The Muslim Brotherhood ended up letting down Tariq Ramadan



Ian Hamel (*)

The least that can be said is that Tariq Ramadan’s performance against Jean-Jacques Bourdin on BFMTV did not have the desired effect. Even before the speech of the grandson of Hassan al-Banna, after almost two years of silence forced, Oumma.com, the main French-speaking Muslim site, lit him by evoking a “vain rehab”. The site recalled that “his life was a tissue of lies and his cynicism without limits “.

But the biggest blow was brought to him by Muslims of France (the former UOIF), the tricolor branch of the Muslim Brotherhood. Even prior to the distribution of his work, Duty of truth (produced in 12,000 copies) in the bookstores, the Muslim association declared itself betrayed “by the behavior revealed by Mr. Ramadan, a behavior that is in total contradiction with the ethical and moral principles expected by somebody who preaches Islam, calls for his spirituality and his values, and responds to the questions of a mainly young audience and looking for models”.

The Middle East Eye site, considered close to the Brotherhood and to Qatar, does not spare him, by declaring “the impossible defense of Tariq Ramadan”, and evoking a “smell of scandal “. The French press did not allow this rejection, on the part of the Brotherhood, giving it the place it deserved. Certainly, Muslims of France took a lot of time before breaking with the Swiss preacher. We should remind that at the annual meeting of Muslims of France, at Bourget in 2018, the main french Muslim association had not hesitated to applaud a man imprisoned for two rapes! But you have to know that since the creation of the Brotherhood in 1928, on the banks of the Nile in Egypt, the family of Hassan al-Banna had always been untouchable. The book The Muslim Brotherhood from origins to our days (Amr Elshobaki, Karthala, 2009) reports that one of the brothers of the General Guide was accused of stealing money. He was never worried. Hassan al-Banna will even cover one of his brothers-in-law, Abdel Hakim Abdeen, suspected of harassing and assaulting sexually the wives of some Muslim of the Muslim Brotherhood. The facts are serious enough that the Brotherhood’s internal tribunal decides to meet for the first time in 1945. The court demands the conviction of the brother-in-law. But Hassan al-Banna rejects the report presented by the Committee stating that it would form an additional impartial committee. In fact, he will exclude the members of the commission that drafted the report damning about Abdel Hakim Abdeen …

Farid Abdelkrim, former Muslim Brother (he led the Young Muslims of France), author of Why I Stop Being Islamist (Points on i, 2015) tells that the hostility of the leaders of the former UOIF against Tariq Ramadan comes from far away, because the character is particularly hateful and out of control. Internally, he is also nicknamed “His majesty TR”. But as soon as Hassan al-Banna’s grandson appears, everyone goes to bed. “I have in mind this convocation addressed to him by our honorable council on the pretext that he had to be called to order (…) Shortly before he joined, many openly showed their desire to fight out with the unmanageable Everyone went there with his unwavering determination to administer to him in the face his four truths … Now, just when he appeared, I was in such a panic “says Farid Abdelkrim. All that Ahmed Jeballah, president of the UOIF, manages to pronounce: “Tariq, uh … you are dear to us … Uh you are of ours and … and we are yours … ”

As for the book Duty of truth, it contains no revelation. He’s just rattling off in 283 pages the truths of the Swiss preacher. In fact, Tariq Ramadan would have fallen into a “Trap” (not to say “conspiracy”) fomented by the French power necessarily Islamophobic. And in order to compromise him, to shoot him down, we would not stop dragging in his bed women (inevitably easy ones). However, we will retain its attacks against Qatar. On the one share, by a pirouette, he denies that the emirate could have paid him 35,000 euros per month. “How could I have taken the silly risk of repatriating this money to France, as mentioned by Tracfin, where I am so guarded? He asks. Some lines below, he adds without laughing: “Can those who criticize me quote even one only speech or text where I defended a Gulf state, a monarchy, a dictatorship? On the contrary, there are dozens of examples of texts in which I denounce Saudi Arabia, as well as Qatar, Iran, Turkey … “.

Too bad that Tariq Ramadan does not go so far as to mention the publications where he would have allegedly dumped his wrath against the al-Thani, and more particularly against the Sheikha Moza, the mother of the current Emir, who sponsored his Chair at Oxford. We can also wonder why Tariq Ramadan chose to domiciliate his wife and his two girls in Doha, in this horrible dictatorship. Himself spending two weeks a month in his palaces!

* Journalist and writer, specialist of the Muslim Brotherhood.

Les Frères musulmans ont fini par lâcher Tariq Ramadan



Ian Hamel (*)

Le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est que la prestation de Tariq Ramadan face à Jean-Jacques Bourdin sur BFMTV n’a pas eu l’effet escompté. Avant même que le petit-fils d’Hassan al-Banna prenne la parole, après presque deux ans de silence quelque peu forcé, Oumma.com, le principal site musulman francophone, l’allumait en évoquant une « vaine réhabilitation ». Le site rappelait que « sa vie n’était qu’un tissu de mensonges et son cynisme sans limites ».

