fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
Mubashir Hassan/Pacific Press/sh/SIPA

 

France: 80% of teachers support the ban on ‘Abaya’ in schools

31 August 2023 News   139805  

The decision by the French new Minister of National Education, Gabriel Attal, to ban the wearing of the ‘Abaya’ (and its male equivalent, the ‘Qamis’) in schools has sparked a heated controversy. Several voices, especially from the left, have risen to denounce the establishment of a “clothing police” and La France Insoumise (LFI) has announced its intention to challenge this decision in the Council of State. However, the ban on Abayas and Qamis is not a subject of much debate within the teaching profession, as shown by a survey conducted by IFOP for our monthly magazine “Screen Watch” last November.

This survey, titled “Observatory of Teachers’ Responses to Religious Expression in Schools” revealed that 80% of teachers were opposed to students being allowed to wear traditional loose clothing like “abayas” or “qamis” at school. While 60% of the teaching staff were generally opposed to the principle of “clothing freedom” which allows students to attend classes “in the attire of their choice”.

Another indicator of the unanimity among teachers regarding the ban on Abaya and Qamis is that in the ranking of behaviors considered as undermining secularism, 75% of teachers mention students wearing traditional loose clothing like “abayas” or “qamis,” closely following students wearing religious head coverings like a veil or a kippa (85%).

These figures clearly indicate that this topic is not much debated within the teaching profession and does not require any “margin of discretion” as suggested by a note from the former Minister of National Education, Pap Ndiaye, sent to rectors on September 16, 2022, recommending that school principals be given a “margin of discretion” to judge the religious nature (or lack thereof) of clothing like “abayas”, “qamis” or “djellabas.”

In response to the question, “In your opinion, are loose traditional attire such as ‘abayas’ or ‘qamis’ considered ‘worship’ attire that has no place within the premises of a public school?”, a majority of teachers (68%) answered affirmatively. Only 15% considered such attire to be “cultural” and permissible in public schools.

However, teachers’ reactions when faced with behaviors that undermine secularism seem to indicate that they consider the wearing of traditional loose clothing to be less severe than other “ostensible” religious signs. Regarding cases where students wore religious head coverings like a veil or a kippa, 71% of teachers said they had asked students to remove them. As for the wearing of traditional loose clothing like an “abaya” or a “qamis,” only 52% of teachers had asked students to remove them.

Another insight from our survey is that the number of incidents undermining secularism reported to the school administration is significantly lower than the number of cases actually observed by teachers. Regarding the wearing of ostensible religious symbols (like a veil or a kippa), only 51% of teachers claim to have reported such incidents to the administration. And concerning students wearing traditional loose clothing like an “abaya” or a “qamis,” only 56% reported such incidents.

This phenomenon can be explained by the fact that among the 69% of teachers who encountered incidents with religious or identity motivations, one out of three teachers (33%) stated that they did not feel supported by their superiors when reporting violations of secularism.

This lack of support seems to influence teachers’ behavior when facing such incidents: only 52% of them claim that in the future, if they observe a student wearing religious head coverings like a veil or a kippa, they will ask the student to remove it and report the incident to the administration. On the other hand, 28% would prefer to ask the student to remove it without informing the administration.

As for incidents involving students wearing traditional loose clothing like an abaya or a qamis”, only 41% of teachers say they would ask the students to remove them while reporting the incident, while 22% would only ask the students to remove them without making a report.

However, this observation resulting from teachers’ distrust of their superiors does not at all reflect a renunciation of the principle of secularism: as the law of March 15, 2004, which bans ostensible religious symbols in schools, enters its twentieth school year, 80% of teachers reject the ideas that are prevalent in communalist circles, claiming that this law is “Islamophobic” or hostile to Islam and Muslims.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
Mubashir Hassan/Pacific Press/sh/SIPA

 

80 % des enseignants soutiennent l’interdiction de l’Abaya à l’école

31 août 2023 News   139806  

La décision du nouveau ministre de l’Éducation nationale, Gabriel Attal, d’interdire le port de l’Abaya (et de son équivalent masculin, le Qamis) à l’école a soulevé une vive polémique. Plusieurs voix se sont élevées, notamment à gauche, pour dénoncer l’instauration d’une‘‘police du vêtement’’ et La France insoumise (LFI) a annoncé son intention d’attaquer cette décision au Conseil d’État. Pourtant, l’interdiction des Abayas et Qamis ne fait guère débat au sein du corps enseignant, comme l’a montré un sondage réalisé par l’IFOP pour notre mensuel Ecran De Veille, en novembre dernier.

