fbpx
 
 

 

French legislative elections: Erdogan has slipped into the ballot box!



Ian Hamel (*)

In Germany, where three million Turks live, more than a million of whom have German nationality, Ankara has been trying for several years to influence elections by calling on voters with dual nationality not to vote for political parties deemed hostile to Turkey’s interests. Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s networks are also active in France, although much more discreetly, via the Council for Justice, Equality and Peace (Cojep), which presented – without much success – several candidates in the recent legislative elections.

The 5th constituency of the Ain department, including the town of Oyonnax, was particularly scrutinised because of the personality of the outgoing deputy, Damien Abad. President of The Republicans group in the National Assembly, he switched to Emmanuel Macron after the presidential election last April, becoming Minister of Solidarity and Disabled People. His candidacy for the legislative elections has also attracted attention due to the accusations of rape against him.

Political observers were less interested in one of his competitors, the candidate Celil Yilmaz, 47 years old, Franco-Turkish, executive at Turkish Airlines. His score in the first round of the legislative elections in this constituency (704 votes, or 1.95% of the vote) did not attract much attention. Celil Yilmaz, presenting himself as an independent candidate, wanted to carry “the voice of minorities” in order to defend “the French mosaic”. In his profession of faith, he denounced “the numerous stigmatizations and discriminations that citizens from diverse backgrounds encounter or may have encountered”. He deplored the “incomprehensible” rise of Islamophobia in France and in Europe. According to him, during Emmanuel Macron’s five-year term, citizens of the Muslim faith have suffered “unprecedented stigmatization”.

The same speech was made by Ozbay Pehlivan, 34 years old, another figure of the Cojep, originally from Valence. While defending “the values of the Republic”, he stigmatises “the Islamophobia that contaminates democracy”. He said that when he ran for the municipal elections in 2020, his candidacy would have triggered “an avalanche of hatred from the Armenian community”.

Unlike Celil Yilmaz, Ozbay Pehlivan was more colourful, running under the banner of the Union of French Muslim Democrats (UDMF). This label only allowed him to obtain 227 votes, i.e. 0.63% of the votes cast.

Two other Cojep dignitaries ran in the French legislative elections: Yalcin Ayvali (14th constituency of the Rhône) obtained 343 votes (1.27%) and Ramazan Calli (5th constituency of Saône-et-Loire) attracted only 99 votes (0.25%).

Against “turcophobia” and “islamophobia” 

Despite his marginal score, Celil Yilmaz is a man of influence, as the confidential newsletter Intelligence Onlinepoints out. Secretary General of the Strasbourg-based Council for Justice, Equality and Peace (Cojep), he works “alongside Ali Gedikoglu, the director of Cojep, who is also known to be a long-time close associate of Mevlüt Çavusoglu, the current foreign minister and founding member of the AKP [Erdogan’s party]”.

In simple terms, the Cojep is the Turkish president’s transmission belt in France. One of its missions is to make Erdogan appear as the defender of oppressed Muslims in the world. Ali Gedikoglu denounces both Turkophobia and Islamophobia in France. These are objectives that the Cojep shares with François Burgat, president of the Arab Centre for Research and Political Studies in Paris (Carep), sponsored by Qatar, and a fellow traveller of the Muslim Brotherhood.

On Twitter, Celil Yilmaz (@celilcojep) refers to the Medyaturk website, created in 2014 by “volunteers”, which claims to have “no link with any specific structure”. Nevertheless, its titles are unambiguous: “A list of massacres committed by the PKK since its establishment”, or “A look at the massacres committed against Turks throughout history”. The last article denounces a “growing turkophobia” and the “repression of the Grey Wolves”, this paramilitary and ultra nationalist Turkish movement, whose French branch was dissolved in November 2020. One of the Grey Wolves’ sympathisers, the Franco-Turkish Ahmet Cetin, from Oyonnax, was tried in September 2020 for “inciting violence or racial hatred”, for having declared in a video (since withdrawn): “Let the [Turkish] government give me a gun and 2,000 euros and I will do what needs to be done wherever in France”. In his speech, he regretted that in Marseille, “there are too many pro-PKK, too many Armenians”, implying that he could prevent Armenians from demonstrating(1).

Denying the Armenian genocide of 1915   

On 18 May 2022, Medyaturk explains that an exam subject, given by the Institut national supérieur du professorat et de l’éducation (INSPÉ) (National Institute for Higher Education) to future teachers, would stigmatise Muslims. The article states that secularism, according to the Ministry of Education, is “just a set of anti-Islamic rules”. The articles sometimes turn into conspiracy theories, as when Medyaturk explains that the massacre of 24 May, which left 21 dead, including 19 children, in a primary school in Texas, could be due to cyber torture(2) … According to the media, the Americans would have orchestrated this massacre, by setting up terrorists through inhumane means, i.e. the forced use of drugs, trauma and violence. As for cyber torture, it would use “special waves and frequencies with the help of relay antennas and satellites”, making it possible to “capture the brain print without electrodes and to provoke all kinds of stimuli”.

