fbpx
 
 

 

Lorenzo Vidino: Hidden investments bring tens of millions of euros to the Muslim Brotherhood



Author of two reference books (“Muslim Brotherhood, the inner circle” and “The neo-Muslim Brotherhood in the West”), Lorenzo Vidino is one of the most prominent specialists on the Islamist Brotherhood in Europe. In this interview, he explains how the Muslim Brotherhood’s hidden real estate investments bring in tens of millions of euros every year.

Interview By Atmane Tazaghart

The case of Imam Iquioussen, whom the French authorities are seeking to expel, had the “collateral damage” of revealing the “war chest” of real estate held, under various nominees, by the Muslims Brotherhood, in France as everywhere in Europe. What strategy are these real estate acquisitions part of?

Lorenzo Vidino: Let me give you a general answer/comment. I am hesitant to discuss the specifics of the Iquioussen case because I don’t have all the details. But let me say that, in general, the European Brotherhood has long developed a strategy to create a system to generate its own funds in order to supplement the large funding that it has historically come from the Arab Gulf, and that in recent years, with the exception of Qatar, has largely shrunk, and the funds connected within the community through zakat and the network’s charities.

Since the beginning of the 1990s, Hassan Iquioussen, a simple preacher who is officially “unemployed”, has built up a huge estate comprising around thirty flats for rent. How do you explain that in more than thirty years, he has never been questioned about the origin of the funds that made these property purchases possible, nor about the final destination of the income from their rental?

– This is a difficult subject to investigate, because the Brothers, in all European countries, have set up quite sophisticated financial structures and have tried to hide them as much as possible.

According to the former Muslim brother, Mohamed Louizi, Imam Iquioussen is not an isolated case. According to him, there are hundreds of similar cases of members or sympathizers of the Muslim Brotherhood serving as nominees for the Brotherhood’s real estate purchases across Europe. How much could you estimate the value of this “real estate empire” held by the Muslim Brotherhood in Europe?

– Some of the Muslim Brotherhood’s financial activities are related to the management of Islam as a cult: certification and distribution of halal meat, organisation of religious pilgrimages to Mecca, etc. These activities allow the Muslim Brotherhood network to raise funds, while at the same time carrying out activities that place them in the position of leaders who manage Muslim life in Europe, which is one of their main objectives. Other activities are purely financial and have no Islamic aspect. In the United States, where the Muslim Brotherhood’s financial structure is perhaps the most sophisticated in the West, we see massive activities in areas ranging from software companies (as revealed in the famous case of various computer companies in the US linked to the financing of Hamas), to real estate investments, and even a series of poultry factories.

Since the episode of the Brotherhood’s bank al-Taqwa, which went bankrupt in the aftermath of 9/11 attacks, Al Tanzim Al Dawli, the international organization of the Muslim Brotherhood, has converted most of the ‘‘war treasury’’ of the Brotherhood in real estate investments spread over several European countries and operated via nominees with the aim of escaping controls and the risks of having these assets frozen. How much would you estimate the value of this “real estate empire” held by the Muslim Brotherhood in the West?

– These hidden and well-managed activities generate tens of millions of euros per year. And this money is then returned to the Brotherhood, through various intermediary entities (other companies, financial trusts, non-profit organisations) and thus ends up financing the activities of the Muslim Brotherhood.

Why choosing real estate? And why is the bulk of the Brotherhood’s investments in UK and Austria?

– Similar dynamics are taking place throughout Europe, albeit often on a smaller scale. And real estate is one of the main activities. Some of the key players in the Muslim Brotherhood network in Europe are personally involved in real estate. Ahmed al Rawi in the UK and Ibrahim El Zayat in Germany [two key figures within the Muslim Brotherhood’s real estate empire in Britain and Austria] personally own large property portfolios. And, perhaps not coincidentally, both men have long been involved in the Europe Trust, which is the main financial entity of the Muslim Brotherhood network, essentially buying property on behalf of Muslim Brotherhood-related entities across Europe.

Express bio

Lorenzo Vidino is a leading scholar of Islamology and director of the Program on Extremism at George Washington University. A specialist in Islamism in Europe and North America, his research over the past 20 years has focused on the mobilisation dynamics of Islamist networks in the West and government policies to counter radicalisation. With a particular interest in the Muslim Brotherhood, to which he has devoted numerous studies and two reference books: “The New Muslim Brotherhood in the West” (Columbia University Press, New York, 2010) and “Muslim Brotherhood: The inner circle – How membership and dissent within the Brotherhood in the West operate” (Columbia University Press, New York, 2020 / Global Watch Analysis, Paris, 2021, for the French edition).

fbpx
 
 

 

Lorenzo Vidino : Les investissements dissimulés rapportent des dizaines de millions d’euros aux Frères musulmans



Auteur de deux ouvrage de référence (‘‘Frères musulmans, le cercle restreint’’ et ‘‘Les néo Frères musulmans en Occident’’), Lorenzo Vidino est l’un des plus imminents spécialistes de la Confrérie islamiste en Europe. Dans cet entretien exclusif, il nous explique comment les investissements immobiliers dissimulés des Frères musulmans leur rapportent des dizaines de millions d’euros chaque année.

