fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

France: Teachers facing attacks on secularism

12 December 2022 News   1862  

Two years after the beheading of Samuel Paty, our survey of teachers shows that fear has not changed sides at all. Attacks on secularism are on the rise to such an extent that more than half of the teachers censor themselves to avoid causing “incidents”…

Two years after the death of Samuel Party, who was beheaded for showing Mohammed cartoons to his pupils during a lesson on freedom of expression, 77% of teachers believe that the Ministry of Education has not learnt the necessary lessons from this assassination and from the way the school institution handles events relating to attacks on secularism and religiously motivated violence. For this reason, only 51% of teachers approve of the actions of the current Minister of Education, Pape Ndiaye, with regard to secularism and the management of religious issues in schools.

The survey paints a very bleak picture of the state of mind of teachers. For example, only 61% of schools organised “times of tribute to Samuel Paty” in mid-October, as requested by the Ministry of Education. And during these tributes, 21% of teachers observed contentious behaviour from pupils: 17% of cases involved “religious, political or cultural justifications for the crime committed against Samuel Paty”, 17% refused to take part in the times of tribute and 15% were insulted or provoked during the tributes.

With regard to violations of secularism, 62% of teachers (compared to 61% in 2020) have encountered cases of pupils expressing religiously motivated objections. For this reason, 79% of teachers acknowledge that they are aware of a number of conflict situations. Three of these are directly linked to the assassination of Samuel Paty: 47% are afraid to talk about the motives for this assassination, 28% are afraid to work in a school named after Samuel Paty and 25% in a school named after him. In the other three cases, the situations feared by teachers concern the presentation of caricatures of religious figures (62%), dealing with cases of pupils who want to wear traditional or religious dress in class (59%) and tackling certain historical subjects, such as the Shoah, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict or colonisation (43%).

The situation is so tense that 54% of teachers admit that they self-censor their teaching “in order to avoid possible incidents caused by certain students”!

   

Another sign of teachers’ lack of support for the current Minister of Education’s action on secularism: on 16 September 2022, the Ministry sent a note to the rectors giving school heads a “margin of appreciation” to judge the religious nature (or not) of clothing such as “abayas” (long dresses from the Middle East for women), “qamis” and “djellabas” (long tunics for men) or bandanas (for the hair). However, to the question: “In your opinion, are traditional loose-fitting garments such as the ‘‘abaya’’ or ‘qamis’ ‘religious’ that have no place on the premises of a public school”, the overwhelming majority of teachers (68%) replied in the affirmative. And only 15% consider that these are ‘cultural’ outfits that can be allowed in public schools.

These figures indicate that the subject is hardly debated by the teaching profession and does not require a “margin of appreciation” as the Ministry’s note seems to suggest. Another indicator of teachers’ unanimity on this subject: in the list of attitudes considered to undermine secularism, 75% of teachers mention the wearing by pupils of large traditional garments such as an ‘‘abaya’’ or a “qamis”, just behind the wearing by pupils of religious headgear such as a veil or a kippah (85%).

However, teachers’ reactions to behaviour that infringes on secularism seem to indicate that they consider the wearing of traditional loose-fitting clothing to be less serious than other so-called ‘conspicuous’ religious symbols. In fact, in cases where pupils wore conspicuous religious symbols on school outings, 73% of teachers said they had asked pupils wearing these symbols to remove them. The same proportions apply to the wearing of religious headgear such as a veil or kippah by pupils: 71% of teachers have asked pupils wearing them to remove them. As for the wearing by pupils of large traditional garments such as an “abaya” or a “qamis”, only 52% of teachers asked pupils to remove them.

The final finding of our survey is that the number of incidents of infringement of secularism reported to the school administration is much lower than the actual number of cases reported by teachers. As regards the wearing of conspicuous religious symbols by pupils on school outings, only 52% of teachers claim to have reported such incidents to the administration. Only 51% had reported cases of pupils wearing religious headgear such as a headscarf or a kippah. And when it comes to students wearing traditional loose clothing such as an ‘‘abaya’’ or “qamis”, only 56% reported this.

fbpx
 
 

 

France : Les enseignants face aux atteintes à la laïcité



Deux ans après la décapitation de Samuel Paty, notre sondage auprès des enseignants démontre que la peur n’a absolument pas changé de camp. Les atteintes à la laïcité enregistrent une telle recrudescence que plus de la moitié des enseignants s’autocensurent pour éviter de provoquer des ‘‘incidents’’…

Merci Deux après la mort de Samuel Party, décapité pour avoir montré des caricatures de Mahomet à ses élèves lors d’un cours sur la liberté d’expression, 77 % des enseignants estiment que le ministère de l’Éducation nationale n’a pas tiré les enseignements nécessaires de cet assassinat et de la manière qu’a l’institution scolaire de gérer les faits relatifs aux atteintes à la laïcité et aux violences à motivations religieuses. Raisons pour lesquelles 51% seulement des enseignants approuvent l’action de l’actuel ministre de l’éducation nationale, Pap Ndiaye, en ce qui concerne la laïcité et la gestion du fait religieux à l’école.