Ce sondage intitulé ‘‘Observatoire des enseignants face à l’expression du fait religieux à l’école’’ a révélé que 80 % des enseignants étaient opposés au fait que des élèves puissent porter des vêtements traditionnels larges, comme les ‘‘abayas’’ ou les ‘‘qamis’’ à l’école. Alors que 60 % du corps enseignant s’opposaient, en général, au principe de ‘‘liberté vestimentaire’’ selon lequel les élèves doivent pouvoir aller en cours ‘‘dans les tenues qui leur conviennent’’.

Autre indicateur de l’unanimité des enseignants à propos de l’interdiction des Abaya et Qamis : au palmarès des attitudes considérées comme portant atteinte à la laïcité, 75 % des enseignants évoquent le port par les élèves de vêtements traditionnels larges comme une ‘‘abaya’’ ou un ‘‘qamis’’, juste derrière le port par les élèves de couvre-chefs à caractère religieux comme un voile ou une kippa (85 %).

Ces chiffres indiquent clairement que ce sujet ne fait guère débat dans le corps enseignant et ne nécessite pas de ‘‘marge d’appréciation’’, comme le suggérait une note de l’ex-ministre de l’Éducation nationale, Pap Ndiaye, adressée aux recteurs, le 16 septembre 2022, préconisant de laisser aux chefs d’établissements une ‘‘marge d’appréciation’’ pour juger du caractère religieux (ou pas) de vêtements comme les ‘‘abayas’’, ‘‘qamis’’  ou ‘‘djellabas’’.

À la question : « À vos yeux, les tenues amples traditionnelles de type ‘‘abaya’’  ou ‘‘qamis’’ sont-elles des tenues ‘‘cultuelles’’ qui n’ont pas leur place dans l’enceinte d’un établissement scolaire public ? », une majorité d’enseignants (68 %) répond par l’affirmative. Et seuls 15 % considèrent qu’il s’agit de tenues ‘‘culturelles’’ qui peuvent être autorisées à l’école publique.

Cependant, les réactions des enseignants confrontés à des comportements portant atteinte à la laïcité semblent indiquer qu’ils considèrent le port des vêtements amples traditionnels moins grave que les autres signes religieux dits ‘‘ostensibles’’. En effet, concernant les cas de port par les élèves de couvre-chefs à caractère religieux comme un voile ou une kippa, 71 % des enseignants affirment avoir demandé aux élèves de les ôter. Quant au port par les élèves de vêtements traditionnels larges comme une ‘‘abaya’’ ou un ‘‘qamis’’, seuls 52% des enseignants ont demandé aux élèves des les ôter.

Autre enseignement de notre sondage, le nombre d’incidents portant atteinte à la laïcité signalés à l’administration scolaire est nettement inférieur au nombre de cas réellement constaté par les enseignants. S’agissant du port de signes religieux ostensibles (comme un voile ou une kippa), seuls 51 % des enseignants affirment avoir signalé ces incidents à l’administration. Et s’agissant du port par les élèves de vêtements traditionnels larges comme une ‘‘abaya’’ ou un ‘‘qamis’’, 56 % seulement en ont fait le signalement.

Ce phénomène s’explique par le fait que parmi les 69 % d’enseignants qui ont fait face à des incidents à motivation religieuse ou identitaire, un enseignant sur trois (33 %) affirme qu’il ne s’est pas senti soutenu par sa hiérarchie lorsqu’il lui a signalé des atteintes à la laïcité.

Un manque de soutien qui semble infléchir le comportement des enseignants face à ce type d’incidents : seuls 52 % d’entre eux affirment qu’à l’avenir, en cas de constat de ‘‘port par les élèves de couvre-chefs à caractère religieux comme un voile ou une kippa’’, ils demanderaient à l’élève de l’ôter et signaleraient l’incident à l’administration. Par contre, 28 % préfèreraient demander à l’élève de l’ôter, sans en avertir l’administration.

Quant aux incidents concernant le ‘‘port par les élèves de vêtements traditionnels larges comme une abaya ou un qamis’’, seuls 41 % des enseignants affirment qu’ils demanderaient aux élèves des les ôter tout en signalant l’incident, alors que 22 % se contenteraient de demander aux élèves des les ôter, sans pour autant faire de signalement.

Cependant, ce constat dû à la défiance des enseignants envers leur hiérarchie ne reflète nullement un renoncement au principe de laïcité : au moment où la loi du 15 mars 2004, sur l’interdiction des signes religieux ostensibles à l’école, entame sa vingtième rentrée scolaire, 80 % des enseignants réfutent les thèses en vogue dans les milieux communautaristes, selon lesquelles cette loi serait ‘‘islamophobe’’ ou hostile à l’islam et aux Musulmans.