Pakistan and Turkey: When governments become the godfathers of the terrorist threat!



Roland Jacquard (*)

Multiple French flags and effigies of President Emmanuel Macron have been burnt all over Pakistan in the last couple of days as Prime Minister Imran Khan’s government encouraged political parties, radical Islamic groups, lawyers and students’ associations to come out to the streets in thousands against the perceived Islamophobia in France.

Many more protests are planned in the coming days in Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad and other towns by Islamic groups like the Tehreek-e—Labbaik Pakistan, Jamaat –e-Islami etc. Further, a concerted social media campaign to boycott French products has also been launched in the country with hashtags like #MacronSaySorryToMuslims, #FranceShameOnyou and #BoycottFrance widely being circulated.

Over the years, Pakistan has moved from being a Western ally in South Asia, to one that has fast slipped into the abyss of Islamic radicalization, where the mullahs control the popular narrative.  Decades of the Pakistan Army’s policy of nurturing these radical groups have further reinforced their relevance, with a vast majority of the population being influenced by them.

As a result, while France mourned the shocking beheading of Samuel Paty, in Pakistan, on the contrary, many welcomed this terrible incident and social media posts congratulated the ‘Chechen brother’ who had ‘avenged the insult of the Prophet Muhammad’.  In an article in a local Urdu newspaper, a member of the UN banned terrorist group Jaish-e-Muhammad, endorsed the killing by calling it the logical outcome of Paty’s act of blasphemy.

Prime Minister of Pakistan, despite the country’s reputation as a safe haven for terror groups, issued a statement where he unabashedly lectured President Emmanuel Macron on ways to deny space to extremists. He also gave a call to the Islamic world to unite against the West in order to educate them on the ways of Islam.  At home, he has encouraged the country’s vast population of radicalized elements to call for jihad against France. In fact, the leader of the Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) Khadim Hussein Rizvi, whose speeches swayed the Pakistani national to carry out the knife attack in Paris on September 25, in a large public meeting on October 23 called for use of nuclear bombs on France.

In a country where outraged religious feelings become sufficient grounds for murder, the card of ‘Islam under threat’ is used both by the government and its proxies to whip up popular sentiments against the ‘kafirs’ or non-believers.  In a country, where the blasphemy law has been weaponised to target religious minorities, and numerous ‘blasphemers’ are killed by mobs even before the courts can rule in their cases, these ‘guardians’ of Islam will only be too happy to target blasphemers outside.

As both Pakistan and Turkey jostle with each other to emerge as the torchbearer of Muslims worldwide, they unleash upon the free thinking world the dangerous trend of attacking freedom of religion and belief and of opinion and expression. Further, both Recep Tayyep Erdogen and Imran Khan’s reckless speeches fan feelings of hatred against France and encourage extremist Islamic groups and lone individuals to undertake terror attacks. It is crucial that in these tiring times, Europe stands united in their actions against these forces of fanaticism.

Pakistan et Turquie : Quand des gouvernements deviennent les parrains de la menace terroriste !



Roland Jacquard (*)

Une kyrielle de drapeaux français et des effigies du président Emmanuel Macron ont été brûlés dans tout le Pakistan ces derniers jours alors que le gouvernement du Premier ministre Imran Khan encourageait les partis politiques, les groupes islamiques radicaux, les avocats et les associations d’étudiants à descendre dans la rue par milliers pour dénoncer l’islamophobie perçue en France.

De nombreuses autres manifestations sont prévues dans les prochains jours à Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad et dans d’autres villes par des groupes islamiques comme le Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan, le Jamaat e-Islami, etc. En outre, une campagne mise en place sur les médias sociaux visant à boycotter les produits français a également été lancée dans le pays, avec une large diffusion de hashtags comme #MacronSaySorryToMuslims (#MacronDesExcusesAuxMusulmans), #FranceShameOnyou (#HonteALaFrance) et #BoycottFrance.

Au fil des ans, le Pakistan a évolué d’un allié occidental en Asie du Sud à un pays qui a vite glissé vers l’abîme de la radicalisation islamique, où les mollahs contrôlent le récit populaire. Des décennies de politique de l’armée pakistanaise pour soutenir ces groupes radicaux ont encore renforcé leur crédibilité, une grande majorité de la population étant influencée par eux.

En conséquence, alors que la France a déploré la décapitation choquante de Samuel Paty, au Pakistan, au contraire, beaucoup ont salué ce terrible incident et les médias sociaux ont félicité le « frère tchétchène » qui avait « vengé l’insulte du prophète Mahomet ». Dans un article paru dans un journal ourdou local, un membre du groupe terroriste Jaish-e-Muhammad, interdit par l’ONU, a approuvé le meurtre en le qualifiant d’aboutissement logique de l’acte de blasphème de Paty.

Le Premier ministre pakistanais, malgré la réputation du pays comme refuge pour les groupes terroristes, a publié une déclaration dans laquelle il a sermonné sans retenue le président Emmanuel Macron sur les moyens de refuser l’espace public aux extrémistes. Il a également lancé un appel au monde islamique pour qu’il s’unisse contre l’Occident afin de l’éduquer sur les voies de l’Islam ! Chez lui, il a encouragé la vaste population composée d’éléments radicalisés du pays à appeler au jihad contre la France. En fait, le leader du Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) Khadim Hussein Rizvi, dont les discours ont incité un ressortissant pakistanais à perpétrer l’attentat au couteau à Paris le 25 septembre, a appelé, lors d’une grande réunion publique le 23 octobre, à l’utilisation de bombes nucléaires contre la France !

Dans un pays où l’indignation provoquée par des sentiments religieux devient un motif suffisant pour assassiner, la carte de l’« Islam menacé » est utilisée à la fois par le gouvernement et ses représentants pour attiser les sentiments populaires contre les « kâfirs » ou les non-croyants. Dans un pays où la loi sur le blasphème est utilisée comme arme pour cibler les minorités religieuses et où de nombreux « blasphémateurs » sont tués par des foules avant même que les tribunaux puissent statuer sur leur cas, ces « gardiens » de l’Islam ne seront que trop heureux de cibler des blasphémateurs à l’extérieur.

Alors que le Pakistan et la Turquie se bousculent pour devenir le porte-flambeau des musulmans du monde entier, ils déclenchent sur le monde de la libre pensée la dangereuse tendance à attaquer la liberté de religion et de croyance et la liberté d’opinion et d’expression. En outre, les discours outréncier de Recep Tayyip Erdogan et d’Imran Khan attisent les sentiments de haine contre la France et encouragent les groupes islamiques extrémistes et les individus isolés à entreprendre des attaques terroristes. Il est crucial qu’en ces temps éprouvants , l’Europe soit unie dans ses actions contre ces forces du fanatisme.