Mais le coup le plus dur lui a été porté par Musulmans de France (l’ex-UOIF), la branche tricolore des Frères musulmans. Avant même que son ouvrage, Devoir de vérité (tiré à 12.000 exemplaires), ne soit distribué dans les librairies, l’association musulmane se déclarait trahie « par le comportement révélé par monsieur Ramadan, comportement qui s’avère en totale contradiction avec les principes éthiques et moraux attendus d’un homme qui prône l’islam, appelle à sa spiritualité et à ses valeurs, et répond aux interrogations d’un public essentiellement jeune et à la recherche de modèles ». Le site Middle East Eye, réputé proche de la Confrérie et du Qatar, ne le ménage pas non plus, en titrant sur « l’impossible défense de Tariq Ramadan », et en évoquant un « parfum de scandale ».

La presse française n’a pas accordé à ce désaveu, de la part de la Confrérie, la place qu’il méritait. Certes, Musulmans de France a mis beaucoup de temps avant de rompre avec le prédicateur suisse. Il faut se souvenir que lors de la rencontre annuelle des Musulmans de France, au Bourget en 2018, la principale association musulmane tricolore n’avait pas hésité à faire applaudir un homme incarcéré pour deux viols ! Mais il faut savoir que depuis la création de la Confrérie en 1928, sur les bords du Nil en Égypte, la famille d’Hassan al-Banna avait toujours été intouchable. Le livre Les Frères musulmans des origines à nos jours (Amr Elshobaki, Karthala, 2009) raconte que l’un des frères du Guide général était accusé de piquer dans la caisse. Il n’a jamais été inquiété. Hassan al-Banna va même couvrir l’un de ses beaux-frères, Abdel Hakim Abdeen, suspecté d’harceler et d’agresser sexuellement les épouses de certains Frères musulmans. Les faits sont suffisamment graves pour que le tribunal interne de la Confrérie se réunisse pour la première fois en 1945. Le tribunal réclame la condamnation du beau-frère. Mais Hassan al-Banna rejette le rapport présenté par la commission en déclarant qu’il allait former une autre commission impartiale. En fait, il va exclure les membres de la commission qui avait rédigé le rapport accablant concernant Abdel Hakim Abdeen…

Farid Abdelkrim, ancien Frère musulman (il a dirigé les Jeunes Musulmans de France), auteur de Pourquoi j’ai cessé d’être islamiste (Les Points sur les i, 2015). raconte que l’hostilité des dirigeants de l’ex-UOIF vis-à-vis de Tariq Ramadan est ancienne, car le personnage est particulièrement odieux et ingérable. En interne, il est d’ailleurs surnommé « sa majesté TR ». Mais dès que le petit-fils d’Hassan al-Banna paraît, tous se couchent. «  J’ai en mémoire cette convocation que lui adressa notre honorable conseil d’administration sous prétexte qu’il fallait le rappeler à l’ordre (…) Peu avant qu’il nous rejoigne, beaucoup affichaient ostensiblement leur envie d’en découdre avec l’indiscipliné. Chacun y allait de son indéfectible détermination à lui administrer en pleine face ses quatre vérités… Or, à l’instant même où il apparut, je sentis planer comme un vent de panique », raconte Farid Abdelkrim. Tout ce qu’Ahmed Jeballah, le président de l’UOIF, arrive à prononcer : « Tariq, euh… tu nous es cher… Euh tu es des nôtres et… et nous sommes des tiens… ».

Quant au livre Devoir de vérité, il ne contient aucune révélation. Il se contente d’égrener sur 283 pages les vérités du prédicateur suisse. En fait, Tariq Ramadan serait tombé dans un « traquenard » (pour ne pas dire « complot ») fomenté par le pouvoir français forcément islamophobe. Et pour le compromettre, l’abattre, on n’aurait cessé de lui glisser des femmes (forcément faciles) dans son lit. On retiendra toutefois ses attaques contre le Qatar. D’une part, par une pirouette, il nie que l’émirat gazier puisse lui avoir versé 35 000 euros par mois. « Comment aurais-je pu prendre le risque idiot de rapatrier cet argent en France, comme le mentionne Tracfin, où je me sais si surveillé ? », interroge-t-il. Quelques lignes plus bas, il ajoute sans rire : « Ceux qui me critiquent peuvent-ils citer ne serait-ce qu’un seul discours ou un seul texte où j’aurai défendu un État du Golfe, une monarchie, une dictature ? Il existe au contraire des dizaines d’exemples de textes où je dénonce l’Arabie saoudite, comme le Qatar, l’Iran, la Turquie… ».

Dommage que Tariq Ramadan ne va pas jusqu’à mentionner les publications où il aurait prétendument déversé son courroux contre les al-Thani, et plus particulièrement contre la cheikha Moza, la mère de l’actuel émir, qui lui a sponsorisé sa chaire à Oxford. On peut également se demander pourquoi Tariq Ramadan avait choisi de domicilier sa femme et ses deux filles à Doha, dans cette horrible dictature. Lui-même passant deux semaines par mois dans ses palaces !

 

* Journaliste et écrivain, spécialiste des Frères musulmans.