Hamza Bin Laden, the end of al-Qaeda’s dynastic dream



The death of the youngest son of al-Qaeda’s founder, Hamza bin Laden (30 years old), announced at the end of July and officially confirmed by the Pentagon on August 22, is one of the hardest blows that the mother house of global jihadism has suffered since the death of its founder in May 2011.

Indeed, the death of the “new prince of jihad” brutally ended the dynastic dream through which the new leader of al-Qaeda, Aymen al-Zawahiri, hoped to restore the image of an ageing and declining organisation.
In August 2015, seeing its organization competing and then supplanted by the rise of Daech, al-Zawahiri announced the integration of Hamza bin Laden into al-Qaeda’s “central leadership”. At his instigation, the “new prince of jihad” then issued several audio messages encouraging fighting and calling for the unity of the jihad’s ranks.
In his very first letter, dated May 9, 2016, Hamza bin Laden called for support for the “Knife Intifada” in Palestine and referred to the “liberation of Jerusalem”. A radical discourse that inflamed jihadist social networks. Al-Zawahiri immediately began to dream of inducting a “new bin Laden” at the head of al-Qaeda, with whom he would once again play the faithful No. 2, as he did for a quarter of a century, alongside the founding father, Osama bin Laden.
Weakened by nearly two decades of clandestine life and criticized by his peers for his lack of charisma and authority, al-Zawahiri – known as a fine strategist – saw Hamza bin Laden’s storming entrance into the jihadist media scene as a “providential gift” that would give al-Qaeda the second wind it had been lacking since the loss of its founder.
Because, who else could carry the flag of Osama bin Laden’s legacy better than his favorite son? The very one who appeared alongside him, at the age of 12, in the famous video broadcast by Al Jazeera in November 2001, which was the very first public appearance of the al-Qaeda leader after the attacks of 11 September.
To this aura acquired by Hamza bin Laden, from an early age, due to his proximity to his father, was added another factor of popularity, no less important in the eyes of jihadists: his marriage, in 2007, to the daughter of the Egyptian Mohamed Atta, the leader of the September 11 commandos.
Moreover, this alliance with the family of the most famous kamikaze of world jihadism was an important pledge to reassure the “Egyptian family” within al-Qaeda about its future and its influence within the jihadist movement. As a result, al-Zawahiri could reassure his compatriots that his plan to abdicate in favour of Hamza bin Laden would not weaken the Egyptian clan whose control over the leadership of al-Qaeda is being challenged by Yemeni and Maghrebi jihadists.
This dynastic project envisaged by al-Zawahiri to enthrone a “new bin Laden” at the head of al-Qaeda had a double objective.
First of all, it was a question of exploiting the aura of the name “bin Laden”, to give al-Qaeda back an attractiveness that could make it the ideal alternative for thousands of Daech defectors, disoriented by the collapse of the pseudo Caliphate established by Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi.
In addition, Hamza bin Laden’s enthronement could also restore al-Qaeda’s attractiveness to jihadist donors in the Gulf countries, whose flows of donations have declined considerably since Osama bin Laden’s death and the establishment of an Egyptian-dominated Shura.
It was this whole strategy that was shaken by the July 31 raid that targeted and killed Hamza bin Laden.

5 Dates:

– 1989: Born in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
– 2007: Wedding in Iran with the daughter of Mohammed Atta, the leader of the suicide bombers of September 11.
– August 2015: His integration into al-Qaeda’s management is announced by Aymen al-Zawahiri.
– January 5, 2017: His name is on the American black list of most wanted terrorist leaders. And the reward for him is increased to $1 million in February 2019.
– July 31st, 2019: Announcement of his death during an American raid. The information is confirmed by the Pentagon on August 22.

Hamza Ben Laden, la fin du rêve dynastique d’al-Qaida



La mort du fils cadet du fondateur d’al-Qaida, Hamza Ben Laden (30 ans), annoncée fin juillet dernier, puis confirmée officiellement par le Pentagone le 22 août, est l’un des coups les durs que la maison-mère du djihadisme mondial a subi, depuis la mort de son fondateur en mai 2011.