Moral: the American government would finally be capable of anything, including committing “such atrocities on its population”. Admittedly, this is not the only site to spread such nonsense. But how can we explain that a candidate who presents himself as “the voice of minorities” promotes Medyaturk via the Cojep?

Furthermore, the Cojep has published a booklet to help young people of Turkish origin “to express their ideas on the subject of the events of 1915, when they encounter problems during a statement and a history lesson at school”. Clearly, the AKP’s relay in France encourages students to deny the planned extermination of Armenians by the Ottoman Empire in 1915 and to express their opposition at school(3).

These communitarian and negationist excesses do not prevent the Cojep from being well established. And even worse, it has presented – in the general indifference – candidates for the French legislative elections!

1- Christophe Ayad, “Tried for ‘incitement to hatred’, the Franco-Turkish Ahmet Cetin alternated between protests of good faith and dilatory remarks”, Le Monde, 18 September 2020. “In Mozambique, the never-ending battle against jihadists”, Le Monde, 22 December 2021.

2- “Could the Texas massacre be due to cybertorture?”, Medyaturk, 26 May 2022.

3- Laure Marchand, “Teachers must confront the denial of the Armenian genocide”, Le JDD, 18 April 2021.

fbpx
 
 

 

Législatives françaises : Erdogan s’est glissé dans les urnes !



Ian Hamel (*)

En Allemagne, où vivent trois millions de Turcs, dont plus d’un million possède la nationalité allemande, Ankara tente depuis plusieurs années d’influencer les élections, en appelant les électeurs binationaux à ne pas voter pour les partis politiques jugés hostiles aux intérêts de la Turquie. Les réseaux de Recep Tayyip Erdogan s’activent aussi en France, même si cela se fait bien plus discrètement, via le Conseil pour la justice, l’égalité et la paix (Cojep), qui a présenté – sans grand succès – plusieurs candidats aux récentes élections législatives.

La 5ème circonscription du département de l’Ain, comprenant la ville d’Oyonnax, était particulièrement scrutée en raison de la personnalité du député sortant, Damien Abad. Président à l’Assemblée nationale du groupe Les Républicains, il a basculé chez Emmanuel Macron, après la présidentielle d’avril dernier, devenant ministre des Solidarités et des personnes handicapées. Sa candidature aux législatives a, aussi, attiré l‘attention en raison des accusations de viol dont il fait l’objet.

Les observateurs politiques se sont moins intéressés à l’un de ses concurrents, le candidat Celil Yilmaz, 47 ans, franco-turc, cadre à Turkish Airlines. Son score au premier tour des législatives dans cette circonscription (704 voix, soit 1,95 % des suffrages) n’a guère éveillé l’attention. Celil Yilmaz, se présentant comme un candidat indépendant, voulait porter « la voix des minorités » afin de défendre « la mosaïque France ». Dans sa profession de foi, il dénonçait « les nombreuses stigmatisations, discriminations que rencontrent ou ont pu rencontrer les citoyens issus de la diversité ». Et déplore la montée « incompréhensible » de l’islamophobie en France et en Europe. Selon lui, durant le quinquennat d’Emmanuel Macron, les citoyens de confession musulmane ont subi une « stigmatisation sans précédent ».

Même discours de la part d’Ozbay Pehlivan, 34 ans, autre figure du Cojep, originaire de Valence. Tout en défendant « les valeurs de la République », il stigmatise « l’islamophobie qui contamine la démocratie ». Il assure que lorsqu’il s’est présenté aux élections municipales en 2020, sa candidature aurait déclenché « une avalanche de haine de la part de la communauté arménienne ».

Contrairement à Celil Yilmaz, Ozbay Pehlivan affichait davantage la couleur, se présentant sous la bannière de l’Union des démocrates musulmans français (UDMF). Une étiquette-repoussoir qui ne lui a permis de recueillir que 227 voix, soit 0,63 % des suffrages exprimés.

Deux autres dignitaires du Cojep se sont présentés aux législatives françaises : Yalcin Ayvali (14èmecirconscription du Rhône) a obtenu 343 suffrages (1,27%) et Ramazan Calli (5ème circonscription de Saône-et-Loire) n’ a attiré que 99 voix (0,25%).

