The West Facing the Qatari Puzzle: Tamim in Saddam Hussein’s Footsteps?



atmane tazaghart (*)

This summer 2019 will have been the season of all extremes for Qatar.
It all began on June 20, with an investigation by the Wall Street Journal revealing that one of Al-Qaeda’s most famous silversmiths, Khalifa al-Subaiy, who was notably the financier of the “September 11 brain”, continues to carry out his activities as a “patron of terror”, protected from the high protections he enjoys within the Qatari establishment.

Then the scandals broke out.

On July 22, the New York Times revealed a controversial telephone conversation between Qatar’s ambassador to Mogadishu, Hassan Bin Hamza Bin Hashem, and the businessman close to the Qatar Emir, Khalifa Kayed al-Muhanadi. In this exchange, the two men bragged about having sponsored a terrorist attack in May in Bossaso, Somalia.
The next day (July 23) we learned that Fahad Bin Hamad al-Tahni, one of the Prince of Qatar’s brothers, is the subject of a federal complaint in the United States for having ordered assassination attempts against American citizens. And less than a week later, another brother of the Emir, Khalid Bin Hamad al-Thani, was in the news: his name is mentioned in an investigation into the financing of radical medersas in Pakistan. Worse still, we learned that the Salafi Jihadist sympathies of this emir were an “open secret known to all the Western chancelleries”!
Then, on August 5, the resounding scandal of the Al Rayan Bank broke out in London. According to The Times, this Islamic bank is being used by the Qatar authorities to finance 14 terrorist organisations in Great Britain! The former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Qatar, Hamad Bin Jassim al-Thani, was quick to sell off his luxurious properties in London and Paris.
On the surface, the panic that has seized the former head of Qatari diplomacy is surprising. Especially since he is used to this type of scandal (financing of the Al Nusra front, the purchase of Printemps in Paris and Barclays Bank in London, etc.). In fact, Hamad Bin Jassim is rightly aware that there will be a before and after the Al Rayan affair.
Indeed, following this scandal, Qatar finds itself on a slippery slope that some might compare to the one that saw former Iraqi President Saddam Hussein move from being the West’s “best friend in the Middle East” to being an enemy to be shot down!
We are only at the early stages of this turnaround. But the comments of some British politicians, such as Conservative MP Zac Goldsmith, are unequivocal: “Qatar’s dishonorable support for extremists in the Middle East is well known and well documented. If they also use their great wealth and global influence to facilitate extremism right here in the United Kingdom, then the government must act quickly and firmly […] The fact that Qatar has invested heavily in the United Kingdom should not absolve or protect it“!

* Editor-in-Chief

L’Occident face au casse-tête qatari : Tamim sur les pas de Saddam Hussein ?



atmane tazaghart (*)

Cet été 2019 aura été, pour le Qatar, la saison de toute les outrances.
Tout a commencé le 20 juin, par une enquête du Wall Street Journal révélant que l’un des plus célèbres argentiers d’al-Qaida, Khalifa al-Subaiy, qui fut notamment le financier du « cerveau du 11 septembre », continue à exercer ses activités de « mécène de la terreur », à l’abri des hautes protections dont il jouit au sein de l’establishment qatari.

Puis, les scandales ont déferlé.

Le 22 juillet, le New York Times révélait une sulfureuse conversation téléphonique entre l’ambassadeur du Qatar à Mogadiscio, Hassan Bin Hamza Bin Hashem, et l’homme d’affaires proche de l’émir du Qatar, Khalifa Kayed al-Muhanadi. Dans cet échange, les deux hommes se vantaient d’avoir commandité un attentat terroriste survenu en mai à Bossaso, en Somalie.
Le lendemain (23 juillet) nous apprenions que Fahad Bin Hamad al-Tahni, l’un des frères du prince du Qatar, fait l’objet d’une plainte fédérale aux États-Unis pour avoir commandité des tentatives d’assassinat visant des citoyens américains. Et moins d’une semaine plus tard, un autre frère de l’émir, Khalid Bin Hamad al-Thani, défrayait à son tour la chronique : son nom est cité dans une enquête sur le financement de médersas radicales au Pakistan. Pis encore, on apprenait que les sympathies salafo-djihadistes de cet émir étaient un « secret de polichinelle connu de toutes les chancelleries occidentales » !
Puis, le 5 août éclatait, à Londres, le retentissant scandale de la banque al-Rayan. Selon The Times, cette banque islamique est instrumentalisée par les autorités du Qatar pour financer 14 organisations terroristes en Grande Bretagne ! Mis en cause, l’ancien premier ministre et ministre des affaires étrangères du Qatar, Hamad Bin Jassim al-Thani, s’est empressé de brader ses luxueuses propriétés à Londres et à Paris.
En apparence, la panique qui s’est emparée de l’ancien chef de la diplomatie qatarie est surprenante. D’autant qu’il s’agit d’un personnage habitué de ce type de scandales (financement du front al-Nusra, affaires de l’achat du Printemps à Paris et de la banque Barclays à Londres…). En réalité, Hamad Bin Jassim est conscient, à juste titre, qu’il y aura un avant et un après l’affaire al-Rayan.
En effet, suite à ce scandale, le Qatar se retrouve sur pente glissante que d’aucuns pourraient comparer à celle qui a vu l’ancien président irakien, Saddam Hussein, passer du statut du « meilleur ami de l’Occident au Moyen-Orient » à celui d’ennemi à abattre !
Nous n’en sommes qu’aux premiers prémices de ce revirement. Mais les commentaires de certains politiques britanniques, comme le député conservateur Zac Goldsmith, sont sans équivoque : « Le soutien déshonorant du Qatar aux extrémistes au Moyen-Orient est connu et bien documenté. S’ils utilisent également leur grande richesse et leur influence mondiale pour faciliter l’extrémisme ici-même au Royaume-Uni, alors le gouvernement doit agir rapidement et fermement […] Le fait que le Qatar ait beaucoup investi au Royaume-Uni ne devrait pas l’absoudre ou le protéger » !

* Rédacteur en chef