When the Qatari lobby uses a forger to denigrate opponents of Muslim Brotherhood!



Ian Hamel (*)

In order to denounce the opponents of the Muslim Brotherhood and radical Islam, communicators linked to Qatar usually used pseudonyms. He could also occasionally call on François Burgat, a retired researcher, now president of the Arab Centre for Research and Policy Studies (CAREP) in Paris, an organisation financed by the gas emirate. However, the latest article, “Mud on Qatar,” published on June 20 on a blog hosted by Mediapart, is signed by Paolo Fusi, a scandalous character, author of crude forgeries during the last Gulf War.

The document, written in English, is dated March 3, 1994, several years after the embargo on Iraq. Its letterhead is on the Panamanian company Radistal Inc. Corporation, suspected of hiding money from Saddam Hussein. The document is said to have been drawn up in Lugano, the capital of the canton of Ticino in Switzerland. “The new contracts for Dassault and Thomson were signed in B [for Baghdad] last week,” it says. The letter adds that “the commission of the council was set at 7.5 per cent of the amount of the contracts”. The information was widely reported by the Sunday Times on April 13, 2003, and by the Swiss French-language Television. The latter even widely opened its airwaves to the author of this “scoop”, Paolo Fusi, presented as an Italian journalist. At the time, he was living on the shores of Lake Como, in the north of the peninsula.

The objective: to make people believe that two of France’s largest arms companies are linked to Saddam Hussein’s regime, and thus compromise Paris, which is hostile to the war in Iraq. Because this document, which is still in our possession, is a crude forgery. It is not even signed! And above all, have we ever seen cheaters write their schemes in black and white? Other forgeries, distilled by Paolo Fusi, will involve the Banca del Gottardo, accused of managing funds belonging to members of Saddam Hussein’s regime. As well as… Yeslam Bin Laden, Osama’s half-brother, based in Geneva and head of the Saudi Investment Company (SICO). On November 17, 1987, this company allegedly sought to acquire companies linked to Saddam Hussein. “SICO is going to take control of these companies and their contracts in agreement with the Iraqi government,” it is discovered in another document, citing the companies Dumynta, Radistal, Saidomin and Techno Services.

Shortly before that, the same Paolo Fusi had claimed that the Swiss ambassador in Luxembourg was managing the money of the Iraqi dictator via his half-brother, Barzan al-Tikriti, who was based in Geneva… A fable also made up from scratch. The Sunday Times quickly corrected, acknowledging that “there is no evidence suggesting that an account existed with Banca del Gottardo after the UN sanctions in 1990 (…) We regret that our article has accredited a contrary idea.” One of the authors of the article was none other than Paolo Fusi. For its part, the Swiss news agency ATS said that the report “was based on documents which, according to the Ticino public prosecutor, turned out to be forged”, adding that the latter had “immediately filed a complaint against unknown persons for forgery”.

The author of this article, who had covered the American intervention in Iraq for Le Matin dimanche, met at length with Paolo Fusi in April 2003 on the shores of Lake Como. This “journalist” was then accompanied by a curious character who introduced himself as a member of the Italian secret service. Very unconvinced by the falsified documents as well as by the arguments of the author of the “scoops”, he had published an article on April 20, 2003 in Le Matin dimanche, soberly entitled: “A gross manipulation”, illustrated by photos of Saddam Hussein and Yeslam Bin Laden.

Since then, the forger had been particularly discreet, even disappearing from the journalistic landscape. Until he reappeared very recently to serve the emirate of Qatar. His article, published on the Mediapart blog, was also published in Italian under the title “Fango su Qatar”, illustrated with several photos. But apparently, the author is still as approximate as ever, getting the captions wrong.

Quand le lobby qatari utilise un faussaire pour dénigrer les opposants aux Frères musulmans !



Ian Hamel (*)

Pour dénoncer les adversaires des Frères musulmans et de l’islam radical, les communicants liés au Qatar utilisaient habituellement des pseudonymes. A l’occasion, il pouvait également faire appel à François Burgat, chercheur à la retraite, aujourd’hui président du Centre arabe de recherches et d’études politiques (CAREP) à Paris, organisme financé par l’émirat gazier. Toutefois, le dernier article, « Boue sur le Qatar », publié le 20 juin sur un blog hébergé par Mediapart, est signé par Paolo Fusi, un sulfureux personnage, auteur de faux grossiers lors de la dernière guerre du Golfe.

