New revelations on the “Qatar Connexion”



Despite the denials of the Qatari authorities, which are trying to deny any involvement in the financing of terrorism, scandals have multiplied, and revelations have followed one another since the beginning of the summer, bringing a surprising amount of documents and evidence that overwhelm the gas emirate. Revelations that splash on many local businessmen and dignitaries, but also prominent members of the princely family, including Fahad bin Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani, one of the brothers of the current Amir, Tamim bin Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani, and former Prime Minister Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani, close advisor and business associate of former Emir Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani….

The summer saga with revelations providing evidence of Qatar’s involvement in terrorist financing began on June 20 with an investigation by the Wall Street Journal. Based on internal UN documents, this investigation revealed that al-Qaeda’s famous Qatari money lender, Khalifa al-Subaiy, known as the financier of the “brain” of the September 11, 2001 attacks, Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, registered as such on the UN and US Treasury black lists, had continued – with the help of the Doha authorities – to access his assets supposed to be frozen by the UN Security Council since 2008. Worse still, with impunity due to its proximity to some of the leading figures of the princely family of Qatar, including former Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani, al-Subaiy did not hesitate to resume his activities as a “patron of terror”, by raising funds again in 2009, then in 2011, 2012 and 2013, for networks linked to al-Qaeda and Daech in Pakistan, Iran, Iraq and Syria.
Doha is home to and protects another equally famous “patron of terror”. His name is Abderrahman al-Nuaimy. UN investigations have established that since 2005 he has collected more than $2 million per month on behalf of al-Qaeda in Mesopotamia, in other words for the Zarqawi organisation, Daech’s ancestor. In 2013, the American Treasury classified him as a “specially targeted terrorist”. His name was then included on the American, European and United Nations blacklists. As with Khalifa al-Subaiy, al-Nuaimy’s assets are supposed to be frozen. But this does not prevent him from continuing to finance Osbat al-Ansar in Lebanon, the Shebbabs in Somalia and the al-Nusra front in Syria.
Al-Nuaimy’s generosity does not spare the European continent. Through the Eid Charity association, of which he is co-founder, he finances, in Great Britain, Human Appeal International, an association linked to the Muslim Brotherhood, affiliated to the Union of Good organisation, founded and chaired by Sheikh Youssef al-Qaradhawi, registered by the American Treasury on the black list of organisations financing terrorism, since 2008.
And through its al-Karama foundation, al-Nuaimy is accused of providing funding to many associations linked to the Muslim Brotherhood and terrorist groups, including Palestinian Hamas, through two controversial characters based in Switzerland: the Qatari Khalifa bin Mohammed al-Rabban, patron of the Swiss branch of al-Karama, and the Algerian Ahcene Kerkadi, member of al-Karama and former executive of the Algerian Islamic Salvation Front (FIS).
Eight other Qatari dignitaries and businessmen have been pinned down by Western or UN investigation reports.
For example, Salem Hassan Kuwari and Abdullah Ghanim Khawar were pinned by the US Treasury for “providing several hundred thousand dollars to al-Qaeda for its operations, as well as for the release of al-Qaeda detainees in Iran and elsewhere”. A third Qatari citizen, Ibrahim Issa al-Bakr, was also blacklisted by the US Treasury for raising funds for al-Qaeda and the Taliban. He also reportedly provided logistical support to the al-Nusra Fund in Syria.
In 2012, former Qatari Olympic Committee member Abdulaziz bin Khalifa al-Attiyah was arrested in Lebanon for providing funding to activists linked to al-Qaeda in Syria.
In 2014, two brothers of Qatari nationality, Abd al-Malik and Ashraf Mohammed Yusuf Abd al-Salam, were put on the American blacklists for their financial support to the al-Nusra front in Syria. They are the sons of Mohammed Yusuf Abd al-Salam, aka Abdulaziz al-Qatari, the founder of the Jihadist group Jund al-Aqsa in Syria.
Ashraf Mohammed Yusuf Abd al-Salam is also accused by the Americans of providing funding and technological equipment for al-Qaeda in Mesopotamia (Zarqawi organisation) in 2005. For its part, the UN accuses him of sending funding to al-Qaeda leaders in Pakistan via “facilitators” based in Iran. His brother Abd al-Malik is also accused of making remittances on behalf of Muhsin al-Fadhli, known as a “facilitator” working for al-Qaeda in Iran.
And in 2015, under pressure from the United States, Doha froze the assets of Saad al-Ka’bi and Abdelatif al-Kawari, considered by Washington to be major terrorist financiers, and imposed a ban on them to leave the country.

