fbpx
 
 

 

BURKINI CASE: How the left contributes to the Islamist “nibbling” of the Western way of life



Malika Madi (*)

Summer is just around the corner and the perennial question of the burkini is coming back like a yearly boomerang, just like the Latin beat that should accompany summer people on the beach. However, if musical successes are never predictable, the headlines, comments, condemnations and other resurgences on the legitimacy or banning of this “beachwear”, an extension of the hijab, will certainly be at the heart of the debate.

Already at the beginning of last spring, the first rebound, heir of a phenomenon whose jolts go back to 2016: the grotesque project of the ecologist mayor of Grenoble, Éric Piolle, to authorise the burkini in the swimming pools of his municipality, by modifying their internal regulations.

A little background: the creation of this swimwear is attributed to an Australian of Lebanese origin named Aheda Zanetti. It was 2004, in Sydney. The young woman says that she got the idea while watching her niece play netball. The young teenager had difficulty moving around on the beach with her hijab on and so Aheda, after “doing research and not finding any suitable clothing for sporty, modest women” came up with the concept of the Burkini. The imaginative garment seemed appropriate, she said, because Australia’s beaches are “an integral part of Australian life” and the commercial void needed to be filled with appropriate and “religiously correct” clothing.

However, if the designer’s intentions were undoubtedly well-intentioned, could she have imagined, like the butterfly effect, the profound societal and sociological questions that this outfit would raise in one of the oldest European democracies, more than 15,000 km from Australian beaches?

Who benefits from the controversy?

While some conciliatory minds say that one should not systematically see the hand of Islamism in this, others see in it the barely invisible hand of religious fundamentalists, more tempted by a disorder of the West than a real permission of the practice of swimming by Muslim women.

Mezri Haddad, philosopher and former diplomat, wrote in 2016 in the Huffpost: “In this war of obscurantism against the Enlightenment led by the Muslim Brotherhood, which is consubstantially and ideologically linked to the other terrorist war that ISIS is waging against the West, the strategy of the enemy from within is both simple and formidable: stir up scandal, provoke debate in order to reap the media or symbolic benefits and possibly the political-legal gains”.

One thing is clear: the trap set works, and with panache. Placing the swimming polemic in this fine-tuned pre-summer timing is a matter of goldsmith’s precision! It’s hot, citizens flock in mass to the watering holes, while the division of the leisure space between “emancipated and uninhibited women” and devout women, covered from head to toe, always causes annoyance and gnashing of teeth.

What does French law say?

The burkini does not hide the face and is therefore not prohibited on the public highway by law in France. It is therefore up to the private companies that manage the leisure facilities to enforce their own regulations. Often in modern democracies laws are passed after media scandals. It was during the prohibition of the wearing of conspicuous religious symbols by accompanying persons on school outings (a law passed after the incident caused by the NR deputy Julien Odoul who called out a veiled mother accompanying a school outing to the regional council of Burgundy Franche-Comté) that the Senate attached a provision to the bill on “respect for republican principles”, we are now on 30 March 2021. As a reminder, it is a hemicycle made up of elected representatives from the right and the centre that adopted this amendment proposed by Michel Savin, a senator the Republicans from Isère, with the aim of “curbing the use of the burkini”.

As for artistic vagueness, nothing could be better! “The ‘regulations’ for the use of a public swimming pool or artificial bathing area for collective use guarantee respect for the principles of neutrality of public services and secularism”, the new article informs, but its approximation leaves room for interpretation.

In conclusion, this storm in a glass of salty or chlorinated water, provoked by left-wing elected officials, is only intended, in the end, to bring water to the mill of the supporters of political Islam. This is what makes people laugh under the beard of those who have been trying for decades to provoke spasms and earthquakes in the Western way of life.

Hadrien Mathoux wrote with great lucidity in an article in Marianne: “The debates generated by this covering swimming costume, mixing burqa and bikini, translate well the complexity of the theme of Islamism: this enterprise of nibbling society by the religious, which relies on a growing visibility of Islam in a secular country”.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Burkini : Quand la gauche wokiste contribue au ‘‘grignotage’’ islamiste du vivre-ensemble !

3 juin 2022 Expertises   1808  

Malika Madi

L’été est à nos portes et la sempiternelle question du burkini revient comme un boomerang annuel, à l’instar des rythmes latinos qui devraient accompagner les estivaliers sur la plage. Cependant, si les succès musicaux ne sont jamais prévisibles, les Unes, commentaires, condamnations et autres résurgences sur la légitimité ou l’interdiction de ce ‘‘vêtement de plage’’, prolongement du hijab (voile islamique), seront avec certitude au cœur du débat.