Le document, rédigé en anglais, est daté du 3 mars 1994, soit plusieurs années après l’embargo sur l’Irak. Il a pour en-tête la société panaméenne Radistal Inc. Corporation, soupçonnée de dissimuler de l’argent de Saddam Hussein. Le document aurait été rédigé à Lugano, capitale du canton du Tessin, en Suisse. « Les nouveaux contrats de Dassault et de Thomson ont été signé à B [pour Bagdad] la semaine dernière », peut-on lire. Le courrier ajoute que « la commission du conseil a été fixée à 7,5 % du montant des contrats ». Des informations largement relayées par le Sunday Times, le 13 avril 2003, et par la Télévision suisse francophone. Celle-ci ouvre même largement son antenne à l’auteur de ce “scoop“, Paolo Fusi, présenté comme un journaliste italien. A cette époque, il habite sur les bords du lac de Côme, dans le nord de la Péninsule.

L’objectif : faire croire que deux des plus grandes sociétés françaises d’armement seraient liées au régime de Saddam Hussein, et ainsi compromettre Paris, hostile à la guerre en Irak. Car ce document, qui est toujours en notre possession, est un faux grossier. Il n’est même pas signé ! ET surtout, a-t-on déjà vu des tricheurs écrire noir sur blanc leurs magouilles ? D’autres faux, distillé par Paolo Fusi, vont impliquer la Banca del Gottardo, accusée de gérer des fonds appartenant à des membres du régime de Saddam Hussein. Ainsi que… Yeslam Ben Laden, le demi-frère d’Oussama, installé à Genève et patron de la Saudi Investment Compagny (SICO). Cette entreprise aurait cherché le 17 novembre 1987 à acquérir des sociétés liées à Saddam Hussein. « La SICO va prendre, en accord avec le gouvernement irakien, le contrôle de ces entreprises et de leurs contrats », découvre-t-on dans un autre document, citant les sociétés Dumynta, Radistal, Saidomin et Techno Services.

Peu de temps auparavant, le même Paolo Fusi avait prétendu que l’ambassadeur de Suisse au Luxembourg gérait l’argent du dictateur irakien, via son demi-frère, Barzan al-Tikriti, en poste à Genève… Une fable également montée de toutes pièces. Le Sunday Times a rapidement rectifié, reconnaissant « qu’aucun indice ne suggère qu’un compte existait auprès de Banca del Gottardo après les sanctions décrétées par l’ONU en 1990 (…) Nous regrettons que notre article ait accrédité une idée contraire ». L’un des auteurs de l’article n’étant autre que Paolo Fusi. De son côté l’ATS, l’agence de presse suisse, précisait que le reportage « s’appuyait sur des documents qui se sont révélés être des faux selon le procureur général du Tessin », ajoutant que de dernier avait « porter plainte immédiatement contre inconnus pour faux en écritures ».

L’auteur de ces lignes, qui avait couvert l’intervention américaine en Irak pour Le Matin dimanche, a longuement rencontré Paolo Fusi en avril 2003 sur les bords du lac de Come. Ce “journaliste“ était alors accompagné d’un curieux personnage qui se présentait comme un membre des services secrets italiens. Bien peu convaincu par les documents falsifiés comme par les arguments de l’auteur des “scoops“, il avait publié un article le 20 avril 2003 dans Le Matin dimanche, sobrement intitulé : « Une grossière manipulation », illustré par des photos de Saddam Hussein et de Yeslam Ben Laden.

Depuis, le faussaire s’était montré particulièrement discret, disparaissant même du paysage journalistique. Jusqu’à ce qu’il réapparaisse très récemment pour se mettre au service de l’émirat du Qatar. Son article, diffusé sur le blog de Mediapart, a également été publié en italien sous le tire « Fango su Qatar », illustré de plusieurs photos. Mais apparemment, l’auteur se montre toujours aussi approximatif, se trompant dans les légendes !