Le sondage dresse un tableau très sombre de l’état d’esprit des enseignants. Ainsi, seuls 61 % des établissements scolaires ont organisé, à la mi-octobre, des ‘‘temps d’hommage à Samuel Paty’’, comme l’a demandé le ministère de l’Éducation nationale. Et lors de ces hommages, 21 % des enseignants ont observé des comportements de contestation émanant d’élèves : il s’agit pour 17% des cas de ‘‘justifications religieuses, politiques ou culturelles du crime commis contre Samuel Paty’’, 17 % de refus de participer aux temps d’hommage et 15 % d’injures ou de provocations émises lors des hommages.

Concernant les atteintes à la laïcité, 62 % des enseignants (contre 61 % en 2020) ont rencontré des cas d’élèves exprimant des contestations à motivations religieuses. Raison pour laquelle, 79 % des enseignants reconnaissent qu’ils craignent un certains nombre de situations conflictuelles. Trois d’entre elles sont directement liées à l’assassinat de Samuel Paty : 47 % appréhendent d’évoquer les motifs de cet assassinat, 28 % redoutent de travailler dans un établissement portant le nom de Samuel Paty et 25 % dans un établissement qui a donnerait son nom à un espace scolaire. Dans les trois autres cas, les situations appréhendées par les enseignants concernent la présentation des caricatures de personnages religieux (62 %), la gestion des cas d’élèves qui veulent porter des tenues traditionnelles ou religieuses en classe (59 %) et l’évocation de certains sujets historiques, comme la Shoah, le conflit israélo-palestinien ou la colonisation (43 %).

La situation est tellement tendue que 54 % des enseignements reconnaissent qu’ils s’autocensurent dans leurs enseignements « afin d’éviter de possibles incidents provoqués par certains élèves » !

Autre signe du manque d’adhésion des enseignants à l’action de l’actuel ministre de l’Éducation nationale en matière de laïcité : le 16 septembre 2022, le Ministère a envoyé une note aux recteurs laissant aux chefs d’établissements une ‘‘marge d’appréciation’’ pour juger du caractère religieux (ou pas) de vêtements comme les ‘‘abaya’’ (robes longues de tradition moyen-orientale pour les femmes), les ‘‘qamis’’ et ‘‘djellaba’’ (tuniques longues pour les hommes) ou les bandanas (pour les cheveux). Or, à la question : « A vos yeux, les tenues amples traditionnelles de type ‘‘abaya’’  ou ‘‘qamis’’ sont-elles des tenues ‘‘cultuelles’’ qui n’ont pas leur place dans l’enceinte d’un établissement scolaire public ? », une écrasante majorité des enseignants (68 %) répondent par l’affirmative. Et seuls 15 % considèrent que ce sont des tenues ‘‘culturelles’’ qui peuvent être autorisées à l’école publique.

Ces chiffres indiquent que le sujet ne fait guère débat dans le corps enseignant et ne nécessite pas de ‘‘marge d’appréciation’’ comme semble le suggérer la note du Ministère. Autre indicateur de l’unanimité des enseignants à ce sujet : au palmarès des attitudes considérées comme portant atteinte à la laïcité, 75 % des enseignants évoquent le port par les élèves de vêtements traditionnels larges comme une ‘‘abaya’’ ou un ‘‘qamis’’, juste derrière le port par les élèves de couvre-chefs à caractère religieux comme un voile ou une kippa (85%).

Cependant, les réactions des enseignants confrontés à des comportements portant atteinte à la laïcité semblent indiquer qu’ils considèrent le port des vêtements amples traditionnels moins grave que les autres signes religieux dits ‘‘ostensibles’’. En effet, concernant les cas de port de signes religieux ostensibles par des élèves lors de sorties scolaires, 73 % des enseignant indiquent avoir demandé aux élèves portant ces signes de les ôter. Mêmes proportions pour le port par les élèves de couvre-chefs à caractère religieux comme un voile ou une kippa : 71 % des enseignants ont demandé aux élèves les portant de les ôter. Quant au port par les élèves de vêtements traditionnels larges comme une ‘‘abaya’’ ou un ‘‘qamis’’, 52 % seulement des enseignants ont demandé aux élèves de les ôter.

Ultime enseignement de notre sondage, le nombre d’incidents portant atteinte à la laïcité signalés à l’administration scolaire est nettement inférieur au nombre réel des cas constatés par les enseignants. S’agissant du port de signes religieux ostensibles par des élèves lors de sorties scolaires, seuls 52 % des enseignants affirment avoir signalé ces incidents à l’administration. Ils ne sont que 51 % à avoir fait un signalement lorsqu’ils ont été confrontés à des cas de port par les élèves de couvre-chefs à caractère religieux comme un voile ou une kippa. Et concernant le port par les élèves de vêtements traditionnels larges comme une ‘‘abaya’’ ou un ‘‘qamis’’, 56 % uniquement en ont fait le signalement.