Contre la ‘‘turcophobie’’ et ‘’l’islamophobie’’  

Malgré son score marginal, Celil Yilmaz est un homme d’influence, comme le souligne la lettre confidentielle Intelligence Online. Secrétaire général du Conseil pour la justice, l’égalité et la paix (Cojep), basé à Strasbourg, il travaille « aux côtés d’Ali Gedikoglu, le directeur du Cojep, également connu pour être un proche de longue date de Mevlüt Çavusoglu, l’actuel ministre des Affaires étrangères et membre fondateur de l’AKP [le parti d’Erdogan] ».

Pour faire simple, le Cojep est la courroie de transmission du président turc dans l’Hexagone. L’une de ses missions consiste à faire apparaître Erdogan comme le défenseur des Musulmans opprimés dans le monde. Ali Gedikoglu dénonce à la fois la turcophobie et l’islamophobie en France. Des objectifs que le Cojep partage avec François Burgat, président du Centre arabe de recherches et d’études politiques de Paris (Carep), sponsorisé par le Qatar, et compagnon de route des Frères musulmans.

Sur Twitter, Celil Yilmaz (@celilcojep) fait référence au site Medyaturk, créé en 2014 par des « bénévoles », qui affirme n’avoir « aucun lien avec une structure précise ». Néanmoins, ses titres sont sans appel : « Une liste des massacres commis par le PKK depuis son établissement », ou encore : « Un regard sur les massacres commis à l’encontre des Turcs à travers l’histoire ». Le dernier article dénonce une « turcophobie croissante » et la « répression des Loups gris », ce mouvement paramilitaire et ultra nationaliste turc, dont la branche française a été dissoute en novembre 2020. L’un des sympathisants des Loups gris, le Franco-Turc Ahmet Cetin, originaire d’Oyonnax, a été jugé en septembre 2020 pour « incitation à la violence ou la haine raciale », pour avoir déclaré dans une vidéo (retirée depuis) : « Que le gouvernement [turc] me donne une arme et 2 000 euros et je ferai ce qu’il y a à faire où que ce soit en France ». Dans son allocution, il regrettait qu’à Marseille, « il y a trop de pro-PKK, trop d’Arméniens », sous-entendu pour pouvoir empêcher les Arméniens de manifester(1).

Nier le génocide arménien de 1915    

Le 18 mai 2022, Medyaturk explique qu’un sujet d’examen, donné par l’Institut national supérieur du professorat et de l’éducation (INSPE) aux futurs enseignants, stigmatiserait les Musulmans. On y apprend que la laïcité, selon le ministère de l’Éducation nationale, serait « juste un ensemble de règles anti-islam ». Les articles virent parfois au complotisme, comme lorsque Medyaturk explique que la tuerie du 24 mai dernier, qui a fait 21 morts dont 19 enfants, dans une école primaire au Texas, pourrait être due à de la cyber torture(2)… Selon lui, les Américains auraient donc orchestré ce massacre, en mettant sur pied des terroristes grâce à des moyens inhumains, c’est-à-dire l’utilisation forcée de drogues, de traumatismes et de violence. Quant à la cyber torture, elle utiliserait des « ondes et fréquences spéciales à l’aide des antennes relais et satellites », permettant de « capturer l’empreinte cérébrale sans électrode et de provoquer des stimuli en tout genre ».

Moralité : le pouvoir américain serait finalement capable de tout, y compris de commettre « de telles atrocités sur sa population ». Certes, ce n’est pas le seul site à véhiculer de telles inepties. Mais comment expliquer qu’un candidat se présentant comme « la voix des minorités », fasse, via le Cojep, la promotion de Medyaturk ?

Par ailleurs, le Cojep a édité un livret afin d’aider les jeunes d’origine turque « à exprimer leurs idées sur le sujet des évènements de 1915, lorsqu’ils rencontrent des problèmes au cours d’une déclaration et d’un cours d’histoire à l’école ». En clair, le relais de l’AKP en France incite les élèves à nier l’extermination planifiée des Arméniens, commise par l’Empire ottoman en 1915, et à manifester leur opposition à l’école(3).

Des dérives communautaristes et négationnistes qui n’empêchent pas le Cojep d’avoir pignon sur rue. Et pis encore, de présenter – dans l’indifférence générale – des candidats aux législatives françaises !

1- Christophe Ayad, « Jugé pour “incitation à la haine’’, le Franco-Turc Ahmet Cetin a alterné protestations de bonne foi et propos dilatoires », Le Monde, 18 septembre 2020. « Au Mozambique, la bataille sans fin contre les djihadistes », Le Monde, 22 décembre 2021.

2- « La tuerie du Texas pourrait-elle être due à de la cybertorture ? », Medyaturk, 26 mai 2022.

3- Laure Marchand, « Les professeurs doivent faire face à la négation du génocide arménien », Le JDD, 18 avril 2021.