Nouvelles révélations sur la « Qatar Connexion »



Malgré les dénégations des autorités qataries, qui s’efforcent de démentir toute implication dans le financement du terrorisme, les scandales se multiplient et les révélations se succèdent, depuis le début de l’été, apportant un lot surprenant de documents et de preuves qui accablent l’émirat gazier. Des révélations qui éclaboussent de nombreux hommes d’affaires et dignitaires locaux, mais aussi d’éminents membres de la famille princière, dont Fahad Bin Hamad Bin Khalifa al-Thani, l’un des frères de l’émir actuel, Tamim Bin Hamad Bin Khalifa al-Thani, et l’ancien premier ministre Hamad Bin Jassim al-Thani, proche conseiller et associé en affaires de l’ancien émir Hamad Bin Khalifa al-Thani…

Le feuilleton estival des révélations apportant les preuves de l’implication du Qatar dans le financement du terrorisme a débuté le 20 juin par une enquête du Wall Street Journal. En se basant sur des documents internes du l’ONU, cette enquête révélait que le célèbre argentier qatari d’al-Qaida, Khalifa al-Soubaiy, connu pour être le financier du « cerveau » des attentats du 11 septembre 2001, Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, inscrit à ce titre sur les listes noires de l’ONU et du Trésor américain, depuis 2008, continuait – grâce à la complicité des autorités de Doha – à avoir accès à ses avoirs censés être gelés par le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU.
Pis encore, fort de l’impunité due à sa proximité avec certaines grandes figures de la famille princière du Qatar, dont l’ex-premier ministre et ministre des affaires étrangères, Hamad Bin Jassim al-Thani, al-Subaiy n’a pas hésité à renouer avec ses activités de « mécène de la terreur », en levant à nouveaux des fonds, en 2009, puis en 2011, 2012 et 2013, au profit de réseaux liés à al-Qaida et à Daech au Pakistan, en Iran, en Irak et en Syrie.
Doha abrite et protège un autre « mécène de la terreur » non moins célèbre. Son nom est Abdelrahman al-Nuaimy. Les enquêtes de l’ONU ont établi qu’il a récolté à partir de 2005 plus de 2 millions de dollars par mois pour le compte d’al-Qaida en Mésopotamie, autrement dit pour l’organisation Zarqawi, l’ancêtre de Daech. En 2013, le Trésor american l’a classifié parmi les « terroriste spécialement ciblés ». Son nom est alors inscrit sur les listes noires américaines, européennes et onusiennes. Comme pour Khalifa al-Subaiy, les avoirs d’al-Nuaimy sont censés être gelés. Mais cela ne l’empêche pas de continuer à financer Osbat al-Ansar, au Liban, les Shebbabs en Somalie et le front al-Nosra en Syrie.
La générosité d’al-Nuaimy n’épargne pas le continent Européen. A travers l’association Eid Charity, dont il est le co-fondateur, il finance, en Grande Bretagne, l’Human Appeal International, une association liée au Frères musulmans, affiliée à l’organisation Union of Good, fondée et présidée par le cheikh Youssef al-Qaradhawi, inscrite par le Trésor américain sur la liste noire des organisations finançant le terrorisme, depuis 2008.
Et à travers sa fondation al-Karama, al-Nuaimy est accusé de fournir du financement à de nombreuses associations liées au Frères musulmans et à des groupes terroristes dont le Hamas palestinien, à travers deux personnages controversés basés en Suisse : le qatari Khalifa Bin Mohammed al-Rabban, patron de la branche suisse d’al-Karama, et l’algérien Ahcene Kerkadi, membre d’al-Karama et ancien cadre du Front Islamique du Salut (FIS) algérien.
Huit autres dignitaires et hommes d’affaires qataris ont été épinglés par des rapports d’enquêtes occidentaux ou onusiens.
Ainsi, Salem Hassan Kuwari et Abdullah Ghanim Khawar a été épinglé par le Trésor américain d’avoir « fourni plusieurs centaines de milliers de dollars à al-Qaida pour ses opérations, ainsi que pour faire libérer des détenus d’al-Qaida en Iran et ailleurs ». Un troisième citoyen qatari, Ibrahim Issa al-Bakr, a lui aussi été blacklisté par le Trésor américain pour avoir collecté des fonds pour al-Qaida et les Taliban. Il aurait aussi fourni du soutien logistique au Fond al-Nusra en Syrie.
En 2012, l’ancien membre du comité olympique qatari, Abdulaziz Bin Khalifa al-Attiyah a été arrêté au Liban, pour avoir fourni du financement à des activistes liés à al-Qaida en Syrie.
En 2014, deux frères de nationalité qatarie, Abd al-Malik et Ashraf Mohammed Yusuf Abd al-Salam ont été inscrits sur les listes noires américaines, en raison de leur soutien financier au front al-Nusra en Syrie. Ils sont les fils de Mohammed Yusuf Abd al-Salam, alias Abdulaziz al-Qatari, le fondateur du groupe djihadiste Jund al-Aqsa en Syrie.
Ashraf Mohammed Yusuf Abd al-Salam est aussi accusé par les Américains d’avoir fourni du financement et des équipements technologiques pour al-Qaida en Mésopotamie (organisation Zarqawi) en 2005. De son côté l’ONU l’accuse d’avoir envoyé du financement à des chefs d’al-Qaida au Pakistan, via des « facilitateurs » basés en Iran. Son frère Abd al-Malik est lui aussi accusé d’avoir fait des transferts de fond pour le compte de Muhsin al-Fadhli, connu pour être un « facilitateur » travaillant pour al-Qaida en Iran.
Et en 2015, sous pression des Etats-Unis, Doha a gelé les avoirs de Saad al-Ka’bi et Abdelatif al-Kawari, considérés par Washington comme d’importants financiers du terrorisme, et leur a imposé une interdiction de sortie du territoire.