad’’

Les médias se sont également montrés discrets sur ce djihadiste d’origine martiniquaise parti rejoindre Daech en 2014, mort dans un attentat suicide à Mossoul. En 2016, lorsqu’une liste recensant des personnes faisant l’objet d’un signalement en Guadeloupe circule dans le département, le préfet finit par reconnaître que des individus sont bien fichés « S », et que ses services « sont pleinement mobilisés pour leur suivi éventuel ».

Comme Maryse Condé, mais dans un style différent, André Berthon met lui aussi les pieds dans le plat en publiant en 2017 un polar intitulé « Carême de sang aux Antilles » (2). Il est question de drogue, mais aussi de terrorisme. Dans ce roman, où la fiction est souvent très proche de la réalité, l’auteur met en exergue le danger représenté par la conversion à l’islam radical dans certaines prisons françaises de jeunes délinquants martiniquais et guadeloupéens. Et qui reviennent ensuite dans leurs îles natales.

Un danger enfoui mais bien réel. À l’aéroport de Pointe-à-Pitre, de grandes affiches demandent aux familles et aux amis d’agir « avant qu’ils partent ». Elles évoquent la « radicalisation violente » et « l’enrôlement djihadiste ». À côté, d’autres affichettes demandent à ce que la Guadeloupe ne soit pas à la merci des armes. Sur l’une d’elles, une fillette déclare : « Papa, ce que tu caches me fait peur ! ». Si la police reconnaît, depuis les récentes émeutes, les guerres entre gangs locaux qui se disputent le juteux trafic de cocaïne. En revanche, aucun de nos interlocuteurs n’a remarqué les affiches mettant en garde contre le djihadisme placardées à l’aéroport !

Dans ces départements d’outre-mer, il y a les plages, les cocotiers, le sable fin, mais l’islam radical « on n’en a jamais entendu parler ». « Des affiches à l’aéroport ? Je ne sais pas, il y a très longtemps que je ne m’y suis pas rendu », nous a-t-on répondu à France-Antilles. Pour la préfecture, ce ne serait qu’un réflexe de bureaucrate : on colle les mêmes affiches dans tous les départements… sauf que les affiches montrent bien des personnages antillais.

Malcolm X, modèle de référence  

Pourtant, l’islam n’est pas un phénomène récent. Il apparaît aux Antilles françaises dans les années soixante-dix, accompagnant une perte de confiance dans le catholicisme, conçu comme une religion imposée par les colons. En 1982 se tient à Trinidad une conférence de la mission islamique de la Caraïbe et de l’Amérique du Sud. À la même époque, la Ligue islamique mondiale s’intéresse suffisamment à la région pour envoyer en Martinique un imam mauritanien formé à Médine. En 2010, les archives des sciences sociales des religions publient une étude intitulée « Une mosquée en Martinique ». Quelques années plus tard, ces mêmes archives se penchent sur les Français et Britanniques d’ascendance caribéenne convertis à l’islam face à la question ‘‘noire’’ (3).

Alors que le christianisme est la référence religieuse dominante dans cette région du monde, de nombreux Antillais, quand ils débarquent en Europe à la recherche d’un travail, se convertissent à l’islam. Certains des convertis associeraient « l’adhésion à l’islam à l’idée de résistance à la suprématie blanche », souligne l’enquête. Surtout pour les Caribéens anglophones (dont les premières conversions remontent aux années 1960), Malcolm X reste la figure qui les a inspirés. « Leur minorisation en tant que Noirs fait partie des questionnements et des problématiques qu’ils cherchent à résoudre dans le cadre de leur adhésion à l’islam », souligne l’étude. Elle rappelle, par ailleurs, que Bilal, ancien esclave noir, est un compagnon du prophète Mahomet très honoré dans la tradition musulmane.

Mais comment expliquer que la France n’attache que très peu d’importance au développement de l’islam radical dans la Caraïbe ? En revanche, le phénomène n’échappe pas aux Anglo-Saxons et aux Espagnols. En janvier 2017, l’Institut espagnol d’Études stratégiques a révélé que non seulement certains pays des Antilles et d’Amérique sont déjà des foyers du terrorisme islamique. Mais qu’il existe des connections de plus en plus fréquentes entre les djihadistes et les trafiquants de cocaïne (4).

1- Gladys Marivat, « Maryse Condé et le djihadisme antillais », Le Monde, 6 juillet 2017.

2- André Berthon, « Carême de sang aux Antilles », Caraïbéditions.

3- Agathe Larisse, « Affiliation volontaire à l’islam et assignation raciale ».

4- « El islam radical en Latinoamérica y el Caribe », R. Evan Ellis.