Propos recueillis par Atmane Tazaghart

– L’affaire de l’imam Iquioussen, que les autorités françaises veulent expulser, a eu pour « dommage collatéral » la révélation du « trésor de guerre » immobilier détenu, sous différents prête-noms, par les Frères musulmans, en France comme partout en Europe. Dans quelle stratégie s’inscrivent ces acquisitions immobilières ?

– Permettez-moi de vous donner une réponse plus générale. J’hésite à discuter des spécificités de l’affaire Iquioussen, car je n’ai pas tous les détails. Mais laissez-moi dire que, de manière générale, la confrérie européenne a depuis longtemps développé une stratégie destinée à créer un système permettant de générer ses propres fonds afin de compléter les importants financements qu’elle a historiquement reçus du Golfe arabe, lesquels ces dernières années, à l’exception du Qatar, ont largement diminué, ainsi que les fonds collectés au sein de la communauté musulmane, par le biais de la zakat et des organisations caritatives du réseau des Frères musulmans.

Depuis le début des années 1990, Hassan Iquioussen, simple prédicateur officiellement ‘‘sans emploi’’, s’est constitué un immense patrimoine comportant une trentaine d’appartements destinés à la location. Comment expliquez-vous qu’en plus de trente ans, il n’a jamais été inquiété ni même questionné sur l’origine des fonds qui lui ont permis ces achats immobiliers ni sur la destination finale des rentes issues de leurs locations ?

– C’est un sujet sur lequel il est difficile d’enquêter, car les Frères, dans tous les pays européens, ont mis en place des structures financières assez sophistiquées et se sont efforcés de les dissimuler autant que possible.

– Selon l’ancien Frère musulman, Mohamed Louizi, l’imam Iquioussen n’est pas un cas isolé. Il existerait, selon lui, des centaines de cas similaires de membres ou de sympathisants des Frères musulmans qui servent de prête-noms pour les achats immobiliers de la confrérie à travers l’Europe ?

– Certaines des activités financières des Frères musulmans sont liées à la gestion de l’Islam en tant que culte : certification et distribution de viande halal, organisation de pèlerinages religieux à la Mecque, etc. Ces activités permettent au réseau des Frères musulmans de collecter des fonds tout en menant des activités qui les placent en position de meneurs qui gèrent la vie musulmane en Europe, ce qui est l’un de leurs principaux objectifs. D’autres activités sont purement financières et n’ont aucun aspect islamique. Aux États-Unis, où la structure financière des Frères musulmans est sans doute la plus sophistiquée en Occident, nous observons des activités massives dans des domaines allant des sociétés de logiciels (comme l’a révélé la fameuse affaire de diverses sociétés informatiques aux États-Unis liées au financement du Hamas), aux investissements immobiliers, et même à une série d’usines de volailles.

Depuis l’épisode de la banque frère-musulmane al-Taqwa, mise en faillite au lendemain des attentats du 11-Septembre, al-Tanzim al-Dawli [l’organisation internationale des Frères musulmans] a converti l’essentiel du  »trésor de guerre » de la confrérie en investissements immobiliers répartis dans plusieurs pays européens et opérés via des prête-noms, avec pour objectifs d’échapper aux contrôles et de contourner le risque de voir ces avoirs gelés. À combien pourriez-vous estimer la valeur de cet « empire immobilier » détenu par les Frères musulmans en Occident ?

– Ces activités dissimulées et bien gérées produisent des dizaines de millions d’euros par an. Et cet argent est ensuite restitué à la Confrérie, par le biais d’entités intermédiaires diverses (autres sociétés, trusts financiers, organisations à but non lucratif) et finit donc par financer les activités des Frères musulmans.

– Pourquoi choisir l’immobilier ? Et pourquoi la majeure partie des investissements de la Confrérie se trouve-t-elle au Royaume-Uni et en Autriche ?

– Des dynamiques similaires se produisent dans toute l’Europe, même si c’est souvent à plus petite échelle. Et l’immobilier est l’une des principales activités. Certains des acteurs clés du réseau des Frères musulmans en Europe sont personnellement impliqués dans l’immobilier. Ahmed al Rawi au Royaume-Uni et Ibrahim El Zayat en Allemagne [deux personnages clés au sein de l’empire immobilier des Frères musulmans en Grand Bretagne et en Autriche] possèdent personnellement d’importants portefeuilles immobiliers. Et, ce n’est sans doute pas une coïncidence, si les deux hommes sont depuis longtemps impliqués dans Europe Trust, la principale entité financière du réseau des Frères musulmans, dont la mission consiste essentiellement à acheter des biens immobiliers pour le compte d’entités liées aux Frères musulmans dans toute l’Europe.

Bio express

Éminent chercheur en islamologie, Lorenzo Vidino dirige le programme sur l’extrémisme à l’université George Washington. Spécialiste de l’islamisme en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, ses recherches portent, depuis 20 ans, sur les dynamiques de mobilisation des réseaux islamistes en Occident et les politiques gouvernementales de lutte contre la radicalisation. Avec un intérêt tout particulier pour la Confrérie des Frères musulmans, à laquelle il a consacré de nombreuses études et deux livres de référence : ‘‘The New Muslim Brotherhood in the West’’ (Columbia University Press, New York, 2010) et ‘‘Frères musulmans : Le cercle restreint – Comment s’opèrent les adhésions et les dissidences au sein de la Confrérie en Occident’’ (Columbia University Press, New York, 2020 / Global Watch Analysis, Paris, 2021, pour l’édition française).