En effet, la disparition du « nouveau prince du djihad » a brutalement mis fin au rêve dynastique à travers lequel le nouveau chef de d’al-Qaida, Aymen al-Zawahiri, espérait redorer le blason d’une organisation vieillissante et en perte de vitesse.
Voyant son organisation concurrencée puis supplantée par la montée en puissance de Daech, al-Zawahiri a annoncé, en août 2015, l’intégration de Hamza Ben Laden au sein de la « direction centrale » d’al-Qaida. A son instigation, le « nouveau prince du djihad » a ensuite publié plusieurs messages audio incitant au combat et appelant à unifier les rangs du djihad.
Dans sa toute première missive, datée du 9 mai 2016, Hamza Ben Laden appelait à soutenir la « révolution des couteaux » en Palestine et évoquait la « libération de Jérusalem ». Un discours radical qui enflamma les réseaux sociaux djihadistes. Al-Zawahiri se mit aussitôt à rêver d’introniser à la tête d’al-Qaida un « nouveau Ben Laden », auprès duquel il jouerait, à nouveau, le fidèle n°2, comme il l’a fait, durant un quart de siècle, aux côtés du père fondateur, Oussama Ben Laden.
Affaibli par près de deux décennie de vie clandestine et critiqué par ses pairs pour son manque de charisme et d’autorité, al-Zawahiri – connu pour être un fin stratège – a vu dans l’entrée fracassante de Hamza Ben Laden sur la scène médiatico-djihadiste un « don providentiel » de nature à donner à Al-Qaida le second souffle qui lui faisait défaut depuis la perte de son fondateur.
Car, qui d’autre pourrait porter l’étendard de l’héritage d’Oussama Ben Laden mieux que son fils préféré ? Celui-là même qui apparaissait à ses côtés, dès l’âge de 12 ans, dans la célèbre vidéo diffusée par al-Jazeera, en novembre 2001, qui fut la toute première apparition publique du chef d’al-Qaida, après les attentats du 11 septembre.
À cette aura acquise par Hamza Ben Laden, dès son plus jeune âge, du fait de sa proximité avec son père, s’est ajouté un autre facteur de popularité, non moins important, aux yeux des djihadistes : son mariage, en 2007, avec la fille de l’égyptien Mohamed Atta, le chef des commandos du 11 septembre.
De surplus, cette alliance avec la famille du kamikaze le plus célèbre du djihadisme mondial constituait un gage important, pour rassurer la « famille égyptienne » au sein d’al-Qaida quant à son avenir et son influence au sein de la mouvance djihadiste. De ce fait, al-Zawahiri pouvait rassurer ses compatriotes que son projet d’abdication en faveur de Hamza Ben Laden n’allait pas affaiblir le clan égyptien dont la mainmise sur la direction d’al-Qaida est contestée par les djihadistes yéménites et maghrébins.
Ce projet dynastique envisagé par al-Zawahiri, en vue introniser un « nouveau Ben Laden » à la tête d’al-Qaida, avait un double objectif.
Il s’agissait, tout d’abord, d’instrumentaliser l’aura du nom « Ben Laden », pour redonner à al-Qaida une attractivité qui pouvait faire d’elle l’alternative idéale pour des milliers de transfuges de Daech, déboussolés par les débâcle du pseudo Califat instauré par Abou Bakr al-Baghdadi.
Par ailleurs, l’intronisation de Hamza Ben Laden pouvait aussi redonner à al-Qaida son attractivité auprès des bailleurs de fonds djihadistes des pays du Golfe, dont les flux des donations ont considérablement diminués depuis la mort d’Oussama Ben Laden et l’instauration d’une Choura dominée par les Égyptiens.
C’est toute cette stratégie qui a été ébranlée par le raid du 31 juillet dernier qui a ciblé et tué Hamza Ben Laden.

5 Dates :

– 1989 : Naissance à Djeddah, en Arabie saoudite.
2007 : Mariage en Iran avec la fille de Mohammed Atta, le chef des kamikazes du 11 septembre.
Août 2015 : Son intégration au sein de la direction d’al-Qaida est annoncée par Aymen al-Zawahiri.
– 5 janvier 2017 : Son nom est inscrit sur la liste noir américaine des chefs terroristes plus lus recherchés. Et la récompense le concernant est augmentée à 1 million de dollar, en février 2019.
31 juillet 2019 : Annonce de sa mort lors d’un raid américain. L’information est confirmée par le Pentagone, le 22 août.