Déjà au début de printemps dernier, premier rebondissement, héritier d’un phénomène dont les soubresauts remontent à 2016 : le projet ubuesque du maire écologiste grenoblois, Éric Piolle, d’autoriser le burkini dans les piscines de sa commune, en modifiant leur règlement intérieur.

Petit retour en arrière : la création de cette ‘‘tenue de bain’’ est attribuée à une Australienne d’origine libanaise nommée Aheda Zanetti. Nous sommes en 2004, à Sydney. La jeune femme raconte que c’est en observant sa nièce jouer au netball que l’idée lui est venue. La jeune adolescente avait du mal à se mouvoir sur la plage avec son hijab et c’est ainsi qu’Aheda, après avoir « fait des recherches et ne pas avoir trouvé de tenues convenables pour les femmes sportives et ‘pudiques’ » a lancé le concept de Burkini. Si ce vêtement imaginatif lui semblait d’à-propos, c’est aussi, avait-elle affirmé, parce que les plages en Australie « font partie intégrante de la vie des Australiens » et qu’il fallait donc pallier le vide commercial avec une tenue en adéquation et « religieusement correcte ».

Cependant, même si les intentions de la créatrice sembl aient partir d’une bonne intention, aurait-elle pu imaginer, tel l’effet papillon, les profonds questionnements sociétaux et sociologiques que cette tenue susciterait dans l’une des plus vieilles démocraties européennes, à plus de 15.000 km des plages australiennes ?

À qui sert la polémique ?

Si certains esprits conciliants affirment qu’il faut éviter d’y voir systématiquement la patte de l’islamisme, d’autres y distinguent la main à peine invisible des fondamentalistes religieux, plus tentés par la déstabilisation de l’ordre de occidental que par une véritable permission de la pratique de la nage pour les Musulmanes.

Mezri Haddad, philosophe et ancien diplomate, écrivait en 2016 dans le Huffpost : « Dans cette guerre de l’obscurantisme contre les Lumières conduite par les Frères musulmans, qui est consubstantiellement et idéologiquement liée à l’autre guerre terroriste que mène Daech contre l’Occident, la stratégie de l’ennemi de l’intérieur est à la fois simple et redoutable : susciter le scandale, provoquer le débat pour en récolter les bénéfices médiatiques ou symboliques et éventuellement les acquis politico-juridiques ».

Une chose claque d’évidence : le piège tendu fonctionne et avec panache. Placer la polémique natatoire dans ce timing ajusté du pré-été relève d’une précision d’orfèvre ! Il fait chaud, les citoyens affluent en masse vers les points d’eau, tandis que le partage de l’espace des loisirs entre les femmes émancipées et décomplexées et celles dévotes, couvertes de la tête aux pieds, suscite, à tous les coups, agacements et grincements de dents.

Que dit la loi française ?

Le burkini ne masque pas le visage et n’est donc pas interdit sur la voie publique par la loi en France. Dès lors, il appartient aux sociétés privées qui gèrent les lieux de loisirs de mettre en application leur propre règlement. Et comme souvent, dans les démocraties modernes des lois sont votées suite à des scandales médiatisés. C’est lors de l’interdiction du port de signes religieux ostensibles pour les accompagnateurs des sorties scolaires (loi votée après l’incident provoqué par le député RN Julien Odoul qui interpellait une maman voilée accompagnatrice lors d’une sortie scolaire au conseil régional de Bourgogne Franche-Comté) que le Sénat a joint une disposition au projet de loi sur le ‘‘respect des principes républicains’’, nous sommes alors le 30 mars 2021. Pour rappel, c’est un hémicycle composé d’élus en majorité de droite et du centre qui adopte cet amendement proposé par Michel Savin, sénateur Les Républicains de l’Isère dans le but de « faire reculer l’usage du burkini ».

Or, comme flou artistique, on ne peut faire mieux ! « Le ‘règlement’ d’utilisation d’une piscine ou baignade artificielle publique à usage collectif garantit le respect des principes de neutralité des services publics et de laïcité », informe le nouvel article, mais son approximation laisse libre cours à toutes les interprétations.

En conclusion, cette tempête estivale dans un verre d’eau salée ou chlorée, provoquée par certains élus de gauche wokiste, n’a pour vocation, au final, que d’apporter de l’eau bénite au moulin des tenants de l’islam politique. Suscitant, ainsi, les rires sous la barbe de ceux qui ont pour dessein, depuis des décennies, de provoquer spasmes et séismes dans le vivre-ensemble occidental.

Hadrien Mathoux écrira d’ailleurs, avec beaucoup de lucidité, dans Marianne :  « Les débats générés par ce maillot de bain couvrant, mixant burqa et bikini traduisent bien la complexité de la thématique de l’islamisme : cette entreprise de grignotage de la société par le religieux, qui s’appuie sur une visibilité croissante de l’islam dans un pays laïque ».